Application & Instructions for Initial Licensure - Dispensing Permit

 

CLICK HERE TO BEGIN THE ONLINE APPLICATION PROCESS

     Click HERE to complete a previously started (and saved) online initial application.
     Click HERE to check the status of your completed online initial application.

To access a paper application, click HERE (available for a limited time)

 

The items listed below MUST be completed and mailed to the LSBME as part of the initial application process.

 

Physicians (MDs and DOs) are permitted to apply to obtain a dispensing permit if they meet eligibility requirements and provide the Board with all requested information. The Board may refuse to consider any application which is not complete in every detail and may, in its discretion, require a more detailed or complete response to any request for information set forth in this application as a condition to consideration of an application.  Please see detailed requirements and instructions below.

 

Dispensing Permit Categories: 

Legend Drugs Dispensing Permit - Physicians who wish to dispense only legend drugs.  Allowable with fewer than 3 years in practice.

Legend Drugs & Controlled Substances Dispensing Permit – Allowable with 3 or more years in practice. This permit allows physicians to dispense legend drugs and a maximum 48 hour supply of controlled substances, with the exception of a 7-day sample of Lyrica.

Before applying for a Dispensing Permit, you are required to read The Board’s dispensing rules. The rules are set forth in their entirety in LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 3, Chapters 65 and can be found at the following web address: http://www.lsbme.la.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Rules/Individual%20Rules/Physicians.pdf  (starts on page 37).

 

Eligibility for Registration as a Dispensing Physician

To obtain a dispensing permit an applicant must possess the following three credentials with current and unrestricted status. Expired credentials are not acceptable.

  • License to practice medicine duly issued by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners; Applicants for a Legend & CDS Dispensing Permit are required to have been in the active practice of  medicine for not less than three years following the date on which the physician was awarded an MD or DO degree. Physicians with fewer than three years in practice are eligible for a Legend Drugs Dispensing Permit only;
  • Controlled Dangerous Substances License duly issued by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy;
  • DEA Controlled Substance Registration with Drug Enforcement Administration United States Department of Justice.

 

Causes for Being Deemed Ineligible for Registration as a Dispensing Physician

The Board will refuse a dispensing permit to a physician who:

  • Has currently or at any time in the past, had his medical license placed on probation or restricted in any manner, suspended or revoked, or who has agreed to not seek re-licensure, voluntarily surrendered, or entered into an agreement with the Board or with any licensing authority in lieu of the institution of disciplinary charges or actions against such license;
  • Has been convicted, whether upon verdict, judgment, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, of any crime constituting a felony under the laws of the United States or of any state.
  • Has been convicted, whether upon verdict, judgment, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, of any crime and element of which is the manufacture, production, possession, use, distribution, sale, or exchange of any controlled substance; or
  • Has within the five years preceding application for registration, abused or excessively used any medication, alcohol, or other substance which can produce physiological or psychological dependence or tolerance or which acts as a central nervous system stimulant or depressant.

 

Applicant Checklist - Applicants must submit the following documents to be considered for issuance of a dispensing permit:

  • Completed Application
    • Provide full name, home address, and the municipal addresses of all locations at which the applicant practices medicine in the State of Louisiana;
    • List the municipal addresses and telephone number of each location at which the applicant dispenses or proposes to dispense medications and other physician associates practicing at these locations. Attach additional pages as needed.
    • List the brand or generic name, CDS schedule, dosage and quantity of the medication which the applicant proposes to dispense. Attach additional pages as needed.
  • Copy, Scan or Printed Online Verification of Applicant’s Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance License
  • Copy, Scan or Printed Online Verification of Applicant’s United States Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) Controlled Substance Registration
  • Criminal Background Check - Required only if applicant obtained medical license prior to July 1, 1999
    • Applicants are required to use LSBME-issued criminal background check materials (fingerprint cards etc.) Materials can be obtained by calling (540) 568-6820 or emailing lsbmecbc@lsbme.la.gov. Provide your name, mailing address and identification number (i.e. social security number and issuing state OR national identification number and issuing country) with your inquiry for materials. Additional instructions pertaining to this requirement can be obtained thru our website at this link: http://www.lsbme.la.gov/licensure_crimbkgcheck.html
  • Online Dispensing Rules Course, Quiz, and Certificate of Completion All applicants are required to take the online Dispensing Rules course, successfully complete the associated quiz, and submit a printed copy of their Certificate of Completion to the Board with this application.
    • Register in the LSBME online eLearning System by visiting, http://lsbme.mrooms.net/login.
    • Click on “Create New Account.” Create a username and password for your account.
    • Check the email account you provided and click on the embedded link in the email message to confirm your new account. You are now registered on the LSBME’s eLearning Site.
    • Click on “Dispensing Course.” Enter the ENROLLMENT KEY that was provided to you in the registration confirmation email (step 3). You are now enrolled in the Dispensing Rules course.
    • Read the course instructions. Complete the course and quiz.
    • Print the course Certificate of Completion. Include this Certificate with your Dispensing Permit application.
    • Contact eLearningSupport@lsbme.la.gov with any enrollment or technical support issues.
  • Non-refundable fee of $75.00. Credit/Debit Card ONLY. This fee is non-refundable