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Emergency Rules 
 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Horticulture and Quarantine ProgramsCitrus Greening and 

Citrus Canker Disease Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.127) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 

to the authority of the state entomologist in R.S. 3:1652, 

notice is hereby given that the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry is adopting these emergency regulations 

establishing a quarantine for citrus greening disease (CG) 

and citrus canker disease (CC) caused by the bacterial 

pathogens Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri and 

Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. aurantifolii. The state 

entomologist has determined that CG and CC has been 

found in this state and may be prevented, controlled, or 

eradicated by quarantine. 

CG and CC pose an imminent peril to the health and 

welfare of the Louisiana commercial citrus industry due to 

their ability to infest rutaceous plants. This industry has a 

farm value of $2,400,000-$5,000,000 in southeastern 

Louisiana in the form of citrus nursery stock, and 

$5,100,000 in the form of commercial citrus fruit in the 

state. CG renders the fruit unmarketable and ultimately 

causes death of infested plants. CC causes premature leaf 

and fruit drop, twig dieback and tree decline in citrus trees 

and is spread by wind-driven rain or through the movement 

of infected plants. Failure to prevent, control, or eradicate 

these diseases threatens to destroy Louisiana’s commercial 

citrus industry and the growing and harvesting of citrus by 

citizens of Louisiana for their own private use. 

Louisiana’s commercial citrus industry adds $7,500,000-

$10,000,000 to the state’s agriculture economy each year. 

Sales of citrus trees and plants by nursery stock dealers to 

private individuals also are important to the state’s economy. 

The loss of the state’s commercial citrus industry and 

privately owned citrus trees and fruit would be devastating 

to the state’s economy and to its private citizens. The 

quarantine established by this emergency regulation is 

necessary to prevent the spread of CG and CC in Louisiana 

outside of the current areas where these diseases have 

already been found. 

For these reasons, the outbreak of CG and CC in 

Louisiana presents an imminent peril to the health, safety 

and welfare of Louisiana’s citizens and the state’s 

commercial and private citrus industry. As a result of this 

imminent peril, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

hereby exercises its full and plenary power pursuant to R.S. 

3:1652 to deal with crop and fruit pests and contagious and 

infectious crop and fruit diseases by imposing the 

quarantines set out in these emergency regulations.  

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law March 3, 

2017 and will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed by 

the commissioner of agriculture and forestry or until 

permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 

Subchapter B. Nursery Stock Quarantines 

§127. Citrus Nursery Stock, Scions and Budwood 

A. - C.6. … 

D. Citrus Greening 

1. The department issues the following quarantine 

because the state entomologist has determined that citrus 

greening disease (CG), also known as huanglongbing 

disease of citrus, caused by the bacterial pathogen 

Candidatus Liberibacter spp., has been found in this state 

and may be prevented, controlled, or eradicated by 

quarantine. 

2. Quarantined Areas. The quarantined areas in this 

state are the parishes of Orleans, Washington, Jefferson, and 

any other areas found to be infested with CG. The 

declaration of any other specific parishes or areas shall be 

published in the official journal of the state and in the 

Louisiana Register. 

3. Regulated Materials. The following materials are 

hosts of CG and their movement is prohibited from CG-

quarantined areas due to the presence of CG: 

a. all plants and plant parts, including but not 

limited to nursery stock, cuttings, budwood, and propagative 

seed (but excluding fruit), of: Aegle marmelos, Aeglopsis 

chevalieri, Afraegle gabonensis, Afraegle paniculata, 

Amyris madrensis, Atalantia spp. (including Atalantia 

monophylla), Balsamocitrus dawei, Bergera (=Murraya) 

koenigii, Calodendrum capense, Choisya ternata, Choisya 

arizonica, X Citroncirus webberi, Citropsis articulata, 

Citropsis gilletiana, Citrus madurensis (= X Citrofortunella 

microcarpa), Citrus spp., Clausena anisum-olens, Clausena 

excavata, Clausena indica, Clausena lansium, Eremocitrus 

glauca, Eremocitrus hybrid, Esenbeckia berlandieri, 

Fortunella spp., Limonia acidissima, Merrillia caloxylon, 

Microcitrus australasica, Microcitrus australis, Microcitrus 

papuana, X Microcitronella spp., Murraya spp., Naringi 

crenulata, Pamburus missionis, Poncirus trifoliata, Severinia 

buxifolia, Swinglea glutinosa, Tetradium ruticarpum, 

Toddalia asiatica, Triphasia trifolia, Vepris (=Toddalia) 

lanceolata, and Zanthoxylum fagara; 

b. any other products, materials, articles, or means 

of conveyance, if an inspector determines that it presents a 

risk of spreading CG, and after the inspector provides written 

notification to the person in possession of the products, 

materials, articles, or means of conveyance that it is subject 

to the restrictions of the regulations. 

E. - E.3.d.iii.(b). … 
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F. Citrus Canker Disease Quarantine  

1. The department issues the following quarantine 

because the state entomologist has determined that citrus 

canker disease (CC), caused by the bacterial pathogen 

Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri (Xac A, A* and AW) with 

synonyms X. citri pv. citri, or X. citri subsp. citri or X. 

campestris pv. citri or X. smithii subsp. citri; and X. 

axonopodis pv. aurantifolii (Xac B and C) with a synonym 

X. fuscans subsp. aurantifolii, has been found in this state 

and may be prevented, controlled, or eradicated by 

quarantine. 

2. No regulated materials as defined in this Subsection 

shall be moved out of any area of this state that is listed in 

this Subsection as a quarantined area for CC, except as 

provided in this Subsection. 

3. Any person violating this quarantine shall be 

subject to imposition of the remedies and penalties provided 

for in R.S. 3:1653 for any violation of this quarantine. 

4. Quarantined areas in this state include: 

a. the entire parishes of Orleans, St. Bernard, 

Plaquemines, Jefferson, Lafourche, St. Charles, St. James 

and St. John; 

b. a declaration of quarantine for CC covering any 

other specific parishes or areas of this state shall be 

published in the official journal of the state and in the 

Louisiana Register. 

F.5. - 6(i)(iv) … 

G. Labeling Requirements for Citrus-Related 

Quarantines 

1. Any citrus nursery stock sold, moved, or distributed 

within an area quarantined for Asian citrus psyllid, citrus 

greening, or citrus canker shall have attached to the article or 

to the container of the article, a permanent and weatherproof 

tag or label in a clear and legible format no less that than 14-

point font bearing the exact words: PROHIBITED FROM 

MOVEMENT OUTSIDE OF THE CITRUS 

QUARANTINE AREAS, PENALTY FOR VIOLATION, 

Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry. For a 

current list of quarantine areas, please go to 

www.ldaf.state.la.us. 

2. Citrus nursery stock that is not in or intended for 

movement within an Asian citrus psyllid, citrus greening or 

citrus canker quarantined area shall not be required to be 

labeled as described in Paragraph 1 of this Subsection. 

3. Citrus nursery stock labeled or tagged according to 

Paragraph 1 of this Subsection that is offered for retail sale 

in an area that is not quarantined for Asian citrus psyllid, 

citrus greening or citrus canker may be subject to stop order. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1652. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 

LR 11:319 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 

Sciences, LR 40:1308 (July 2014), LR 42:730 (May 2016), LR 43: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 

Commissioner 
1703#011 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

and 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 

Rice Seed Certification (LAC 7:XIII.749) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 

to the authority set forth in R.S. 3:1433, the commissioner of 

agriculture and forestry and the Agricultural Chemistry and 

Seed Commission declare an emergency to exist and adopt 

by emergency process the attached Rule relative to the sale 

of rice seed that does not meet current minimum certified 

seed germination standards.  

Due to the historic flooding in the rice production area of 

Louisiana in 2016 during seed harvest and processing, seed 

rice quality has been significantly negatively impacted. As a 

result, the department’s seed testing laboratory has analyzed 

numerous rice seed samples and has confirmed that much of 

the seed rice available to producers for the 2017 planting 

season does not meet the current minimum certified seed 

germination standards established by the Agricultural 

Chemistry and Seed Commission. Therefore, there is a 

severe shortage of rice seed that meets minimum 

germination standards established by current rules.  

The rice industry in Louisiana contributes over 

$500,000,000 to Louisiana’s economy through the sale of 

rice. Without a temporary suspension of current minimum 

certified seed germination standards, a substantial portion of 

that contribution will be lost. Some producers will be forced 

out of business, thereby causing permanent economic loss to 

Louisiana’s rice industry and loss of income to the citizens 

of Louisiana and businesses that depend on the rice industry. 

Such a shortage of available seed creates an imminent peril 

to the welfare of the citizens of Louisiana and to Louisiana’s 

economy. The Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 

has determined that a temporary suspension of the current 

minimum certified seed germination standards is necessary 

to help alleviate, to the extent possible, the shortage of rice 

seed available for planting for the 2017 crop year. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on 

February 17, 2017, and will remain in effect 120 days, 

unless renewed by the commissioner of the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, or until permanent rules are 

promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XIII.  Seeds 

Chapter 7. Certification of Specific Crops/Varieties 

Subchapter B. Grain and Row Crop Seeds 

§749. Rice Seed Certification Standards  

(Formerly §185) 

A. - C. … 

* * * 
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D. Temporary Suspension of Certified Rice Seed 

Germination Standards 

1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 

Chapter to the contrary, the germination percentage for rice 

seed offered for sale, whether foundation, registered, or 

certified shall be 60 percent or above. 

2. The label of all classes of certified rice seed with a 

germination percentage below 80 percent shall show the 

seed to be substandard, in addition to any other labeling 

requirements established by law or regulation.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1433. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Seed Commission, LR 8:576 (November 1982), 

amended LR 9:201 (April 1983), LR 9:754 (November 1983), LR 

10:495 (July 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Seed 

Commission, LR 12:825 (December 1986), LR 13:157 (March 

1987), LR 13:233 (April 1987), LR 14:606 (September 1988), LR 

14:694 (October 1988), LR 15:613 (August 1989), LR 19:888 (July 

1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and 

the Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission, LR 39:2724 

(October 2013), amended LR 42:212 (February 2016), LR 43: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 

Commissioner  
1703#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Sweet Potato Yield Adjustments (LAC 7:XV.143) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 

to the authority set forth in R.S. 3:1733 and R.S. 3:1734, the 

commissioner of agriculture and forestry declares an 

emergency to exist and adopts by emergency process the 

attached Rule relative to the adjustment to the sweet potato 

yields for purposes of the sweet potato tax and sweet potato 

fee. Sweet potato growers pay a sweet potato tax of $0.04 

per 50 pound bushel and a fee of $0.06 per bushel. The 

payments are based on an average yield of 175 bushels per 

acre. The Louisiana Sweet Potato Advertising and 

Development Commission determines the average yield 

pursuant to LAC 7:XV.143.D.1.a. 

Louisiana’s 2016 sweet potato crop was devastated by 

adverse weather conditions, especially torrential rain that 

occurred just prior to harvest. The adverse weather caused 

many growers to experience a substantial reduction in the 

yield per acre. The losses to the sweet potato crop and the 

inability to timely harvest the crop has caused a severe 

economic hardship for Louisiana’s sweet potato growers. It 

is necessary to allow sweet potato growers an adjustment 

from the average yield per acre to reflect the reduction in the 

yields per acre experienced by growers in order to avoid 

growers paying excess taxes and fees during a time that they 

are experiencing financial hardship. Failure to allow such an 

adjustment creates a substantial risk of causing growers to 

pay more in taxes and fees than the amount actually due and 

has the potential of forcing growers out of business. Both 

situations create an imminent peril to the welfare of the 

citizens of Louisiana and to Louisiana’s economy, thereby 

making this Emergency Rule necessary. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on 

February 16, 2017, and will remain in effect 120 days, 

unless renewed by the commissioner of agriculture and 

forestry, or until permanent rules are promulgated in 

accordance with law. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantines 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 

Subchapter C. Sweet Potato Weevil Quarantine 

§143. Fees 

A. - D.2. … 

E. A person who commercially grows, sells, or offers for 

sale sweet potatoes (“grower”) may petition the Louisiana 

Sweet Potato Advertising and Development Commission 

(“commission”) for a yield adjustment on the planted acres 

of the grower’s 2016 sweet potato crop. Adjusted yields will 

range from the average yield of 175 bushels per acre set by 

the commission down to 70 bushels per acre, which is the 

minimum adjusted yield the commission will accept. 

1. A grower requesting a yield adjustment shall submit 

a written request to the commission. 

a. The request shall include: 

 i. the farm name and address; 

 ii. the sweet potato dealer’s permit number; 

 iii. the grower’s name, address, telephone number, 

and e-mail address, if available; 

 iv. the acres planted; 

 v. the total fresh market bushels harvested from 

the 2016 crop; and 

 vi. a brief explanation of the reason for the 

request. 

b. The grower shall sign the written request. The 

written request shall be delivered to the commission through 

mail, fax or other form of actual delivery, on or before 4:30 

p.m. on March 3, 2017. A request will also be deemed to be 

timely when the papers are mailed on or before the due date. 

Timeliness of the mailing shall be shown only by an official 

United States postmark or by official receipt or certificate 

from the United States Postal Service made at the time of 

mailing which indicates the date thereof. A fax shall be 

considered timely only upon proof of actual receipt of the 

transmission. 

2. Each grower who has timely filed a request for an 

adjustment with the commission shall be notified of the date, 

time and place the commission is scheduled to consider the 

request at least 10 days prior to the commission meeting. 

The commission shall not consider a written request that is 

untimely. 

3. Each grower who has timely filed a request for an 

adjustment may be present and speak on his behalf at the 

time the grower’s request is considered by the commission. 

4. The commission shall grant or deny the adjustment 

based on the following factors: 

a. the location of the farm; 

b. the yield per planted acre as compared to the 

average statewide yield per planted acre, as set by the 

commission for 2016; 
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c. the reason given for the request for an 

adjustment; and 

d. any other fact that is relevant to the request for an 

adjustment. 

5. The commission may grant a request for adjustment 

if it finds all of the following. 

a. The actual yield per planted acre for 2016 is less 

than the average yield per planted acre set by the 

commission for 2016. 

b. The decreased yield for 2016 is related to factors 

beyond the grower’s control. 

c. The grower or farm submitting the request owes 

no delinquent or outstanding sweet potato fees, taxes or 

fines, levied prior to the 2016 crop year, to the Department 

of Agriculture and Forestry or to the commission. 

6. The denial or granting of the request for an 

adjustment shall be a discretionary decision of the 

commission. 

7. Each grower submitting a timely request for an 

adjustment shall be notified in writing of the commission’s 

decision and the amount of the adjustment in the yield per 

planted acre, if any. 

8. If the request for an adjustment is granted, then the 

amount of both the sweet potato fee and sweet potato tax 

owed by the grower shall be based on the adjusted yield set 

by the commission. 

9. Each grower who submits a timely request for an 

adjustment, regardless of whether that adjustment is granted 

or denied by the commission, shall be entitled to pay his 

sweet potato fee and sweet potato tax without imposition of 

a penalty if he pays the fee within 30 days after receiving 

written notification of the commission's decision. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1733-1734. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 

LR 11:321 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 

Sciences, LR 15:77 (February 1989), LR 18:705 (July 1992), LR 

27:1178 (August 2001), LR 29:2298 (November 2003), LR 43: 

 

Mike Strain DVM 

Commissioner  
1703#001 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 

Department of Veterans Affairs 

Military Family Assistance Board 

Military Family Assistance Program  

(LAC 4:VII.Chapter 9) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 

to the authority set forth in R.S. 46:121 et seq., the secretary 

of the Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs and the 

Military Family Assistance Board declare that an emergency 

exists and adopts by emergency process the attached rules 

relative to the Military Family Assistance Program. The

Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs, Military 

Assistance Board proposes to amend Chapter 9 to comply 

with changes to R.S. 46:121 et seq. that took effect August 1, 

2016 and process claims for disaster relief that resulted 

therefrom, most of which are related to the great flood of 

August 2016. The Louisiana Military Family Assistance 

Board amended the provisions related to persons eligible to 

apply to for assistance to comply with the changes created 

by Act 185 of the 2016 Regular Legislative Session. The 

amendments will allow all veterans of the armed forces who 

obtained an honorable discharge to apply for disaster 

assistance from the fund. 

The great flood of August 2016, impacted over 120,000 

Louisiana veterans. The adverse weather conditions, 

especially the torrential rains and flooding that occurred, 

caused many veterans to sustain total property losses. These 

losses have caused a severe economic hardship for 

Louisiana’s veterans. Prior to August 1, 2016 the vast 

majority of these veterans were not eligible to apply for 

assistance to the Military Family Assistance Program 

because they served prior to September 11, 2011. As a result 

of changes made in Act 185 of the 2016 Regular Legislative 

Session, pre-September 11, 2001 veterans became eligible to 

apply for relief from the program. Following the Great Flood 

of August 2016, Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs 

received over 3500 applications for disaster related relief 

from veterans now eligible to receive emergency relief from 

the fund, all of whom sustained severe or total property 

losses as a result of the afore mentioned flood. It is 

imperative that funds be awarded to eligible persons as soon 

as possible in order to assist them with their recovery. 

Failure to allow newly eligible person to access these funds 

creates a substantial risk of causing impacted veterans to 

suffer delays in recovering from the damages caused by the 

flood. This in turn will lengthen their exposure to financial 

and environmental hardships. This situation creates an 

imminent peril to the welfare of the thousands of Louisiana 

veterans impacted by the aforementioned flooding, 

specifically their health and livelihood, thereby making this 

Emergency Rule necessary. 

This Rule shall have the force and effect of law on 

February 22, 2017, and will remain in accordance with law. 

Title 4 

ADMINISTRATION 

Part VII.  Governor’s Office 

Chapter 9. Veterans affairs 

Subchapter D. Military Family Assistance Program 

§965. Definitions 

A. The following terms as used in these regulations, 

unless the context otherwise requires or unless redefined by 

a particular part hereof, shall have the following meanings. 

Activated Military Personnel or Activated Military 

Person—a person domiciled in Louisiana for civilian 

purposes, names Louisiana as home of record (HOR) for 

military purposes, and who is any of the following:  

a. a reserve component of the United States Army, 

Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, including 

the Louisiana National Guard and called to active federal 

service in excess of 30 days;  
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b. a member of the Louisiana National Guard and 

called to active state service pursuant to R.S. 29:7; 

c. a veteran of the United States Army, Navy, Air 

Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, as defined in 

paragraph (4) of R.S. 46:121. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1607 (June 

2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 

Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 

§967. Eligibility 

A. … 

B. The activated military person must have served in 

excess of 30 consecutive days of active duty since 

September 11, 2001 or be a veteran of the United States 

Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard, as 

defined in paragraph (4) of R.S. 46:121, before the activated 

military person or any family member may submit an 

application for assistance to the Louisiana Military Family 

Assistance Program. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1607 (June 

2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 

Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 

§969. Application Process 

A. - A.9. … 

10. The applications of activated military personnel 

who served after September 11, 2001 shall be given priority 

during the consideration process. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1607 (June 

2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 

Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 

§973. Award Amounts 

A. - C.3.d. … 

4. Family members of activated military personnel 

who are listed as missing in action or prisoner of war by the 

U.S. Department of Defense shall be eligible for the lump 

sum award. The activated military person must be listed as 

missing in action or a prisoner of war.  

D. - D.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:121 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Veterans Affairs, LR 37:1608 (June 

2011), amended by the Office of the Governor, Department of 

Veterans Affairs, Military Family Assistance Board, LR 43: 

 

Joey Strickland 

Chairman, Military Family 

Assistance Board  

and 

Secretary, Louisiana Department 

of Veterans Affairs 
1703#036 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Abortion Facilities 

Licensing Standards 

(LAC 48:I.4431) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends LAC 48:I.4431 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and R.S. 40:2175.1 et 

seq. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 

maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 

the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing repealed and replaced the 

provisions governing the licensing standards for abortion 

facilities in order to incorporate the changes imposed by 

legislation, and further revise and clarify those provisions 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 4). 

Act 97 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature increased the time period required for certain 

pre-operative services. Act 563 of the 2016 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature provides that at least 72 hours 

before the abortion, the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 

shall be given a copy of certain printed information, 

including resources, programs and services for pregnant 

women who have a diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality, 

and given printed information about resources, programs and 

services for infants and children born with disabilities, as 

well as other related matters. Act 593 of the 2016 Regular 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature provides for the 

disposal, by interment or cremation, of fetal remains and 

designates procedures for giving patients options for 

arrangements. The department promulgated an Emergency 

Rule which amended the provisions governing outpatient 

abortion clinics in order to comply with the provisions of 

Acts 97, 563 and 593 (Louisiana Register, Volume 42, 

Number 12).  

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in order to 

continue the provisions of the December 3, 2016 Emergency 

Rule. This action is being taken to protect the health and 

welfare of Louisiana citizens by assuring the health and 

safety of women seeking health care services at licensed 

abortion facilities.  

Effective April 3, 2017, the Department of Health, Bureau 

of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 

governing the licensing standards for abortion facilities. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 44. Abortion Facilities 

Subchapter C. Pre-Operative, Intra-Operative, and Post-

Operative Procedures 

§4431. Screening and Pre-Operative Services 

A. - E.1. ... 
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2. Requirements 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours prior to the pregnant woman having any part 

of an abortion performed or induced, and prior to the 

administration of any anesthesia or medication in 

preparation for the abortion on the pregnant woman, the 

physician who is to perform the abortion or a qualified 

person who is the physician’s agent shall comply with all of 

the following requirements: 

 i. perform an obstetric ultrasound on the pregnant 

woman, offer to simultaneously display the screen which 

depicts the active ultrasound images so that the pregnant 

woman may view them and make audible the fetal heartbeat, 

if present, in a quality consistent with current medical 

practice. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to 

prevent the pregnant woman from not listening to the sounds 

detected by the fetal heart monitor, or from not viewing the 

images displayed on the ultrasound screen; 

 ii. provide a simultaneous and objectively 

accurate oral explanation of what the ultrasound is depicting, 

in a manner understandable to a layperson, which shall 

include the presence and location of the unborn child within 

the uterus and the number of unborn children depicted, the 

dimensions of the unborn child, and the presence of cardiac 

activity if present and viewable, along with the opportunity 

for the pregnant woman to ask questions; 

 iii. offer the pregnant woman the option of 

requesting an ultrasound photograph or print of her unborn 

child of a quality consistent with current standard medical 

practice that accurately portrays, to the extent feasible, the 

body of the unborn child including limbs, if present and 

viewable; 

 iv. from a form that shall be produced and made 

available by the department, staff will orally read the 

statement on the form to the pregnant woman in the 

ultrasound examination room prior to beginning the 

ultrasound examination, and obtain from the pregnant 

woman a copy of a completed, signed, and dated form; and 

 v. retain copies of the election form and 

certification prescribed above. The certification shall be 

placed in the medical file of the woman and shall be kept by 

the outpatient abortion facility for a period of not less than 

seven years. If the woman is a minor, the certification shall 

be placed in the medical file of the minor and kept for at 

least ten years from the time the minor reaches the age of 

majority. The woman's medical files shall be kept 

confidential as provided by law. 

b. If the pregnant woman certifies in writing that 

she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 

licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 

to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 

pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 

or a qualified person who is the physician’s agent shall 

comply with all of the requirements of §4431.E.2.a at least 

24 hours prior to the woman having any part of an abortion 

performed or induced. 

c. - e. Repealed. 

E.3. - G.1. ... 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours before the abortion the physician who is to 

perform the abortion or the referring physician shall provide 

informed consent to the pregnant woman seeking an 

abortion, pursuant to all laws, rules and regulations 

regarding informed consent. The informed consent shall be 

communicated both orally and in-person, and in writing, and 

shall be provided in a private room. Documentation of all 

such informed consent provided shall be maintained in the 

patient’s medical record. 

b.  If the woman certifies in writing that she 

currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 

outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 

perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 

pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 

or the referring physician shall comply with all of the 

requirements of §4431.G.1 at least 24 hours prior to the 

abortion. 

1.c. - 3. ... 

a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b below, at 

least 72 hours before a scheduled abortion the physician who 

is to perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a 

qualified person shall inform the pregnant woman seeking 

an abortion, orally and in-person that: 

 i. - iv. ... 

b. If the woman certifies in writing that she 

currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest licensed 

outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able to 

perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 

pregnancy, then the physician who is to perform the abortion 

the referring physician, or a qualified person shall comply 

with all of the requirements of §4431.G.3 at least 24 hours 

prior to the abortion. 

4. ... 

a. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 

of the printed materials, pursuant to any applicable state 

laws, rules, and regulations, by the physician who is to 

perform the abortion, the referring physician, or a qualified 

person. These printed materials shall include any printed 

materials necessary for a voluntary and informed consent, 

pursuant to R.S. 40:1061.17. However, if the pregnant 

woman certifies in writing that she currently lives 150 miles 

or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility 

that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 

particular woman’s stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a 

copy of the printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an 

elective abortion procedure by the physician who is to 

perform the abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 

40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 

 i. - NOTE. Repealed. 

b. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman or minor female considering an abortion 

shall be given a copy of the department’s Point of Rescue 

pamphlet and any other materials described in R.S. 

40:1061.16 by the physician who is to perform the abortion 

or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 

except in the case of medical emergency defined by 

applicable state laws. However, if the pregnant woman or 

minor female considering an abortion certifies in writing that 

she currently lives 150 miles or more from the nearest 

licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing and able 

to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s stage of 

pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these printed 

materials at least 72 hours prior to an elective abortion 

procedure by the physician who is to perform the abortion or 
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a qualified person as defined in R.S. 40:1061.17(B)(4)(c), 

except in the case of medical emergency defined by 

applicable state laws. 

 i. The physician or qualified person shall provide 

to the woman, or minor female seeking an abortion, such 

printed materials individually and in a private room for the 

purpose of ensuring that she has an adequate opportunity to 

ask questions and discuss her individual circumstances. 

 ii. The physician or qualified person shall obtain 

the signature of the woman or minor female seeking an 

abortion on a form certifying that the printed materials were 

given to the woman or minor female. 

 iii. In the case of a minor female considering an 

abortion, if a parent accompanies the minor female to the 

appointment, the physician or qualified person shall provide 

to the parent copies of the same materials given to the 

female. 

 iv. The signed certification form shall be kept 

within the medical record of the woman or minor female for 

a period of at least seven years. 

c. At least 72 hours before the abortion, the 

pregnant woman seeking an abortion shall be given a copy 

of a printed informational document including resources, 

programs and services for pregnant women who have a 

diagnosis of fetal genetic abnormality and resources, 

programs and services for infants and children born with 

disabilities. However, if the pregnant woman certifies in 

writing that she currently lives 150 miles or more from the 

nearest licensed outpatient abortion facility that is willing 

and able to perform the abortion at the particular woman’s 

stage of pregnancy, she shall be given a copy of these 

printed materials at least 24 hours prior to an elective 

abortion procedure by the physician who is to perform the 

abortion or a qualified person as defined in R.S. 

40:1061.17(B)(4)(c). 

d. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion is 

unable to read the materials, the materials shall be read to 

her. If the pregnant woman seeking an abortion asks 

questions concerning any of the information or materials, 

answers shall be provided to her in her own language. 
NOTE: The provisions of this Section requiring a physician or 

qualified person to provide required printed materials to a 
woman considering an abortion shall become effective 30 

days after the department publishes a notice of the availability 

of such materials. 

5. ... 

a. Prior to the abortion, the outpatient abortion 

facility shall ensure the pregnant woman seeking an abortion 

has certified, in writing on a form provided by the 

department that the information and materials required were 

provided at least 72 hours prior to the abortion, or at least 24 

hours prior to the abortion in the case of a woman who has 

given prior certification in writing that she currently lives 

150 miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient 

abortion facility that is willing and able to perform the 

abortion at the particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. This 

form shall be maintained in the woman’s medical record. 

b. ... 

c. The pregnant woman seeking an abortion is not 

required to pay any amount for the abortion procedures until 

the 72-hour period has expired, or until expiration of the 24-

hour period applicable in the case of a woman who has given 

prior certification in writing that she currently lives 150 

miles or more from the nearest licensed outpatient abortion 

facility that is willing and able to perform the abortion at the 

particular woman’s stage of pregnancy. 

6. - 7.b. ... 

8. Disposition of Fetal Remains 

a. Each physician who performs or induces an 

abortion which does not result in a live birth shall ensure that 

the remains of the fetus are disposed of by interment or 

cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 

et seq., and the provisions of LAC 51:XXVI.102 of the 

Sanitary Code. 

b. Prior to an abortion, the physician shall orally 

and in writing inform the pregnant woman seeking an 

abortion in the licensed abortion facility that the pregnant 

woman has the following options: 

 i. the option to make arrangements for the 

disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or 

cremation, in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 

et seq.; or 

 ii. the option to have the outpatient abortion 

facility/physician make the arrangements for the disposition 

and/or disposal of fetal remains by interment or cremation, 

in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 8:651 et seq. 

c. The pregnant woman shall sign a consent form 

attesting that she has been informed of these options, and 

shall indicate on the form whether she wants to make 

arrangements for the disposition of fetal remains or whether 

she wants the facility to make arrangements for the 

disposition and/or disposal of fetal remains. 

d. The requirements of §4431.G.8 regarding 

dispositions of fetal remains, shall not apply to abortions 

induced by the administration of medications when the 

evacuation of any human remains occurs at a later time and 

not in the presence of the inducing physician or at the 

facility in which the physician administered the inducing 

medications. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2175.1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

41:700 (April 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Cecile 

Castello, Health Standards Section, P.O. Box 3767, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70821 or by email to MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. 

Ms. Castello is responsible for responding to inquiries 

regarding this Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency 

Rule is available for review by interested parties at parish 

Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#037 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 

Community Choices Waiver 

Electronic Visit Verification 

(LAC 50:XXI.9305) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services adopt 

LAC 50:XXI.9305 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, 

through collaborative efforts, provide enhanced long-term 

services and supports to individuals who are elderly or have 

a disability through the Community Choices Waiver 

program. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 

Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 

the provisions governing the Community Choices Waiver in 

order to adopt requirements which mandate that providers of 

personal assistant services must utilize the electronic visit 

verification (EVV) system designated by the department for 

automated scheduling, time and attendance tracking, and 

billing for certain home and community-based services 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 3). This Rule is 

being promulgated to continue the provisions of the April 1, 

2015 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to promote 

the health and welfare of Community Choices Waiver 

participants by assuring that they receive the services they 

need and to ensure that these services are rendered in an 

efficient and cost-effective manner. 

Effective March 27, 2017, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 

Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions governing 

the Community Choices Waiver to establish requirements for 

the use of an EVV system. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 

Subpart 7.  Community Choices Waiver 

Chapter 93. Provider Responsibilities 

§9305. Electronic Visit Verification 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after April 1, 2015, 

Community Choices Waiver providers shall use the 

electronic visit verification (EVV) system designated by the 

department for automated scheduling, time and attendance 

tracking, and billing for certain home and community-based 

services.  

B. Reimbursement shall only be made to providers with 

documented use of the EVV system. The services that 

require use of the EVV system will be published in the 

Community Choices Waiver provider manual. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 

Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#038 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesGraduate Medical Education 

Supplemental Payments Pool Elimination (LAC 50:V.1331) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends LAC 50:V.1331 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 

and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 

the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 

first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing amended the provisions 

governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 

hospital services to adopt provisions in order to continue 

medical education payments to state hospitals, children’s 

specialty hospitals and acute care hospitals classified as 

teaching hospitals when the hospitals are reimbursed by 

prepaid risk-bearing MCOs for inpatient hospital services 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 11). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2017, the 

Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 

provisions governing inpatient hospital services to eliminate 

the total supplemental payments pool for graduate medical 

education payments to qualifying acute care hospitals 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 43, Number 3). The department 

has now determined that it is necessary to amend the 

provisions of the March 1, 2017 Emergency Rule in order to
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clarify these provisions and to correct a technical error to 

assure that the provisions are promulgated in a clear and 

concise manner. This action is being taken to avoid a budget 

deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. 

Effective March 2, 2017, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 

of the March 1, 2017 Emergency Rule governing the 

reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 

to eliminate the pool for supplemental payments for graduate 

medical education. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§1331. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - E. Repealed. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 

2012, medical education payments for inpatient services 

which are reimbursed by a prepaid risk-bearing managed 

care organization (MCO) shall be paid monthly by Medicaid 

as interim lump sum payments.  

1. Hospitals with qualifying medical education 

programs shall submit a listing of inpatient claims paid each 

month by each MCO. 

a. Qualifying Medical Education 

Programsgraduate medical education, paramedical 

education, and nursing schools. 

2. Qualifying hospitals must have a direct medical 

education add-on component included in their prospective 

Medicaid per diem rates as of January 31, 2012 which was 

carved-out of the per diem rate reported to the MCOs. 

3. Monthly payments shall be calculated by 

multiplying the number of qualifying inpatient days 

submitted by the medical education costs component 

included in each hospital’s fee-for-service prospective per 

diem rate. Monthly payment amounts shall be verified by the 

department semi-annually using reports of MCO covered 

days generated from encounter data. Payment adjustments or 

recoupments shall be made as necessary based on the MCO 

encounter data reported to the department. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008), amended LR 38:2773 

(November 2012), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau 

of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#007 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesGraduate Medical Education 

Supplemental Payments Pool Elimination (LAC 50:V.1331) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends LAC 50:V.1331 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 

and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 

the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 

first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing amended the provisions 

governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 

hospital services to adopt provisions in order to continue 

medical education payments to state hospitals, children’s 

specialty hospitals and acute care hospitals classified as 

teaching hospitals when the hospitals are reimbursed by 

prepaid risk-bearing MCOs for inpatient hospital services 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 38, Number 11). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2017, the 

Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

now proposes to amend the provisions governing inpatient 

hospital services to eliminate the total supplemental 

payments pool for graduate medical education payments to 

qualifying acute care hospitals. This action is being taken to 

avoid a budget deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. It 

is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 

will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 

approximately $5,000,000 for state fiscal year 2016-2017. 

Effective March 1, 2017, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 

governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 

hospital services to eliminate the pool for supplemental 

payments for graduate medical education. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§1331. Acute Care Hospitals 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:877 (May 2008), amended LR 38:2773 

(November 2012), repealed by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#005 

 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesHigh Medicaid Hospitals 

Supplemental Payments Pool Reduction (LAC 50:V.953) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing amends LAC 50:V.953 in the Medical Assistance 

Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 

promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 (B)(1) et seq., 

and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 

the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 

first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 

(SFY) 2014, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 

provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 

inpatient hospital services to reduce the total supplemental 

payments pool for non-rural, non-state hospitals classified as 

high Medicaid hospitals, and changed the frequency of the 

payments (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 1). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in SFY 2017, the 

Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing 

now proposes to amend the provisions governing inpatient 

hospital services to reduce the total supplemental payments 

pool for non-rural, non-state hospitals classified as high 

Medicaid hospitals. This action is being taken to avoid a 

budget deficit in the Medical Assistance Program. It is 

estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 

reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 

approximately $999,000 for state fiscal year 2016-2017. 

Effective March 1, 2017, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 

governing the reimbursement methodology for non-rural, 

non-state inpatient hospital services to reduce the high 

Medicaid supplemental payments pool. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 

§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - S. … 

T. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 

2017, supplemental payments to non-rural, non-state acute 

care hospitals that qualify as a high Medicaid hospital shall 

be annual. The amount appropriated for annual supplemental 

payments shall be reduced to $1,000. Each qualifying 

hospital’s annual supplemental payment shall be calculated 

based on the pro rata share of the reduced appropriation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 

(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895, 1896 

(September 2009), repromulgated LR 35:2182 (October 2009), 

amended LR 36:1552 (July 2010), LR 36:2561 (November 2010), 

LR 37:2161 (July 2011), LR 39:3095 (November 2013), LR 

39:3297 (December 2013), LR 40:312 (February 2014), 

repromulgated LR 40:1939, 1940 (October 2014), LR 41:133 

(January 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#004 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 

with Intellectual Disabilities 

Supplemental Payments 

(LAC 50:VII.32917) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing adopts LAC 50:VII.32917 in the Medical 

Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 

pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 

Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
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period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 

Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing provides Medicaid reimbursement to non-state 

intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 

disabilities (ICFs/ID) for services rendered to Medicaid 

recipients. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, promulgated an Emergency Rule 

which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 

methodology for ICFs/ID in order to adopt provisions to 

establish supplemental Medicaid payments for services 

provided to Medicaid recipients residing in privately-owned 

facilities that enter into a cooperative endeavor agreement 

with the department (Louisiana Register, Volume 41, 

Number 8). The Department of Health, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 

amended the provisions of the August 1, 2015 Emergency 

Rule to establish upper payment limits for supplemental 

payments to private intermediate care facilities entering into 

a cooperative endeavor agreement with the department to 

provide a privately operated living setting to residents 

discharging from Pinecrest Supports and Services Center, 

hereafter referred to as Pinecrest (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 42, Number 7). This Emergency Rule is being 

promulgated to continue the provisions of the July 20, 2016 

Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to secure new 

federal funding and to promote the health and welfare of 

Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient provider 

participation.  

Effective March 21, 2017, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the provisions 

governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 

ICFs/ID. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 

Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Intellectual Disabilities 

Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 

Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 

§32917. Supplemental Payments 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2015, monthly supplemental payments shall be made to 

qualifying privately-owned intermediate care facilities for 

persons with intellectual disabilities. 

1. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, 

the private entity must enter into a cooperative endeavor 

agreement with the department. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2016, monthly supplemental payments shall be made to 

qualifying privately-owned intermediate care facilities for 

persons with intellectual disabilities (ICFs/ID) to provide a 

privately operated living setting to residents discharging 

from Pinecrest Supports and Services Center. 

1. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, 

the private entity must enter into a cooperative endeavor 

agreement with the department to provide a privately 

operated living setting, with an end goal of increased 

community placement opportunities, to residents of 

Pinecrest who desire to discharge and have been deemed 

ready for discharge by their interdisciplinary teams, and 

meet the admission protocol/criteria of the contracted party 

but have not been successful in securing a placement with a 

private provider. 

C. Supplemental payments for services rendered to 

Medicaid recipients shall not exceed the facility’s upper 

payment limit (UPL) pursuant to 42 CFR 447.272. The UPL 

will be based on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services’ approved ICF transitional rate of $329.26 

including provider fee. 

D. The supplemental payment will be the difference 

between the actual Medicaid payment and what would have 

been paid if the ICF/ID was paid up to the UPL amount. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#039 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Personal Care ServicesLong-Term 

Standards for Participation 

Electronic Visit Verification 

(LAC 50:XV.12909) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services amend 

LAC 50:XV.12909 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 

effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 

adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, 

through collaborative efforts, provide enhanced long-term 

personal care services and supports to individuals with 

functional impairments. 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 

amended the provisions governing long-term personal care 

services (LT-PCS) in order to adopt requirements which 

mandate that LT-PCS providers must utilize the electronic 
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visit verification (EVV) system designated by the 

department for automated scheduling, time and attendance 

tracking, and billing for long-term personal care services 

(Louisiana Register, Volume 41, Number 3). This 

Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 

provisions of the April 1, 2015 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 

welfare of persons with a functional impairment by assuring 

that they receive the services they need, and to ensure that 

these services are rendered in an efficient and cost-effective 

manner. 

Effective March 27, 2017, the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 

Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions governing 

long-term personal care services to establish requirements 

for the use of an EVV system. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 

Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long Term Care 

§12909. Standards for Participation 

A. - D.2. ... 

E. Electronic Visit Verification. Effective for dates of 

service on or after April, 1, 2015, providers of long-term 

personal care services shall use the electronic visit 

verification (EVV) system designated by the department for 

automated scheduling, time and attendance tracking, and 

billing for certain home and community-based services. 

1. Reimbursement shall only be made to providers 

with documented use of the EVV system.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 29:912 (June 2003), amended LR 30:2832 

(December 2004), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 34:2579 

(December 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 

Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:2451 (November 2009), LR 

39:2508 (September 2013), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 

Adult Services, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 

MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 

interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#040 

 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Bait Gulf Menhaden Season2017 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953(H), 

which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 

the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to employ 

emergency procedures, effective March 2, 2017, to establish 

seasonal rules to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:6(25)(a) and 

56:326.3, which provide that the Wildlife and Fisheries 

Commission may set seasons for saltwater finfish, and 

56:325.6, which provides for an extended bait gulf 

menhaden season outside of the regular commercial 

menhaden season, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

hereby sets the following season for the commercial harvest 

of bait gulf menhaden in Louisiana state waters: 

The commercial season for the harvest of bait gulf 

menhaden taken within Louisiana state waters or landed in 

Louisiana shall open at 12:01 a.m., March 15, 2017. The 

harvest of bait gulf menhaden shall not exceed the 

established quota of 3,000 metric tons for the 2016-17 bait 

menhaden season.  

The commission also grants authority to the Secretary of 

the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to modify the 

season for the commercial harvest of bait gulf menhaden as 

needed to effectively implement the provisions herein upon 

notification to the chairman of the Wildlife and Fisheries 

Commission. 

 

Chad J. Courville 

Chairman 
1703#016 
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RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Honey Bees, Apiaries, and Fire Ants 

(LAC 7:XV.Chapters 5 and 7) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

(“department”) has amended LAC 7:XV.501-519 regarding 

honey bees and apiaries. The Rule also repeals in its entirety 

LAC 7:XV.701-725 regarding fire ants.  

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantines 

Chapter 5. Honey Bees and Apiaries 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.Chapter 25) 

§501. Definitions 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2501) 

A. For purposes of this Chapter, the following terms 

shall have the meaning hereafter ascribed to them, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Agent—an authorized representative of the state 

entomologist and/or the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry. 

Apiary or Yard—the assembly of one or more colonies 

of bees at a single location. 

Apiary Law and Regulation—the provisions in title 3 of 

the Louisiana Revised Statutes regulating apiaries and the 

regulations promulgated in Title 7 of the Louisiana 

Administrative Code regulating apiaries. 

Beekeeper—an individual, firm or corporation, who 

owns or has under his control one or more colonies of bees. 

Certificate of Inspection—a document issued after 

authorized personnel have inspected bees or regulated 

articles prior to, and for the purpose of, the movement of 

such bees or regulated articles. 

Colony or Hive—an aggregate of bees consisting 

principally of workers, but having, when perfect, one queen 

and at times many drones; including brood, combs, honey, 

and the receptacles inhabited by the bees. 

Comb Package—a package of bees shipped or moved 

on a comb containing honey and/or brood, with or without a 

queen. 

Combless Package—a package of bees shipped or 

moved without comb, with or without a queen. 

Commissioner—the commissioner of agriculture and 

forestry. 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry. 

Disease or Pest—any infectious condition of bees 

which is detrimental to the honey bee industry, including, 

but not limited to, American foulbrood. 

Frame—a wooden or plastic case for holding 

honeycomb. 

Infested—the presence of any disease or pest of bees. 

Nucleus—bees, brood, combs and honey in or 

inhabiting a small hive or portion of a standard hive or other 

dwelling place. 

Permit—a registration certificate issued by the 

department to a beekeeper upon registration in accordance 

with the apiary laws and regulations. 

Person—an individual, firm, corporation or other legal 

entity. 

Quarantine—an official act of the state entomologist 

which prohibits or limits movement of bees or regulated 

articles when necessary to control, eradicate or prevent the 

introduction, spread or dissemination of any and all diseases 

of bees and all other pests of bees. A quarantine is local 

when it covers specific apiaries, colonies, bees or regulated 

articles, or another specific location. A quarantine is 

geographic when it covers a general area. 

Quarantine Area—any area of the state designated by 

the state entomologist as having regulated articles which are 

or may be infected by a disease and/or infested with a pest, 

which presents a danger to other colonies of bees. 

Queen—a fully developed female bee, capable of being 

fertilized. 

Regulated Areas—geographical areas outside of the 

state of Louisiana which have been designated by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, Louisiana Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, or local governmental officials as 

infested states or counties. Any state or county which fails to 

conduct annual inspections in accordance with inspection 

standards adopted by the Louisiana Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry shall be presumed to be a regulated 

area. 

Regulated Articles—colonies of bees, nuclei, comb or 

combless packages of bees, queens, used or second-hand 

beekeeping fixtures or equipment, and anything that has 

been used in operating an apiary. 

State Entomologist—the entomologist of the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry. 

Super—a standard frame hive body (all depths). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2302 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:928 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:510 

(March 2017).  

§503. Restrictions on Movement of Bees or Regulated 

Articles into Louisiana 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2511) 

A. Movement of bees or regulated articles from 

regulated areas into Louisiana may require prior written 

authorization issued by the commissioner, state entomologist 

or department. 

B. If the state entomologist or his agents find that any 

bees and/or regulated articles have been brought into this 

state in violation of any laws and/or regulations governing 

apiaries, the bees and/or regulated articles may be 
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immediately placed under stop order until released by the 

commissioner or state entomologist. Upon inspection, the 

bees or regulated articles may be placed under quarantine. 

Any violation of stop order or quarantine shall constitute a 

violation of the apiary law and regulations. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2308 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:929 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:510 

(March 2017).  

§505. Interstate Movement of Supers and Frames 

Used in Shipping Honey 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2513) 

A. Class A permit holders, by written authorization of the 

commissioner or state entomologist, may move supers filled 

with frames and/or honey into and out of the state provided 

that each such super is moved free of bees and under a bee 

proof enclosure. Each load of supers must bear a brand or 

label containing the name, address and telephone number of 

the shipper or mover. 

B. The department shall be notified, either in advance of 

or at the time of arrival, of the number of such supers filled 

with frames and/or honey being moved into the state. The 

department shall also be provided the name, address and 

telephone number of the recipient of each super if the 

recipient is not the class A permit holder to whom written 

authorization was issued. 

C. All such supers filled with frames and/or honey shall 

be subject to inspection by authorized department personnel. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:511 

(March 2017). 

§507. Annual Registration and Designation of Class A 

and B Permits 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2503) 

A. Beekeepers will be designated as class A or class B 

permit holders. To be eligible for a class A permit, an 

applicant must either: 

1. be domiciled in this state; or 

2. have held a class B permit for three consecutive 

violation-free years. If violations are incurred at any time 

during this three-year period, the class B permit holder will 

automatically be placed back at year one, pending payment 

of any fines levied against him by the commissioner. 

B. The holder of a class A permit may do the following: 

1. keep or move bees within Louisiana in new or used 

beekeeping equipment; 

2. apply to the department for an inspection for the 

purpose of moving bees; 

3 move bees out of Louisiana upon receiving a 

certificate of inspection from the department; and 

4. move bees into Louisiana as long as bees are 

accompanied by an inspection certificate from the state of 

origin. 

C. The holder of a class B permit may do the following: 

1. keep or move bees within Louisiana as long as the 

bees or equipment are established in Louisiana and are 

obtained from a beekeeper registered with the department; 

2. keep or move bees obtained as a combless package 

that have been certified from the state of origin into 

Louisiana and move new, but not used, beekeeping 

equipment into Louisiana; and 

3. apply to the department for a certificate of 

inspection for the purpose of determining the general health 

of the bees and to establish that the bees are not in violation 

of any apiary laws or regulations. This certificate of 

inspection will not confer authority on a class B permit 

holder to move bees. 

D. The holder of a class B permit shall do the following: 

1. maintain his yard or apiary a minimum of two miles 

from any other bee yard or apiary for three consecutive 

violation-free years. However, any registered beekeeper who 

owns property may locate his or her own apiary anywhere 

on that property. The holder of a class B permit must be able 

to demonstrate that he made reasonable efforts to ascertain 

and ensure that his bee yard or apiary would not be set up 

within a two mile radius of an existing bee yard or apiary. 

The holder of a class B permit may move his yard or apiary 

within two miles of an existing yard or apiary if the owner of 

the existing apiary gives written permission; 

2. provide the department with a map and the GPS 

coordinates of his bee yard or apiary every year at the time 

when the bees are registered with the department; and 

3. apply for an inspection of the bees and be inspected 

for three consecutive years and be found free of any 

regulated pests of diseases during those years. 

E. Permits issued for registration shall not allow the 

holder to move bees or regulated articles as is provided for 

with a certificate of inspection. 

F. Failure to register colonies of bees in the state of 

Louisiana is a violation of this Part. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2305 and R.S. 2:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:511 

(March 2017). 

§509. Authority to Enter Premises 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2505) 

A. For the purpose of ascertaining whether bees or 

regulated articles may have been or are being transported in 

violation of the apiary law or regulations, authorized 

personnel may enter onto property in the state where 

apiaries, bees or regulated articles are located, or are 

reasonably believed to be located, to determine if colonies or 

apiaries located on the property have been registered and are 

in compliance with all other apiary laws and regulations. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2308 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
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Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:511 

(March 2017). 

§511. Applications for Inspection 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2507) 

A. Beekeepers who desire certificates of inspection 

authorizing the movement of bees and/or regulated articles 

shall make application for inspection on a form that will be 

furnished by the department prior to moving the bees and/or 

regulated articles. 

B. The applicant must furnish the department with a map 

showing the location of the bees and/or regulated articles to 

be moved. If the bees or regulated articles are at one or more 

apiaries, then a map showing each apiary where the bees or 

regulated articles are located must be submitted along with 

the application. Any relocation of any bees or regulated 

articles that are scheduled to be moved shall be provided to 

the department prior to or as soon as possible after the 

relocation.  

C. The intrastate relocation of bees or regulated articles 

shall not require a certificate of inspection unless the bees or 

regulated articles are located in an area under a geographic 

or local quarantine or are under stop order. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2307 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:930 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:512 

(March 2017). 

§513. Issuance and Use of Certificates of Inspection 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2509) 

A. No certificate of inspection shall be issued by the 

department for the movement of bees or regulated articles 

unless the bees or regulated articles come from apiaries that: 

1. are not under a geographic or local quarantine or a 

stop order; 

2. have been inspected at least once in the twelve 

months prior to the date of application for a certificate of 

inspection; 

3. are free of American foulbrood infection; and 

4. have effective control of any other disease or pest, 

if such an infestation is present. 

B. Certificates of inspection shall not be issued to cover 

the shipment or movement of bees and/or regulated articles 

from an area that has been quarantined on account of 

American foulbrood infection until it has been determined 

by state entomologist that the American foul-brood 

infestation has been destroyed.  

C. The issuance of a certificate of inspection by the 

department is discretionary if the applicant is not registered 

with the department, the colony or apiary to be inspected is 

not registered with the department, the applicant owes 

outstanding fines or fees to the department, the apiaries are 

not properly marked, or if the applicant is otherwise not in 

compliance with the apiary laws and regulations. 

D. No certificate of inspection issued by the department 

shall be used to move bees or regulated articles from any 

apiary or other location not listed on the certificate of 

inspection. 

E. All hives shall have removable tops and frames 

allowing inspection at all depths. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2306, R.S. 3:2303, and R.S. 3:2307. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:931 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:512 

(March 2017). 

§515. Quarantines  

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2515) 

A. As an exercise of the full and plenary power granted 

by statute to deal with all diseases and pests of bees the 

commissioner or the state entomologist may declare and 

enforce a geographic quarantine of any area of the state or 

from any regulated area when necessary to control, 

eradicate, or prevent the introduction, spread, or 

dissemination of a disease or pest. 

1. A geographic quarantine shall contain a concise 

statement of the facts supporting the declaration of 

quarantine, the geographical area of quarantine, the date the 

quarantine is to begin, the objectives of the quarantine, the 

prohibitions and restrictions imposed by the quarantine, and 

any other special provisions. 

2. The movement of bees or regulated articles from 

any quarantined area into non-quarantined areas of the state 

is prohibited except as provided by the terms of the 

geographic quarantine or by special permit of the 

commissioner or the state entomologist obtained prior to 

movement. 

3. A geographic quarantine may be amended, lifted, or 

modified by written declaration of the commissioner or state 

entomologist. 

4. A geographic quarantine and any amendment, 

lifting, or modification of such quarantine shall go into effect 

immediately upon being declared unless a later effective date 

is stated.  

5. A geographic quarantine and any amendment to or 

lifting or modification of a geographic quarantine shall be 

published in the next available edition of the Louisiana 

Register. 

B. The commissioner or the state entomologist may 

impose a local quarantine on specific apiaries, colonies, bees 

or regulated articles, or other specific location when 

necessary to control, eradicate, or prevent the introduction, 

spread, or dissemination of a disease or pest. 

1. A local quarantine shall contain a concise statement 

of the facts supporting the declaration of quarantine, the 

beekeeper, the specific apiaries, colonies, bees or regulated 

articles, or location being quarantined, the date the 

quarantine is to begin, the prohibitions and restrictions 

imposed by the quarantine, and any other special provisions. 

2. The movement of bees or regulated articles into or 

out of any apiary or location subject to a local quarantine is 

prohibited except as provided by the terms of the local 

quarantine or by special permit of the commissioner or the 

state entomologist obtained prior to movement. 

3. A local quarantine may be amended, lifted, or 

modified by written declaration of the commissioner or state 

entomologist. 
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4. A local quarantine and any amendment, lifting, or 

modification of such quarantine shall go into effect 

immediately upon being declared unless a later effective date 

is stated.  

5. A local quarantine and any amendment, lifting, or 

modification of such quarantine does not need to be 

published in the Louisiana Register. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2308, R.S. 3:2304 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:931 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:512 

(March 2017). 

§517. Eradication Measures  

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2517) 

A. All persons who know of or suspect an infestation or 

infection of any bees or regulated articles with any disease 

or pest shall immediately report such information to the 

department.  

B. All colonies of bees infected with American 

foulbrood shall be destroyed by burning the frames, bees and 

combs in the presence of or by an agent or specialist of the 

department. Hive bodies and top and bottom boards saved 

from infected colonies shall be moved from the yard during 

the burning process or by a time prescribed by agents of the 

department and are to be scorched or properly treated to 

remove possible sources of reinfestation before re-use. 

Failure to adhere to this requirement shall result in 

destruction of all infected equipment including hive bodies, 

top and bottom boards. 

C. Nuclei exposed to American foulbrood infection by 

the transfer of combs with brood or bees from an infected 

colony or yard shall be destroyed by burning. 

D. If any apiary or yard of bees has 4 percent or less 

American foulbrood infestation, as noted below, the infected 

colony(ies) shall be burned immediately and a stop order 

issued. This shall mean that a second inspection shall be 

made within 21-30 days to insure control of the disease. 

Where a second inspection is required, colonies shall not be 

moved except under special permit issued by the state 

entomologist. 

 

Colonies in Apiary or Yard AFB Infected Colony 

01-25 1 

26-50 2 

51-75 3 

75 or more 4 

 

1. If over 4 percent of the colonies, but not more than 

four colonies in the case of over 100 colonies, in an apiary or 

yard are found to be infested with American foulbrood, the 

colonies shall be burned immediately and the apiary or yard 

shall be placed under a 21-30 day quarantine, during such 

time no drugs will be allowed to be fed to the bees. If after 

21-30 days an inspection shows that the apiary or yard is 

found free from American foulbrood infestation, the 

quarantine shall be lifted. However, if American foulbrood is 

again found, an additional 21-30 day quarantine period shall 

be enforced and infested colonies shall be burned 

immediately. An additional 60-day quarantine shall be 

enforced on any quarantined apiary or yard found to be 

treated with drugs to mask the infection. 

E. All colonies of bees found infected with European 

foulbrood shall be requeened or treated within 30 days after 

infection is found. European foulbrood found in excess of 4 

percent upon second inspection shall be quarantined until the 

disease is under control. 

F. All other bee diseases and/or pests found that are 

considered detrimental to the honeybee industry shall be 

treated as prescribed by the state entomologist or his 

designee for the control of same. Bees or regulated articles 

infested with any pest or infected with any disease shall be 

subject to being placed under a quarantine and treated as 

determined by the commissioner and state entomologist. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2308, R.S. 3:2304 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:931 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 

(March 2017). 

§519. Penalties and Adjudicatory Proceedings 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2519) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2310 and R.S. 3:2303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 11:517 (May 1985), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 

2014), repealed by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 

(March 2017). 

Chapter 7. Control of Fire Ants 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.Chapter 27) 

§701. Authority 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2701) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 (March 

2017). 

§703. Definitions of Words, Terms and Phrases 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2703) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 (March 

2017). 

§705. Scouting, Inspection, Control and Eradication 

Authority 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2705) 

Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:932 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:513 (March 

2017). 

§707. Quarantined Area 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2707) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2353 and R.S. 3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:933 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§709. Regulated Products 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2709) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2353 and R.S. 3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:933 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§711. Conditions Governing Movement of Regulated 

Products 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2711) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:933 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§713. Conditions Governing the Issuance of 

Certificates, Limited Permits and Dealer-

Carrier Agreements 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2713) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§715. Assembly of Articles for Inspection 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2715) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§717. Cancellation of Certificates or Limited Permits 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2717) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§719. Waiver of Liability 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2719) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§721. Shipments for Scientific Purposes 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2721) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§723. Penalties 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2723) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2354 and R.S. 3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

§725. Effective Date 

(Formerly LAC 7:XXI.2725) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 

3:2351. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Agriculture, June 1960, repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:934 (May 2014), repealed 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of
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Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, LR 43:514 (March 

2017). 

 

Mike Strain, DVM 

Commissioner 
1703#046 

 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of the Commissioner 

Placing of Advertising or Sponsorship Signs  

on Department Assets (LAC 7:V.3101) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

(“department”) has enacted rules regarding the placing of 

advertising signs on department-owned property. R.S. 3:6, 

enacted by Act 70 of the 2016 Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature, provides that the department may 

“authorize the placement, erection, and maintenance of 

advertising and sponsorship signs on immovable property, 

improvements on immovable property, vehicles, vessels, 

airplanes, and assets of the department.” R.S. 3:6 further 

authorizes the department to “establish appropriate and 

reasonable fees and promulgate rules and regulations in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act to 

implement the provisions of this Section.” 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part V.  Advertising, Marketing and Processing 

Chapter 31. Placing of Advertising or Sponsorship 

Signs on Department Assets 

§3101. Advertising or Sponsorship Signs on 

Department Assets 

A. Purpose 

1. The purpose of this Rule is to establish procedures 

and guidelines within the department for allowing certain 

limited types of advertising and sponsorship signs on high-

visibility assets owned or controlled by the department to 

raise revenue to defray costs of departmental services. 

2. The display of advertising or sponsorship signs on 

departmental assets shall not constitute an endorsement by 

the department of any of the products, services or messages 

of the advertiser or sponsor. 

3. Advertisement or sponsorship signs may be placed 

on immovable property, improvements on immovable 

property, vehicles, vessels, airplanes, and assets of the 

department, including but not limited to websites, 

pamphlets, brochures, and other outreach, communications, 

and educational materials. 

B. Solicitation, Selection and Contracting 

1. The department may issue solicitations to secure 

contracts to determine the market potential for 

advertisements or sponsorships or to place advertisements or 

sponsorship signs on department assets. 

2. The solicitation responses will be reviewed by a 

three person committee appointed by the commissioner, and 

the most suitable proposals, as determined by the committee, 

may be selected. 

3. The committee shall consider the following criteria 

before entering into a sponsorship agreement:  

a. whether the sponsorship is consistent with the 

goals, objectives, and mission of the department and the 

current priorities that support these goals, objectives, and 

mission; and 

b. the importance of the sponsorship to the mission 

of the department; and 

c. the extent and prominence of the public display 

of sponsorship; and 

d. aesthetic characteristics of the public display of 

sponsorship; and 

e. the level of support provided by the sponsor; and 

f. the cooperation necessary from the department to 

implement the sponsorship; and 

g. any inconsistencies between the department’s 

policies and the known policies of the potential sponsor; and 

h. other factors that might undermine public 

confidence in the department’s impartiality or interfere with 

the efficient delivery of department services or operations, 

including, but not limited to, current or potential conflicts of 

interest, or perception of a conflict of interest, between the 

sponsor and department employees, officials, or affiliates; 

and the potential for the sponsorship to tarnish the state’s 

standing among its citizens or otherwise impair the ability of 

the state to govern its citizens. 

4. The committee has the discretion to make 

reasonable recommendations to the commissioner 

concerning the types of advertising or sponsorship signs that 

may be displayed utilizing the criteria established herein. 

5. The commissioner shall have final discretion 

regarding which recommendations and solicitations are 

selected. Selections shall be made for those advertisements 

or sponsorships that do not impact or infringe upon the 

image or reputation of the department. 

6. The amount of the approved financial or in-kind 

support is at the discretion of the department. 

7. The department may limit the number and type of 

assets available for advertising or sponsorship displays. 

8. The department may limit the authorization to 

advertise or place sponsorship signs among the department’s 

divisions, sections, programs and initiatives. 

9. The department may limit the terms and conditions 

of the contract with an advertiser or sponsor. 

10. Sponsorship agreements shall include a termination 

clause giving the department the right to tend such 

agreement at any time based on any of the following: 

a. safety concerns; 

b. a determination that the sponsorship agreement 

or acknowledgement is not in the public interest; or 

c. for the convenience of the department. 

C. Guidelines for Content for Advertising and 

Sponsorship Signs 

1. Only commercial advertising or sponsorships will 

be accepted. The advertisement or sponsorship content shall 

only include content that promotes or informs a commercial 

transaction. 

2. No content promoting illegal activity or obscene, 

vulgar or offensive conduct shall be allowed. 

3. No content that demeans or disparages individuals 

or groups shall be allowed. 
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4. No political or religious advertising or sponsorships 

shall be allowed. 

5. No advertising or sponsorship signs of adult 

oriented products shall be allowed.  

6. Advertising or sponsorship signs of firearms and 

other means authorized in the lawful taking of game in 

Louisiana may be allowed. 

7. The advertising or sponsorships should not be so 

controversial that it can promote vandalism of advertising or 

sponsorship materials and associated departmental property. 

D. Guidelines for Placement of Advertising or 

Sponsorship Signs on Assets 

1. Advertising or sponsorship signs shall not be placed 

in a manner that could interfere or confuse as to the 

identification of department’s ownership or control of the 

asset.  

2. On vehicles and other assets of the department 

traditionally utilized in the transport of personnel or 

equipment, advertising or sponsorships signs may be placed 

on the inside or the outside of equipment. However, the 

signage shall not be erected in such a manner that it impedes 

the asset’s safe utilization and operation. 

3. For advertising or sponsorship signs which require 

a power source, such as electronics or LED lighting, the 

advertiser or sponsor will be required by the department to 

submit and maintain detailed plans and provisions. The use 

of the powered advertising or sponsorship devices shall not 

have any adverse effect on the safety and functionality of the 

asset. If the safety and functionality of the asset is 

compromised after installation, the signage shall be 

removed. 

4. The department will maintain full ownership of any 

sponsored product, event and asset. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S. 3:6 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:515 

(March 2017). 

 

Mike Strain, DVM 

Commissioner 
1703#050 

 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring Procedures 

(LAC 28:XCI.101, 105, 107, 109, 

301, 303, 305, 307, 311, and 313) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 

Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education has amended Bulletin 1922―Compliance 

Monitoring Procedures: §101, Monitoring; §105, Local 

Educational Agencies (LEAs); §107, Corrective Action and 

Sanctions; §109, Components of the Continuous 

Improvement Monitoring Process; §301, Categories of 

Monitoring; §303 Timelines; §305, On-Site Visits; §307, 

Regulatory Issues Reviewed On-Site; §311, Activities 

Conducted During the On-Site Visit; and §313, 

Activities/Procedures at the Completion of the On-Site Visit. 

Bulletin 1922 outlines the processes for special education 

monitoring in Louisiana. The revisions align state policy 

with data privacy statutes, place local education agencies 

(LEAs) in tiered categories for monitoring selection: low-, 

moderate-, and high-risk; add types 1B and 3B charter 

schools to list of LEAs subject to monitoring; add LEA 

determinations to list strategies and components that may be 

utilized during the monitoring process; and allow on-site 

visits to be conducted by state-authorized individuals with 

training and experience in the program areas that are being 

monitored. 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part XCI.  Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring 

Procedures 

Chapter 1. Overview 

§101. Monitoring 

A. - B. … 

C. The quantitative data will be used to determine 

specific performance profiles for local educational agencies 

(LEAs) using data relative to a set of variables referenced in 

101B. Performance profiles will be issued annually. The 

quantitative data will be collected in relation to a set of 

variables selected by a statewide group of stakeholders from 

various agencies and entities. This group will meet at least 

annually with the Department of Education (LDE) to select 

only specific indicators that will be used to determine a 

LEA's performance status. Any changes to the process shall 

be presented to the Special Education Advisory Panel. 

D. LEAs will be placed in tiered categories for 

monitoring selection. The three tiers of monitoring are low-, 

moderate-, and high-risk. Upon validation of quantitative 

data, LEAs will be notified of their performance status and 

monitoring event.  

1. LEAs designated as high-risk will receive an on-

site compliance monitoring visit in order to review 

qualitative data specific to selected qualitative indicators that 

focus on the LEA's lowest performing indicator areas. 

Additional data may be reviewed prior to and during the on-

site visit. 

2. The LEAs designated as continuous improvement 

or have a ranking of low or moderate risk will not be 

targeted to receive an on-site compliance visit. Some 

districts may be required to develop a corrective action plan 

because of triggers within the data that signify concerns such 

as when the performance of students with disabilities is 

disproportionately below the state average in any of the 

required performance indicators. These performance 

indicators include, but are not limited to suspension, 

diploma, dropout, and state-wide assessment rates. 

D.3. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30.414 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3104 (December 2005), LR 37:3216 (November 

2011), LR 43:516 (March 2017). 

§105. Local Educational Agencies (LEAs) 

A. Local educational agencies (LEAs) to be monitored 

are: 

1. city or parish school systems; 

2. special school district; 

3. state Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education special schools; 
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4. type 1B, 2, 3B (if acting as their own LEA) and 5 

charter schools; and 

5. university laboratory schools not under the 

administration of a school district. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:415 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3105 (December 2005), LR 43:516 (March 2017). 

§107. Corrective Action and Sanctions 

A. … 

B. The LDE is authorized to take actions, consistent with 

applicable law, necessary to ensure compliance. Failure on 

the part of a participating agency to comply may result in the 

LDE, with the approval of its governing authority, the Board 

of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE), 

withholding funds from the said agency. Prior to withholding 

any funds under this Section, the LDE shall provide 

reasonable notice and an opportunity for a hearing 

conducted by the BESE to the LEA involved. 

C. LDE determines the need for a corrective action plan 

(CAP) to address findings of non-compliance on an 

individual LEA case-by-case basis. If the LDE requires a 

CAP, it will be developed in collaboration with the LDE 

following the LEA’s receipt of the LDE’s monitoring report. 

The CAP shall be submitted for approval to the LDE within 

35 business days of receipt of the monitoring report. 

However, upon receipt of the report, the LEA shall 

immediately begin correcting the findings of non-

compliance documented in the report. The plan will address 

the activities the LEA will implement to correct the areas of 

non-compliance identified during the on-site visit as soon as 

possible, but in no case more than one year from the date of 

the notification report from the LDE. 

D. - E. … 

F. When continuing non-compliance is identified, the 

LDE will require that an intensive corrective action plan 

(ICAP) be developed by the LEA in collaboration with the 

LDE, to address the continuing noncompliance. In 

conjunction with the implementation of the approved plan, 

the LDE will impose one or more of the following sanctions 

described below: 

1. - 2. … 

3. direct the LEA to use IDEA part B flow-through 

funds on the area or areas that the LEA is non-compliant. 

The LEA will submit evidence to the LDE of the specific 

funds targeted for areas of non-compliance. The LDE will 

monitor the expenditure of such funds on a consistent basis; 

4. … 

5. identify the LEA as a high-risk grantee and impose 

special conditions on the LEA's IDEA part B grant. The 

LDE will impose one or more of the following special 

conditions: 

a. for each year of continuing non-compliance, 

withhold not less than 20 percent and not more than 50 

percent of the LEA's IDEA part B grant until the LDE 

determines the LEA has sufficiently addressed the areas in 

which the LEA needs intervention; 

b. - d. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:415 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3105 (December 2005), LR 32:1839 (October 

2006), LR 37:3216 (November 2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 

§109. Components of the Continuous Improvement 

Monitoring Process 

A. - B.5. … 

6. analyze FAPE tables and other mandated federal 

data reporting (i.e., e.g. personnel tables, child count data, 

LEA determinations); 

7. - 9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 32:1840 (October 

2006), LR 37:3217 (November 2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 

Chapter 3. Operational Procedures for Compliance 

Monitoring 

§301. Categories of Monitoring 

A. All LEAs are placed in performance profile categories 

on an annual basis. The performance profile is based upon 

an analysis of quantitative data collected by the LDE. 

B. Monitoring will focus on the variables selected 

annually as risk indicators. LEAs will be ranked into tiered 

categories for purposes of monitoring selection. On-site 

visits will be determined based on a variety of compliance 

and performance measures. LEAs designated as high-risk 

will be subject to on-site compliance visits. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 37:3217 (November 

2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 

§303. Timelines 

A. A schedule of LEAs selected for monitoring will be 

issued to LEAs by September of each year. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 37:3217 (November 

2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 

§305. On-Site Visits 

A. On-site visits will be conducted by individuals 

authorized by the state with training and experience in the 

program areas that they will be monitoring. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 

2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 

§307. Regulatory Issues Reviewed On-Site 

A. For high-risk LEAs, the regulatory issues, qualitative 

and quantitative indicators reviewed will be specific to the 

variables targeted in the LEA's performance profile. These 

visits will focus on selected issues. In the event that other 

critical issues or triggers are identified by means other than 

the performance profiles, the LDE will direct the team to 

monitor those issues for non-compliance. These other means 

may include, but are not limited to, complaint logs, 

evaluation extension requests, and financial risk 

assessments. 

B. - C.13. … 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 518 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:417 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 

2011), LR 43:517 (March 2017). 

§311. Activities Conducted During the On-Site Visit 

A. … 

B. Individuals authorized by the LDE will conduct a 

parent focus group meeting and interview parents to collect 

data/information on their satisfaction of the services 

provided to their children and their involvement in their 

children's program. At the discretion of the parent, 

interviews may be conducted at the school site or via 

teleconference. 

C. During the on-site monitoring of the LEA, the 

monitoring team will schedule an evening town hall meeting 

to provide a forum for parents to engage with team members 

and other parents. Facilitators will be available to answer 

questions if parents should want to discuss a matter privately 

outside the group setting. 

D. LDE team members will visit sites, make 

observations, review records, and interview personnel.  

E. The team leader will meet with the LEA special 

education director to review administrative issues. 

Additional data/information may be requested if further 

analysis is required for determining compliance status for 

specific regulatory issues. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 

2011), LR 43:518 (March 2017). 

§313. Activities/Procedures at the Completion of the 

On-Site Visit 

A. At the completion of the on-site visit, the team will 

meet to discuss, review, and analyze the team findings and to 

summarize their findings on LDE-issued forms. An LDE 

team member will meet with representatives of the LEA at 

the conclusion of the on-site visit. 

B. - D. … 

E. The LEA, in collaboration with the LDE, will be 

required to design a corrective action plan that defines 

specific supports and resources that the LEA must have in 

order to implement the corrective action plan. The CAP must 

demonstrate how the LEA will: 

1. correct each individual case of noncompliance; and 

2. correctly implement the specific regulatory 

requirement. 

F. - G. … 

H. If there is no response from the LEA within the 

established timelines, the LDE may implement any of the 

corrective actions or sanctions as described in §107. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 

amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 37:3218 (November 

2011), LR 43:518 (March 2017). 

 

Shan N. Davis 

Executive Director 
1703#010 

RULE 

Board of Regents 

Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs (LAC 28:IV.703 and 1903) 

The Louisiana Board of Regents has amended its 

scholarship/grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-

3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5 and 

R.S. 17:3048.6). (SG17173R) 

Title 28 

EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 

Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 7. Taylor Opportunity Program for Students 

(TOPS) Opportunity, Performance, and 

Honors Awards 

§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.a.ii.(e). … 

* * * 

(f). For students graduating in academic year 

(high school) 2017-2018 and after, the courses listed in the 

tables below have been approved by the Board of Regents 

and the state Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

to be converted to a 5.00 scale when used to complete the 

core curriculum, and shall be considered equivalent to the 

identified core courses and may be substituted to satisfy 

corresponding core courses for purposes of satisfying the 

requirements of §703.A.5.a.i above, or §803.A.6.a. 

 (i). Advanced Placement Courses 

 

TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

Art 

AP Art History 

AP Studio Art: 2-D Design 

AP Studio Art: 3-D Design 
AP Studio Art: Drawing 

Biology II AP Biology 

Calculus 
AP Calculus AB 
AP Calculus BC 

Chemistry II AP Chemistry 

Chinese AP Chinese Language and Culture 

Economics  
AP Macroeconomics 
AP Microeconomics 

English III AP English Language and Composition 

English IV AP English Literature and Composition 

Environmental Science AP Environmental Science 

European History AP European History 

Fine Arts Survey AP Music Theory 

French AP French Language and Culture 

German AP German Language and Culture 

Italian AP Italian Language and Culture 

Japanese AP Japanese Language and Culture 

Latin AP Latin 

Mathematics AP Computer Science A 

Physics I 

AP Physics I: Algebra Based 

AP Physics II: Algebra Based 

AP Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism 
AP Physics C: Mechanics 

Probability and 

Statistics 
AP Statistics 

Spanish AP Spanish Language and Culture 

US Government or 
Civics  

AP U.S. Government and Politics: 

Comparative 
AP U.S. Government and Politics: United 

States 

US History AP U.S. History 
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TOPS Core Course Advanced Placement 

World Geography AP Human Geography 

World History AP World History 

 

A.5.a.ii.(f).(ii). - J.4.b.ii. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 

LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:636 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 

1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 

25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 

(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602 (August 2000), 

LR 26:1996, 1999, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 

2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 

LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), 

repromulgated LR 27:1850 (November 2001), amended LR 28:772 

(April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 (November 2002), LR 29:125 

(February 2003), LR 29:2372 (November 2003), LR 30:1162 (June 

2004), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2019 (September 2004), LR 

31:37 (January 2005), LR 31:2213 (September 2005), LR 31:3112 

(December 2005), LR 32:2239 (December 2006), LR 33:435 

(March 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 33:2612 

(December 2007), LR 34:1389 (July 2008), LR 35:228 (February 

2009), LR 36:312 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 

36:2269 (October 2010), LR 36:2855 (December 2010), LR 

37:2987 (October 2011), LR 38:354 (February 2012), LR 38:3158 

(December 2012), LR 39:481 (March 2013), LR 39:2485 

(September 2013), LR 40:54 (January 2014), LR 41:373 (February 

2015), LR 41:651, 664 (April 2015), LR 41:1486 (August 2015), 

LR 41:2596, 2599 (December 2015), amended by the Board of 

Regents, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 42:1657 

(October 2016), LR 42:1882 (November 2016), LR 43:518 (March 

2017). 

Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of Post-

Secondary Institutions 

§1903. Responsibilities of Post-Secondary Institutions 

A. - B.10.c. … 

11.a. Beginning with the spring semester of 2014 

through the spring semester of 2016, for a public college or 

university to be permitted to bill for a TOPS award amount 

under the provisions of Section 1903.B.6 of these rules, the 

college or university must include on the student fee bill line 

items entitled: 

 i. “Tuition Only” that equals the TOPS award 

amount listed on the fee bill; 

 ii. “TOPS Award Amount” as defined in Section 

301; and 

 iii. “TOPS Stipends” for TOPS Honors and 

Performance Award stipends. These amounts shall not be 

included in the “Tuition Only” or “TOPS Award Amount” 

line items. 

b. There shall be no reference to a tuition amount 

on a student's fee bill other than as provided herein. 

C. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, 17:3041.10-3041.15, 17:3041.21-

3041.26, R.S. 17:3048.1, and R.S. 17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 

LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 

LR 26:1998 and 2002 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 

27:1864 (November 2001), amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 

28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2333

(November 2002), LR 30:784 (April 2004), LR 30:1166 (June 

2004), LR 31:40 (January 2005), LR 31:3111, 3114 (December 

2005), LR 33:1340 (July 2007), LR 35:1233 (July 2009), LR 

35:1490 (August 2009), LR 35:1491 (August 2009), LR 36:2857 

(December 2010), LR 40:282 (February 2014), LR 40:1003 (May 

2014), LR 41:667 (April 2015), LR 41:2599 (December 2015), 

amended by the Board of Regents, Office of Student Financial 

Assistance, LR 43:519 (March 2017). 

 

Robyn Rhea Lively 

Senior Attorney 
1703#015 

 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 

Office of Business Development 

General ProvisionsMeetings of the Board (LAC 13:I.107) 

These rules are being published in the Louisiana Register 

as required by R.S. 51:921 et seq. The Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 

as authorized by and pursuant to the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S. 

36:104, has amended and reenacted Section 107 of the 

general provisions of the Board of Commerce and Industry, 

LAC 13:I.Chapter 1, to require broadcast of board meetings 

via Livestream where feasible as well as to require that the 

summary agenda and summary tables for all regular board 

meetings be published at least one week prior to the board 

meeting, but no later than 24 hours after the board packets 

were sent to board members.  

Title 13 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

Subchapter A. General Rules 

§107. Meetings of the Board 

A. Open Meeting. All meetings of the board shall be 

subject to the open meetings law as provided in R.S. 42:1 et 

seq. 

B. Annual Meeting. The year of the board shall begin 

February 1 each year. The meeting following the beginning 

of the year, the board shall elect its officers who shall serve 

until the next annual meeting or until their successors are 

elected. 

C. Regular Meetings. The board may meet as often as it 

deems necessary provided that there shall be not less than 

four regular meetings each year. The summary agenda and 

the summary tables on all applications on the agenda for the 

regular meetings of the board shall be posted to the website 

at least one week prior to the meeting, but no later than 24 

hours from when the board packet is provided to the board 

when feasible.  

D. Special Meetings. A meeting may be called by the 

chairperson or by joint call of at least three of its members, 

to be held at the principal office of the board, or at such 

other place as may be fixed by the board. 

E. Quorum. Excluding any vacancies on the board, a 

majority of the members of the board shall constitute a 

quorum. In the absence of a quorum, a majority of the 

members present at the time and place of any meeting may 
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adjourn such meeting from time-to-time with notice given in 

accordance with the Open Meetings Law. 

F. Parliamentary Procedure. Unless otherwise provided 

by law to the contrary, all meetings of the board shall be 

conducted in accordance with Robert's Rules of Order. 

G. Meeting Place. The board, its committees and sub-

committees, shall hold its meetings at the principal office of 

the board, or at such other place as may be fixed by the 

board. The Board of Commerce and Industry shall have its 

meetings and the meetings of its subcommittees broadcast 

via Livestream when feasible, except for those meetings or 

discussions which are protected from public disclosure by 

Louisiana confidentiality laws.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:921 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 

Business Division, LR 26:2242 (October 2000), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 

Development, LR 43:519 (March 2017). 

 

Anne G. Villa 

Undersecretary 
1703#030 

 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Recordkeeping for Sources Exempt from Air Permitting 

(LAC 33:III.501)(AQ367) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 

R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 

33:III.501.B.2.e (AQ367). 

R.S. 30:2054(B)(2)(b)(ix) and LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d 

establish an exemption from the requirement to obtain an air 

permit for certain very small sources of air emissions. This 

Rule requires owners or operators of such sources to 

determine and maintain records of potential criteria and 

toxic air pollutant emissions. 

In accordance with LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d, the requirement 

to obtain an air permit does not apply to any source that is 

not a part 70 source, as defined in LAC 33:III.502, and for 

which facility-wide potential emissions are less than: 

 5 tons per year for each criteria pollutant as defined 

by the Clean Air Act;  

 15 tons per year of all such defined pollutants 

combined; and 

 the minimum emission rate (MER) for each toxic air 

pollutant established by Tables 51.1 and 51.3 of LAC 

33:III.Chapter 51. 

At present, LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d does not expressly 

require the owner or operator of such a source to determine 

and maintain records of potential criteria and toxic air 

pollutant emissions to verify eligibility. However, R.S. 

30:2054(B)(2)(b)(ix) provides that:  

The secretary may adopt, promulgate, and enforce 

standards, limitations, and other regulations applicable to 

sources which are not required to obtain a permit. 

The standards or regulations may include the requirement 

to determine, document, and maintain records to 

demonstrate the potential or actual emissions of the facility. 

This Rule requires owners or operators of sources exempt 

from the requirement to obtain an air permit per LAC 

33:III.501.B.2.d to determine and maintain records of 

potential criteria and toxic air pollutant emissions consistent 

with the authority provided by the statute. This Rule also 

requires such owners or operators to reassess and document 

any change in potential emissions of the aforementioned 

pollutants prior to effecting a modification or otherwise 

increasing the production rate or hours of operation above 

the values previously used to determine potential emissions. 

The basis and rationale for this Rule are to require owners or 

operators of sources exempt from the requirement to obtain 

an air permit per LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d to determine and 

maintain records of potential criteria and toxic air pollutant 

emissions. This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 

30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 

regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 

costs is required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 

Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 

§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - B.2.d.iii. … 

e. Recordkeeping for Sources Exempt from 

Permitting Requirements 

 i. The owner or operator of a source which is not 

required to obtain a permit per LAC 33:III.501.B.2.d shall 

determine and maintain records of potential criteria and 

toxic air pollutant emissions from such source. 

 ii. The owner or operator shall reassess and 

document any change in potential criteria and toxic air 

pollutant emissions from the source prior to effecting a 

modification as defined in LAC 33:III.111 or otherwise 

increasing the production rate or hours of operation above 

the values previously used to determine potential emissions. 

 iii. For purposes of this exemption, potential 

emissions shall mean the emissions the source is capable of 

emitting considering all control measures in place, utilized, 

and properly maintained; historical practices, including 

hours of operation; and the number of employees at the 

source. 

B.3. - C.14. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011 and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 

Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 

Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 

Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 

19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1281 (November 1994), LR 

20:1375 (December 1994), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 1999), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 

LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office of Environmental
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Assessment, LR 31:1063 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the 

Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), LR 

32:1842 (October 2006), LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2626 

(December 2007), LR 35:461 (March 2009), LR 35:2351 

(November 2009), LR 37:1145, 1148 (April 2011), LR 37:1391 

(May 2011), LR 37:3221, 3233 (November 2011), repromulgated 

LR 37:3507 (December 2011), amended by the Office of the 

Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:520 (March 2017). 

 

Herman Robinson 

General Counsel 
1703#026 

 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Work Practice Standards During Start-up and Shutdown 

(LAC 33:III.2201)(AQ364) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 

R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 

33:III.2201.C and K (Log #AQ364). 

This Rule repeals the exemption set forth in LAC 

33:III.2201.C.8 and replaces it with provisions allowing the 

owner/operator of an affected point source to comply either 

with the emission factors imposed by LAC 33:III.2201.D at 

all times (including periods of startup and shutdown) or with 

newly-established work practice standards designed to 

minimize emissions during periods of startup and shutdown. 

LAC 33:III.2201 establishes NOX standards for certain 

boilers, process heaters/furnaces, stationary gas turbines, and 

stationary internal combustion engines located at affected 

facilities in the following nine parishes: Ascension, East 

Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe 

Coupee, St. Helena, West Baton Rouge, and West Feliciana. 

LAC 33:III.2201.C.8 provides an exemption from the 

aforementioned NOX standards “during start-up and 

shutdown…or during a malfunction.” Notably, this 

exemption does not apply to units that are shut down 

intentionally on a routine basis (i.e., more than once per 

month). This provision was approved by EPA into 

Louisiana’s state implementation plan (SIP) on July 5, 2011 

(76 FR 38977). 

However, on June 12, 2015, EPA promulgated a rule* 

finding that several Louisiana air quality regulations, 

including LAC 33:III.2201.C.8, are “substantially 

inadequate to meet [Clean Air Act] requirements” because 

they provide “automatic exemptions for excess emissions 

from otherwise applicable SIP emission limitations.” 

Consequently, EPA issued a “SIP call” directing affected 

states to submit corrective SIP revisions by November 22, 

2016. 

In this same rulemaking, EPA “revised and updated” its 

startup, shutdown, and malfunction (SSM) policy for SIP 

provisions. According to EPA’s “SSM SIP policy as of 2015” 

(80 FR 33976), SIP emission limitations “must be applicable 

to the source continuously,” but: 

 do not need to be numerical in format; 

 do not have to apply the same limitation (e.g., 

numerical level) at all times; and 

 may be composed of a combination of numerical 

limitations, specific technological control 

requirements and/or work practice requirements, 

with each component of the emission limitation 

applicable during a defined mode of source 

operation. 

In response to EPA’s SIP call, LDEQ has repealed the 

exemption set forth in LAC 33:III.2201.C.8 and amended 

Chapter 22 to allow the owner/operator of an affected point 

source to comply either with the emission factors imposed 

by LAC 33:III.2201.D at all times (including periods of 

startup and shutdown) or with newly-established work 

practice standards designed to minimize emissions during 

periods of startup and shutdown. 
*State Implementation Plans: Response to Petition for 

Rulemaking; Restatement and Update of EPA’s SSM Policy 

Applicable to SIPs; Findings of Substantial Inadequacy; and 

SIP Calls To Amend Provisions Applying to Excess 

Emissions During Periods of Startup, Shutdown and 
Malfunction [80 FR 33840] 

This Rule is also a revision to the Louisiana state 

implementation plan for air quality. The basis and rationale 

for this Rule are to repeal the exemption set forth in LAC 

33:III.2201.C.8 and replace it with provisions allowing the 

owner/operator of an affected point source to comply either 

with the emission factors imposed by LAC 33:III.2201.D at 

all times (including periods of startup and shutdown) or with 

newly-established work practice standards designed to 

minimize emissions during periods of startup and shutdown. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 

and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 

environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 

required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 

Chapter 22. Control of Emissions of Nitrogen Oxides 

(NOX) 

§2201. Affected Facilities in the Baton Rouge 

Nonattainment Area and the Region of Influence 

A. - C.7. … 

8. Reserved. 

C.9. - I.1. ... 

2. The owner or operator of an affected point source 

granted an exemption in accordance with any part of 

Subsection C of this Section or required to demonstrate 

continuous compliance in accordance with Subsection H of 

this Section shall submit a written report within 90 days of 

the end of each ozone season to the administrative authority 

of any noncompliance with the applicable limitations of 

Subsection D or E of this Section or with the applicable 

work practice standards of Paragraph K.3 of this Section. 

The required information may be included in reports 

provided to the administrative authority to meet other 

requirements, so long as the report meets the deadlines and 

content requirements of this Paragraph. The report shall 

include the following information: 

I.2.a - J.2. … 
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K. Start-up and Shutdown 

1. For affected point sources that are shut down 

intentionally more than once per month, the owner or 

operator shall include NOx emitted during periods of start-up 

and shutdown for purposes of determining compliance with 

the emission factors set forth in Subsection D of this Section, 

or with an alternative plan approved in accordance with 

Paragraph E.1 or 2 of this Section. 

2. For all other affected point sources, effective May 

1, 2017, the owner or operator shall either comply with 

Paragraph K.1 of this Section or the work practice standards 

described in Paragraph K.3 of this Section during periods of 

start-up and shutdown. If the owner or operator chooses to 

comply with work practices standards, the emission factors 

set forth in Subsection D of this Section shall not apply 

during periods of start-up and shutdown. 

3. Work Practice Standards 

a. The owner or operator shall operate and maintain 

each affected point source, including any associated air 

pollution control equipment and monitoring equipment, in a 

manner consistent with safety and good air pollution control 

practices for minimizing emissions. 

b. Coal-fired and fuel oil-fired electric power 

generating system boilers and fuel oil-fired stationary gas 

turbines shall use natural gas during start-up. Start-up ends 

when any of the steam from the boiler or steam turbine is 

used to generate electricity for sale over the grid, or for any 

other purpose (including on-site use). If another fuel must be 

used to support the shutdown process, natural gas shall be 

utilized. 

c. Engage control devices such as selective catalytic 

reduction (SCR) or selective non-catalytic reduction (SNCR) 

as expeditiously as possible, considering safety and 

manufacturer recommendations. The department shall 

incorporate into the applicable permit for each affected 

facility appropriate requirements describing the source-

specific conditions or parameters identifying when operation 

of the control device shall commence. 

d. Minimize the start-up time of stationary internal 

combustion engines to a period needed for the appropriate 

and safe loading of the engine, not to exceed 30 minutes. 

e. Maintain records of the calendar date, time, and 

duration of each start-up and shutdown. 

f. Maintain records of the type(s) and amount(s) of 

fuels used during each start-up and shutdown. 

g. The records required by Subparagraphs K.3.e and 

f of this Section shall be kept for a period of at least five 

years and shall be made available upon request by 

authorized representatives of the department. 

4. On or before May 1, 2017, the owner or operator 

shall notify the Office of Environmental Services whether 

each affected point source will comply with Paragraph K.1 

or K.3 of this Section during periods of start-up and 

shutdown. 

a. The owner or operator does not have to select the 

same option for every affected point source. 

b. The department shall incorporate into the 

applicable permit for each affected facility the provisions of 

Paragraph K.1 and/or K.3 of this Section, as appropriate. 

The owner or operator may elect to revise the method of 

compliance with Subsection K of this Section for one or 

more affected point sources by means of a permit 

modification. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:290 (February 2002), 

repromulgated LR 28:451 (March 2002), amended LR 28:1578 

(July 2002), LR 30:748 (April 2004), LR 30:1170 (June 2004), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 

31:2441 (October 2005), LR 33:2088 (October 2007), LR 34:71 

(January 2008), LR 36:60 (January 2010), amended by the Office 

of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43:521 (March 2017). 

 

Herman Robinson 

General Counsel 
1703#028 

 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Louisiana Low-Income Academic Hospitals 

(LAC 50:V.2501 and Chapter 31) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has amended LAC 50:V.2501 and adopted LAC 

50:V.Chapter 31 in the Medical Assistance Program as 

authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 

Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 

with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 

Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 25. Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment 

Methodologies 

§2501. General Provisions 

A. - C. ... 

D. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 34:654 (April 2008), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing, LR 36:65 (January 2010), LR 36:512 (March 2010), LR 

40:790 (April 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:522 (March 2017). 

Chapter 31. Louisiana Low-Income Academic 

Hospitals 

§3101. Qualifying Criteria 

A. Hospitals Located Outside of the Baton Rouge and 

New Orleans Metropolitan Statistical Area 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 

2016, a hospital may qualify for this category by: 

a. being a private acute care general hospital that is 

located outside of the Baton Rouge and New Orleans 

metropolitan statistical area (MSA) which: 

 i. entered into a cooperative endeavor agreement 

with the State of Louisiana to increase its provision of
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inpatient Medicaid and uninsured services by providing 

services that were previously delivered and terminated or 

reduced by a state owned and operated facility; or 

 ii. is formerly a state owned and operated hospital 

whose ownership change to non-state privately owned and 

operated prior to July 1, 2014; 

b. has Medicaid inpatient days utilization greater 

than 18.9 percent. Qualification shall be calculated by 

dividing the Medicaid inpatient days by the total inpatient 

days reported on the Medicaid as filed cost report ending 

during state fiscal year 2015 received by April 30, 2016, and 

shall include traditional, shared, and managed care Medicaid 

days per the worksheet S-3 part I, lines 1 through 18. 

Column 7 shall be used to determine allowable Medicaid 

days and column 8 shall be used to determine total inpatient 

days; and 

c. has a ratio of intern and resident full time 

equivalents (FTEs) to total inpatient beds that is greater than 

.08. Qualification shall be based on the total inpatient beds 

and intern and resident FTEs reported on the 

Medicare/Medicaid cost report ending during state fiscal 

year 2015. The ratio of interns and resident FTEs shall be 

calculated by dividing the unweighted intern and resident 

FTEs reported on the Medicare Cost Report Worksheet E-4, 

line 6 by the total inpatient beds, excluding nursery and 

Medicare designated distinct part psychiatric unit beds, 

reported on worksheet S-3, column 2, lines 1 through 18. 

B. Hospitals Located In the New Orleans Metropolitan 

Statistical Area 

1. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 

2016, a hospital may qualify for this category by: 

a. being a private acute care general hospital that is 

located in the New Orleans MSA which: 

 i. entered into a cooperative endeavor agreement 

with the State of Louisiana to increase its provision of 

inpatient Medicaid and uninsured services by providing 

services that were previously delivered and terminated or 

reduced by a state owned and operated facility; or 

 ii. is formerly a state owned and operated hospital 

whose ownership changed to non-state privately owned and 

operated prior to July 1, 2014; 

b. has Medicaid inpatient days utilization greater 

than 45 percent. Qualification shall be calculated by dividing 

the Medicaid inpatient days by the total inpatient days 

reported on the Medicaid as filed cost report ending during 

state fiscal year 2015 received by April 30, 2016, and shall 

include traditional, shared, and managed care Medicaid days 

per the worksheet S-3 part I, lines 1 through 18. Column 7 

shall be used to determine allowable Medicaid days and 

column 8 shall be used to determine total inpatient days; and 

c. has a ratio of intern and resident FTEs to total 

inpatient beds that is greater than 1.25. Qualification shall be 

based on the total inpatient beds and intern and resident 

FTEs reported on the Medicare/Medicaid cost report ending 

during state fiscal year 2015. The ratio of interns and 

resident FTEs shall be calculated by dividing the unweighted 

intern and resident FTEs reported on the Medicare Cost 

Report Worksheet E-4, line 6 by the total inpatient beds, 

excluding nursery and Medicare designated distinct part 

psychiatric unit beds, reported on worksheet S-3, column 2, 

lines 1 through 18. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:522 (March 

2017). 

§3103. Payment Methodology 

A. Each qualifying hospital shall be paid DSH 

adjustment payments equal to 100 percent of allowable 

hospital specific uncompensated care costs. 

1. Costs, patient specific data and documentation that 

qualifying criteria is met shall be submitted in a format 

specified by the department. 

2. Costs and lengths of stay shall be reviewed by the 

department for reasonableness before payments are made. 

B. Payment Calculation 

1. For the initial year’s payment calculation, each 

qualifying hospital shall submit interim actual cost data 

calculated utilizing Medicaid allowable cost report 

principles, along with actual Medicaid and uninsured patient 

charge data. Annual Medicaid costs shortfalls and 

unreimbursed uninsured patient costs are determined based 

on review and analysis of these submissions. 

2. For subsequent year’s payment calculations, the 

most recent Medicaid filed cost report along with actual 

Medicaid and uninsured patient charge data annualized from 

the most recent calendar year completed quarter is utilized to 

calculate hospital specific uncompensated care costs. 

C. The department shall review cost data, charge data, 

lengths of stay and Medicaid claims data per the Medicaid 

Management and Information Systems (MMIS) for 

reasonableness before payments are made. 

D. The first payment of each fiscal year will be made by 

October 15 and will be 80 percent of the annual calculated 

uncompensated care costs. The remainder of the payment 

will be made by June 30 of each year 

1. Reconciliation of these payments to actual hospital 

specific uncompensated care costs will be made when the 

cost report(s) covering the actual dates of service from the 

state fiscal year are filed and reviewed. 

2. Additional payments or recoupments, as needed, 

shall be made after the finalization of the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) mandated DSH 

audit for the state fiscal year. 

E. No payment under this Section is dependent on any 

agreement or arrangement for providers or related entities to 

donate money or services to a governmental entity. 

1. A pro rata decrease necessitated by conditions 

specified in §2501.B.1 for hospitals described in this Section 

will be calculated based on the ratio determined by dividing 

the hospital's uncompensated costs by the uncompensated 

costs for all qualifying hospitals in this Section, then 

multiplying by the amount of disproportionate share 

payments calculated in excess of the federal DSH allotment. 

Additional payments shall only be made after finalization of 

the CMS mandated DSH audit for the state fiscal year. 

Payments shall be limited to the aggregate amount recouped 

from the qualifying hospitals in this Section based on these 

reported audit results. If the hospitals' aggregate amount of 

underpayments reported per the audit results exceeds the 

aggregate amount overpaid, the payment redistribution to 

underpaid shall be paid on a pro rata basis calculated using 

each hospital’s amount underpaid divided by the sum of 

underpayments for all hospitals in this Section. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:523 (March 

2017). 

 

Rebekah E Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#042 

 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 

with Developmental Disabilities 

Licensing Standards (LAC 48:I.8595 and 8599) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has amended LAC 48:I.8595 and §8599 in the 

Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 

and R.S. 40:2180-2180.5. This Rule is promulgated in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, 49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 

PUBLIC HEALTHGENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 

Chapter 85. Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons 

with Developmental Disabilities  

Subchapter G. Emergency Preparedness 

§8595. Emergency Preparedness Plan 

A. The ICF/DD shall incorporate an all hazards risk 

assessment into the facility’s emergency preparedness plan 

which is designed to manage the consequences of medical 

emergencies, power failures, fire, natural disasters, declared 

disasters or other emergencies that disrupt the facility's 

ability to provide care and treatment or threatens the lives or 

safety of the residents. The facility shall follow and execute 

its emergency preparedness plan in the event or occurrence 

of a disaster or emergency. This plan shall be reviewed, 

updated and approved by the governing body at least 

annually. Upon the department’s request, a facility shall 

present its emergency preparedness plan for review. 

B. - B.13. ... 

14. The facility’s plan shall include how the ICF/DD 

will notify OHSEP and LDH when the decision is made to 

shelter in place and whose responsibility it is to provide this 

notification. 

15. - 15.f. ... 

C. An ICF/DD shall electronically enter current facility 

information into the department’s ESF-8 portal or into the 

current LDH emergency preparedness webpage or electronic 

database for reporting. 

1. The following information shall be entered or 

updated before the fifteenth of each month: 

a. operational status; 

b. census; 

c. emergency contact and destination location 

information; and 

d. emergency evacuation transportation needs 

categorized by the following types: 

 i. redhigh-risk residents who will need to be 

transported by advanced life support ambulance due to 

dependency on mechanical or electrical life sustaining 

devices or very critical medical condition; 

 ii. yellowresidents who are not dependent on 

mechanical or electrical life sustaining devices, but cannot 

be transported using normal means (buses, vans, cars), may 

need to be transported by an ambulance; however, in the 

event of inaccessibility of medical transport, buses, vans or 

cars may be used as a last resort; and 

 iii. greenresidents who do not need specialized 

transportation may be transported by car, van, bus or 

wheelchair accessible transportation. 

2. An ICF/DD shall also enter or update the facility’s 

information upon request, or as described per notification of 

an emergency declared by the secretary. Emergency events 

may include, but are not limited to: 

a. hurricanes; 

b. floods; 

c. fires; 

d. chemical or biological hazards; 

e. power outages; 

f. tornados; 

g. tropical storms; and 

h. severe weather. 

3. Effective immediately, upon notification of an 

emergency declared by the secretary, all ICFs/DD shall file 

an electronic report with the ESF-8 portal or into the current 

LDH emergency preparedness webpage or electronic 

database for reporting. 

a. The electronic report shall be filed, as prescribed 

by department, throughout the duration of the emergency 

declaration. 

b. The electronic report shall include, but is not 

limited to, the following: 

 i. status of operation; 

 ii. availability of beds; 

 iii. generator status; 

 iv. evacuation status; 

 v. shelter in place status; 

 vi. mobility status of clients; 

 vii. range of ages of clients; 

 viii. intellectual levels/needs of clients; and 

 ix. any other client or facility related information 

that is requested by the department. 
NOTE: The electronic report shall not be used to request 

resources or to report emergency events. 

D. The facility’s plan shall include a process for tracking 

during and after the emergency/disaster for on-duty staff and 

sheltered clients.  

E. The facility’s plan shall also include a process to 

share with the client, family, and representative appropriate 

information from the facility’s emergency plan. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180-2180.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

38:3207 (December 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:524 (March 2017). 

§8599. Notification of Evacuation, Relocation, or 

Temporary Cessation of Operations 

A. In the event that an ICF/DD evacuates, temporarily 

relocates or temporarily ceases operations at its licensed 

location as a result of an evacuation order issued by the 

state, local or parish OHSEP, the ICF/DD must immediately 
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give notice to the Health Standards Section as well as the 

Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) 

and OHSEP as directed by filing an electronic report with 

the ESF-8 portal or into the current LDH emergency 

preparedness webpage or electronic database for reporting: 

A.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and R.S. 40:2180-2180.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

38:3208 (December 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:524 (March 2017). 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#043 

 

RULE 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities 

Reimbursement Methodology 

(LAC 50:II.Chapter 200) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing has amended LAC 50:II.Chapter 200 in the 

Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 

and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 

Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 

Subpart 5.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 200. Reimbursement Methodology 

§20001. General Provisions 

A. Definitions 

Active Assessment—a resident MDS assessment is 

considered active when it has been accepted by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). The assessment 

will remain active until a subsequent minimum data set 

(MDS) assessment for the same resident has been accepted 

by CMS, the maximum number of days (121) for the 

assessment has been reached, or the resident has been 

discharged. 

* * * 

Assessment Reference Date—the date on the minimum 

data set (MDS) used to determine the due date and 

delinquency of assessments. 

* * * 

Case Mix—a measure of the intensity of care and 

services used by similar residents in a facility. 

Case-Mix Documentation Review (CMDR)—a review 

of original legal medical record documentation and other 

documentation as designated by the department in the MDS 

supportive documentation requirements, supplied by a 

nursing facility provider to support certain reported values 

that resulted in a specific RUG classification on a randomly 

selected MDS assessment sample. The review of the 

documentation provided by the nursing facility will result in 

the RUG classification being supported or unsupported. 

Case-Mix Index (CMI)—a numerical value that 

describes the resident’s relative resource use within the 

groups under the resource utilization group (RUG-III) 

classification system, or its successor, prescribed by the 

department based on the resident’s MDS assessments. CMIs 

will be determined for each nursing facility on a quarterly 

basis using all residents. 

* * * 

Department—the Louisiana Department of Health 

(LDH), or its successor, and the associated work product of 

its designated contractors and agents. 

* * * 

Facility Cost Report Period Case-Mix 

IndexRepealed. 

Example. Repealed. 

Facility-Wide Average Case-Mix Index—Repealed. 

Final Case-Mix Index Report (FCIR)—the final report 

that reflects the acuity of the residents in the nursing facility. 

a. Prior to the January 1, 2017 rate setting, resident 

acuity is measured utilizing the point-in-time acuity 

measurement system. 

b. Effective with the January 1, 2017 rate setting, 

resident acuity will be measured utilizing the time-weighted 

acuity measurement system. 

Index Factor—based on the Skilled Nursing Home 

without Capital Market Basket Index published by IHS 

Global Insight (IHS Economics), or a comparable index if 

this index ceases to be published. 

MDS Supportive Documentation Requirements—the 

department’s publication of the minimum documentation 

and review standard requirements for the MDS items 

associated with the RUG-III or its successor classification 

system. These requirements shall be maintained by the 

department and updated and published as necessary. 

Minimum Data Set (MDS)—a core set of screening and 

assessment data, including common definitions and coding 

categories that form the foundation of the comprehensive 

assessment for all residents of long-term care nursing facility 

providers certified to participate in the Medicaid Program. 

The items in the MDS standardize communication about 

resident problems, strengths, and conditions within nursing 

facility providers, between nursing facility providers, and 

between nursing facility providers and outside agencies. The 

Louisiana system will employ the current required MDS 

assessment as approved by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS). 

Nursing Facility Cost Report Period Case Mix Index—

the average of quarterly nursing facility-wide average case 

mix indices, carried to four decimal places. The quarters 

used in this average will be the quarters that most closely 

coincide with the nursing facility provider’s cost reporting 

period that is used to determine the medians. This average 

includes any revisions made due to an on-site CMDR. 

a. For the cost reporting periods utilized in the next 

rebase of rates on or after July 1, 2017, the calendar quarter 

case mix index averages will be calculated using the time-

weighted acuity measurement system, and be inclusive of 

MDS assessments available as of the date of the applicable
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quarterly FCIRs. This average includes any revisions made 

due to an on-site CMDR. 
Example: A January 1, 2015-December 31, 2015 cost report 
period would use the time-weighted facility-wide average case 

mix indices calculated for the four quarters ending March 31, 

2015, June 30, 2015, September 30, 2015 and December 31, 
2015. 

Nursing Facility-Wide Average Case Mix Index—the 

simple average, carried to four decimal places, of all resident 

case mix indices. 

a. Prior to the January 1, 2017, rate setting resident 

case mix indices will be calculated utilizing the point-in-

time acuity measurement system. If a nursing facility 

provider does not have any residents as of the last day of a 

calendar quarter or the average resident case mix indices 

appear invalid due to temporary closure or other 

circumstances, as determined by the department, a statewide 

average case mix index using occupied and valid statewide 

nursing facility case mix indices may be used. 

 i. Effective as of the January 1, 2017 rate setting, 

resident case mix indices will be calculated utilizing the 

time-weighted acuity measurement. If a nursing facility 

provider does not have any residents during the course of a 

calendar quarter, or the average resident case mix indices 

appear invalid due to temporary closure or other 

circumstances, as determined by the department, a statewide 

average case mix index using occupied and valid statewide 

nursing facility provider case mix indices may be used. 

* * * 

Point-In-Time Acuity Measurement System (PIT)—the 

case mix index calculation methodology that is compiled 

utilizing the active resident MDS assessments as of the last 

day of the calendar quarter, referred to as the point-in-time. 

Preliminary Case-Mix Index Report (PCIR)—the 

preliminary report that reflects the acuity of the residents in 

the nursing facility. 

a. Prior to the January 1, 2017 rate setting, resident 

acuity is measured utilizing the point-in-time acuity 

measurement system. 

b. Effective as of the January 1, 2017 rate setting, 

resident acuity will be measured utilizing the time-weighted 

acuity measurement system. 

* * * 

RUG-III Resident Classification System—the resource 

utilization group used to classify residents. When a resident 

classifies into more than one RUG-III, or its successor’s 

group, the RUG-III or its successor’s group with the greatest 

CMI will be utilized to calculate the nursing facility 

provider’s total residents average CMI and Medicaid 

residents average CMI. 

Summary Review Results Letter—a letter sent to the 

nursing facility that reports the final results of the case-mix 

documentation review and concludes the review. 

a. The summary review results letter will be sent to 

the nursing facility provider within 10 business days after 

the final exit conference date. 

* * * 

Time-Weighted Acuity Measurement System (TW)—the 

case mix index calculation methodology that is compiled 

from the collection of all resident MDS assessments 

transmitted and accepted by CMS that are considered active 

within a given calendar quarter. The resident MDS 

assessments will be weighted based on the number of 

calendar days that the assessment is considered an active 

assessment within a given calendar quarter. 

* * * 

Unsupported MDS Resident Assessment—an assessment 

where one or more data items that are used to classify a 

resident pursuant to the RUG-III, 34-group, or its 

successor’s resident classification system is not supported 

according to the MDS supportive documentation 

requirements and a different RUG-III, or its successor, 

classification would result; therefore, the MDS assessment 

would be considered “unsupported.” 

B. - B.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 

28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), 

LR 32:2262 (December 2006), amended by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

38:825 (March 2012), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 42:1522 (September 

2016), LR 43:525 (March 2017). 

§20003. Cost Reports 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1303] 

A. - B.1. ... 

2. There shall be no automatic extension of the due 

date for the filing of cost reports. If a provider experiences 

unavoidable difficulties in preparing its cost report by the 

prescribed due date, one 30-day extension may be permitted, 

upon written request submitted to the department prior to the 

due date. The request must explain in detail why the 

extension is necessary. Extensions beyond 30 days may be 

approved for situations beyond the facility's control. An 

extension will not be granted when the provider agreement is 

terminated or a change in ownership occurs. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:1473 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 

28:1790 (August 2002), amended LR 28:2537 (December 2002), 

LR 32:2263 (December 2006), amended by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

40:541 (March 2014), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:526 (March 2017). 

§20005. Rate Determination 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1305] 

A. - B. ... 

1. Effective July 3, 2009, and at a minimum, every 

second year thereafter, the base resident-day-weighted 

median costs and prices shall be rebased using the most 

recent four month or greater unqualified audited or desk 

reviewed cost reports that are available as of the April 1, 

prior to the July 1, rate setting or the department may apply a 

historic audit adjustment factor to the most recently filed 

cost reports. The department, at its discretion, may rebase at 

an earlier time. 

B.1.a. - D.1.g. ... 

 i. Effective for rate periods January 1, 2017 

through June 30, 2017 each nursing facility providers direct 

care and care related floor will be calculated as follows. 

(a). For each nursing facility, the statewide direct 

care and care related floor shall be apportioned between the 
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per diem direct care component and the per diem care 

related component using the facility-specific percentages 

determined in Subparagraph c of this Paragraph. On a 

quarterly basis, each facility's specific direct care component 

of the statewide floor shall be multiplied by each nursing 

facility provider’s most advantageous average case mix 

index for the prior quarter. The most advantageous case mix 

index will be determined by utilizing the nursing facility 

providers’ calculated point-in-time or time-weighted 

measurement system case mix index value that results in the 

lowest direct care and care related floor amount for the 

associated rate quarter. The direct care component of the 

statewide floor will be adjusted quarterly to account for 

changes in the nursing facility-wide average case mix index. 

Each facility's specific direct care and care related floor is 

the sum of each facility's case mix adjusted direct care 

component of the statewide floor plus each facility's specific 

care related component of the statewide floor. 

1.h. - 4.c. ... 

d. Effective for rate periods beginning January 1, 

2017 through June 30, 2017, each applicable nursing facility 

provider will receive an additional pass-through rate 

adjustment to allow for a phase-in of the time-weighted 

acuity measurement system. The nursing facility provider 

pass-through rate adjustment will be calculated and applied 

as follows. 

 i. The nursing facility provider’s rate period 

reimbursement rate will be calculated in accordance with 

§20005.B using the point-in-time acuity measurement 

system for determining the nursing facility-wide average 

case mix index values. The reimbursement rate will be 

determined after considering all other rate period changes to 

the reimbursement rates. 

 ii. The nursing facility provider’s rate period 

reimbursement rate will be calculated in accordance with 

§20005.B using the time-weighted acuity measurement 

system for determining the nursing facility-wide average 

case mix index values. The reimbursement rate will be 

determined after considering all other rate period changes to 

the reimbursement rate. 

 iii. The reimbursement rate differential will be 

determined by subtracting the reimbursement rate calculated 

using the point-in-time acuity measurement system from the 

reimbursement rate calculated using the time-weighted 

acuity measurement system. 

 iv. If the calculated reimbursement rate 

differential exceeds a positive or negative $2, then a pass-

through rate adjustment will be applied to the nursing 

facility provider’s reimbursement rate in an amount equal to 

the difference between the rate differential total and the $2 

threshold, in order to ensure the nursing facility provider’s 

reimbursement rate is not increased or decreased more than 

$2 as a result of the change of the time-weighted acuity 

measurement system. 

(a). Should the nursing facility provider, for the 

aforementioned rate periods, receive an adjusted nursing 

facility-wide average case mix index value due to a CMDR 

change or other factors, the facility will have their rate 

differential recalculated using the revised case mix index 

values. The $2 reimbursement rate change threshold will

apply to the recalculated differential and associated case mix 

index values, not the original differential calculation. 

 v. If a nursing facility provider’s calculated rate 

differential does not exceed the $2 rate change threshold, 

then no pass-through rate adjustment will be applied for the 

applicable rate period. 

D.5. - Q. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:1791 (August 2002), amended LR 

31:1596 (July 2005), LR 32:2263 (December 2006), LR 33:2203 

(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:325 

(February 2010), repromulgated LR 36:520 (March 2010), 

amended LR 36:1556 (July 2010), LR 36:1782 (August 2010), LR 

36:2566 (November 2010), LR 37:902 (March 2011), LR 37:1174 

(April 2011), LR 37:2631 (September 2011), LR 38:1241 (May 

2012), LR 39:1286 (May 2013), LR 39:3097, 3097 (November 

2013), LR 41:707 (April 2015), LR 41:949 (May 2015), amended 

by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 

LR 43:83 (January 2017), LR 43:526 (March 2017). 

§20007. Case-Mix Index Calculation 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1307] 

A. ... 

B. Each resident in the nursing facility, with a completed 

and submitted assessment, shall be assigned a RUG-III, 34-

group, or its successor based on the following criteria. 

1. Prior to the January 1, 2017 rate setting, the RUG-

III group, or its successor, is calculated based on the 

resident's most current assessment, available on the last day 

of each calendar quarter, and shall be translated to the 

appropriate case mix index. From the individual resident 

case mix indices, two average case mix indices for each 

Medicaid nursing facility provider shall be determined four 

times per year based on the last day of each calendar quarter. 

2. Effective as of the January 1, 2017 rate setting, the 

RUG-III group, or its successor, will be calculated using 

each resident MDS assessment transmitted and accepted by 

CMS that is considered active within a given calendar 

quarter. These assessments are then translated to the 

appropriate case mix index. The individual resident case mix 

indices are then weighted based on the number of calendar 

days each assessment is active within a given calendar 

quarter. Using the individual resident case mix indices, the 

calendar day weighted average nursing facility-wide case 

mix index is calculated using all residents regardless of 

payer type. The calendar day weighted nursing facility-wide 

average case mix index for each Medicaid nursing facility 

shall be determined four times per year. 

C. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:1475 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 

28:1792 (August 2002), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 38:826 (March 

2012), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 43:82 (January 2017), LR 43:527 (March 

2017). 
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§20012. Fair Rental Value, Property Tax and Property 

Insurance Incentive Payments to Buyers of 

Nursing Facilities 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1312] 

A. - C.3. ... 

4. Base Capital Amount Updates. On July 1 of each 

year, the base capital amounts (as defined in Paragraph 1 of 

this Subsection) will be trended forward annually to the 

midpoint of the rate year using the change in the per diem 

unit cost listed in the three-fourths column of the R.S. Means 

Building Construction Data Publication, or its successor, 

adjusted by the weighted average total city cost index for 

New Orleans, LA. The cost index for the midpoint of the 

rate year shall be estimated using a two-year moving average 

of the two most recent indices as provided in this Paragraph. 

Adjustments to the base capital amount will only be applied 

to purchase and closure transactions occurring after the 

adjustment date. 

D. - E.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 33:1349 (July 2007), amended LR 34:1033 

(June 2008), amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing, LR 43:528 (March 2017). 

§20013. Case-Mix Documentation Reviews and Case-

Mix Index Reports 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1313] 

A. The department shall provide each nursing facility 

provider with the preliminary case-mix index report (PCIR) 

by approximately the fifteenth day of the second month 

following the beginning of a calendar quarter. The PCIR will 

serve as notice of the MDS assessments transmitted and 

provide an opportunity for the nursing facility provider to 

correct and transmit any missing MDS assessments or 

tracking records or apply the CMS correction request 

process where applicable. The department shall provide each 

nursing facility provider with a final case-mix index report 

(FCIR) utilizing MDS assessments after allowing the 

nursing facility providers a reasonable amount of time to 

process their corrections (approximately two weeks). 

1. If the department determines that a nursing facility 

provider has delinquent MDS resident assessments, for 

purposes of determining both average CMIs, such 

assessments shall be assigned the case-mix index associated 

with the RUG-III group “BC1-delinquent” or its successor. A 

delinquent MDS shall be assigned a CMI value equal to the 

lowest CMI in the RUG-III, or its successor, classification 

system. 

B. The department shall periodically review the MDS 

supporting documentation maintained by nursing facility 

providers for all residents, regardless of payer type. Such 

reviews shall be conducted as frequently as deemed 

necessary by the department. The department shall notify 

nursing facility providers of the scheduled case-mix 

documentation reviews (CMDR) not less than two business 

days prior to the start of the review date and a fax, electronic 

mail or other form of communication will be provided to the 

administrator or other nursing facility provider designee on 

the same date identifying possible documentation that will 

be required to be available at the start of the on-site CMDR. 

1. The department shall review a sample of MDS 

resident assessments equal to the greater of 20 percent of the 

occupied bed size of the nursing facility or 10 assessments 

and shall include those transmitted assessments posted on 

the most current FCIR. The CMDR will determine the 

percentage of assessments in the sample that are 

unsupported MDS resident assessments. The department 

may review additional or alternative MDS assessments, if it 

is deemed necessary. 

2. When conducting the CMDR, the department shall 

consider all MDS supporting documentation that is provided 

by the nursing facility provider and is available to the RN 

reviewers prior to the start of the exit conference. MDS 

supporting documentation that is provided by the nursing 

facility provider after the start of the exit conference shall 

not be considered for the CMDR. 

3. Upon request by the department, the nursing 

facility provider shall be required to produce a computer-

generated copy of the MDS assessment which shall be the 

basis for the CMDR. 

4. After the close of the CMDR, the department will 

submit its findings in a summary review results (SRR) letter 

to the nursing facility within 10 business days following the 

final exit conference date. 

5. The following corrective action will apply to those 

nursing facility providers with unsupported MDS resident 

assessments identified during an on-site CMDR. 

a. - b. ... 

c. If the percentage of unsupported MDS 

assessments in the total sample is greater than the threshold 

percentage as shown in column (B) of the table in 

Subparagraph e below, the RUG-III, or its successor, 

classification shall be recalculated for the unsupported MDS 

assessments based upon the available documentation 

obtained during the CMDR process. The nursing facility 

provider’s CMI and resulting Medicaid rate shall be 

recalculated for the quarter in which the FCIR was used to 

determine the Medicaid rate. A follow-up CMDR process 

described in Subparagraphs d and e may be utilized at the 

discretion of the department. 

d. Those nursing facility providers exceeding the 

thresholds (see column (B) of the table in Subparagraph e) 

during the initial on-site CMDR will be given 90 days to 

correct their assessing and documentation processes. A 

follow-up CMDR may be performed at the discretion of the 

department at least 30 days after the nursing facility 

provider’s 90-day correction period. The department or its 

contractor shall notify the nursing facility provider not less 

than two business days prior to the start of the CMDR date. 

A fax, electronic mail, or other form of communication will 

be provided to the administrator or other nursing facility 

provider designee on the same date identifying 

documentation that must be available at the start of the on-

site CMDR. 

e. After the follow-up CMDR, if the percentage of 

unsupported MDS assessments in the total sample is greater 

than the threshold percentage as shown in column (B) of the 

following table, the RUG-III, or its successor, classification 

shall be recalculated for the unsupported MDS assessments 

based upon the available documentation obtained during the 

CMDR process. The nursing facility provider’s CMI and
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resulting Medicaid rate shall be recalculated for the quarter 

in which the FCIR was used to determine the Medicaid rate. 

In addition, facilities found to have unsupported MDS 

resident assessments in excess of the threshold in column 

(B) of the table below may be required to enter into a 

documentation improvement plan with the department. 

Additional follow-up CMDR may be conducted at the 

discretion of the department. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:2537 (December 2002), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing, LR 38:826 (March 2012), amended by the Department 

of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:528 (March 

2017). 

§20015. Appeal Process 

[Formerly LAC 50:VII.1315] 

A. If the facility disagrees with the CMDR findings, a 

written request for an informal reconsideration must be 

submitted to the department within 15 business days of the 

facility’s receipt of the CMDR findings in the SRR letter. 

Otherwise, the results of the CMDR findings are considered 

final and not subject to appeal. The department will review 

the facility’s informal reconsideration request within 10 

business days of receipt of the request and will send written 

notification of the final results of the reconsideration to the 

facility. No appeal of findings will be accepted until after 

communication of final results of the informal 

reconsideration process. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing, LR 28:2538 (December 2002), amended by the 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing, LR 38:827 (March 2012), amended by the Department 

of Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:529 (March 

2017). 

§20029. Supplemental Payments 

A. - A.2. ... 

3. Payment Calculations. The Medicaid supplemental 

payment for each state fiscal year (SFY) shall be calculated 

immediately following the July quarterly Medicaid rate 

setting process. The total Medicaid supplemental payment 

for each individual NSGO will be established as the 

individual nursing facility differential between the estimated 

Medicare payments for Medicaid nursing facility residents, 

and the adjusted Medicaid payments for those same nursing 

facility residents. A more detailed description of the 

Medicaid supplemental payment process is described below. 

a.  The calculation of the total annual Medicaid 

supplemental payment for nursing facilities involves the 

following four components: 

 i. calculate Medicare payments for Louisiana 

Medicaid nursing facility residents using Medicare payment 

principles; 

 ii. determining Medicaid payments for Louisiana 

Medicaid nursing facility residents;  

 iii. adjust payments for coverage difference 

between Medicare payment principles and Louisiana 

Medicaid payment principles; and 

 iv. calculating the differential between the 

calculated Medicare payments for Medicaid nursing facility 

residents, and Medicaid payments for those same residents. 

b. Calculating Medicaid Rates Using Medicare 

Payment Principles. With Medicare moving to the 

prospective payment system (PPS), Medicare rates will be 

calculated based on Medicaid acuity data. The following is a 

summary of the steps involved. 

 i. Using each resident’s minimum data set 

assessment, the applicable RUG-III grouper code for 

Medicaid residents was identified. A frequency distribution 

of Medicaid residents in each of the Medicare RUG 

classification categories is then generated. 

(a). The resident minimum data set assessments 

will be from the most recently available minimum data set 

assessments utilized in Medicaid rate setting processes as of 

the development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 

calculation demonstration. 

 ii. After the Medicaid resident frequency 

distribution was developed, rural and urban rate differentials 

and wage index adjustments will be used to adjust the 

Medicare rate tables. Medicare rate tables will be applicable 

to SFY periods. 

(a). Medicare rate tables will be established 

using information published in 42 CFR part 483 where 

available. Should the finalized Medicare rate tables for any 

portion of the applicable SFY period be unavailable, the 

most recent preliminary Medicare rate adjustment 

percentage published in the federal register available as of 

the development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 

calculation demonstration will be utilized as the basis of the 

Medicare rate for that portion of the SFY period. 

(b). The resulting Medicare rates are multiplied 

by the number of Medicaid residents in each RUG category, 

summed and then averaged. The Medicare rate tables 

applicable to each period of the SFY will be multiplied by an 

estimate of Medicaid paid claims days for the specified 

period. Medicaid paid claims days will be compiled from the 

state’s Medicaid Management Information System’s (MMIS) 

most recent 12 months, as of the development of the 

Medicaid supplemental payment calculation demonstration. 

c. Determining Medicaid Payments for Louisiana 

Medicaid Nursing Facility Residents. The most current 

Medicaid nursing facility reimbursement rates as of the 

development of Medicaid supplemental payment calculation 

demonstration will be utilized. These reimbursement rates 

will be multiplied by Medicaid paid claims compiled from 

the state’s MMIS system from the most recent 12 months, as 

of the development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 

calculation demonstration, to establish total Medicaid per 

diem payments. Total calculated Medicaid payments made 

outside of the standard nursing facility per diem are summed 

with total Medicaid reimbursement from the per diem 

payments to establish total Medicaid payments. Payments 

made outside of the standard nursing facility per diem are 

reimbursement for the following services. 
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 i. Specialized Care Services Payments. 

Specialized care services reimbursement is paid outside of 

the standard per diem rate as an add-on payment to the 

current facility per diem rate. The established specialized 

care add-on per diems will be multiplied by Medicaid paid 

claims for specialized care days compiled from the state’s 

MMIS system from the most recent 12 months, as of the 

development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 

calculation demonstration, to establish projected specialized 

care services payments for the applicable SFY. 

 ii. Home/Hospital Leave Day (Bed Hold) 

Payments. Allowable Medicaid Leave days were established 

using Medicaid paid claims days compiled from the state’s 

MMIS system from the most recent 12 months, as of the 

development of the Medicaid supplemental payment 

calculation demonstration. Allowable Medicaid Leave days 

will be multiplied by the most recent Medicaid leave day 

quarterly reimbursement rates as of the of the Medicaid 

supplemental payment calculation demonstration to 

established projected Medicaid Leave day payments for the 

SFY. 

 iii. Private Room Conversion Payments. Private 

room conversion (PRC) Medicaid days will be established 

utilizing the most recently reviewed or audited Medicaid 

supplemental cost reports as of the development of the 

Medicaid supplemental payment calculation demonstration. 

The applicable cost reporting period information will be 

annualized to account for short year cost reporting periods. 

Allowable PRC Medicaid days will be multiplied by the 

PRC incentive payment amount of $5 per allowable day to 

establish the total projected Medicaid PRC payments for the 

SFY. 

d. Adjusting for Differences between Medicare 

Principles and Louisiana Medicaid Nursing Facility 

Residents. An adjustment to the calculation of the Medicaid 

supplemental payment limit will be performed to account for 

the differences in coverage between the Medicare PPS rate 

and what Louisiana Medicaid covers within the daily rate 

provided above. To accomplish this, an estimate will be 

calculated for pharmacy, laboratory, and radiology claims 

that were paid on behalf of nursing facility residents for 

other than their routine daily care. These estimates will then 

be added to the total calculated Medicaid payments. 

e. Calculating the Differential Between the 

Calculated Medicare Payments for Medicaid Nursing 

Facility Residents, and Medicaid Payments for Those Same 

Residents. The total annual Medicaid supplemental payment 

will be equal to the individual NSGO nursing facility’s 

differential between their calculated Medicare payments and 

the calculated adjusted Medicaid payments for the applicable 

SFY, as detailed in the sections above. 

4. Frequency of Payments and Calculations. The 

Medicaid supplemental payments will be reimbursed 

through a calendar quarter based lump sum payment. The 

amount of the calendar quarter lump sum payment will be 

equal to the SFY total annual Medicaid supplemental 

payment divided by four. The total annual Medicaid 

supplemental payment calculation will be performed for 

each SFY immediately following the July quarterly 

Medicaid rate setting process. 

a. Repealed. 

5. No payment under this section is dependent on any 

agreement or arrangement for provider or related entities to 

donate money or services to a governmental entity. 

5.a. - 6. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 

42:63 (January 2016), amended by the Department of Health, 

Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 43:529 (March 2017). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 
1703#044 

 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 

Office of the Commissioner 

Homeowner and Fire/Commercial 

Insurance Policy Disclosure Forms 

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 153) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 

22:1 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., R.S. 

22:1319, and R.S. 22:1332, the Department of Insurance has 

adopted Regulation 107. The purpose of this regulation is to 

promulgate the homeowner and fire/commercial insurance 

policy disclosure forms developed by the commissioner of 

insurance for use by all property and casualty insurers 

issuing, delivering or renewing homeowner and 

fire/commercial insurance policies that provide coverage for 

damages to property in Louisiana. 

Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 

Chapter 153. Homeowner and Fire/Commercial 

Insurance Policy Disclosure Forms  
§15301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Rule is to adopt the homeowners 

and fire/commercial insurance policy disclosure forms 

developed by the commissioner of insurance for use by all 

property and casualty insurers issuing, delivering or 

renewing homeowners and fire/commercial insurance 

policies that provide coverage for damages to property in 

Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:530 (March 2017). 

§15303. Applicability and Scope 

A. This Rule shall be applicable to all property and 

casualty insurers for all new homeowner policies and all 

renewals of existing homeowner policies.   
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:530 (March 2017). 

§15305. Disclosure Forms  

A. Every property and casualty insurer issuing, 

delivering or renewing homeowners or fire/commercial 

insurance policies that provide coverage for damage to 

property in Louisiana shall present to the insured as an insert 

in the front of the policy upon issuance, delivery or renewal 

the appropriate disclosure form.  

B. Formatting Instructions. The text of the disclosure 

form should be formatted as shown in the applicable 

appendix in bold type of not less than a fourteen-point font.  

C. Appendix A contains the form that sets forth the 

disclosures required by R.S. 22:1319 for use by all property 

and casualty insurers issuing fire/commercial policies 

covering property in Louisiana.  

D. Appendix B contains the form that sets forth the 

disclosures required by R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1)-(6) for use by 

all property and casualty insurers issuing homeowner 

policies covering property in Louisiana. 

E. Appendix C contains the form that sets forth the 

disclosures required by R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1)-(7) for use by 

all property and casualty insurers issuing homeowner 

policies for damage to property in Louisiana that use claims 

that do not exceed the policy deductible and that do not 

result in a payment either to the insured or on behalf of the 

insured to increase the cost of the policy premium in the 

future or as part of the basis for cancellation of a policy. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

§15307. Rule Amendment 

A. The Commissioner of Insurance reserves the right to 

amend, modify, alter or rescind all or any portion of this 

Rule. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

§15309. Severability Clause 

A. If any provision of this Rule, or the application 

thereof to any circumstance, is held invalid, such 

determination shall not affect other provisions or 

applications of this regulation which can be given effect 

without the invalid provision or application, and to that end 

the provisions of this Rule are severable. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

§15311. Effective Date  

A. The forms provided in Appendix A and Appendix B 

shall become effective immediately upon adoption and the 

form provided in Appendix C shall become effective 6 

months after adoption. All forms shall continue in full force 

and effect until amended, modified, altered or rescinded by 

the commissioner of insurance.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

§15313. Appendices 

A. Appendix A 
Important Information Required by  

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 

Fire Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary  
(other than Homeowners) 

Or 
Commercial Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 

This form is promulgated pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1319 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 

DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY.  

INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT.  THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 

POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 
OBLIGATIONS. 

 
**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  

COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 

 
COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID 

 

[INSERT PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 

Deductibles 
 

This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to 
claims for damages.  When applicable, a deductible will be 

subtracted from your total claim and you will be paid the balance 

subject to applicable coverage limits. 
 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 

your deductible.  Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
details. 

 

NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 
deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 

named storm] as defined in the policy.   
 

Separate Deductible  

Examples—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 

 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible applying 
to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under your policy:   

 

The insurer shall comply with LSA-R.S. 22:1319 B(3) by selecting either 
option A or B below: 

 
A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 

hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 

under the policy.  The standardized example shall set forth a 
separate loss for each coverage included in the policy for which a 

premium has been paid.  The total of all losses combined shall 
exceed by at least ten percent (10%) the applicable deductible(s) so 

that the example demonstrates a net payment to the insured. 

 
B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDOI if 

this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 
deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 

loss under the policy: 

 
The following assumes no co-insurance penalty and a 2% 

hurricane, wind, or named storm deductible. The amounts of 
loss to the damaged property are $50,000 (building) and 

$20,000 (business personal property).    

 
Limits of insurance on building $ 100,000 

 
Total amount of building loss $ 50,000 

Less 2% deductible ($100,000 X .02) $ 2,000 

Net payment to insured for building loss $ 48,000 
 

Limits of insurance on the business personal property $ 50,000 
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Total amount of business personal property loss $ 20,000 

Less 2% deductible ($50,000 X .02)  - $ 1,000 
Net payment to insured for business personal  

property loss $ 19,000 
 

Total net payment to insured for building and business  

personal property loss ($48,000 + $19,000) $ 67,000 
 

TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 
WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 

PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 

 
Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy 

 

FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 

caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss.  Flood water 

includes, but is not limited to, storm surge, waves, tidal water, 
overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 

 
 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 

Insurance Program (NFIP).  NFIP flood insurance may provide 

coverage for damage to your dwelling or building and/or contents 
subject to the coverage limits and terms of the policy. 

 
 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 

policy, from this or another insurer, if the amount of the primary 

flood insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 
 

• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 
 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 

this policy. 
 

**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS REFER TO 
YOUR  

POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS** 

 

B. Appendix B 
 

Important Information Required by 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 
Homeowners Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 

This form is promulgated pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1-6) 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 

DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY.  

INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT.  THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 

POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 
OBLIGATIONS. 

 
**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  

COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 

 
COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID 

 
[INSERT PERSONAL PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 

Example: 

Coverage A .................................................................Dwelling 

Coverage B ..................................................... Other Structures 
Coverage C ................................................... Personal Property 

Coverage D ............................................................ Loss of Use 

Coverage E ................................................... Personal Liability 
Coverage F ................................................... Medical Payments 

 
Deductibles 

 

This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to 
claims for damages.  When applicable, a deductible will be 

subtracted from your total claim and you will be paid the balance 

subject to applicable coverage limits. 
 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 

your deductible.  Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 
details. 

 

NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 
deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 

named storm] as defined in the policy.  
 

Separate Deductible Example—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 

 
If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible applying 

to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under your policy: 
 

The insurer shall comply with LSA-R.S. 22:1332 B(6) by selecting and 

inserting either option A or B below: 
 

A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 
hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 

under the policy. The standardized example shall set forth a 

separate loss under each of Coverage A, B, C and D and the total 
of all losses combined shall exceed by at least ten percent (10%) 

the applicable deductible so that there shall be a net payment to the 
insured. 

 

B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDOI if 
this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 

deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 
loss under the policy: 

 

If the total insured value of the dwelling or Coverage A is 
$200,000 and you have a 2% hurricane, wind, or named storm 

deductible, then your hurricane, wind or named storm 

deductible would be $200,000.00 X .02 = $4,000.00. 
Losses: 

Coverage A – Dwelling ................................................ $15,000 
Coverage B – Other Structures ..................................... $  2,500 

Coverage C – Personal Property ................................... $  3,000 

Coverage D – Loss of Use ............................................ $  2,000 
Total amount of all losses ............................................. $22,500 

Less 2% hurricane, wind or named  

storm deductible ........................................................ $  4,000 
Net payment to insured ................................................ $18,500 

 

TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 
WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 

PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 
 

Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy 

 

FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 

caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss.  Flood water 

includes but is not limited to storm surge, waves, tidal water, 
overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 

 
 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 

Insurance Program (NFIP).  NFIP flood insurance may provide 

coverage for damage to your dwelling and/or contents subject to the 
coverage limits and terms of the policy. 

 
 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 

policy from this or another insurer if the amount of the primary flood 

insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 
 

• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 
 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 
this policy. 

 

**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS REFER TO 
YOUR  

POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS** 
 

Claim Filing Process 

 
There may be time limitations for filing a claim and filing of a 

satisfactory proof of loss.  There may also be time limitations for 
repairing and replacing damaged property that could cause you to not 

recover the replacement cost for the insured loss of your property, if 

applicable. 
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Payment of Claims 

 
Depending on the terms of the insurance policy, some losses may be 

based on actual cash value (ACV) and other losses based on 
replacement cost (RC). 

 

• ACV is the amount needed to repair or replace the 
damaged or destroyed property, minus the depreciation. 

• RC involves the initial payment of actual cash value 

(ACV) of a loss, and the subsequent payment of the 

additional amount that is actually and necessarily expended 
to repair or replace the damaged or destroyed property. 

 
**Refer to your policy for the terms and conditions describing 

how a particular loss is to be paid. 

 
Payment and Adjustment of Claims 

 
Pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1892 and 22:1973, except in the case of 

catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss adjustment of a 

property damage claim and/or a claim for reasonable medical 
expenses within fourteen (14) days after notification of loss by the 

claimant. 

 

In the case of catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss 

adjustment of a property damage claim within thirty (30) days after 
notification of loss by the claimant unless the Commissioner of 

Insurance promulgates a rule to extend the time period for initiating a 
loss adjustment for damages arising from a presidentially declared 

emergency or disaster or a gubernatorially declared emergency or 

disaster for up to an additional thirty (30) days.  Thereafter, one 
additional extension of the period of time for initiating a loss 

adjustment may be allowed by the Commissioner of Insurance if 
approved by the Senate Committee on Insurance and the House 

Committee on Insurance. 

 
All insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage 

claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after the 
receipt of satisfactory proof of loss of that claim. 

 

Failure to make such payment within thirty (30) days after receipt of 
such satisfactory written proofs and demand thereof or failure to 

make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a 
third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a satisfactory 

proof of loss of that claim may result in a late penalty against the 

insurer in addition to the payment of the claim. 
 

If the insurer is found to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable 
cause in settling any property damage claim, the insurer must pay the 

insured, in addition to the amount of the loss, fifty percent (50%) 

damages on the amount found to be due from the insurer to the 
insured, or one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), whichever is greater, as 

well as attorney fees and costs, if applicable. 
 

C. Appendix C 
 

Important Information Required by 

the Louisiana Department of Insurance 

 
Homeowners Insurance Policy Coverage Disclosure Summary 

This form is promulgated pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1332 (B)(1-7) 

 
THIS IS ONLY A SUMMARY OF YOUR COVERAGE AND 

DOES NOT AMEND, EXTEND, OR ALTER THE COVERAGES 
OR ANY OTHER PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN YOUR POLICY.  

INSURANCE IS A CONTRACT.  THE LANGUAGE IN YOUR 

POLICY CONTROLS YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS AND 
OBLIGATIONS. 

 
**READ YOUR INSURANCE POLICY FOR  

COMPLETE POLICY TERMS AND CONDITIONS** 

 
COVERAGE(S) FOR WHICH PREMIUM WAS PAID 

 
[INSERT PERSONAL PROPERTY COVERAGES] 

 

Example: 
Coverage A .................................................................Dwelling 

Coverage B ..................................................... Other Structures 

Coverage C ................................................... Personal Property 
Coverage D ............................................................ Loss of Use 

Coverage E .................................................... Personal Liability 
Coverage F ................................................... Medical Payments 

 

Deductibles 
 

This policy sets forth certain deductibles that will be applied to claims for 
damages.  When applicable, a deductible will be subtracted from your total 

claim and you will be paid the balance subject to applicable coverage limits. 

 

• You may be able to reduce your premium by increasing 

your deductible.  Contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

details. 

• If you file a claim that does not exceed the policy 

deductible and that does not result in a payment either to you 

or on your behalf, that claim may be used to increase the cost 
of your policy’s premium in the future or as part of the basis 

for cancellation of your policy. 

 
NOTICE:  This policy [does/does not] set forth a separate 

deductible for covered losses caused by [hurricane; wind; 

named storm] as defined in the policy.  

 

Separate Deductible Example—Hurricane, Wind or Named Storm Damage. 
 

If applicable, the following illustrates how a separate deductible 
applying to hurricane, wind or named storm damage is applied under 

your policy: 

 
The insurer shall comply with LSA-R.S. 22:1332 B(6) by selecting 

and inserting either option A or B below: 
 

A. Developing its own standardized example to reflect how a 

hurricane, wind, or named storm damage loss will be adjusted 
under the policy.  The standardized example shall set forth a 

separate loss under each of Coverage A, B, C and D and the total 
of all losses combined shall exceed by at least ten percent (10%) 

the applicable deductible so that there shall be a net payment to the 

insured. 
 

B. Utilizing the standardized example prepared by the LDOI if 
this standardized example properly reflects how a separate 

deductible is applied to a hurricane, wind, or named storm damage 

loss under the policy: 
 

If the total insured value of the dwelling or Coverage A is 
$200,000.00 and you have a 2% hurricane, wind, or named storm 

deductible, then your hurricane, wind or named storm deductible 

would be $200,000.00 X .02 = $4,000.00. 
 

Losses: 

Coverage A – Dwelling ................................................ $15,000 
Coverage B – Other Structures ..................................... $  2,500 

Coverage C – Personal Property ................................... $  3,000 
Coverage D – Loss of Use ............................................ $  2,000 

Total amount of all losses ............................................. $22,500 

Less 2% hurricane, wind or named storm  
deductible ................................................................ $  4,000 

Net payment to insured ................................................ $18,500 

 
TO SEE EXACTLY HOW YOUR SEPARATE HURRICANE, 

WIND OR NAMED STORM DEDUCTIBLE WILL APPLY, 

PLEASE REFER TO YOUR POLICY. 
 

Limitations or Exclusions under this Policy 
 

FLOODFlood damage [is/is not] covered, regardless of how 

caused, when flood is the peril that causes the loss.  Flood water 
includes but is not limited to storm surge, waves, tidal water, 

overflow of a body of water, whether driven by wind or not. 
 

 Flood Insurance may be available through the National Flood 

Insurance Program (NFIP).  NFIP flood insurance may provide 
coverage for damage to your dwelling and/or contents subject to the 

coverage limits and terms of the policy. 
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 Excess Flood Insurance may be available under a separate 

policy from this or another insurer if the amount of the primary flood 
insurance is not enough to cover the value of your property. 

 

• You may contact your producer (agent) or insurer for 

more information on the NFIP and excess flood insurance. 

 

MOLDDamage caused solely by mold [is/is not] covered under 

this policy. 

 
**FOR ALL OTHER LIMITATIONS OR EXCLUSIONS 

REFER TO YOUR POLICY FOR COMPLETE DETAILS 

ON TERMS AND PROVISIONS** 
 

Claim Filing Process 
There may be time limitations for filing a claim and filing of a 

satisfactory proof of loss.  There may also be time limitations for 

repairing and replacing damaged property that could cause you to not 
recover the replacement cost for the insured loss of your property, if 

applicable. 
 

Payment of Claims 

 

Depending on the terms of the insurance policy, some losses may be 

based on actual cash value (ACV) and other losses based on 
replacement cost (RC). 

 

• ACV is the amount needed to repair or replace the 
damaged or destroyed property, minus the depreciation. 

• RC involves the initial payment of actual cash value 

(ACV) of a loss, and the subsequent payment of the 
additional amount that is actually and necessarily expended 

to repair or replace the damaged or destroyed property. 

** Refer to your policy for the terms and conditions 
describing how a particular loss is to be paid. 

 

Payment and Adjustment of Claims 
 

Pursuant to LSA-R.S. 22:1892 and 22:1973, except in the case of 
catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss adjustment of a 

property damage claim and/or a claim for reasonable medical 

expenses within fourteen (14) days after notification of loss by the 

claimant. 

 
In the case of catastrophic loss, the insurer shall initiate loss 

adjustment of a property damage claim within thirty (30) days after 

notification of loss by the claimant unless the Commissioner of 
Insurance promulgates a rule to extend the time period for initiating a 

loss adjustment for damages arising from a presidentially declared 
emergency or disaster or a gubernatorially declared emergency or 

disaster for up to an additional thirty (30) days. Thereafter, one 

additional extension of the period of time for initiating a loss 
adjustment may be allowed by the Commissioner of Insurance if 

approved by the Senate Committee on Insurance and the House 
Committee on Insurance. 

 

All insurers shall make a written offer to settle any property damage 
claim, including a third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after the 

receipt of satisfactory proof of loss of that claim. 
 

Failure to make such payment within thirty (30) days after receipt of 

such satisfactory written proofs and demand thereof or failure to 
make a written offer to settle any property damage claim, including a 

third-party claim, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a satisfactory 
proof of loss of that claim may result in a late penalty against the 

insurer in addition to the payment of the claim. 

 
If the insurer is found to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable 

cause in settling any property damage claim, the insurer must pay the 
insured, in addition to the amount of the loss, fifty percent (50%) 

damages on the amount found to be due from the insurer to the 

insured, or one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), whichever is greater, as 
well as attorney fees and costs, if applicable. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:11, 22:1319 and 22:1332.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 43:531 (March 2017). 

 

James J. Donelon 

Commissioner 
1703#052 

 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 

Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 76—Privacy of Consumer 

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 99) 

The Department of Insurance, pursuant to the authority of 

the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 22:1 et seq., and in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., hereby has amended Regulation 76—Privacy 

of Consumer. 

The purpose of amending Regulation 76 is to comply with 

the passage of the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation 

(“FAST”) Act, which was passed by the United States 

Congress and signed into law (Public Law 114-94; 

December 4, 2015). The FAST Act amended the Gramm-

Leach-Bliley Act to provide an exemption from the annual 

privacy notice requirements required under Gramm-Leach-

Bliley. As Regulation 76 mirrors the duties and 

responsibilities of those in the business of insurance with 

regards to the privacy of insurance consumer’s information, 

any amendments to Gramm-Leach-Bliley that were passed 

into law should likewise be incorporated as an amendment to 

Regulation 76. The FAST Act amendment serves the 

purpose, in both federal law and the Regulation 76 

amendment here, to relieve those in the business of 

insurance to whom it applies from duplicative privacy notice 

requirements, while at the same time continuing to preserve 

the privacy rights of insurance consumers. 

Title 37 

INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 

Chapter 99. Regulation 76―Privacy of Consumer 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§9901. Authority 

A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 49:953(B) 

and R.S. 22:2 which charges the commissioner of insurance 

with the duty to enforce and administer all of the provisions 

of the Insurance Code, the purpose of which is to regulate 

the business of insurance in all of its phases in the public 

interest. Sections 501(b) and 505(a)(6) of the Gramm-Leach-

Bliley Act specifically designate the Department of 

Insurance as the agency to establish the appropriate 

standards covering any person engaged in providing 

insurance under state law and the Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, which provides for certain annual 

privacy reporting exemptions. R.S. 22:11 and R.S. 22:1595 

grants the commissioner of insurance authority to 

promulgate rules and regulations as are necessary for the 

implementation of the provisions of title R.S. 22:1604 

specifically refers to the protection of the interests of 

insurance policyholders in this state with respect to financial 

institution insurance sales, and R.S. 22:1595 grants the
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commissioner of insurance authority to promulgate rules and 

regulations as may be necessary to effectuate the provisions 

of chapter 5, financial institution sales, in title 22.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:548 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:534 (March 2017). 

Subchapter B. Privacy and Opt-Out Notices for 

Financial Information 

§9913. Annual Privacy Notice to Customers Required 

A.1. - C. … 

D. Exemption from Annual Privacy Notice. A licensee 

that: 

1. provides nonpublic personal information to 

nonaffiliated third parties only in accordance with 

Emergency Rule 31, Regulation 76 and R.S. 22:1591-R.S. 

22:1605; and 

2. has not changed is policies and practices with 

regard to disclosing nonpublic personal information from the 

policies and practices that were disclosed in the most recent 

disclosure sent to consumers in accordance with this Section, 

shall not be required to provide an annual disclosure under 

this Section until such time as the licensee fails to comply 

with any criteria described in Paragraphs 1 and 2 of this 

Subsection. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 27:552 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 

Subchapter D. Exceptions to Limits on Disclosures of 

Financial Information 

§9951. Severability  

A. If any provision or item of Regulation 79 or the 

Emergency Rule 31, or the application thereof, is held 

invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions, 

items or applications of Regulation 79 or Emergency Rule 

31 which can be given effect without the invalid provision, 

item, or application. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner; LR 27:548 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 

§9953. Effective Date 

A. This Rule shall be effective upon adoption. 

B.1. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:2, 22:3, 22:1595, 22:1604, Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act, Public 

Law 106-102, November 12, 1999, and Fixing America’s Surface 

Transportation Act, Public Law 114-94, December 4, 2015. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner; LR 27:548 (April 2001), 

amended LR 43:535 (March 2017). 

 

James J. Donelon 

Commissioner  
1703#003 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 

Financial Security for the Plug and Abandonment of  

Oil and Gas Wells and Determinations of Future Utility  

(LAC 43:XIX.104) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 

Conservation has amended LAC 43:XIX.Subpart 1 in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 

power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 

The amendments are made to implement the provisions of 

Act 634 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature. The amendments reduce the per foot cost of 

financial security for inland wells below 3000 feet to $2 per 

foot and exempt wells orphaned by the commissioner and 

subsequently transferred to another operator from financial 

security requirements. 

Title 43 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation—General Operations 

Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 

§104. Financial Security 

A. - B.4. … 

C. Financial Security Amount 

1. Land Location 

a. Individual well financial security shall be 

provided in accordance with the following. 

 

Measured Depth Amount 

< 3000' $2 per foot 

3001-10000' $5 per foot 

> 10001' $4 per foot 

 

C.1.b. - H. … 

I. Financial security shall not be required for the 

following wells: 

1. any well declared to be orphaned by the 

commissioner and subsequently transferred to another 

operator, except as required by Act 583 of the 2016 Regular 

Session; 

2. any well to be drilled by an operator who has an 

agreement with the office of conservation to plug a well that 

has been declared to be orphaned by the commissioner and 

that orphaned well is similar to the proposed well in terms of 

depth and location; 

3. the provisions hereof shall not alter or affect the 

requirements for inactive wells given in LAC 43:XIX.137.A.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

30:4, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation LR 26:1306 (June 

2000), amended LR 27:1917 (November 2001), LR 43:535 (March 

2017). 

 

Richard P. Ieyoub 

Commissioner 
1703#017 
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RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 

Offsite E and P Waste Transfer Pipeline Systems 

(LAC 43:XIX.501 and 571) 

The Department of Natural Resources, Office of 

Conservation has amended LAC 43:XIX, Subpart 1 in 

accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 

power delegated under the laws of the state of Louisiana. 

The amendment and adoption are made to implement 

requirements for E and P waste transfer pipeline systems.  

Title 43 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationGeneral Operations 

Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 5. Off-Site Storage, Treatment and/or 

Disposal of Exploration and Production 

Waste Generated from Drilling and 

Production of Oil and Gas Wells 
NOTE: Onsite disposal requirements are listed in  
LAC 43:XIX, Chapter 3. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Statewide Order 29-B was originally 

codified in LAC 43:XIX as §129. In December 2000, §129 

was restructured into Chapters 3, 4 and 5. Chapter 3 contains 
the oilfield pit regulations. Chapter 4 contains the 

injection/disposal well regulations. Chapter 5 contains the 

commercial facility regulations. A cross-reference chart in the 
December 2000 Louisiana Register, page 2798, indicates the 

locations for the rules in each existing Section. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Chapter 5 was amended in November 

2001. A chart showing the restructuring of Chapter 5 is found 
on page 1898 of the Louisiana Register, November 2001. 

§501. Definitions 

* * * 

Transfer Pipeline Systeman offsite pipeline system by 

which only E and P waste is transferred to a permitted in-

state or out-of-state transfer station or disposal facility. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2811 (December 

2000), amended LR 27:1898 (November 2001), LR 29:937 (June 

2003), LR 34:1421 (July 2008), LR 36:2570 (November 2010), LR 

43:536 (March 2017). 

§571. Requirements for E and P Waste Transfer 

Pipeline Systems 

A. Notification 

1. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 

writing at least 30 days prior to installation of an offsite E 

and P waste transfer pipeline system. Written notification 

shall include the following items: 

a. the pipeline system operator/company name, 

address and principal officer contact information including 

emergency contacts; 

b. estimated timeframe construction will begin; 

c. a list of all E and P waste types to be transported 

via the pipeline system; 

d. a list of all E and P waste operators/generators 

that will utilize the pipeline system; 

e. a narrative description, map(s) and schematic 

diagram(s) as necessary to accurately describe the 

geographic location of the entire pipeline system to be 

operated in Louisiana, the pipeline system starting and 

ending point and all points of entry in between, and the final 

in-state or out-of-state disposition of E and P waste 

transmitted through the pipeline system; 

f. detailed plans for generator, transporter and 

commercial facility or transfer station operator compliance 

with manifesting requirements of Subsection C of this 

Section and LAC 43:XIX.545. 

2. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 

writing no later than five calendar days following 

completion of construction of the E and P waste transfer 

pipeline system. Such notification shall include the date, or 

anticipated date, when E and P waste transmission 

operations are scheduled to begin. 

3. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 

writing of any change in the principal officers, management, 

or ownership of an E and P waste transfer pipeline system 

within 10 calendar days of the change. 

4. The Office of Conservation shall be notified in 

writing within five calendar days of the effective date of any 

change in the operational status of a pipeline system 

including but not limited to any changes to the items listed in 

Paragraph 1 of this Subsection, if and when a pipeline 

system, or section of the pipeline system is shut-in or 

removed from service, brought back into service, 

permanently removed from service and/or decommissioned.  

B. Design, Operations and Maintenance Criteria 

1. E and P waste transfer pipeline systems shall be 

designed, constructed, operated and maintained in a manner 

which is protective of public health, safety and welfare and 

the environment, surface water, groundwater aquifers and 

underground sources of drinking water. 

C. Manifesting Requirements 

1. All E and P waste transported via an E and P waste 

transfer pipeline system shall be properly manifested in 

accordance with LAC 43:XIX.545. E and P waste 

manifesting plans submitted for compliance with the 

notification requirements of Subparagraph A.1.f of this 

Section shall be approved by the Office of Conservation 

prior to implementation. 

D. Reporting Requirements 

1. Any spills which occur during the offsite 

transportation of E and P waste where any quantity of E and 

P waste is released directly to the environmental, i.e., the 

spilled E and P waste is not completely confined within a 

non-earthen metal, plastic, fiberglass, concrete or other 

impervious containment system, shall be reported by phone 

to the Office of Conservation within 24 hours of the spill and 

other appropriate state and federal agencies in accordance 

with each agencies’ applicable reporting requirements. A 

written report of the incident must be submitted within five 

calendar days detailing the incident and methods of 

corrective action. The report shall also include the 

identification of all operators/generators utilizing the E and P 

waste transfer pipeline system at the time of discharge. 

2. Initiation of pipeline repair and E and P waste 

removal/containment system clean-up activities for any E 

and P waste spill remaining within a containment system not 

required to be reported for compliance with Paragraph 1 of 
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this Subsection shall commence as soon as is practicable 

within 24 hours of detection.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 43:536 (March 

2017). 

 

Richard P. Ieyoub 

Commissioner 
1703#006 

 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 

Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous Materials 

(LAC 33:V.10303) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 

of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

R.S. 32:1501 et seq., has amended its rules regulating motor 

carrier safety and hazardous materials by updating the 

revision date of the adopted federal motor carrier regulations 

to November 1, 2016. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections—Hazardous Materials 

Chapter 103. Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 

§10303. Federal Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 

A. The following federal motor carrier safety regulations 

and hazardous materials regulations promulgated by the 

United States Department of Transportation, revised as of 

November 1, 2016, and contained in the following parts of 

49 CFR as now in effect or as hereafter amended, are made a 

part of this Chapter. 

 

Hazardous Material Regulations 

Part 107 Hazardous Materials Program Procedures 

Part 171 General Information, Regulations, and Definitions 

Part 172 Hazardous Materials Table, Special Provisions, and 

Hazardous Materials Communications, Emergency Response 

Information, and Training Requirements 

Part 173 Shippers―General Requirements for Shipments and 

Packagings 

Part 177 Carriage by Public Highways 

Part 178 Specifications for Packagings 

Part 180 Continuing Qualification and Maintenance of Packagings 

 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 

Part 355 Compatibility of State Laws and Regulations Affecting 

Interstate Motor Carrier Operations 

Part 360 Fees for Motor Carrier Registration and Insurance 

Part 365 Rules Governing Applications for Operating Authority 

Part 367 Standards for Registration with States 

Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 

Part 373 Receipts and Bills 

Part 374 Passenger Carrier Regulations 

Part 375 Transportation of Household Goods in Interstate Commerce: 

Consumer Protection Regulations 

Part 376 Lease and Interchange of Vehicles 

Part 379 Preservation of Records 

Part 382 Controlled Substances and Alcohol Use and Testing 

Part 383 Commercial Driver's License Standards; Requirements and 
Penalties 

Part 384 State Compliance with Commercial Driver’s License Program 

Part 385 Safety Fitness Procedures 

Part 386 Rules of Practice for Motor Carrier, Broker, Freight 
Forwarder and Hazardous Materials Proceedings 

Part 387 Minimum Levels of Financial Responsibility for Motor 

Carriers 

Part 388 Cooperative Agreements with States 

Part 389 Rulemaking Procedures-Federal Motor Carrier Safety 

Part 390 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations; General 

Part 391 Qualifications of Drivers 

Part 392 Driving of Commercial Motor Vehicles 

Part 393 Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operation 

Part 395 Hours of Service of Drivers 

Part 396 Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance 

Part 397 Transportation of Hazardous Materials; Driving and Parking 

Rules 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32: 1501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 14:31 

(January 1988), amended LR 17:1115 (November 1991), LR 

19:351 (March 1993), LR 20:58 (January 1994), LR 24:956 (May 

1998), LR 24:2321 (December 1998), LR 29:711 (May 2003), LR 

30:447 (March 2004), LR 32:641 (April 2006), LR 34:882 (May 

2008), amended by the Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 

Environmental Safety Section, LR 37:1613 (June 2011), LR 

38:1417 (June 2012), amended by the Department of Public Safety 

and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 40:371 (February 

2014), LR 42:280 (February 2016), amended by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section, LR 43:537 

(March 2017). 

 

Jason Starnes 

Chief Administrative Officer 
1703#008 

 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Office of State Police 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 

Motor Vehicle Inspections (LAC 55:III.807 and 819) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 

of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., Act 

138 of the 2009 Regular Session, and R.S. 32:1304 et seq., 

has amended rules which require a checklist for school bus 

inspections and require vehicle fleets that operate in the five 

parish non-attainment areas (regardless of where the vehicles 

are registered) to have emissions testing. 
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Title 55 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part III.  Motor Vehicles 

Chapter 8. Motor Vehicle Inspection 

Subchapter B. Safety Inspections 

§807. Operation as an Official Motor Vehicle 

Inspection Station 

A. - H. … 

I. Motor Vehicle Inspection Log Report 

1. All entries must be legible and made in ink only. 

The audit number of the inspection or rejection certificates 

issued must be listed in numerical order and must be shown 

on the report. All other required information must be 

provided for the vehicle inspected. Vehicle information will 

be obtained from the registration. The operator's license 

number must be taken from the driver's license of the person 

presenting the vehicle for inspection and not from the 

registration. 

a. Stations that are required to maintain log sheets 

shall maintain the log sheets for 36 months. 

 i. General MVI Stations. A separate log shall be 

kept for the one- and two-year certificates. 
Exception: Log sheets are not required to be utilized if a 
station is required to enter the inspection information on the 

DEQ computer system. 

 ii. Commercial MVI Stations. The station must 

maintain a copy of each commercial log sheet. 

 iii. School Bus MVI Stations. The station must 

complete and maintain a copy of each school bus inspection 

checklist. 

2. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1304-1310. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Safety 

Enforcement Section, LR 25:2424 (December 1999), amended 

27:2260 (December 2001), repromulgated LR 28:345 (February 

2002), amended LR 30:2859 (December 2004), amended by the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State 

Police, LR 38:2552 (October 2012), LR 42:433 (March 2016), 

amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 

Office of State Police, Transportation and Environmental Safety 

Section, LR 43:538 (March 2017). 

Subchapter C. Vehicle Emission Inspection and 

Maintenance Program 

§819. Anti-Tampering and Inspection and 

Maintenance Parameters 

A. - C. … 

D. Subsections A, B, and C of this Section shall apply to 

those vehicles (belonging to the covered model years and 

vehicle classes) that are routinely operated in the five parish 

non-attainment area as part of a fleet, though the individual 

vehicles are not registered in any one of those five parishes. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1304-1310. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Safety 

Enforcement Section, LR 25:2434 (December 1999), amended LR 

27:2260 (December 2001), LR 28:345 (February 2002), LR 

30:2493 (November 2004), amended by the Department of Public

Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Transportation and 

Environmental Safety Section, LR 43:538 (March 2017). 

 

Jason Starns 

Chief Administrative Officer 
1703#009 

 

RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 

Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Military-Trained Individuals/Military Spouses and 

Use of Seals (LAC 46:LXI.903, 909, and 2701) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana professional 

engineering and land surveying licensure law, R.S. 37:681 et 

seq., and in accordance with the Louisiana Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Louisiana 

Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board has 

amended its rules contained in LAC 46:LXI.903, 909, and 

2701. 

This is a technical revision of existing rules under which 

LAPELS operates. The revision: (a). incorporates changes 

made to R.S. 37:3651 during the 2016 Regular Session 

relating to the licensure of military-trained individuals and 

military spouses; and (b). clarifies and expands the 

exceptions to the sealing requirements for professional 

engineers. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXI.  Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors 

Chapter 9. Requirements for Certification and 

Licensure of Individuals and Temporary 

Permit to Practice Engineering or Land 

Surveying 

§903. Professional Engineer Licensure 

A. - A.6. … 

B. The requirements for licensure as a professional 

engineer under the alternatives provided in R.S. 37:3651(A), 

(B) and (C) are as follows: 

1. the applicant for licensure as a professional 

engineer shall be a military-trained individual who has 

completed a military program of training in engineering at a 

level that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the 

requirements for licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(2) and 

Subsection A herein, who has been awarded a military 

occupational specialty in engineering, who has performed in 

that military occupational specialty at a level that is 

substantially equivalent to or exceeds the requirements for 

licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(2) and Subsection A herein, 

who has engaged in the active practice of engineering, who 

has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act that 

would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, or 

revocation of a license to practice engineering in Louisiana 

at the time the act was committed, who is an engineer intern, 

or an individual who meets the qualifications to be an
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engineer intern, who has a verifiable record of four years or 

more of progressive experience obtained subsequent to 

meeting the educational and applicable experience 

qualifications to be an engineer intern on engineering 

projects of a level and scope satisfactory to the board, who is 

of good character and reputation, who has passed the 

examination required by the board in the principles and 

practice of engineering in the discipline of engineering in 

which licensure is sought, who was recommended for 

licensure by five personal references, three of whom are 

professional engineers who have personal knowledge of the 

applicant's engineering experience and character and ability, 

who has submitted an application for licensure in accordance 

with the requirements of R.S. 37:694, and who was duly 

licensed as a professional engineer by the board; or 

2. the applicant for licensure as a professional 

engineer shall be a military-trained individual who holds a 

current, valid license to engage in the practice of engineering 

issued to him/her by proper authority of a state, territory, or 

possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, 

based on requirements that are substantially equivalent to or 

exceed the requirements for licensure under R.S. 

37:693(B)(2) and Subsection A herein, who is of good 

character and reputation, who has submitted an application 

for licensure in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 

37:694, and who was duly licensed as a professional 

engineer by the board; or 

3. the applicant for licensure as a professional 

engineer shall be a military spouse who holds a current, 

valid license to engage in the practice of engineering issued 

to him/her by proper authority of a state, territory, or 

possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, 

based on requirements that are substantially equivalent to or 

exceed the requirements for licensure under R.S. 

37:693(B)(2) and Subsection A herein, who can demonstrate 

competency in the practice of engineering through an oral 

interview by the board, who has not been disciplined in any 

jurisdiction for an act that would have constituted grounds 

for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 

engineering in Louisiana at the time the act was committed, 

who is in good standing with and has not been disciplined by 

the agency that issued the license in the other jurisdiction, 

who is of good character and reputation, who has submitted 

an application for licensure in accordance with the 

requirements of R.S. 37:694, and who was duly licensed as a 

professional engineer by the board. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:688 and 37:3651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 2:352 (November 

1976), amended LR 5:114 (May 1979), LR 5:365 (November 

1979), LR 6:735 (December 1980), LR 7:644 (December 1981), 

LR 10:804 (October 1984), LR 11:362 (April 1985), LR 19:56 

(January 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 

Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 

Board, LR 27:1028 (July 2001), LR 30:1712 (August 2004), LR 

32:1619 (September 2006), LR 37:2412 (August 2011), LR 

38:2564 (October 2012), LR 39:1060 (April 2013), LR 39:2801 

(October 2013), LR 43:538 (March 2017). 

§909. Professional Land Surveyor Licensure 

A. - A.2. … 

B. The requirements for licensure as a professional land 

surveyor under the alternatives provided in R.S. 37:3651(A), 

(B) and (C) are as follows: 

1. the applicant for licensure as a professional land 

surveyor shall be a military-trained individual who has 

completed a military program of training in land surveying 

at a level that is substantially equivalent to or exceeds the 

requirements for licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(4) and 

Subsection A herein, who has been awarded a military 

occupational specialty in land surveying, who has performed 

in that military occupational specialty at a level that is 

substantially equivalent to or exceeds the requirements for 

licensure under R.S. 37:693(B)(4) and Subsection A herein, 

who has engaged in the active practice of land surveying, 

who has not been disciplined in any jurisdiction for an act 

that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, 

or revocation of a license to practice land surveying in 

Louisiana at the time the act was committed, who is a land 

surveyor intern, or an individual who meets the 

qualifications to be a land surveyor intern, who is of good 

character and reputation, who has a verifiable record of four 

years or more of combined office and field experience in 

land surveying including two years or more of progressive 

experience on land surveying projects under the supervision 

of a professional land surveyor, who has passed the oral 

examination required by the board, who has passed the 

examinations required by the board in the principles and 

practice of land surveying and Louisiana laws of land 

surveying, who was recommended for licensure by five 

personal references (at least three of whom must be 

professional land surveyors who have personal knowledge of 

the applicant), who has submitted an application for 

licensure in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 

37:694, and who was duly licensed as a professional land 

surveyor by the board; or 

2. the applicant for licensure as a professional land 

surveyor shall be a military-trained individual who holds a 

current, valid license to engage in the practice of land 

surveying issued to him/her by proper authority of a state, 

territory, or possession of the United States, or the District of 

Columbia, based on requirements that are substantially 

equivalent to or exceed the requirements for licensure under 

R.S. 37:693(B)(4) and Subsection A herein, who is of good 

character and reputation, who has passed the examinations 

required by the board in the fundamentals of land surveying, 

principles and practice of land surveying and Louisiana laws 

of land surveying, who has submitted an application for 

licensure in accordance with the requirements of R.S. 

37:694, and who was duly licensed as a professional land 

surveyor by the board; or 

3. the applicant for licensure as a professional land 

surveyor shall be a military spouse who holds a current, 

valid license to engage in the practice of land surveying 

issued to him/her by proper authority of a state, territory, or 

possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia, 

based on requirements that are substantially equivalent to or 

exceed the requirements for licensure under R.S.



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 540 

37:693(B)(4) and Subsection A herein, who can demonstrate 

competency in the practice of land surveying through an oral 

interview by the board, who has not been disciplined in any 

jurisdiction for an act that would have constituted grounds 

for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice 

land surveying in Louisiana at the time the act was 

committed, who is in good standing with and has not been 

disciplined by the agency that issued the license in the other 

jurisdiction, who is of good character and reputation, who 

has passed the examinations required by the board in the 

fundamentals of land surveying, principles and practice of 

land surveying and Louisiana laws of land surveying, who 

has submitted an application for licensure in accordance 

with the requirements of R.S. 37:694, and who was duly 

licensed as a professional land surveyor by the board. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:688 and 37:3651. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 2:244 (August 

1976), amended LR 2:352 (November 1976), LR 5:114 (May 

1979), LR 6:735 (December 1980), LR 7:645 (December 1981), 

LR 11:362 (April 1985), LR 16:773 (September 1990), LR 19:56 

(January 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 

Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 

Board, LR 27:1029 (July 2001), LR 30:1713 (August 2004), LR 

32:1619 (September 2006), LR 35:1909 (September 2009), LR 

37:2413 (August 2011), LR 38:2564 (October 2012), LR 39:2802 

(October 2013), LR 43:539 (March 2017). 

Chapter 27. Use of Seals 

§2701. Seal and Signature 

A. The following rules for the use of seals to identify 

work performed by a professional engineer or professional 

land surveyor shall be binding on every licensee. 

1. - 2.f. … 

* * * 

3. Seal Responsibility 

a. … 

b. Responsible Charge 

 i. - i.(d).(ii). … 

 ii. No licensee shall affix his/her seal or signature 

to reports, plats, sketches, working drawings, specifications, 

design calculations, or other engineering and land surveying 

documents developed by others not under his/her responsible 

charge, except: 

(a). in the case of an individual Louisiana 

professional engineer checking and taking the professional 

responsibility for the work of an engineer who is not 

licensed in this state but is properly licensed in the 

jurisdiction of origin of such work, the Louisiana 

professional engineer shall completely check and have 

responsible charge of the work. Such responsible charge 

shall include possession of the sealed, signed and dated 

reproducible drawings, with complete sealed, signed and 

dated calculations indicating all changes; 

(b). certification of standard plans which were 

initially prepared, sealed and signed by an engineer who is 

not licensed in this state but is properly licensed in the 

jurisdiction of origin of such plans. Such plans may then be 

reviewed by a Louisiana professional engineer for code 

conformance, design adequacy, and site adaption for the 

specific application within Louisiana. The Louisiana 

professional engineer assumes responsibility for such plans. 

The plans, which already bear the seal and signature of the 

engineer who is not licensed in this state but is properly 

licensed in the jurisdiction of origin of such plans, shall also 

be sealed, signed and dated by the Louisiana professional 

engineer who is assuming responsibility. In addition to the 

Louisiana professional engineer’s seal, signature and date, a 

statement shall be included on the plans as follows; 
“These standard plans have been properly examined by me, 
the undersigned Louisiana professional engineer. I have 

determined that these plans comply with all applicable 

Louisiana codes and have been properly site adapted to use in 
this area.” 

(c). certification of standard plans, including 

special details, which were initially prepared by the 

Department of Transportation and Development and signed 

and dated by such agency’s chief engineer, but which are not 

for use on such agency’s projects. Such plans may then be 

reviewed by another professional engineer for code 

conformance, design adequacy, and site adaption for the 

specific application. The other professional engineer 

assumes responsibility for such plans. The plans, which 

already bear the signature of the agency’s chief engineer, 

shall be sealed, signed and dated by the other professional 

engineer who is assuming responsibility. In addition to the 

other professional engineer’s seal, signature and date, a 

statement shall be included on the plans as follows; 
“These standard plans have been properly examined by me, 
the undersigned professional engineer. I have determined that 

these plans comply with all applicable codes and have been 

properly adapted to use on this project.” 

(d). certification of single family residential 

design plans for conformance with applicable state and local 

building codes. Such plans shall be sealed, signed and dated 

by the professional engineer who is making such 

certification. In addition to the professional engineer’s seal, 

signature and date, a statement shall be included on the plans 

as follows. 
“These single family residential design plans have been 

properly examined by me, the undersigned professional 
engineer. I have determined that these plans comply with the 

following applicable codes for the jurisdiction in which the 

residence is to be located (check all that apply):  structural; 
 mechanical;  electrical;  plumbing.” 

 iii. - iii.(c). … 

4. Seal Use 

a. - b.ii. … 

c. Exempt Work 

 i. - i.(e). … 

 ii. No seal shall be required on standard plans, 

including special details, which are prepared by the 

Department of Transportation and Development and signed 

and dated by such agency’s chief engineer for use on such 

agency’s projects. 

5. - 5.b. … 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:696. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for 

Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 8:192 (April 

1982), amended LR 12:692 (October 1986), LR 16:774 (September 

1990), LR 17:273 (March 1991), LR 19:58 (January 1993), LR 

22:287 (April 1996), LR 23:869 (July 1997), amended by the 

Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution Number 2 of 

the 1998 First Extraordinary Session, LR 24:1207 (June 1998), 

repromulgated by the Department of Transportation and 

Development, Professional Engineering and Land Surveying 
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Board, LR 25:1525 (August 1999), amended LR 27:1039 (July 

2001), LR 30:1723 (August 2004), LR 33:2789 (December 2007), 

LR 34:2415 (November 2008), LR 35:1910 (September 2009), LR 

38:1418 (June 2012), LR 39:1481 (June 2013), LR 42:443 (March 

2016), LR 43:540 (March 2017). 

 

Donna D. Sentell 

Executive Director 
1703#023 

 

RULE 

Workforce Commission 

Plumbing Board 

PlumbersIntroductory Information; Licenses; 

Revocation and Related Administration Proceedings; 

Continuing Professional Education Programs 

(LAC 46:LV.101, 301, 303, 307, 308, 309, 

310, 311, 312, 313, 314, 315, 901, and 1002) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953, the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board (board) has amended LAC 46:LV.101, 301, 303, 307, 

308, 309, 310, 311, 312, 313, 314, 315, 901, and 1002 to be 

in compliance with recent legislative changes designated as 

Act No. 297 of 2016. The amended Rule change establishes 

the designation of gas fitter and master gas fitter and 

provides licensing requirements and procedures relative to 

gas fitter and master gas fitter classifications, effective 

January 1, 2017. The addition of this classification resulted 

in the number change for rules formerly numbered as §§307-

313. These adjustments are effective upon this final 

publication in the Louisiana Register. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 1. Introductory Information 

§101. Definitions 

Apprentice Gas Fitter―a natural person engaged in 

learning the gas fitting trade by working under the direct on-

the-job supervision of a gas fitter and in the employ of an 

employing entity. Apprentice gas fitters shall be indentured 

in an apprenticeship program approved by the Workforce 

Commission. 

* * * 

Employing EntityRepealed. 

Employing Entity Gas Fitteras that term is used in R.S. 

37:1367(B) and (C) and in these regulations, shall mean a 

corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship that holds 

itself out as engaging in the business or art of gas fitting as 

defined in this Section and who employs at least one master 

gas fitter on a regular paid basis for actual services 

performed by that master gas fitter supervising gas fitters. 

Employing Entity Plumbing―as that term is used in R.S. 

37:1367(B) and (C) and in these regulations, shall mean a 

corporation, partnership or sole proprietorship that holds 

itself out as engaging in the business or art of plumbing as 

defined in this Section and who employs at least one master 

plumber on a regular paid basis for actual services 

performed by that master plumber or master plumbers 

supervising journeyman plumbers. 

Gas Fitter―a natural person who possesses the necessary 

qualifications and knowledge to install, alter, and/or repair 

natural gas systems; is licensed as such by the board; is 

supervised by a master gas fitter; and is in the employ of an 

employing entity. 

Gas Fitting―the work or business of installing, repairing, 

improving, altering, or removing natural gas piping, fittings, 

valves, or tanks used for conveying fuel gas for appliances 

on or in premises or in buildings annexed to real property. 

For purposes of this Chapter, gas fitting does not include the 

following: 

1. the installation or maintenance of piping by any 

entity of a municipal or gas district system that is subject to 

the regulatory authority of the Public Service Commission, 

the New Orleans City Council, or the Office of Pipeline 

Safety in the Department of Natural Resources; 

2. any work done by a person who is licensed by the 

Louisiana Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission or any 

other services performed pursuant to such a license. 

* * * 

Master Gas Fittera natural person who possesses the 

necessary qualifications and knowledge to plan and lay out 

natural gas systems, supervises gas fitters in the installation, 

alteration, and/or repair of natural gas systems, and is 

licensed as such by the board. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 

Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 

17:49 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 26:329 

(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 

Plumbing Board, LR 42:575 (April 2016), LR 43:541 (March 

2017). 

Chapter 3. Licenses 

§301. Licenses Required 

A. - L. … 

M. No natural person shall engage in doing the work of a 

gas fitter unless he possesses a license or renewal thereof 

issued by the board. A gas fitter may engage in the art of gas 

fitting only when he is under the supervision of a master gas 

fitter licensed by this board.  

N. Apprentices may engage in the art of gas fitting only 

when they are under the direct, constant on-the-job 

supervision of a licensed gas fitter. Direct, constant on-the-

job supervision means that a licensed gas fitter will 

supervise no more than one apprentice on only one job at a 

time. 

O. The board shall issue a license to any person who 

qualifies under the board's regulations and who desires to 

engage in doing the work of a gas fitter if he passes a written 

and manual gas fitter’s examination given by the board and 

pays the fees established by the board. 

P. No natural person shall engage in the work of a 

master gas fitter unless he possesses a master gas fitter’s 

license or renewal thereof issued by the board. The board 

shall issue a master gas fitter license to any person who 

qualifies under the board's regulations and who desires to 

engage in doing the work of a master gas fitter if he passes a 

written examination given by the board and pays the fees 

established by the board. A written examination shall not be 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 542 

required for persons applying pursuant to §310.F. A master 

gas fitter shall not engage in the work of a gas fitter unless 

he also possesses a gas fitter’s license issued by the board or 

previously possessed a gas fitter’s license issued by the 

board. A person issued a master gas fitter's license shall 

designate to the board, as required by the rules of the board, 

an employing entity, which may be a corporation, 

partnership, or sole proprietorship. A licensed master gas 

fitter shall notify the board of any change of employment 

status with an employing entity within 30 days of the 

effective date of change in employment status. A master gas 

fitter shall designate no more than one employing entity at 

any time. The board may charge a reasonable fee for 

processing such redesignations. 

Q. No employing entity shall hold itself out as engaging 

in the business or art of gas fitting unless it employs a master 

gas fitter. No master gas fitter shall knowingly allow an 

employing entity to hold itself out as employing such master 

gas fitter at a time when it does not employ him. In the event 

a master gas fitter employed by an employing entity dies, the 

employing entity will be permitted to operate on the basis of 

the deceased master gas fitter’s license for a period not to 

exceed six months following the death of the master gas 

fitter. The board may require proof of death. The six-month 

grace period provided herein must be applied for, in writing, 

within 30 days of the death of the master gas fitter. The 

employing entity must comply with all other regulations 

issued by the board during the grace period. 

R. Every employing entity shall maintain an established 

place of business, with facilities for receiving complaints, 

calls and notices during normal business hours, from any 

person for whom it is performing gas fitting or from the 

board and its representatives. It shall display a sign, plainly 

visible from the street at every place where it and its 

employees are performing gas fitting work. The sign shall 

designate the employing entity's full name, address, 

telephone number and master gas fitter license number 

issued by the board to the designated active master gas fitter 

in its employ. The sign shall include legible lettering at least 

2 inches high with the words “Louisiana Licensed Master 

Gas Fitter” (or abbreviated “LA Lic. Master Gas Fitter”). 

The employing entity shall also identify itself by permanent 

signs or lettering affixed to its service vehicles on both sides 

of such vehicles indicating the same information required of 

job-site signs, except the master gas fitter license number 

can be abbreviated as “LMGF _________.” All public 

advertising, solicitations, customer invoices, and business 

correspondence issued by or on behalf of an employing 

entity shall set forth the information described herein. 

S. Employment of an active master gas fitter by an 

employing entity on a regular paid basis, as required by 

§301.Q of these rules, shall mean employment or self-

employment for wages or under a bona fide contract of hire 

with no more than one employing entity at any given time. 

Such employment or self-employment must include services 

performed by the active master gas fitter which is within the 

state of Louisiana or both within and without the state of 

Louisiana. 

T. Temporary working permits to gas fitters may be 

issued as required by R.S. 37:1376 and may be issued to a 

holder of a state license from states with like examinations, 

should that state recognize the Louisiana license, or where 

other bona fide evidence shows that the applicant's past 

experience would be capable of protecting the public from 

defective gas fitting. Each temporary permit must be signed 

by both the chairman and the secretary of the board. A 

reasonable fee may be charged for the issuance of temporary 

permits, as fixed by the board (see §312). 

U. An inactive master gas fitter, as that term is used in 

R.S. 37:1368(E), shall mean a natural person who is licensed 

by the board as a master gas fitter or who successfully 

applies for and passes the examination for master gas fitter 

license administered by the board pursuant to §307 of these 

rules. An applicant for inactive master gas fitter status must 

state in a form supplied by the board that he does not wish or 

intend to practice as a master gas fitter. An inactive master 

gas fitter shall not be permitted to designate an employing 

entity, or knowingly allow an employing entity to hold itself 

out as employing him as a master gas fitter. An inactive 

master gas fitter can convert his status to that of a master gas 

fitter by submitting to the board an appropriate form 

supplied by the board and upon payment of a fee established 

by the board. During the period of his inactive status the 

inactive master gas fitter shall pay a fee established by the 

board. An inactive master gas fitter converting his status 

under this Section shall designate an employing entity. An 

inactive master gas fitter shall be permitted to work as gas 

fitter during the period or periods he maintains an inactive 

gas fitter's license, if he is currently or was previously 

licensed by the board as a gas fitter. 

V. The board is empowered to assess special 

enforcement fees on a daily basis at a rate not to exceed $10 

a day relative to any master gas fitter or employing entity, or 

both, that fails or refuses, after due notice, to comply with 

the sign and posting requirements established by Subsection 

R of this Section. The daily enforcement fees assessed by the 

board under this provision shall not exceed, in the aggregate, 

$500. This special enforcement fee shall be in addition to 

any licensing fees required by law, or any other penalty or 

sanction assessed by a court of competent jurisdiction or by 

the board. 

W. In the event any applicant for any license or 

endorsement who successfully completes a required 

examination, but fails to pay to the board any requisite 

license or endorsement fee within 90 days of notice of his 

examination results shall not be issued the applicable license 

or endorsement unless and until he submits to an 

successfully completes re-examination and pays the 

appropriate fees for such re-examination and subsequent 

license or endorsement fee. Imposition of this re-

examination requirement may be waived for good cause. 

Any special endorsement fees incurred before or during the 

re-examination process shall not be affected. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 

Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 

17:49 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board LR 19:897 (July 1993), LR 19:1593 (December 

1993), LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 25:1857 (October 1999), 

amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 

42:576 (April 2016), LR 43:541 (March 2017). 

§303. Application for License 

A. - F. … 
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G. Applications for gas fitter license shall be completed 

and sworn to before a notary public by the applicant. Each 

application shall state two years of having performed manual 

labor of gas fitting in that two-year training period was 

under the direct on-the-job supervision of a licensed gas 

fitter, except those completing apprenticeship programs 

recognized by the board.  

1. Each applicant shall be qualified to take the 

examination without assistance, and provide whatever other 

information is requested, on official board application form.  

H. The board must satisfy itself that an indentured 

apprentice gas fitter has satisfactorily completed the 

approved apprenticeship program. 

I. Applications for master gas fitter license shall be 

completed and sworn to before a notary public by the 

applicant. The applicant must submit proof that he is 

licensed by the board at the time of application as a gas fitter 

or the applicant must submit proof that he is a professional 

engineer licensed by the state of Louisiana with experience 

in the art of gas fitting as defined in R.S. 37:1377(K). He 

must furnish whatever other information relevant to his 

experience that is requested in the application form or 

specially requested by the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 

Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 

17:50 (January 1991), amended by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, LR 21:1348 (December 1995), LR 26:329 

(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 

Plumbing Board, LR 42:576 (April 2016), LR 43:542 (March 

2017). 

§307. Requirements to Take Exam for Gas Fitter's 

License 

A. Requirements 

1. An applicant for gas fitter's examination must have 

been a registered apprentice with the board for two years and 

shall provide notarized affidavit of having performed manual 

labor of gas fitting in that two year training period under the 

direct on-the-job supervision of a licensed gas fitter. 

2. He shall have sufficient education to read and write 

the answers to the examination questions and shall 

understand the gas fitting terms used in the code acceptable 

to the authority having jurisdiction in regard to the 

installation or repair of gas fitting. 

3. He shall furnish a 2-inch by 2-inch photograph of 

himself with the application. 

4. He shall submit his application and required 

documents to the office of the State Plumbing Board of 

Louisiana not less than 30 days before any scheduled 

examination. The board shall inform all interested persons of 

the examination schedule. 

5. He must attach a money order or check for the 

appropriate fee to the application. The fee is established in 

§310. 

6. No master gas fitter certificate shall permit any 

master gas fitter to do the work of a gas fitter. 

B. Regular quarterly examinations will be held on the 

first Saturday of January, April, July and October in the City 

of Baton Rouge, or on such days specially set by the board. 

Regularly scheduled examinations are subject to 

postponement or relocation to accommodate legal holidays 

or other conditions beyond the control of the board. 

C. Failure to report for examination will result in the 

forfeiture of the applicant's fee. This forfeiture may be 

reversed by the board upon showing a good cause by the 

applicant explaining his failure to attend the scheduled 

examination. 

D. Special examinations may be held at such times and 

places as the board may direct. Any person or persons may 

request that he be examined by the board at times and places 

other than the regularly scheduled examination dates, and 

the board shall examine such applicant or applicants as are 

qualified, at a reasonable time and place designated by the 

board after notice of such request, at the payment of a fee as 

established by the board. 

E. The examination shall be given by one or more 

examiners. At least one board member shall be present. 

F. The chairman of the board shall appoint the examiner 

or examiners, who may be representatives of a private 

professional service provider qualified to administer a 

standardized, nationally recognized test duly adopted by the 

board. If necessary, the chairman shall appoint additional 

examiners to conduct any special examination required as an 

accommodation to a qualified disabled individual under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. 

G. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this 

Section, any person or persons who at any time within three 

years of being cited by the board or its agents for engaging 

in the work of a gas fitter at a time when he did not possess a 

license or renewal thereof issued by the board, or was 

otherwise subject to civil or criminal prosecution for doing 

the work of a gas fitter without possessing a license or 

renewal thereof issued by the board, may request that he be 

examined by the board pursuant to this Section, but only 

after the payment of a special enforcement fee as established 

by the board, which shall be in addition to the regular license 

fee established by the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 

Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:543 (March 2017). 

§308. Requirements to take Exam for Master Gas 

Fitter License 

A. Requirements 

1. An applicant for master gas fitter examination shall 

have a current gas fitter license issued by the board or, hold 

the state Licensing Board for Contractors mechanical work 

(statewide) license or the applicant shall possess a current 

license issued by the Professional Engineering and Land 

Surveying Board certifying or registering him as a 

professional engineer. A registered or certified professional 

engineer must further have experience in the art of gas 

fitting as defined in R.S. 37:1377(K) for a period of five 

years. 

2. In all cases the applicant shall have sufficient 

knowledge and understanding to comprehend, interpret, and 

apply the code acceptable to the authority having 

jurisdiction. In this regard, he must possess sufficient 

knowledge to plan and lay out gas fitting systems. He must 

also possess knowledge and understanding to comprehend 

business and legal terms of the business of gas fitting. 

3. The applicant shall furnish a 2-inch by 2-inch 

photograph of himself with the application. 
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4. He shall submit his application and required 

documents to the office of the State Plumbing Board of 

Louisiana not less than 30 days before any scheduled 

examination. The board shall inform all interested persons of 

the examination schedule. 

5. He must attach a money order or check for the 

appropriate fee to the application. The fee is established in 

§312. 

B. Regular quarterly examinations will be held in 

conjunction with the examination conducted pursuant to 

§307.B, or on such days specially set by the board. 

C. Failure to report for examination will result in the 

forfeiture of the applicant's fee. This forfeiture may be 

reversed by the board upon a showing of good cause by the 

applicant explaining his failure to attend the scheduled 

examination. 

D. Special examinations may be held by the board under 

the same conditions described in §307.D. 

E. The examination shall be given by one or more 

examiners. At least one board member shall be present. The 

examiner must be a master gas fitter licensed by the board or 

a special appointee under this Section. 

F. The chairman of the board shall appoint the examiner 

or examiners, who may be a representative of a private 

professional service provider qualified to administer a 

standardized, nationally recognized test duly adopted by the 

board. If necessary, the chairman shall appoint additional 

examiners to conduct any special examination required as an 

accommodation to a qualified disabled individual under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. 

G. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this 

Section, any person or persons who at any time within three 

years of being cited by the board or its agents for engaging 

in the work of a master gas fitter at a time when he did not 

possess an appropriate active master gas fitter license or 

renewal thereof issued by the board, or was otherwise 

subject to civil or criminal prosecution for doing the work of 

master gas fitter without possessing a license or renewal 

thereof issued by the board, may request that he be examined 

by the board pursuant to this Section, but only after payment 

of a special enforcement fee as established by the board, 

which shall be in addition to the regular license fee 

established by the board for active master gas fitters. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 

Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:543 (March 2017). 

§310. Renewals 

[Formerly §307] 

A. All plumbing and gas fitter, medical gas piping 

installer licenses, medical gas and vacuums systems verifier 

licenses, as well as water supply protection endorsements, 

expire December 31 of each year. Applications for renewal 

will be mailed out by the end of October. The issuance of 

renewals will commence November 1 of each year. The term 

“renewal application,” as used in this Section, shall refer to 

all licenses and endorsements issued by the board. 

B. All renewal applications received at the board's office 

later than midnight the last day of December will be 

delinquent and will require a revival fee in addition to the 

renewal fee. Any license not renewed by the last day of 

December will pay a revival fee, in addition to the renewal 

fee, if renewed between January 1 and March 31. Any 

license renewed after March 31, will require an increased 

revival fee, in addition to the renewal fee. The fees are set 

forth in §312. Any person performing the work of a gas 

fitter, master gas fitter, journeyman plumber or a master 

plumber without the appropriate license issued by the board 

after March 31 of any year without having renewed his 

license from the immediately preceding year shall be subject 

to the special enforcement fee established in §307.G or 

§308.G. 

C. A person who has allowed his previously-issued 

journeyman plumber or master gas fitter license to expire 

may be afforded the option, in lieu of re-examination, of 

paying a special revival fee of $50 per year for each year the 

license was not renewed up to a limit of four consecutive 

years. However, any such person who performs the work of 

a journeyman plumber without possessing a license issued 

by the board during this period shall be subject to the special 

enforcement fee established in §305.H. 

D. A person who has allowed his previously-issued 

master plumber license, inactive master plumber license, 

restricted master plumber, or master gas fitter license to 

expire may be afforded the option, in lieu of re-examination, 

of paying a special revival fee of $250 per year for each year 

the license was not renewed up to a limit of four consecutive 

years. A person who qualifies for issuance of a restricted 

master plumber license by virtue of R.S. 37:1368(C) or (D), 

as amended by Act 752 of the 1990 Regular Session, must 

apply for such license on or before December 31, 1991. A 

first time application by any such person after December 31, 

1991 will be subject to the revival fee provisions. Any 

person who performs the work of a master plumber or 

master gas fitter without possessing a license issued by the 

board during any period of lapsed license or prior to 

applying for a restricted master plumber license as provided 

herein shall be subject to the special enforcement fee 

established in §306.G or §308.G. 

E. To be considered timely filed, any renewal application 

under §307 must actually be received at the office of the 

State Plumbing Board of Louisiana within the time specified 

for filing or be sent to that office by first-class mail, postage 

prepaid, and bearing a postmark showing that the application 

was mailed on or before the last day for filing. 

F.1. As authorized by R.S. 37:1366(J)(3) the board may 

waive the examination required for the issuance of a gas 

fitter or master gas fitter license to any person who meets 

and provides verifiable proof that he met at least one of the 

following requirements:  

a. that prior to July 1, 2016, he held a journeyman 

plumber license issued by the board and was employed by 

an employing entity performing gas fitting work verifiable 

by any such employing entity;  

b. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a journeyman 

gas fitter license issued by a municipality or other local 

governmental authority;  

c. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a master gas 

fitter license issued by a municipality or other local 

governmental authority;  

d. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a state License 

Board for Contractors mechanical work (statewide) license; 

or  

e. that prior to July 1, 2016 he held a master 

plumber license issued by the board and performed gas fitter 
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work verified by at least three invoices or building permits 

as proof of work performance.  

2. In any case, any application for such waivers of 

examination, with verified proof, must be submitted before 

December 31, 2017.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, promulgated LR 2:419 (December 1976), 

amended LR 7:588 (November 1981), amended by Department of 

Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 17:52 (January 

1991), LR 18:30 (January 1992), amended by the Department of 

Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 21:1350 (December 1995), LR 26:329 

(February 2000), amended by the Workforce Commission, 

Plumbing Board, LR 42:577 (April 2016), LR 43:544 (March 

2017). 

§311. Insurance Requirements for Master Plumbers 

and Master Gas Fitters 

[Formerly §308] 

A. No master plumber, restricted master plumber, or 

master gas fitter license shall be issued, renewed, or revived 

until the applicant has provided proof acceptable to the 

board that insurance has been issued to the employing entity 

which is designated in accordance with R.S. 37:1367 by an 

insurer authorized to do business in this state. 

B. The employing entity shall maintain: 

1. worker's compensation insurance as required by 

law; 

2. motor vehicle bodily injury and property damage 

liability insurance in the minimum amount required by law; 

3. comprehensive general liability and property 

damage insurance in a minimum amount of $100,000, 

except on plumbing work or gas fitting work done in 

parishes under 30,000 persons in population; on buildings, 

residences, or structures being no more than 6,000 square 

feet of interior space, the minimum aggregate amount shall 

be $50,000. 

C. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to 

master plumbers or master gas fitters applying for and being 

issued an inactive master plumber license or a master gas 

fitter license. 

D. The certification of insurance shall contain a 

provision, and the policy so endorsed, that the insurance 

carrier shall notify the board, in writing, of any change in or 

cancellation of the insurance policy or policies at least 30 

days prior thereto. 

E. In the event a master plumber, restricted master 

plumber, or master gas fitter changes his designation of an 

employing entity, the insurance requirements of this 

Subsection shall remain in effect. 

F. A licensed journeyman plumber performing repairs as 

defined in §101 and §301.E shall be subject to the insurance 

requirements of this Subsection. 

G. Any master plumber, restricted master plumber, or 

master gas fitter subject to the lesser comprehensive general 

liability and property damage insurance requirements in 

parishes described in Paragraph B.3 of this Section on the 

type of work described therein shall be subject to the greater 

insurance requirements generally imposed on master 

plumbers, restricted master plumbers and master gas fitters 

when performing work in all other parishes or on buildings, 

residences or structures being more than 6,000 square feet of 

interior space in any parish. 

H. The board is empowered to assess special 

enforcement fees on a daily basis at a rate not to exceed $10 

a day relative to any master plumber, master gas fitter or 

employing entity, individually or collectively, that fails or 

refuses, after due notice, to comply with the insurance 

requirements for master plumbers and master gas fitters as 

established in this Section. The daily enforcement fees 

assessed by the board under this provision shall not exceed, 

in the aggregate, $500. This special enforcement fee shall be 

in addition to any licensing fees required by law, or any 

other penalty or sanction assessed by a court of competent 

jurisdiction or by the board. 

I. If an employing entity is exempt from the worker's 

compensation laws, as provided by applicable Louisiana law, 

it shall execute an affidavit of non-coverage on a form 

provided by the board. Failure to timely submit this affidavit 

may subject the employing entity to special enforcement 

fees under this Section and/or an action for injunctive relief 

by the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366 and R.S. 37:1377. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended by Department of Employment 

and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 17:53 (January 1991), amended 

LR 18:30 (January 1992), amended by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, LR 19:897 (July 1993), LR 25:1856 (October 

1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, 

LR 43:545 (March 2017). 

§312. Fees 

[Formerly §309] 

A. The fees and charges of the board relative to 

journeyman plumbers shall be as follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 

2. examinations$125; 

3. illiterate examinations$150; 

4. initial license fee (This fee to be paid after applicant 

has successfully passed the exam, in order to receive his first 

license.)$40; 

5. renewal fee$40; 

6. revival fee$15; 

a. if renewed after March 31$30; 

7. temporary permits$75; 

8. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 

application before taking the examination)$62.50; 

9. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 

10. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§305.H$500. 

B. The fees and charges of the board relative to master 

plumbers, restricted master plumbers and inactive master 

plumbers shall be as follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 

2. examinations$100; 

3. initial license fee$180; 

4. renewal fee$180; 

5. revival fee$60; 

a. if renewed after March 31$120; 

6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 

application before taking the examination)50 percent of 

exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 
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8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§306.G$500; 

9. inactive master plumber fee$30; 

10. fee for conversion of inactive master plumber 

license to active master plumber$150; 

11. employing entity redesignation fee$150; 

12. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§301.K$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate; 

13. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§311.H$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate. 

C. The fees and charges of the board relative to medical 

gas piping installers shall be as follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 

2. examination$95; 

3. initial license fee (This fee to be paid after applicant 

has successfully passed the exam.)$30; 

4. renewal fee$30; 

5. revival fee$10; 

a. if renewed after March 31$20; 

6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should an applicant withdraw 

his application before taking the examination)50 percent 

of exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 

8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§304.K$500. 

D. The fees and charges of the board relative to water 

supply protection specialists endorsements shall be as 

follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 

2. examination$50; 

3. initial endorsement fee (This fee to be paid after 

applicant has successfully passed the exam.)$10; 

4. renewal fee$10; 

5. revival fee$10; 

a. if renewed after March 31$20; 

6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should an applicant withdraw 

his application before taking the examination)50 percent 

of exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$20; 

8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§313.K$500. 

E. The fees and charges of the board relative to medical 

gas and vacuum systems verifier shall be as follows: 

1. application fee$200; 

2. renewal fee$200; 

3. revival fee$65; 

a. if renewed after March 31$130. 

F. The fees and charges of the board relative to gas 

fitters shall be as follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 

2. examinations$125; 

3. ADA accommodation examinations$150; 

4. initial license fee (This fee to be paid after applicant 

has successfully passed the exam, in order to receive his first 

license.)$40; 

5. renewal fee$40; 

6. revival fee$15; 

a. if renewed after March 31$ 30; 

7. temporary permits$75; 

8. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 

application before taking the examination)$62.50; 

9. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$35; 

10. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§307.H$500. 

G. The fees and charges of the board relative to master 

gas fitters and inactive master gas fitters shall be as follows: 

1. special examinations$500; 

2. examinations$100; 

3. initial license fee$180; 

4. renewal fee$180; 

5. revival fee$60; 

a. if renewed after March 31$120; 

6. administrative charges for processing application 

(to be retained by the board should applicant withdraw his 

application before taking the examination)50 percent of 

exam fee; 

7. fee for N.S.F. or returned check$35; 

8. special enforcement fee imposed under 

§307.G$500; 

9. inactive master gas fitter fee$30; 

10. fee for conversion of inactive master gas fitter 

license to active master gas fitter$150; 

11. employing entity re-designation fee$150; 

12. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§301.K$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate; 

13. special daily enforcement fee imposed under 

§311.H$10/day, not to exceed $500 in the aggregate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D) and R.S. 37:1371. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated LR 7:588 

(November 1981), amended LR 15:1089 (December 1989), 

amended by the Department of Employment and Training, 

Plumbing Board, LR 16:23 (January 1990), LR 17:53 (January 

1991), amended by the Department of Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 

19:898 (July 1993), LR 19:1594 (December 1993), LR 21:1351 

(December 1995), LR 26:327 (February 2000), amended by the 

Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:545 (March 

2017). 

§313. Water Supply Protection Specialist Endorsement 

[Formerly §310] 

A. No natural person shall engage in the work of a water 

supply protection specialist unless he possesses an 

endorsement to either a master plumber license or a 

journeyman plumber license or renewals thereof issued by 

the board. The board shall issue such an endorsement to 

either form of license to any person who qualifies under the 

board's regulations and who desires to engage in doing the 

work of a water supply protection specialist, if he passes an 

examination given by the board and pays the fees established 

by the board. 

B. A person possessing a restricted master plumber 

license, who also possesses a water supply protection 

specialist endorsement to that license issued by the board, 

shall not be restricted geographically with respect to his 

work or business as a water supply protection specialist. 

However, the restrictions applicable to his restricted master 

plumber license shall remain in effect. 
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C. As authorized by R.S. 37:1368(H), the board shall 

recognize and certify certain programs of education and 

training of water supply protection offered by private or 

public organizations or institutions compliant with ASSE 

International, Cross-Connection Control Professional 

Qualifications Standard ASSE Series 5000. A journeyman or 

master plumber licensed by this board who successfully 

completes any such program shall qualify for admission to 

an examination offered under Subsection A of this Section. 

Any such organization must satisfy the board that its 

program or programs includes training and testing as 

specified in the ASSE Series 5000, Standard 5110, 

Professional Qualifications for Backflow Prevention 

Assembly Testers. 

D. Courses of instruction defined in §311.C must be 

provided by a person or persons meeting the credentials and 

requirements of ASSE Series 5000, Standard 5110, 

Professional Qualifications Standard for Backflow 

Prevention Assembly Testers and ASSE International 

Guidelines for Cross-Connection Control Certification. 

E. To be eligible for board certification pursuant to R.S. 

37:1368(H), an interested organization providing water 

supply protection specialist training and education must 

complete a written application on a form or forms supplied 

by the board. The board shall be entitled to receive timely 

information on the program or programs administered by 

such organization and background of instructors upon 

request at any time. The board, acting through its 

representatives, may also inspect the facility and observe the 

actual training and education programs used and offered by 

such organization. Failure to cooperate with the board and its 

representatives may be grounds for denial or withdrawal of 

board certification of any such organization. The board may 

investigate complaints concerning such programs. Adverse 

administrative action affecting an organization's application 

for certification or its continued status as an organization 

certified by the board pursuant to R.S. 37:1368(H) will be 

subject to the Administrative Procedure Act. 

F. The board may accept, in lieu of an examination 

directly administered by the board to any applicant, the 

verifiable results of an examination administered by an 

organization certified pursuant to R.S. 37:1368(H) as 

evidence of successful completion of the examination 

referred to in R.S. 37:1368(H). Any papers from such 

examinations must be available for inspection and the board 

may require notarized affidavits from the applicant and the 

administering organization representative attesting to the 

accuracy of the examination results and the scope of any 

such examination, which must minimally include the subject 

areas described in Subsection C of this Section. 

G. An applicant for a water supply protection specialist 

endorsement must attach to his application a money order or 

check for the appropriate fee established in §312 of these 

regulations. 

H. Regular quarterly examinations for water supply 

protection specialist endorsements may be held in 

conjunction with examinations for journeyman or master

plumber license applications, or on such days specially set 

by the board. Interested persons shall be notified of the 

examination schedule. 

I. A water supply protection specialist endorsement 

application must be submitted to the office of the State 

Plumbing Board of Louisiana not less than 30 days before 

any scheduled examination. 

J. The chairman of the board shall appoint an examiner 

or examiners to conduct water supply protection specialist 

endorsement examinations. An examiner may be a 

representative of a private or public professional service 

provider qualified to administer a standardized, nationally 

recognized test duly adopted by the board. 

K. Any person, who at any time is cited by the board for 

working as a water supply protection specialist without 

possessing an endorsement to that effect, shall be subject to 

a special enforcement fee as a precondition to any 

subsequent examination or licensing of any nature. This fee 

shall be in addition to the regular fees assessed by the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D) and R.S. 37:1368(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 21:1350 (December 1995), amended 

by the Department of Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 25:1859 

(October 1999), amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing 

Board, LR 42:577 (April 2016), repromulgated LR 43:546 (March 

2017). 

§314. Integrity of Examination 

[Formerly §311] 

A. The board may reject an examination for any license 

or endorsement under this Chapter, if the board determines 

that the applicant completed any portion of any such 

examination with the assistance of any other person or 

unauthorized written materials secreted into the examination 

site. Examinees will be allowed to utilize board approved 

resource or industry code materials or permitted by 

authorized third-party examiners. Examinees determined to 

have violated the prohibitions of this Section shall be 

notified in writing and, upon request by the examinee or at 

the direction of the executive director, an informal 

conference before the executive director or committee 

appointed by the board will be conducted. An affected 

examinee may appeal the determination reached in the 

informal conference by filing a written appeal with the 

board. Such appeal hearings shall comport with the 

provisions of R.S. 49:955(B). Based on the evidence 

adduced at any such hearing, the board may impose 

sanctions upon the examinee with respect to any 

subsequently administered examination and related 

licensing. 

B. The board is empowered to act upon reports of 

violation of Subsection A of this Section by examinees 

received from private or public organizations recognized as 

examiners under §§304.H, 306.F, 313.F or 315.E and impose 

sanctions as described in Subsection A of this Section. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366.D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 24:1948 (October 1998), amended LR 

26:328 (February 2000), repromulgated by the Workforce 

Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:547 (March 2017). 
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§315. Medical Gas and Vacuum Systems Verifier 

[Formerly §312] 

A. No natural person shall engage in the work of a 

medical gas and vacuum systems verifier unless he 

possesses a license or renewal thereof issued by this board. 

The board shall issue a medical and vacuum systems verifier 

license to any person who: 

1. qualifies under the board’s regulations; 

2. desires to engage in the work or business of a 

medical gas and vacuum systems verifier; 

3. passes a written and manual examination conducted 

by a nationally recognized organization for this purpose; and 

4. pays the fees established by the board. 

B. As authorized by R.S. 37:1368(I), the board shall 

recognize and certify certain programs of education and 

training of medical gas and vacuum systems verifiers offered 

by private or public organizations or institutions. A natural 

person's satisfactory completion of any such program and 

related exit examination shall qualify him for licensing 

under Subsection A of this Section. Any such organization 

must satisfy the board that its program or programs meet the 

following criteria. 

1. The program is conducted at a training facility and 

given to those persons that meet the requirements of 

American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) 

Professional Qualifications Standard for Medical Gas 

Systems Personnel Series 6000, Standard 6030, latest 

edition. 

2. The program meets criteria prescribed by the board 

and American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE), 

Series 6000, Standard 6030, latest edition. 

3. Courses of instruction defined in this Subsection 

must be provided by a person or persons possessing a 

current medical gas system instructor certification in 

compliance with ASSE Series 6000, Standard 6050, latest 

edition. 

C. To be eligible for board certification pursuant to R.S. 

37:1368(I), an interested organization providing medical gas 

and vacuum systems verification training and education 

must complete a written application on a form or forms 

supplied by the board. The board shall be entitled to receive 

timely information on the program or programs administered 

by such organization and background of instructors upon 

request at any time. The board, acting through its 

representatives, may also inspect the facility and observe the 

actual training and education programs used or offered by 

such organizations. Failure to cooperate with the board and 

its representatives may be grounds for denial or withdrawal 

of board certification of any such organization. The board 

may investigate complaints concerning such programs. 

Adverse administrative action affecting an organization's 

application for certification or its continued status as an 

organization certified by the board pursuant to R.S. 

37:1368(I) will be subject to the Administrative Procedure 

Act. 

D. An applicant for a medical gas and vacuum systems 

verifier license must attach to his application a money order 

or check for the appropriate fees established in §312 of these 

regulations. 

E. The board may accept, in lieu of an examination 

directly administered by the board to any applicant, the 

verifiable results of an examination administered by an 

organization meeting the criteria of ASSE Series 6000, 

Standard 6030, §30-3.2.3, latest edition and certified 

pursuant to R.S. 37:1368(I), as evidence of successful 

completion of the examination necessary for the issuance of 

a license for medical gas and vacuum systems verifier. Any 

papers from such examinations must be available for 

inspection and the board may require notarized affidavits 

from the applicant and the administering organization 

representative attesting to the accuracy of the examination 

results and the scope of any such examination, which must 

minimally include the subject areas described in ASSE Series 

6000, Standard 6030, latest edition. 

F. Any person, who at any time is cited by the board for 

working as a medical gas and vacuum systems verifier 

without possessing the necessary license issued by the board, 

shall be subject to a special enforcement fee as a 

precondition to any subsequent examination or licensing of 

any nature. The fee shall be in addition to the regular fees 

assessed by the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 26:329 (February 2000), amended by 

the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 42:577 (April 

2016), repromulgated LR 43:548 (March 2017). 

§316. Standards for Medical Gas and Vacuum Systems 

Verifiers 

[Formerly §313] 

A. A medical gas and vacuum systems verifier shall not 

certify to any party the results of any tests on medical gas 

pipeline systems or equipment installed or repaired by any 

person not licensed by the board as a medical gas piping 

installer. 

B. As a condition for licensing and renewal thereof, and 

subject to the disciplinary powers of the board under R.S. 

37:1378(3) and (8), any person licensed by the board as a 

medical gas and vacuum systems verifier shall be obligated 

to cooperate with the Louisiana state fire marshal and his 

agents in connection with his regulation of medical gas 

piping installation and systems verification. 

C. The duties described in Subsection B of this Section 

include the responsibility of a medical gas and vacuum 

systems verifier to accurately report to the fire marshal prior 

to the fire marshal's inspection the following as to any gas 

and vacuum system subject to his verification: 

1. the successful completion of pressure testing of all 

manufactured assemblies for both positive gases and vacuum 

systems, as supplied by the manufacturer of any such 

systems, prior to this installation; 

2. satisfactory cleaning of piping and fittings from the 

cleaning agency in accordance with the standard “cleaning 

equipment for oxygen service” (CGA G-4.1); 

3. documentation of each board-licensed medical gas 

piping installer’s braze performance qualification in 

accordance with NFPA 99, Health Care Facilities Code 

latest edition; 

4. documentation of the medical gas contractor's braze 

procedure specification and procedure qualification record; 

5. documentation of successful completion of the 

board-licensed installer's required testing, including a 

blowdown test, initial pressure test, cross-connection test, 

piping purge test and standing pressure test; 
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6. documentation of the verifier's successful 

completion of required testing, including cross-connection, 

valve test, outlet flow test, alarm testing, piping purge test, 

piping purity test, final tie-in test, operational pressure test, 

medical gas concentration test, medical air purity test and 

labeling. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1336(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Plumbing Board, LR 26:330 (February 2000), amended by 

the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 42:578 (April 

2016), repromulgated LR 43:548 (March 2017). 

Chapter 9. Revocation and Related Administration 

Proceedings 

§901. Revocation, Suspension and Probation 

Procedures 

A. All adjudication proceedings initiated pursuant to R.S. 

37:1378 and conducted by the board shall be in accordance 

with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:955 et seq. 

The term licensee as used in this Section, shall refer, where 

applicable, to the holder of a journeyman plumber, restricted 

journeyman plumber, master plumber, restricted master 

plumber, inactive master plumber, gas fitter, master gas 

fitter, medical gas piping installer or medical gas and 

vacuum systems verifier license, and holder of a water 

supply protection specialist endorsement. 

B. - K.2. ... 

3. Suspension 

a. A license or license endorsement to practice 

plumbing, gas fitting, engage in the work of a water supply 

protection specialist and/or medical gas piping installer may 

be withheld by the board as a result of the findings of fact 

presented in a hearing. The duration of a suspension may be 

for a definite or indefinite period of time. A licensee or 

endorsement holder whose license or endorsement is 

suspended may not practice plumbing, gas fitting, the work 

of a water supply protection specialist and/or medical gas 

installer in the state of Louisiana during the designated 

period of suspension. 

L. Revocation. A license or endorsement to practice 

plumbing, gas fitting, engage in the work of a water supply 

protection specialist and/or medical gas piping installer may 

be withdrawn by the board for any reason or ground 

permitted by R.S. 37:1378 or other law. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor, 

Plumbing Board, 1968, amended and promulgated by the 

Department of Employment and Training, Plumbing Board, LR 

17:55 (January 1991), amended by Department of Labor, Plumbing 

Board, LR 21:1352 (December 1995), LR 26:331 (February 2000), 

amended by the Workforce Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 

43:549 (March 2017). 

Chapter 10. Continuing Professional Education 

Programs 

§1002. Gas Fitters and Master Gas Fitters 

A. CPE Requirement 

1. All persons seeking to renew a gas fitter’s license 

issued by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board are required 

to attend and show proof of attendance at no less than two 

hours of a Louisiana State Plumbing Board-approved CPE 

class in the prior calendar year, as set out in this Section. 

2. All persons seeking to renew a master gas fitter's 

license or to convert an inactive master gas fitter's license to 

an active master gas fitter's license must attend and show 

proof of attendance at no less than 3 1/2 hours of a Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board-approved CPE class in the prior 

calendar year, as set out in this Section. 

3. A holder of an inactive master gas fitter's license 

who seeks to renew said license must file an affidavit in a 

form provided by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board, that 

they have been inactive as a gas fitter in the previous year, 

and that they will remain inactive and not work as a gas 

fitter for the year for which they seek to renew their license. 

Upon such filing with the Louisiana State Plumbing Board, 

the holder of an inactive master gas fitter's License will not 

be required to meet the CPE requirements set out herein. 

4. A holder of an inactive master gas fitter's license 

who seeks to function as a gas fitter is required to attend and 

show proof of attendance at no less than two hours of a 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board-approved CPE class in the 

prior calendar year, as set out in this Section. 

B. Course Materials 

1. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board shall be the 

exclusive agency for distribution of CPE course materials.  

2. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will annually 

approve course materials to be used for the CPE required for 

renewal of gas fitter and master gas fitter licenses. The 

course materials are the printed materials that are the basis 

for a substantial portion of a CPE course and which are 

provided to the licensees. Louisiana State Plumbing Board 

approval of course materials will be subject to all of the 

terms and conditions of this Section. The following 

minimum criteria will be used by the Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board in considering approval of course materials. 

3. The course materials will provide the basis for a 

minimum of two classroom hours of study for gas fitters and 

a minimum of 3 1/2 hours for master gas fitters. One half 

hour will be in the subjects of health protection, consumer 

protection or environmental protection, One half hour shall 

include information concerning the Act, Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board rules with the one remaining hour covering 

subjects, current industry practices and codes, and subjects 

from lists of approved subjects published by the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board. One and one half hour of the 

materials for master gas fitters will be on business topics 

approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board. 

4. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will 

periodically publish lists of approved and required subjects. 

5. The course materials must be presentations of 

relevant issues and changes within the subject areas as they 

apply to the gas fitting practice in the current market, public 

health or topics which increase or support the licensee's 

development of skill and competence. 

6. The course materials may not advertise or promote 

the sale of goods, products or services. 

7. The course materials must be printed and bound in 

perfect/standard, metal coil or ring binder form. 

8. The course materials will include perforated 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board forms within the binding of 

the course materials that may be removed for use by the 

licensees. The forms will include CPE evaluation forms, 

license and endorsement examination forms and general 

complaint forms. 

9. All course materials must have the following 

characteristics: 
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a. high quality, readable and carefully prepared 

written materials with correct grammar, spelling and 

punctuation; 

b. appropriate illustrations and graphics to show 

concepts not easily explained in words; and 

c. in depth and comprehensive presentation of 

subject matter which increases or supports the skills or 

competence of the licensees. 

10. The publishers of course materials must have legal 

ownership of or an appropriate license for the use of all 

copyrighted material included within the course materials. 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board approved course materials 

will contain a prominently displayed approval statement in 

10 point bold type or larger containing the following 

language: 
“THIS CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 

COURSE MATERIAL HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE 

LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD FOR USE IN 
THE (state year) CPE YEAR. BY ITS APPROVAL OF THIS 

COURSE MATERIAL, THE LOUISIANA STATE 

PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT ASSUME ANY 
RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCURACY OF THE 

CONTENTS. FURTHER, THE LOUISIANA STATE 

PLUMBING BOARD HAS NOT MADE ANY 
DETERMINATION THAT THE PARTY PUBLISHING 

THE COURSE MATERIALS HAS COMPLIED WITH ANY 

APPLICABLE COPYRIGHT AND OTHER LAWS IN 
PUBLISHING THE COURSE MATERIAL AND THE 

LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD DOES NOT 

ASSUME ANY LIABILITY OR RESPONSIBILITY 
THEREFOR. THE COURSE MATERIAL IS NOT BEING 

PUBLISHED BY NOR IS IT A PUBLICATION OF THE 

LOUISIANA STATE PLUMBING BOARD.” 

11. The publishers of course materials will conduct 

instructor training in the use of course materials. 

12. Any individual, business or association who wishes 

to offer to publish course materials shall apply to the 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board for approval using 

application forms prepared by the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board.  

13. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may refuse to 

accept any application for approval as a publisher of course 

materials that is not complete. The Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board may deny approval of an application for any of the 

following reasons: 

a. failure to comply with the provisions of this 

Section; 

b. inadequate coverage of the materials required to 

be included in course materials; or 

c. unsatisfactory evaluations of the course materials 

by licensees or Louisiana State Plumbing Board members or 

staff. 

14. If an application is refused or disapproved, written 

notice detailing the basis of the decision shall be provided to 

the applicant within 90 days of the refusal or disapproval. 

15. A publisher's authority to offer the course materials 

for which CPE credit is given expires on December 31 of the 

calendar year following approval. 

16. To be approved, 10 copies of course materials, 

including any handouts and audio/visual aids to be used, 

must be submitted in complete draft form to the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board's office no later than October 15 (or at 

least 30 days prior to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board's 

November meeting, whichever is earlier) for Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board approval at its November Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board meeting. At least 10 copies each of all 

course materials that are approved at the Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board's November meeting shall be provided to 

the Louisiana State Plumbing Board's office no later than 

February of the following year, at no cost to the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board. 

17. Upon a showing of compelling necessity, the 

plumbing board, in its discretion, may grant an exception to 

the requirement that material be submitted prior to the 

plumbing board's November meeting, and, pursuant to this 

exception, may approve material submitted at least 30 days 

prior to any quarterly meeting of the plumbing board, which 

otherwise meets the requirements of this Section. 

18. A publisher's failure to comply with this Section 

constitutes grounds for disciplinary action, consistent with 

the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, against the 

provider or for disapproval of future applications for 

approval as a provider of course materials. 

C. Course Providers 

1. Course providers will offer classroom instruction in 

the course materials used for the CPE required for renewal 

of journeymen and master licenses issued under the Act. 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board approval of course 

providers will be subject to all of the terms and conditions of 

this Section. 

2. CPE courses shall be presented in one of the 

following formats: 

a. for gas fitters a minimum of 2 classroom hours 

presented on one day; or 

b. for master gas fitters, 3 1/2 hours on one day; or 

c. for gas fitters not less than two sessions of 1 

classroom hour each presented within a 30-day period; or 

d. for master gas fitters, two sessions totaling 3 1/2 

classroom hours presented within a 30-day period. 

3. Not less than 1/2 hour of the classroom course will 

be in the subjects of health protection, environmental 

protection or consumer protection. 

4. Not less than 1 1/2 hours of the master gas fitters’ 

class will be on business topics approved by the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board. 

5. Presentations must be based primarily on the course 

materials and any other materials approved by the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board. 

6. In addition to course materials, presentations may 

include videos, films, slides or other appropriate types of 

illustrations and graphic materials related to the course 

materials, as approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board. 

7. A course provider may not advertise or promote the 

sale of any goods, products or services between the opening 

and closing hours of any CPE class. 

8. Each course provider shall furnish a uniquely 

numbered certificate of completion of CPE to each licensee, 

but only after the licensee has completed the CPE course. 

The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will assign the unique 

numbers to be used on each certificate to each course 

provider. 

9. Each course provider shall, at its own expense and 

in a format approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board, mail, fax or electronically transmit to the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board certification of each licensee’s 

completion of CPE requirements within ten days of 

completion. 
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10. The board is authorized to enter into a cooperative 

endeavor agreement with either the Louisiana Association of 

Plumbing, Heating and Cooling Contractors of Louisiana or 

the Louisiana Pipe Trades Association, or any subsidiary or 

affiliate of either non-profit organization, to jointly provide 

CPE services to licensed and master gas fitters. The board is 

authorized to share costs and expenses with either 

organization under terms and conditions that promote the 

public interest and avoid gratuitous donation of public funds. 

11. Each course provider must notify the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board at least seven working days before 

conducting classes; the notice shall contain the time(s) and 

place(s) where the classes will occur. 

12. Each course provider will perform self-monitoring 

and reporting as required by the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board, including a certified roster of all persons attending 

the course, with the license number of each attendee 

included. 

13. Each course provider shall permit any Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board member or a duly designated 

representative of the Louisiana State Plumbing Board to 

monitor any CPE class for compliance purposes. 

D. Course Provider Instructors 

1. Each course provider shall use only course 

instructors that have been approved by the Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board. Each course provider shall annually submit 

to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board's office a list of 

course instructors it employs and the instructors' credentials 

for approval. 

a. Lists of course instructors to be approved for the 

following year must be submitted no later than October 15 

or 30 days prior to the date of the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board’s November meeting (whichever is earlier) for 

approval by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board at its 

November meeting, unless an extension is requested at or 

before the August Louisiana State Plumbing Board meeting 

and granted by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board. 

b. Prior to allowing course instructors to teach CPE, 

course providers must provide documentation to the 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board showing the instructor's 

qualifications to teach CPE, including but not limited to 

detailed information on any experience in providing 

instruction, assistance in providing instruction or successful 

completion of training for providing instruction. 

c. Course instructors must comply with Subsection 

E of this Section. Course providers shall notify the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board within 10 working days of any change 

of an instructor's employment status with the course 

provider. 

2. Any individual, business or association who wishes 

to be a course provider shall apply to the Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board for approval using application forms 

prepared by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board. In order to 

be approved, the application must satisfy the Louisiana State 

Plumbing Board as to the ability of the individual, business 

or association to provide quality instruction in the course 

materials as required in this Section and must include: 

a. name and address of the applicant; 

b. names and addresses of all officers, directors, 

trustees or members of the governing board of any business 

or association applying; 

c. statement by applicant, and each officer, director, 

trustee or member of governing board (if applicable) as to 

whether he or she has ever been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation; 

d. certificate of good standing issued by the 

Louisiana Secretary of State for corporate applicants; 

e. taxpayer identification number; 

f. facsimile number, statewide toll free telephone 

number, internet website or electronic mail address; 

g. fees to be charged to licensees for attending the 

course; 

h. an example of a licensee's certificate of 

completion of CPE; 

i. All CPE class scheduling plans shall provide for 

courses equally across the state. Course providers must, at a 

minimum, offer the CPE class in each of the following 

cities: Lafayette, New Orleans, Baton Rouge, Alexandria, 

Shreveport, Lake Charles and Monroe; any CPE provider for 

gas fitting shall conduct both plumber/gas fitter combination 

CPE classes and standalone gas fitting CPE classes. The 

State Plumbing Board Louisiana or its director may, solely at 

their discretion, grant a request that the course not be offered 

in one or more of these locations, upon a demonstration of 

economic infeasibility by the course provider; 

j. a method for quarterly reporting compilations of 

licensee evaluations of course provider and course 

instructors to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board; 

k. identification of the course materials which will 

be used by the course provider; and 

l. an application fee to be set as provided by law. 

3. The course provider shall purchase course materials 

from the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana and may not 

charge the licensees more than the maximum cost set out by 

the course material provider. 

4. The fees charged to the licensees for attending the 

course will be determined by the course provider. 

5. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may refuse to 

accept any application for approval as a course provider that 

is not complete. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may 

deny approval of an application for any of the following 

reasons: 

a. failure to comply with the provisions of this 

Section; 

b. inadequate instruction of the materials required to 

be included in course materials; or 

c. unsatisfactory evaluations of the course provider 

by licensees, Louisiana State Plumbing Board members or 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board staff. 

6. If an application is refused or disapproved, written 

notice detailing the basis of the decision shall be provided to 

the applicant within 90 days of the date of the decision. 

7. A course provider's authority to offer instruction in 

the course materials for which CPE credit is given expires 

on December 31 of the calendar year following approval. 

8. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board shall review 

course providers for quality of instruction: The Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board shall also investigate and take 

appropriate action, consistent with the Louisiana 

Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 

revocation of authority to provide CPE, regarding 

complaints involving approved course providers. 
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9. A provider's failure to comply with this Section 

constitutes grounds for disciplinary action in accord with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, up to and including 

revocation of authority to provide CPE, against the provider 

or for denial of future applications for approval as a course 

provider. 

E. Course Instructors 

1. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board will annually 

approve course instructors to provide the classroom 

instruction in the course materials used for the CPE required 

for renewal of gas fitter and master gas fitter licenses. 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board approval of course 

instructors will be subject to all of the terms and conditions 

of this Section. An individual who wishes to be approved by 

the Louisiana State Plumbing Board as a course instructor 

must apply to the Louisiana State Plumbing Board using an 

application form approved by the Louisiana State Plumbing 

Board. The following minimum criteria will be used by the 

Louisiana State Plumbing Board in considering approval of 

course instructors: 

a. all course instructors for master gas fitters must 

hold a Louisiana state master gas fitter's license, and those 

for gas fitter most hold a master's or gas fitter license; and 

b. demonstrate an ability to train others, including 

but not limited to providing a description of their previous 

training experience; and 

c. must be employed by an approved course 

provider. 

2. An approved course instructor may use, under its 

live supervision, a non-licensed supplemental lecturer to 

present additional materials as required. Prior to approval, a 

course instructor must identify to the board, any 

supplemental lecturer they intend to use, including a resume 

from the supplemental lecturer, and the subject matter the 

supplemental lecturer will discuss within 30 days prior to the 

course being conducted.  

3. Course instructors and supplemental lecturers may 

not advertise or promote the sale of goods, products, or 

services between the opening and closing hours of any CPE 

class. 

4. As a course instructor and licensee of the Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board, a course instructor must: 

a. be well versed in and knowledgeable of the 

course materials; 

b. maintain an orderly and professional classroom 

environment; and 

c. coordinate with the course provider to develop an 

appropriate method for handling disorderly and disruptive 

students. A course instructor shall report to the course 

provider and the Louisiana State Plumbing Board any non-

responsive or disruptive student who attends a CPE course. 

The Louisiana State Plumbing Board may deny CPE credit 

to any such student and require, at the student's expense, 

successful completion of an additional CPE course to 

receive credit. 

5. The Louisiana State Plumbing Board shall review 

course instructors for quality of instruction. The Louisiana 

State Plumbing Board shall also respond to complaints 

regarding course instructors. 

6. A course instructor's failure to comply with this 

Section constitutes grounds for disciplinary action against 

the Instructor or for disapproval of future applications for 

approval as a course instructor, in accord with the 

Administrative Procedure Act. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(D) and R.S. 37:1368(H). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Workforce 

Commission, Plumbing Board, LR 43:549 (March 2017). 

 

James Finley 

Chairman 
1703#047 
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Notices of Intent 
 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety 

Board of Animal Health 

Equine (LAC 7:XXI.Chapters 5 and 9) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry (department), through the Office 

Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health intend to amend the following regulations regarding 

equine: LAC 7:XXI.521-525 and Chapter 9. This revision of 

the equine rules is primarily a reorganization of the rules and 

an attempt to take out sections which are duplicative or no 

longer necessary. The proposed rules allow for electronic 

submission of EIA tests by a laboratory. Proposed §913 

reorganizes and combines current §§913, 917 and 919. The 

proposed Rule changes the requirement for EIA testing from 

every 6 months to every 12 months. Previously, the rules 

were inconsistent on how often EIA testing was required. 

Proposed §913 also exempts a nursing foal under seven 

months of age accompanying its dam from EIA testing. 

Proposed §915 is the same in substance as current §931. 

Proposed §917 is the current §915. The proposed Rule 

removed redundancies from the current Rule and was 

updated to allow electronic VS forms. The proposed Rule 

requires all laboratories that perform official EIA testing to 

be in compliance with 9 CFR 75.4(C). In addition, proposed 

§917 requires EIA testing laboratories to submit a monthly 

report to the Office of the State Veterinarian of all positive 

and negative testing numbers. Proposed §919 adds 

Subsection B regarding falsification of EIA documents. 

Proposed §921 changes the phrase “cause end of life” to 

“cause euthanization” or “euthanize” in two places; 

otherwise, it remains the same. The proposed revision of the 

equine regulations also repeals §§925, 927, 929, 931, 933, 

and 935. 

Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXI.  Animals and Animal Health 

Chapter 5. Entry Requirements to admit Animals 

into this State and into Events 

Subchapter C. Specific Entry Requirements for Horses 

and other Equine 

§521. General Requirements Governing the Admission 

of Equine 

(Formerly §501) 

A. All equine imported into the state shall meet the 

general requirements of §501 and the following specific 

requirements. 

1. All equine moving into Louisiana for any purpose 

other than consignment to an approved Louisiana livestock 

auction market or an approved slaughter establishment for 

immediate slaughter shall be accompanied by a record of a 

negative official test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) 

conducted within the past 12 months. The official test shall 

be conducted by an approved laboratory. The name of the 

laboratory, the case number and the date of the official test 

shall appear on the health certificate as required in §523. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2053. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 11:242 (March 1985), amended LR 11:615 

(June 1985), LR 14:222 (April 1988), LR 20:405 (April 1994), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:945 (May 2014), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§523. Admission of Equine to Fairs, Livestock Shows, 

Breeders Association Sales, Rodeos and 

Racetracks 

(Formerly §503) 

A. All equine moving into and within the state of 

Louisiana to fairs, livestock shows, breeder's association 

sales, rodeos, racetracks or any other concentration point, 

must meet general requirements of §503 and shall be 

accompanied by a record of a negative official test for 

equine infectious anemia (EIA), conducted within the past 

12 months. The official test shall be conducted at an 

approved laboratory and the name of the laboratory, the case 

number, and the date of the official test shall appear on the 

record. 

B. Representatives of the Board of Animal Health may 

inspect equine at the shows periodically, and any equine 

showing evidence of a contagious or infectious disease shall 

be isolated and/or removed from the show. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2093. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Animal Health Services, Livestock Sanitary 

Board, LR 11:242 (March 1985), amended LR 11:615 (June 1985), 

amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock 

Sanitary Board, LR 14:222 (April 1988), LR 20:405 (April 1994), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:946 (May 2014), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§525. Movement of Equine in Louisiana by Livestock 

Dealers 

(Formerly §505) 

A. All equine which are sold or offered for sale by 

livestock dealers, must meet the general requirements of 

§305 and the following specific requirements. 

1. All equine sold or offered for sale by permitted 

Louisiana livestock dealers must be accompanied by an 

official record of a negative official test for equine infectious 

anemia, conducted at an approved laboratory, within the past 

12 months. The record shall include the name of the 

laboratory, the case number and the date of the official test. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:502. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Animal Health Services, Board of Animal 

Health, LR 11:243 (March 1985), amended LR 11:615 (June 1985), 

amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of 

Animal Health, LR 14:223 (April 1988), LR 20:406 (April 1994), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:946 (May 2014), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

Chapter 9. Horses and other Equines 

(Formerly Chapter 5) 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

(Formerly §511) 

§903. Definitions 

A. Wherever in these EIA rules and regulations the 

masculine is used, it includes the feminine and vice versa; 

wherever the singular is used, it includes the plural and vice 

versa. 

* * * 

EIA Positive Equine―an equine that has completed an 

EIA test with a positive ELISA test result, confirmed with a 

positive AGID test result at Louisiana Animal Disease 

Diagnostic Laboratory or National Veterinary Services 

Laboratory. 

* * * 

In the Presence of―coming within 200 yards of the 

animal or object referred to. 

Livestock Dealer―any person engaged in the buying 

and selling of livestock permitted by the board. Any person, 

who buys and sells the same livestock within 30 days and 

has engaged in five or more purchases and/or sales of the 

same livestock within any 12-month period, is said to be 

engaged in the business of buying and selling livestock. 

Owner―any person who, in any form, possesses, has 

custody of, or has an ownership interest in an equine. A 

person is an owner during the period of time of the described 

relationship. A parent or tutor of an owner who is a minor is 

also an owner during the period of time that the owner-

parent or tutor's minor resides with the parent or tutor. A 

curator of an owner who has been interdicted is an owner 

during the period of time that the interdict is an owner. 

* * * 

Written Proof of EIA Test―the VS Form 10-11 or 

electronic equivalent, approved by the board, completed by 

an approved EIA testing laboratory which, when completed, 

provides the name of the laboratory, the case number, the 

date of completion of the EIA test, the equine owner's name, 

address, telephone number and permanent individual 

identification of the equine and the test results.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:943 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:960 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

Subchapter B. Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) 

§913. Equine Infectious Anemia 

(Formerly §§507, 917 and 919) 

A. Identification. Beginning February 1, 1994, all equine 

prior to an official test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) 

shall be individually and permanently identified by one of 

the following means: 

1. implanted electronic identification transponder with 

individual number; 

2. individual lip tattoo; 

3. individual hot brand or freeze brand. 

B. Equine Required to be Tested 

1. All equine residing in Louisiana shall be tested for 

EIA at least every 12 months. It shall be the responsibility of 

the owner to ensure any and all testing of equine in their 

possession. 

2. All equine moving into the state of Louisiana for 

any purpose other than immediate slaughter, shall be 

accompanied by a record of a negative official test for EIA, 

conducted within the past 12 months. The official test shall 

be conducted by an approved laboratory. The name of the 

laboratory, the case number, and the date of the official test 

shall appear on the health certificate, as required in §523 

except nursing foals under 7 months of age accompanying 

its dam. 

3. All equine within the state or moving within the 

state to fairs, livestock shows, breeder’s association sales, 

rodeos, racetracks, or to any other concentration point, shall 

be accompanied by a record of a negative official test for 

EIA, conducted within the past 12 months. The official test 

shall be conducted by an approved laboratory and the name 

of the laboratory, the case number, and the date of the test 

shall appear on the official record of the test. 

4. All equine, except nursing foals under 7 months of 

age accompanying its dam, sold or purchased in Louisiana 

shall have been officially tested negative for EIA within 12 

months of the date of the sale or shall be officially tested 

negative for EIA at the time of sale or purchase. The official 

test shall be conducted at an approved laboratory. The 

official test record shall accompany the horse at the time of 

the sale or purchase and the name of the laboratory, the case 

number, and the date of the test shall appear on the official 

record of the test, except as provided in this Subsection. 

a. An equine offered for sale at a Louisiana public 

livestock auction market shall be tested for EIA at the 

auction market prior to sale if the equine has not been tested 

or is not accompanied by a current negative official EIA test 

record. The blood sample for the EIA test shall be drawn by 

an accredited veterinarian and submitted for an official EIA 

test in accordance with these regulations. The veterinarian's 

fee for this service shall be collected from the seller by the 

auction market and paid directly to the veterinarian. An 

equine without a current negative official EIA test record 

that is sold at an auction market may be moved to the buyer's 

premises under a Board of Animal Health quarantine after 

the blood sample is taken and the veterinarian and 

identification fees are paid. The equine shall remain under 

quarantine until the official test results show that the animal 

is an EIA negative equine. 
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C. Equine Positive to the Official EIA Test 

1. With the exception of the equine stabled at a 

racetrack regulated by the state Racing Commission, all 

equine testing positive to the official test for EIA shall be 

quarantined to the owner's premises and shall be destroyed 

or sold for immediate slaughter within 20 days of the date of 

the official test for EIA. If destroyed, verification of said 

destruction by written and signed statement must be 

furnished to the office of the state veterinarian. If sold for 

slaughter, the equine shall be accompanied by a VS Form 1-

27 permit issued by Board of Animal Health personnel from 

the owner's premises to an approved Louisiana livestock 

auction market or to an approved slaughter facility. The 

owner or trainer of all equine stabled at a racetrack regulated 

by the state Racing Commission testing positive to an 

official EIA test shall be notified immediately by the testing 

veterinarian, or by racetrack officials, or by Board of Animal 

Health personnel and the equine testing positive shall be 

removed from the racetrack premises immediately. 

Exceptions are: 

a. upon request by the owner, any female equine 

testing positive to the official test for EIA that is at least 270 

days pregnant or has a nursing foal no more than 120 days of 

age at her side may be quarantined to the owner's premises 

and kept at least 200 yards away from any other equine. The 

female equine shall be identified with a “72A” brand at least 

3 inches in height on the left shoulder. The female equine 

may remain in quarantine until her foal dies or reaches an 

age of 120 days at which time the female equine shall be 

destroyed or sold for immediate slaughter within 20 days. If 

destroyed, verification of said destruction by written and 

signed statement must be furnished to the office of the state 

veterinarian. If sold for slaughter, the female equine shall be 

accompanied by a VS Form 1-27 permit issued by Board of 

Animal Health personnel from the owner's premises to an 

approved Louisiana livestock auction market or to an 

approved slaughter facility; 

b. any foal kept in quarantine with its EIA positive 

dam shall be officially tested for EIA no later than 150 days 

after it is weaned. 

2. All equine stabled at a racetrack regulated by the 

state Racing Commission, testing positive to the official EIA 

test and immediately removed from the racetrack shall be 

quarantined to the premises to which they are moved and 

shall be destroyed or sold for immediate slaughter within 20 

days of the date of the official test for EIA. If destroyed, 

verification of said destruction by written and signed 

statement must be furnished to the office of the state 

veterinarian. If sold for slaughter, the equine shall be 

accompanied by a VS Form 1-27 permit issued by Board of 

Animal Health personnel from the owner's premises to an 

approved Louisiana livestock auction market or to an 

approved slaughter facility. 

3. With the exception of the equine stabled at a 

racetrack regulated by the state Racing Commission, the 

following shall be quarantined and officially tested for EIA 

no sooner than 30 days after the positive equine has been 

removed: 

a. all equine on the same premises as an equine 

testing positive to the official EIA test; 

b. all equine on all premises within 200 yards of the 

premises of the equine testing positive to the official EIA 

test; and 

c. all equine which have been on these 

aforementioned premises within the past 30 days at the time 

the equine which is positive to the official EIA test was 

tested. 

4. All equine stabled at a racetrack regulated by the 

state Racing Commission which are stabled in the same barn 

or in a directly adjacent barn of an equine which tests 

positive to the official EIA test shall be quarantined until the 

positive equine is removed and all other horses in the 

aforementioned barns are tested negative to the official EIA 

test. 

5. Equine which are required to be officially tested for 

EIA as a result of being quarantined due to the 

circumstances described in Paragraphs 3 and 4 of this 

Subsection may be tested by an accredited veterinarian 

chosen by the owner or by a state employed veterinarian if 

requested by the owner of the quarantined equine. In the 

event that the official testing for EIA is done by a state 

employed veterinarian, the official record (VS Form 10-11) 

will not be made available to the owner. 

6. Equine positive to the official test for EIA shall be 

identified with a “72A” brand on the left shoulder at least 3 

inches in height, by Board of Animal Health personnel. 

Equine positive to the official test for EIA will be retested 

prior to identification by branding upon request by the 

owner, by Board of Animal Health personnel and the blood 

sample submitted to the Louisiana Veterinary Medical 

Diagnostic Laboratory for confirmation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:967 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

§915. Equine Quarantine Holding Area 

(Formerly §931) 

A. Any person desiring to operate an equine quarantined 

holding area must file a written application for approval of 

the facility to the board and shall have: 

1. the equine quarantined holding facility and area 

inspected and approved by the board; and 

2. agreed, in writing, to comply with these EIA rules 

and regulations. 

B. No other equine except equine consigned for 

slaughter shall be kept in an equine quarantined holding area 

and all equine held therein shall be “S” branded. 

C. No equine shall be kept in the equine quarantined 

holding area longer than 60 days by which time the life of 

any such equine shall be ended. 

D. No equine shall be released from an equine 

quarantined holding area except to be delivered direct to 

slaughter. 

E. The equine quarantined holding area shall be an area 

where EIA positive equine, “S” branded equine or both are 

kept at least 440 yards from all other equine at all times. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:967 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

§917. Approved Equine Infectious Anemia Testing 

Laboratories 

(Formerly §915) 

A. No person shall operate an approved EIA testing 

laboratory without first obtaining approval from the United 

States Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service, Veterinary Services, and from the Board 

of Animal Health. 

B. The conditions for approving an EIA testing 

laboratory are as follows. 

1. Any person applying for an EIA testing laboratory 

approval must submit a written application for approval by 

the board to the office of the state veterinarian. 

2. An inspection of the facility must be made by a 

representative of the Office of the State Veterinarian or the 

USDA/APHIS/VS who shall submit a report to the board 

indicating whether or not the person applying for an EIA 

testing laboratory approval has the facilities and equipment 

which are called for by the United States Department of 

Agriculture, Veterinary Services. Any person or laboratory 

that performs an official EIA test must meet and be in 

compliance with the requirements found in title 9, CFR 

75.4(c) and with protocols in the latest USDA VS EIA 

laboratory guidance. 

3. If the application is given preliminary approval by 

the board, the person applying will proceed with successful 

completion of training, examination, and inspection by the 

United States Department of Agriculture. 

C. Conditions for Maintaining Equine Infectious Anemia 

Testing Laboratory Approval 

1. Approved EIA testing laboratories must maintain a 

work log clearly identifying each individual blood sample, 

EIA test result and VS Form 10-11 or electronic equivalent 

approved by the board, all of which must be preserved and 

available for inspection, for a period of time of not less than 

24 months from the date of the EIA test. 

2. Approved EIA testing laboratories must maintain 

on file and make available for inspection a copy of all VS 

10-11 forms or electronic equivalent approved by the board, 

for a period of 24 months. 

3. Approved EIA testing laboratories shall 

immediately report by telephone and facsimile or email all 

positive EIA test results to the state veterinarian's office 

within 24 hours of detection. 

4. The state veterinarian shall renew the approval of 

approved EIA testing laboratories in January of each year, 

provided the approved EIA testing laboratories maintain the 

standards required by this regulation and by the United 

States Department of Agriculture requirements found in 9 

CFR 75.4(c) and with protocols in the latest USDA VS EIA 

laboratory guidance.  

5. Approved EIA testing laboratories must submit a 

report of all positive and negative testing numbers to the 

Office of the State Veterinarian each month in a reporting 

format as prescribed by the Board.  

6. Approved EIA testing laboratories must submit the 

white original of each VS Form 10-11 or electronic 

equivalent approved by the board each month to the Office 

of the State Veterinarian.  

7. Approved EIA testing laboratories may charge a fee 

to the testing veterinarian for conducting an EIA test. 

D. All records of EIA tests conducted by an approved 

EIA testing laboratory shall contain the name of the 

approved EIA testing laboratory. 

E. An approved EIA testing laboratory may have its 

approval canceled if the board finds that the approved 

laboratory has failed to meet the requirements of the EIA 

rules and regulations, has falsified its records or reports, or 

has failed to maintain the standards required by this 

regulation and by the United States Department of 

Agriculture requirements found in title 9, CFR 75.4(c) and 

with protocols in the latest USDA VS EIA laboratory 

guidance. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:966 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

§919. Penalties 

(Formerly §923)  

A. The penalty for a violation of these EIA rules and 

regulations shall be a fine of up to $1,000 for each violation. 

With regard to continuing violations, whether acts or 

omissions, each day a violation occurs or continues shall be 

a separate violation. 

B. Any person, whom knowingly falsifies information 

on an official EIA document, alters an official EIA document 

or uses falsified/altered EIA documents for the purpose of 

fraud shall be in violation of these regulations and subject to 

a fine of up to $1,000 for each violation.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:966 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

§921. Enforcement 

(Formerly §925) 

A. In addition to those relevant provisions of law, the 

board may do the following, as is necessary, to carry out the 

board's powers and duties and to accomplish the purpose of 

the EIA eradication program. 

1. The board may brand and permanently, individually 

identify equine. 

2. The board may quarantine equine, EIA-positive 

equine and equine in their presence, cause euthanization of 

EIA-positive equine, euthanize the EIA-positive equine or 

cause the sale of EIA-positive equine for slaughter. 
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3. An authorized agent of the board may enter any 

premises or place where equine are present during 

reasonable hours with or without prior notice for the purpose 

of determining whether these EIA rules and regulations have 

been violated and to inspect the equine for the presence of 

EIA and exposure related to EIA. A testing veterinarian 

employed by the board may draw blood samples from the 

equine present for the EIA test. 

4.a. Any authorized agent of the board shall have access 

to, and may enter at all reasonable hours, all places of 

business dealing in or with equine and all places of business 

where books, papers, accounts, records, or other documents 

related to equine are maintained. 

b. The board may subpoena, and any authorized 

agent of the board may inspect, copy, audit or investigate 

any of the books, papers, accounts, records, or other 

documents pertaining to equine, all for the purpose of 

determining whether there is compliance with the provisions 

of R.S. 3:2091-2100, and with these EIA rules and 

regulations. 

c. The authority granted in Subparagraph b of this 

Paragraph shall also extend to books, papers, accounts, 

records, or other documents of persons doing business with 

the above referenced places of business. 

5. The board may apply to a court of competent 

jurisdiction for a warrant to conduct any reasonable searches 

and seizures as is necessary to carry out the board's powers 

and duties not already provided for in these EIA rules and 

regulations. 

6. The board may issue written orders in preventing, 

controlling or eradicating EIA, and a violation of any such 

order shall constitute a violation of these EIA rules and 

regulations. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:947 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:966 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

§923. Severability 

(Formerly §935) 

A. If any part of these EIA rules and regulations is 

declared to be invalid for any reason by any court of 

competent jurisdiction, said declaration shall not affect the 

validity of any other part not so declared. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, Board 

of Animal Health, LR 23:949 (August 1997), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health 

and Food Safety and the Board of Animal Health, LR 40:968 (May 

2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, Board of Animal Health, 

LR 43: 

§925. Enforcement 

(Formerly §525) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 

Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:966 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§927. Fees 

(Formerly §527) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 

Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:966 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§929. Approved Equine Infectious Anemia Testing 

Laboratories 

(Formerly §529) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 

Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:966 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§931. Equine Quarantined Holding Area 

(Formerly §531) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 

Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:947 (August 1997), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:967 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§933. General ProvisionsEquines 

(Formerly §533) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 

Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:948 (August 1997), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:967 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

§935. Severability 

(Formerly §535) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2091-2097. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health Services, 

Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 23:949 (August 1997), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Office of Animal Health and Food Safety and the Board of Animal 

Health, LR 40:968 (May 2014), repealed by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Board of Animal Health, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on family formation, stability, and 

autonomy. In particular, the proposed Rule has no known or 

foreseeable impact on: 

1. the stability of the family; 

2. the authority and rights of persons regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 

3. the functioning of the family; 

4. family earnings and family budget; 

5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children;  

6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 

defined by R.S. 49:973(B). In particular, there should be no 

known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on household income, assets, and 

financial security; 

2. the effect on early childhood development and 

preschool through postsecondary education development; 

3. the effect on employment and workforce 

development; 

4. the effect on taxes and tax credits; 

5. the effect on child and dependent care, housing, 

health care, nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

Small Business Analysis 

The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 

businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there 

should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 

qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

providers to provide the same level of service; or  

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service.  

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions and arguments regarding the proposed Rule. 

Written submissions must be directed to John Walther, 

Assistant Commissioner of Animal Health and Food Safety, 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida Blvd., 

Suite 4000, Baton Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received 

no later than 12 p.m. on May 4, 2017. No preamble is 

available. 

 

Mike Strain, DVM 

Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Equine 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will not result in any costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units. This proposed rule 

reorganizes chapters 5 and 9 under Part XXI Animals and 

Health, which relates to equine regulation, by combining 

sections that are duplicative and deleting sections that are no 

longer necessary. The proposed rule also allows veterinarians 

to electronically submit Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) tests, 

changes the requirement for EIA testing from every six months 

to every twelve months, and exempts a nursing foal under 

seven months of age accompanying its dam from EIA testing. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will not result in an increase or decrease 

in revenue collections to state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes the requirement for EIA testing 

from every six months to every twelve months for equine that 

are being offered for sale. This can reduce the number of EIA 

tests that an owner is required to purchase. However, it should 

be noted that the proposed rule change also removes the $18 

maximum that a veterinarian can charge for an EIA testing fee. 

The veterinarian will be allowed to determine the price he or 

she charges for this testing.  Though this cap is being removed, 

it has not been enforced for several years. Also, due to the 

ability of veterinarians to electronically submit EIA tests, the 

veterinarian may save on printing costs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The proposed rules are not anticipated to have an effect on 

competition or employment. 

 

Dane K. Morgan Evan Brasseaux 

Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1703#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of the Secretary 

Legal Division 

Secondary Hazardous Materials 

(LAC 33:V.105, 109, and 322)(HW118) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 

R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 

initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste regulations, LAC 

33:V.105, 109, and 322 (HW118). 

This Rule requires all secondary hazardous materials 

(materials that are recycled or re-used in industrial 

processes) to be managed as if they were already hazardous 

wastes that have been discarded. It also requires that the uses 

of secondary hazardous materials as ingredients and the 

products created with the materials, be evaluated for 

legitimacy. Any facility that utilizes hazardous secondary
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materials will be required to conduct an evaluation of its 

industrial uses and practices for managing hazardous 

secondary materials. The basis and rationale for this Rule are 

to meet EPA mandatory adoption requirements. This Rule 

meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 

49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 

environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 

required. 

Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 

Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 

Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 

§105. Program Scope 

These rules and regulations apply to owners and operators 

of all facilities that generate, transport, treat, store, or 

dispose of hazardous waste, except as specifically provided 

otherwise herein. The procedures of these regulations also 

apply to the denial of a permit for the active life of a 

hazardous waste management facility or TSD unit under 

LAC 33:V.706. Definitions appropriate to these rules and 

regulations, including solid waste and hazardous waste, 

appear in LAC 33:V.109. Wastes that are excluded from 

regulation are found in this Section. 

A.1. - C.6. … 

D. Exclusions 

1. Materials that are not Solid Wastes. The following 

materials are not solid wastes for the purpose of this 

Subpart: 

a.i. - w.vi. … 

x. hazardous secondary material generated and 

legitimately reclaimed within the United States of America 

or its territories and under the control of the generator is not 

a solid waste, provided that the material complies with the 

following conditions: 

 i. the hazardous secondary material is generated 

and reclaimed at the generating facility (for purposes of this 

definition, generating facility means all contiguous property 

owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the hazardous 

secondary material generator); or 

 ii. the hazardous secondary material is generated 

and reclaimed at different facilities, if the reclaiming facility 

is controlled by the generator or if both the generating 

facility and the reclaiming facility are controlled by a 

person, as defined in LAC 33:V.109; and 

(a). the generator provides one of the following 

certifications:  

 (i). “On behalf of [insert generator facility 

name], I certify that this facility will send the indicated 

hazardous secondary material to [insert reclaimer facility 

name], which is controlled by [insert generator facility 

name] and that [insert name of either facility] has 

acknowledged full responsibility for the safe management of 

the hazardous secondary material.”; or 

 (ii). “On behalf of [insert generator facility 

name], I certify that this facility will send the indicated 

hazardous secondary material to [insert reclaimer facility 

name], that both facilities are under common control, and 

that [insert name of either facility] has acknowledged full 

responsibility for the safe management of the hazardous 

secondary material.” For purposes of this Paragraph, control 

means the power to direct the policies of the facility, whether 

by the ownership of stock, voting rights, or otherwise, 

except that contractors who operate facilities on behalf of a 

different person as defined in LAC 33:V.109 shall not be 

deemed to “control” such facilities; 

(b). the generating and receiving facilities must 

both maintain at their facilities for no less than three years 

records of hazardous secondary materials sent or received 

under this exclusion. In both cases, the records must contain: 

 (i). the name of the transporter;  

 (ii). the date of the shipment; and 

 (iii). the type and quantity of the hazardous 

secondary material shipped or received under the exclusion;  

 (iv). these record-keeping requirements may 

be satisfied by maintaining routine business records (e.g., 

financial records, bills of lading, copies of DOT shipping 

papers, or electronic confirmations); or 

 iii. the hazardous secondary material is generated 

pursuant to a written contract between a tolling contractor 

and a toll manufacturer and is reclaimed by the tolling 

contractor, if the tolling contractor certifies the following: 

“On behalf of [insert tolling contractor name], I certify that 

[insert tolling contractor name] has a written contract with 

[insert toll manufacturer name] to manufacture [insert name 

of product or intermediate] which is made from specified 

unused materials, and that [insert tolling contractor name] 

will reclaim the hazardous secondary materials generated 

during this manufacture. On behalf of [insert tolling 

contractor name], I also certify that [insert tolling contractor 

name] retains ownership of, and responsibility for, the 

hazardous secondary materials that are generated during the 

course of the manufacture, including any releases of 

hazardous secondary materials that occur during the 

manufacturing process.”; and 

(a). the tolling contractor must maintain at its 

facility for no less than three years records of hazardous 

secondary materials received pursuant to its written contract 

with the tolling manufacturer; and 

(b). the tolling manufacturer must maintain at its 

facility for no less than three years records of hazardous 

secondary materials shipped pursuant to its written contract 

with the tolling contractor; and 

(c). for both the tolling contractor and the tolling 

manufacturer, the records must contain the name of the 

transporter, the date of the shipment, and the type and 

quantity of the hazardous secondary material shipped or 

received pursuant to the written contract. These requirements 

may be satisfied by routine business records (e.g., financial 

records, bills of lading, copies of DOT shipping papers, or 

electronic confirmations). For purposes of this Paragraph: 

 (i). tolling contractora person who 

arranges for the production of a product or intermediate 

made from specified unused materials through a written 

contract with a toll manufacturer; 

 (ii). toll manufacturera person who 

produces a product or intermediate made from specified 

unused materials pursuant to a written contract with a tolling 

contractor; 

 iv. the hazardous secondary material is contained 

as defined in LAC 33:V.109, contained. A hazardous 

secondary material released to the environment is discarded 

and a solid waste unless it is immediately recovered for the 
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purpose of reclamation. Hazardous secondary material 

managed in a unit with leaks or other continuing or 

intermittent unpermitted releases is discarded and a solid 

waste; 

 v. the hazardous secondary material is not 

speculatively accumulated, as defined in LAC 33:V.109, 

accumulated speculatively; 

 vi. notice is provided as required by LAC 

33:V.105.Q; 

 vii. the material is not otherwise subject to 

material-specific management conditions under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1 when reclaimed (except as provided for in 

LAC 33:V.105.R.6.e) and it is not a spent lead-acid battery; 

 viii. persons performing the recycling of hazardous 

secondary materials under this exclusion must maintain 

documentation of their legitimacy determination on-site. 

Documentation must be a written description of how the 

recycling meets all four factors in LAC 33:V.105.R. 

Documentation shall be maintained for three years after the 

recycling operation has ceased; 

 ix. persons operating under this exclusion must 

meet the requirements of the Code of Federal Regulations at 

40 CFR 261, subpart M (emergency preparedness and 

response for management of excluded hazardous secondary 

materials), July 1, 2015, which are hereby incorporated by 

reference; 

y. hazardous secondary material that is generated 

and then transferred to a verified reclamation facility for the 

purpose of reclamation is not a solid waste, provided that: 

 i. the material is not speculatively accumulated, 

as defined in LAC 33:V.109, accumulated speculatively; 

 ii. the material is not handled by any person or 

facility other than the hazardous secondary material 

generator, the transporter, an intermediate facility or a 

reclaimer and, while in transport, is not stored for more than 

10 days at a transfer facility, as defined in LAC 33:V.109, 

transfer facility, and is packaged according to applicable 

United States Department of Transportation regulations at 49 

CFR parts 173, 178, and 179 while in transport; 

 iii. the material is not otherwise subject to 

material-specific management conditions under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1 when reclaimed (except as provided for in 

LAC 33:V.105.R.6.e), and it is not a spent lead-acid battery; 

 iv. the reclamation of the material is legitimate, as 

specified under LAC 33:V.105.R; 

 v. the hazardous secondary material generator 

satisfies all of the following conditions: 

(a). the material must be contained as defined in 

LAC 33:V.109, contained. A hazardous secondary material 

released to the environment will be considered discarded and 

a solid waste unless it is immediately recovered for the 

purpose of recycling. Hazardous secondary material 

managed in a unit with leaks or other continuing releases is 

discarded and a solid waste; 

(b). the hazardous secondary material generator 

must arrange for transport of hazardous secondary materials 

to a verified reclamation facility (or facilities) in the United 

States of America. A verified reclamation facility is a facility 

that has been granted a variance under LAC 33:V.105.O.2.d 

or a reclamation facility where the management of the 

hazardous secondary materials is addressed under a RCRA 

part B permit or interim status standards. If the hazardous 

secondary material will be passing through an intermediate 

facility, the intermediate facility must have been granted a 

variance under LAC 33:V.105.O.2.d or the management of 

the hazardous secondary materials at that facility must be 

addressed under a RCRA part B permit or interim status 

standards, and the hazardous secondary material generator 

must make contractual arrangements with the intermediate 

facility to ensure that the hazardous secondary material is 

sent to the reclamation facility identified by the hazardous 

secondary material generator; 

(c). the hazardous secondary material generator 

must maintain at the generating facility for no less than three 

years records of all off-site shipments of hazardous 

secondary materials. For each shipment, these records must, 

at a minimum, contain the following information: 

 (i). name of the transporter and date of the 

shipment; 

 (ii). name and address of each reclaimer 

and, if applicable, the name and address of each intermediate 

facility to which the hazardous secondary material was sent; 

 (iii). the type and quantity of hazardous 

secondary material in the shipment; 

(d). the hazardous secondary material generator 

must maintain at the generating facility for no less than three 

years confirmations of receipt from each reclaimer and, if 

applicable, each intermediate facility for all off-site 

shipments of hazardous secondary materials. Confirmations 

of receipt must include the name and address of the 

reclaimer (or intermediate facility), the type and quantity of 

the hazardous secondary materials received and the date 

which the hazardous secondary materials were received. 

This requirement may be satisfied by routine business 

records (e.g., financial records, bills of lading, copies of U.S. 

Department of Transportation shipping papers, or electronic 

confirmations of receipt); 

(e). the hazardous secondary material generator 

must comply with the emergency preparedness and response 

conditions in 40 CFR 261, subpart M (emergency 

preparedness and response for management of excluded 

hazardous secondary materials), July 15, 2015; these 

requirements are hereby incorporated by reference for this 

exclusion; 

 vi. reclaimers of hazardous secondary material 

excluded from regulation under this exclusion and 

intermediate facilities, as defined in LAC 33:V.109, shall 

satisfy all of the following conditions: 

(a). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 

maintain at its facility for no less than three years records of 

all shipments of hazardous secondary material that were 

received at the facility and, if applicable, for all shipments of 

hazardous secondary materials that were received and 

subsequently sent off-site from the facility for further 

reclamation. For each shipment, these records shall at a 

minimum contain the following information: 

 (i). name of the transporter and date of the 

shipment;  

 (ii). name and address of the hazardous 

secondary material generator and, if applicable, the name 

and address of the reclaimer or intermediate facility which 

the hazardous secondary materials were received from;  

 (iii). the type and quantity of hazardous 

secondary material in the shipment; and 
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 (iv). for hazardous secondary materials that, 

after being received by the reclaimer or intermediate facility, 

were subsequently transferred off-site for further 

reclamation, the name and address of the (subsequent) 

reclaimer and, if applicable, the name and address of each 

intermediate facility to which the hazardous secondary 

material was sent; 

(b). the intermediate facility shall send the 

hazardous secondary material to the reclaimer(s) designated 

by the hazardous secondary materials generator; 

(c). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 

send to the hazardous secondary material generator 

confirmations of receipt for all off-site shipments of 

hazardous secondary materials. Confirmations of receipt 

shall include the name and address of the reclaimer (or 

intermediate facility), the type and quantity of the hazardous 

secondary materials received and the date which the 

hazardous secondary materials were received. This 

requirement may be satisfied by routine business records 

(e.g., financial records, bills of lading, copies of DOT 

shipping papers, or electronic confirmations of receipt); 

(d). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 

manage the hazardous secondary material in a manner that is 

at least as protective as that employed for analogous raw 

material and shall be contained. An “analogous raw 

material” is a raw material for which a hazardous secondary 

material is a substitute and serves the same function and has 

similar physical and chemical properties as the hazardous 

secondary material; 

(e). any residuals that are generated from 

reclamation processes will be managed in a manner that is 

protective of human health and the environment. If any 

residuals exhibit a hazardous characteristic according to 

LAC 33:V.4903, or if they themselves are specifically listed 

in LAC 33:V.4901, such residuals are hazardous wastes and 

must be managed in accordance with the applicable 

requirements of this Subpart when disposed or intended for 

disposal; 

(f). the reclaimer and intermediate facility shall 

provide financial assurance as required under subpart H of 

40 CFR part 261, July 2015, which is hereby incorporated 

by reference; 

(g). the reclaimer and intermediate facility have 

been granted a variance under LAC 33:V.105.O and/or LAC 

33:V.105.K, as applicable, or have a RCRA part B permit or 

interim status standards that address the management of the 

hazardous secondary materials; and 

 vii. all persons claiming the exclusion under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.y shall provide notification as required under 

LAC 33:V.105.Q; 

z. hazardous secondary materials that are generated 

and then transferred to another person for the purpose of 

remanufacturing are not solid waste, provided there is 

compliance with the standards and requirements for this 

conditional exclusion, which are published in the Code of 

Federal Regulations at 40 CFR 261.4(a)(27)-

261.4(a)(27)(vi)(F). Additional requirements, as applicable 

to this exclusion, are located in 40 CFR 261, subpart I (use 

and management of containers), 40 CFR 261, subpart J (tank 

systems), 40 CFR 261, subpart AA (air emission standards 

for process vents), 40 CFR 261, subpart BB (air emission 

standards for equipment leaks), and 40 CFR 261, subpart CC 

(air emission standards for tanks and containers), July 1, 

2015, and are hereby incorporated by reference for the 

purposes of this exclusion. 

D.2. - J.2. … 

K. Variances from Classification as a Solid Waste, Non-

Waste Determinations and/or Variance to be Classified as a 

Boiler 

1. Variance to be Classified as a Boiler. In accordance 

with the standards and criteria in LAC 33:V.109, boiler and 

the procedures in Paragraph K.2 of this Section, the 

administrative authority may determine on a case-by-case 

basis that certain enclosed devices using controlled flame 

combustion are boilers, even though they do not otherwise 

meet the definition of boiler contained in LAC 33:V.109 

after considering the following criteria: 

a. the extent to which the unit has provisions for 

recovering and exporting thermal energy in the form of 

steam, heated fluids, or heated gases; and 

b. the extent to which the combustion chamber and 

energy recovery equipment are of integral design; and 

c. the efficiency of energy recovery, calculated in 

terms of the recovered energy compared with the thermal 

value of the fuel; and 

d. the extent to which exported energy is utilized; 

and 

e. the extent to which the device is in common and 

customary use as a "boiler" functioning primarily to produce 

steam, heated fluids, or heated gases; and 

f. other factors, as appropriate. 

2. Procedures for Variances from Classification as a 

Solid Waste, or Variances to be Classified as a Boiler, or for 

Non-waste Determinations. The administrative authority will 

use the following procedures in evaluating applications for 

variances from classification as a solid waste, applications to 

classify particular enclosed controlled flame combustion 

devices as boilers, or applications for non-waste 

determinations: 

a. the applicant must apply to the administrative 

authority for the variance or non-waste determination. The 

application must address the relevant criteria contained in 

this Subsection or LAC 33:V.105.O as applicable;  

b. the administrative authority will evaluate the 

application and issue a draft notice tentatively granting or 

denying the application. Notification of this tentative 

decision will be provided by newspaper advertisement 

and/or radio broadcast in the locality where the recycler is 

located. The administrative authority will accept comment 

on the tentative decision for 30 days and may also hold a 

public hearing upon request or at his discretion. The 

administrative authority will issue a final decision after 

receipt of comments and after a hearing (if any); 

c. in the event of a change in circumstances that 

affect how a hazardous secondary material meets the 

relevant criteria contained in LAC 33:V.105.K or LAC 

33:V.105.O upon which a variance or non-waste 

determination has been based, the applicant shall send a 

description of the change in circumstances to the 

administrative authority. The administrative authority may 

issue a determination that the hazardous secondary material 

continues to meet the relevant criteria of the variance or non-

waste determination or may require the facility to re-apply 

for the variance or non-waste determination; 
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d. variances and non-waste determinations issued 

after [date of promulgation] shall be effective for a fixed 

term not to exceed 10 years. If a facility re-applies for a 

variance or non-waste determination within 180 days prior 

to the end of the term, the facility may continue to operate 

under an expired variance or non-waste determination until 

receiving a decision on their re-application from the 

administrative authority; and 

e. facilities receiving a variance or non-waste 

determination issued after [DATE OF PROMULGATION] 

must provide notification as required by LAC 33:V.105.Q. 

Facilities that have already been granted a variance or non-

waste determination prior to [DATE OF PROMULGATION] 

by the administrative authority under LAC 33:V.105.K or 

LAC 33:V.105.O shall continue to operate under the 

previously granted variance or determination, unless there is 

a change in the facility’s process or materials. 

3. Standards and criteria for non-waste determinations 

are listed below. 

a. An applicant may apply to the administrative 

authority for a formal determination that a hazardous 

secondary material is not discarded and therefore not a solid 

waste. The determinations will be based on the criteria 

contained in Subparagraphs b or c of this Paragraph, as 

applicable. If an application is denied, the hazardous 

secondary material might still be eligible for a solid waste 

variance or exclusion (e.g., one of the solid waste variances 

under LAC 33:V.105.O.2.c).  

b. The administrative authority may grant a non-

waste determination for hazardous secondary material which 

is reclaimed in a continuous industrial process if the 

applicant demonstrates that the hazardous secondary 

material is a part of the production process and is not 

discarded. The determination will be based on whether the 

hazardous secondary material is legitimately recycled as 

specified in LAC 33:V.105.R and on the following criteria: 

 i. the extent that the management of the 

hazardous secondary material is part of the continuous 

primary production process and is not waste treatment; 

 ii. whether the capacity of the production process 

would use the hazardous secondary material in a reasonable 

time frame and ensure that the hazardous secondary material 

will not be abandoned (for example, based on past practices, 

market factors, the nature of the hazardous secondary 

material, or any contractual arrangements); 

 iii. whether the hazardous constituents in the 

hazardous secondary material are reclaimed rather than 

released to the air, water or land at significantly higher levels 

from either a statistical or from a health and environmental 

risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 

production process; and 

 iv. other relevant factors that demonstrate the 

hazardous secondary material is not discarded, including 

why the hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or 

should not have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion 

under LAC 33:V.109, solid waste and/or LAC 33:V.105.D.1. 

c. The administrative authority may grant a non-

waste determination for hazardous secondary material which 

is indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or 

intermediate if the applicant demonstrates that the hazardous 

secondary material is comparable to a product or 

intermediate and is not discarded. The determination will be 

based on whether the hazardous secondary material is 

legitimately recycled as specified in LAC 33:V.105.R and on 

the following criteria: 

 i. whether market participants treat the hazardous 

secondary material as a product or intermediate rather than a 

waste (e.g., based on the current positive value of the 

hazardous secondary material, stability of demand, or any 

contractual arrangements); 

 ii. whether the chemical and physical identity of 

the hazardous secondary material is comparable to 

commercial products or intermediates; 

 iii. whether the capacity of the market would use 

the hazardous secondary material in a reasonable time frame 

and ensure that the hazardous secondary material will not be 

abandoned (e.g., based on past practices, market factors, the 

nature of the hazardous secondary material, or any 

contractual arrangements); 

 iv. whether the hazardous constituents in the 

hazardous secondary material are reclaimed rather than 

released to the air, water or land at significantly higher levels 

from either a statistical or from a health and environmental 

risk perspective than would otherwise be released by the 

production process; and 

 v. other relevant factors that demonstrate the 

hazardous secondary material is not discarded, including 

why the hazardous secondary material cannot meet, or 

should not have to meet, the conditions of an exclusion 

under LAC 33:V.109, solid waste and/or LAC 33:V.105.D.1. 

L. - N.5. … 

O. Variances from Classification as a Solid Waste 

1. In accordance with the standards and criteria in 

Paragraph O.2 and the procedures in LAC 33:V.105.K.2 of 

this Section, the administrative authority may determine on a 

case-by-case basis that the following recycled materials are 

not solid waste(s): 

a. … 

b. materials that are reclaimed and then reused 

within the original production process in which they were 

generated; 

c. … 

d. hazardous secondary materials that are reclaimed 

in a continuous industrial process;  

e. hazardous secondary materials that are 

indistinguishable in all relevant aspects from a product or 

intermediate; and 

f. hazardous secondary materials that are 

transferred for reclamation under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y and 

are managed at a verified reclamation facility or 

intermediate facility where the management of the hazardous 

secondary materials is not addressed under a RCRA part B 

permit or interim status standards. 

2. Standards and Criteria for Variances from 

Classification as a Solid Waste 

a. - b.vii. … 

c. The administrative authority may grant requests 

for a variance from classifying as a solid waste those 

hazardous secondary materials that have been partially 

reclaimed, but must be reclaimed further before recovery is 

completed, if the partial reclamation has produced a 

commodity-like material. A determination that a partially-

reclaimed material for which the variance is sought is 

commodity-like will be based on whether the hazardous 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 563 

secondary material is legitimately recycled as specified in 

LAC 33:V.105.R and on whether all of the following 

decision criteria are satisfied: 

 i. whether the degree of partial reclamation the 

material has undergone is substantial as demonstrated by 

using a partial reclamation process other than the process 

that generated the hazardous waste; 

 ii. whether the partially-reclaimed material has 

sufficient economic value that it will be purchased for 

further reclamation; 

 iii. whether the partially-reclaimed material is a 

viable substitute for a product or intermediate produced from 

virgin or raw materials which is used in subsequent 

production steps; 

 iv. whether there is a market for the partially-

reclaimed material as demonstrated by known customer(s) 

who are further reclaiming the material (e.g., records of sales 

and/or contracts and evidence of subsequent use, such as 

bills of lading); and 

 v. whether the partially-reclaimed material is 

handled to minimize loss. 

d. The administrative authority may grant requests 

for a variance from classifying as a solid waste those 

hazardous secondary materials that are transferred for 

reclamation under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y and are managed at 

a verified reclamation facility or intermediate facility where 

the management of the hazardous secondary materials is not 

addressed under a RCRA part B permit or interim status 

standards. The administrative authority's decision will be 

based on the following criteria:  

 i. the reclamation facility or intermediate facility 

shall demonstrate that the reclamation process for the 

hazardous secondary materials is legitimate pursuant to LAC 

33:V.105.R; 

 ii. the reclamation facility or intermediate facility 

shall satisfy the financial assurance as required under 

subpart H of 40 CFR part 261, July 2015, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference; 

 iii. the reclamation facility or intermediate facility 

shall not be subject to a formal enforcement action in the 

previous three years and not be classified as a significant 

non-complier under RCRA subtitle C, or must provide 

credible evidence that the facility will manage the hazardous 

secondary materials properly. Credible evidence may include 

a demonstration that the facility has taken remedial steps to 

address the violations and prevent future violations, or that 

the violations are not relevant to the proper management of 

the hazardous secondary materials; 

 iv. the intermediate or reclamation facility shall 

have the equipment and trained personnel needed to safely 

manage the hazardous secondary material and shall meet 

emergency preparedness and response requirements under 

40 CFR part 261, subpart M, July 2015, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference; 

 v. if residuals are generated from the reclamation 

of the excluded hazardous secondary materials, the 

reclamation facility shall have the permits required (if any) 

to manage the residuals, have a contract with an 

appropriately permitted facility to dispose of the residuals or 

present credible evidence that the residuals will be managed 

in a manner that is protective of human health and the 

environment; and 

 vi. the intermediate or reclamation facility must 

address the potential for risk to proximate populations from 

unpermitted releases of the hazardous secondary material to 

the environment (i.e., releases that are not covered by a 

permit, such as a permit to discharge to water or air), which 

may include, but are not limited to, potential releases 

through surface transport by precipitation runoff, releases to 

soil and groundwater, wind-blown dust, fugitive air 

emissions, and catastrophic unit failures), and must include 

consideration of potential cumulative risks from other 

nearby potential stressors. 

P. - P.2. … 

Q. Notification Requirements for Hazardous Secondary 

Materials 

1. Facilities managing hazardous secondary materials 

under variances or non-waste determinations granted under 

LAC 33:V.105.O or LAC 33:V.105.K (or the exclusions of 

LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.z), issued after [DATE OF 

PROMULGATION] must send a notification prior to 

operating under the regulatory provision and by March 1 of 

each even-numbered year thereafter to the administrative 

authority using hazardous waste activity Form HW-1 that 

includes the following information: 

a. the name, address, and EPA ID number (if 

applicable) of the facility; 

b. the name and telephone number of a contact 

person; 

c. the NAICS code of the facility; 

d. the regulation under which the hazardous 

secondary materials will be managed; 

e. when the facility began or expects to begin 

managing the hazardous secondary materials in accordance 

with the regulation; 

f. a list of hazardous secondary materials that will 

be managed according to the regulation (reported as the EPA 

hazardous waste numbers that would apply if the hazardous 

secondary materials were managed as hazardous wastes); 

g. for each hazardous secondary material, whether 

the hazardous secondary material, or any portion thereof, 

will be managed in a land-based unit; 

h. the quantity of each hazardous secondary 

material to be managed annually; and 

i. the certification (included in hazardous waste 

activity Form HW-1) signed and dated by an authorized 

representative of the facility. 

2. If a facility managing hazardous secondary 

materials has submitted a notification, but then subsequently 

stops managing hazardous secondary materials in 

accordance with the regulation(s) listed above, the facility 

must notify the administrative authority within 30 days using 

hazardous waste activity Form HW-1. For purposes of this 

Section, a facility has stopped managing hazardous 

secondary materials if the facility no longer generates, 

manages and/or reclaims hazardous secondary materials 

under the regulation(s) above and does not expect to manage 

any amount of hazardous secondary materials for at least one 

year. 

R. Legitimate Recycling of Hazardous Secondary 

Materials 

1. Recycling of hazardous secondary materials for the 

purpose of the exclusions or exemptions from the hazardous 
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waste regulations must be legitimate. Hazardous secondary 

material that is not legitimately recycled is discarded 

material and is a solid waste. In determining if their 

recycling is legitimate, persons must address all the 

requirements of this Subsection.  

2. Factor 1 requires that legitimate recycling shall 

involve a hazardous secondary material that provides a 

useful contribution to the recycling process or to a product 

or intermediate of the recycling process. The hazardous 

secondary material provides a useful contribution if it: 

a. contributes valuable ingredients to a product or 

intermediate; or 

b. replaces a catalyst or carrier in the recycling 

process; or 

c. is the source of a valuable constituent recovered 

in the recycling process; or 

d. is recovered or regenerated by the recycling 

process; or 

e. is used as an effective substitute for a commercial 

product. 

3. Factor 2 requires that the recycling process shall 

produce a valuable product or intermediate. The product or 

intermediate is valuable if it is: 

a. sold to a third party; or 

b. used by the recycler or the generator as an 

effective substitute for a commercial product or as an 

ingredient or intermediate in an industrial process. 

4. Factor 3 requires that the generator and the recycler 

must manage the hazardous secondary material as a valuable 

commodity when it is under their control. Where there is an 

analogous raw material, the hazardous secondary material 

shall be managed, at a minimum, in a manner consistent 

with the management of the raw material or in an equally 

protective manner. Where there is no analogous raw 

material, the hazardous secondary material must be 

contained. Hazardous secondary materials that are released 

to the environment and are not recovered immediately are 

discarded. 

5. Factor 4 requires that the product of the recycling 

process must be comparable to a legitimate product or 

intermediate: 

a. where there is no analogous product, the product 

of the recycling process is comparable to a legitimate 

product or intermediate if: 

 i. the product of the recycling process is a 

commodity that meets widely recognized commodity 

standards and specifications (e.g., commodity specification 

grades for common metals, common acids, common 

chemicals, or refined petroleum products); or 

 ii. the hazardous secondary materials being 

recycled are returned to the original process or processes 

from which they were generated to be reused (e.g., closed 

loop recycling); or 

b. where there is an analogous product or 

intermediate, the product of the recycling process is 

comparable to a legitimate product or intermediate if: 

 i. the product of the recycling process does not 

exhibit a hazardous characteristic as defined in LAC 

33:V.4903 that analogous products do not exhibit; and 

 ii. the concentrations of any hazardous 

constituents found in LAC 33:V.3105, Table 1 that are in the 

product or intermediate are at levels that are comparable to 

or lower than those found in analogous products or at levels 

that meet widely-recognized commodity standards and 

specifications, in the case where the commodity standards 

and specifications include levels that specifically address 

those hazardous constituents; or 

c. if the product of the recycling process has levels 

of hazardous constituents that are not comparable to or 

unable to be compared to a legitimate product or 

intermediate per Subparagraphs a or b of this Paragraph, the 

recycling still may be shown to be legitimate, if it meets the 

following specified requirements. 

 i. The person performing the recycling shall 

conduct the necessary assessment and prepare 

documentation showing why the recycling is, in fact, still 

legitimate. 

 ii. The recycling can be shown to be legitimate 

based on: lack of exposure from toxics in the product, or 

lack of the bioavailability of the toxics in the product, or 

other relevant considerations which show that the product 

made using recycled material does not contain levels of 

hazardous constituents that pose a significant human health 

or environmental risk; and the documentation must include a 

certification statement that the recycling is legitimate and 

must be maintained on-site for three years after the recycling 

operation has ceased. 

 iii. The person performing the recycling must 

notify the administrative authority of this activity using 

hazardous waste activity Form HW-1. 

d. The product of the recycling process is 

comparable to a legitimate product or intermediate if the 

requirements of LAC 33:V.105.R.5.a, b, or c of this Section 

are met. Once the requirements of one of these 

Subparagraphs are met, there is no need to determine 

whether the requirements of any other of these 

Subparagraphs are also met. 

6. Pre-2008 exclusions and their relationship to the 

legitimacy factors are described in this Paragraph.  

a. All four legitimacy factors of LAC 33:V.105.R 

apply to the pre-2008 exclusions. 

b. Determination of legitimacy is a self-

implementing process; documentation is not required for the 

pre-2008 exclusions, except when the recycling of the 

hazardous secondary material must be evaluated under LAC 

33:V.105.R.5.c. 

c. Pre-2008 exclusions are not subject to the 

notification requirements of LAC 33:V.105.Q unless the 

hazardous secondary material is unable to meet the technical 

requirements of LAC 33:V.105.R.5.a or b. Solvent wipes 

managed under the exclusion at LAC 33:V.105.D.1.w are not 

subject to notification unless the requirements of the 

exclusion are not met. 

d. The option for a recycling facility to be verified 

under the exclusion of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y applies to the 

recycling of those hazardous secondary materials that would 

otherwise be regulated as hazardous waste and does not 

apply to materials already excluded under one or more of the 

pre-2008 exclusions (except as provided in LAC 

33:V.105.R.6.e). 

e. If a hazardous secondary material is subject to 

material-specific or facility-specific management conditions 

in LAC 33:V.105.D.1 when reclaimed, such a material is not 

eligible for exclusion under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x or y 
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(“under control of generator” or “verified recycler” 

exclusions). The exclusions in LAC 33:V.105.D.1 that are 

subject to material-specific management conditions when 

reclaimed and are thus not eligible for exclusion under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x or y are the following:  

 i. spent wood preserving solutions (LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.i) if recycled on site; shredded circuit boards 

(LAC 33:V.105.D.1.n);  

 ii. mineral processing spent materials (LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.p); 

 iii. spent caustic solutions from petroleum refining 

liquid treating processes (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.s); 

 iv. cathode ray tubes (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.v); 

 v. oil-bearing hazardous secondary materials that 

are generated at a petroleum refinery and recovered oil, 

(LAC 33:V.105.D.1.l) if reclaimed at a refinery and 

petrochemical recovered oil from an associated organic 

chemical manufacturing facility (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.r); and 

 vi. oil-bearing hazardous secondary materials that 

are generated at a petroleum refinery and recovered oil 

(LAC 33:V.105.D.1.l) that are reclaimed at a facility other 

than a refinery are eligible for exclusion under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x or y. 

7. General information pertaining to solid waste 

exclusions, materials contained in units, and pre-existing 

variances and non-waste determinations are described in this 

Paragraph.  

a. The “contained” standard defined in LAC 

33:V.109 does not require a specific type of management 

unit like a container (i.e., all materials are not required to be 

stored in containers). This is a performance-based standard. 

The specific technical requirements depend on the type of 

material that is being managed.  

b. Materials subject to the pre-2008 exclusions do 

not have to be contained, as defined in LAC 33:V.109. 

However, hazardous secondary materials that have no 

analogous raw material, even if subject to one or more of the 

pre-2008 exclusions, shall be contained.  

c. If there has been an accidental release from a unit 

used to manage secondary hazardous materials, it does not 

create a presumption that the material remaining in the unit 

is not contained as defined in LAC 33:V.109. 

d. The new requirements for variances and waste 

determinations do not supersede any of the pre-2008 solid 

waste exclusions, or other prior solid waste determinations 

or variances, including determinations made in letters of 

interpretation and inspection reports. If a hazardous 

secondary material has been determined not to be a solid 

waste for whatever reason, such a determination remains in 

effect, unless there is a change in process or materials. 

Facilities that have already been granted a variance or non-

waste determination by the department prior to [DATE OF 

PROMULGATION] shall continue to operate under the 

conditions of the previously granted variance or 

determination. 

8. Closed-loop recycling, analytical testing 

requirements, and legitimate recycling under LAC 

33:V.105.R.5 are described in this Paragraph. 

a. Analytical testing is not generally required to 

make legitimacy determinations under LAC 33:V.105.R.5. A 

company may use its knowledge of the material it uses and 

of the recycling process to make its legitimacy 

determinations. As with any solid and hazardous waste 

determination, a person may use knowledge of the materials 

used, the hazardous secondary material, product, or 

intermediate he recycles and of the recycling process to 

make legitimate recycling determinations. 

b. Recycling meets legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 

33:V.105.R.5 with no analytical testing and/or with no 

further demonstration of meeting this legitimacy factor 

required under any one of the following circumstances: 

 i. the hazardous secondary materials are returned 

to the original process or processes from which they were 

generated, such as in concentrating metals in minerals 

processing;  

 ii. the recycled product meets widely-recognized 

commodity specifications and there is no analogous product 

made from raw materials (such as scrap metal being 

reclaimed into metal commodities). For specialty products 

such as specialty batch chemicals or specialty metal alloys, 

customer specifications would be sufficient;  

 iii. the recycled product has an analogous product 

made from virgin materials, but meets widely-recognized 

commodity specifications which address the hazardous 

constituents (such as spent solvents being reclaimed into 

solvent products); or 

 iv. the person recycling has the necessary 

knowledge, such as knowledge about the incoming 

hazardous secondary material and the recycling process, to 

be able to demonstrate that the product of recycling does not 

exhibit a hazardous characteristic and contains hazardous 

constituents at levels comparable to or lower than those in 

products made from virgin materials. 

c. If the hazardous secondary materials are being 

returned to the original production process, then there is no 

analogous product and legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 

33:V.105.R.5 is met. The person conducting the recycling 

does not need to do any further analysis for the purpose of 

determining compliance with this factor. For example, 

recycling that takes place under the closed loop recycling 

exclusion is an example of manufacturing that consistently 

includes the hazardous secondary material being returned to 

the original process from which it was generated and that 

would therefore automatically meet legitimacy factor 4 of 

LAC 33:V.105.R.5. Materials re-used within an ongoing 

industrial process are neither disposed of nor abandoned. 

Another example includes primary metals production where 

hazardous secondary materials are returned to the production 

process to ensure that all the valuable metals are extracted 

from the ore. This would be another process that would meet 

legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 33:V.105.R.5 with no further 

analysis needed.  

d. If a chemical product made from a hazardous 

secondary material has an analogous product made from raw 

materials and does not exhibit a hazardous characteristic that 

the analogous product does not exhibit, and the 

concentration of hazardous constituents are comparable to 

those in analogous products, the fourth legitimacy factor of 

LAC 33:V.105.R.5 is met. For example, weak acid by-

products that are concentrated into stronger acids and 

undergo extensive QA/QC processes to assure the quality of 

the concentrated acids. 

e. For the purposes of LAC 33:V.105.R.5 widely-

recognized commodity standards and specifications include 
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those standards and specifications that are used throughout 

an industry, and that are widely available to anyone 

producing the product e.g., in safety data sheets (SDSs), on-

line vendor specifications, sales literature, customer 

specifications, ASTM standards, and others.  

f. Valid comparisons for the purpose of LAC 

33:V.105.R.5 include, but are not limited to: 

 i. the hazardous secondary material that is being 

recycled directly (i.e., without reclamation) as compared to 

the virgin raw material or ingredient that the hazardous 

secondary material is replacing; 

 ii. the hazardous secondary material after 

reclamation that is being recycled as compared to the virgin 

raw material or ingredient that the reclaimed hazardous 

secondary material is replacing; 

 iii. the product/intermediate that results from 

recycling the hazardous secondary material as compared to 

the product/intermediate that results from using the virgin 

raw material or ingredient that the hazardous secondary 

material is replacing; or 

 iv. the product/intermediate that results from 

recycling the hazardous secondary material as compared to a 

substitute product/intermediate that is made without the 

hazardous secondary material by a different company or by 

the same company at a different site or through a different 

process. 

g. Closed-loop recycling is an example of a 

manufacturing process where the hazardous secondary 

material is returned to the original process from which it was 

generated. The reference in LAC 33:V.105.R.5 to hazardous 

secondary materials returned to the original process is not 

limited to closed-loop recycling, nor must the hazardous 

secondary material be returned to the same unit in which it 

was generated. For the purposes of LAC 33:V.105.R.5, a 

hazardous secondary material is returned to the original 

process if it is returned to the same production process or 

processes where it was generated; if it is returned to other 

production processes from which it was derived; if it is 

returned via closed-loop or open-loop; if it is returned from 

on-site or off-site; if it is returned from second, third, or later 

generation use of the hazardous secondary material, product, 

or intermediate; or if it is returned as part of the long-

established recycling of such hazardous secondary material 

in connection with the manufacturing or use, both on-site 

and off-site, of a product or intermediate made with the 

hazardous secondary material. Production process or 

processes include those activities that tie directly into the 

manufacturing operation and those activities that are the 

primary operation at the establishment. 

h. Recycling meets legitimacy factor 4 of LAC 

33:V.105.R.5 if the hazardous secondary material is returned 

to the original production process to produce a product. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq., and in particular, 2186(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 

10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 

(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 

LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 

15:181 (March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:217, LR 

16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 

1990), LR 17:362, 368 (April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 

17:883 (September 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 

(November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the 

Office of the Secretary, LR 19:1022 (August 1993), amended by 

the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 

Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), 

LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:813, 831 (September 1996), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 23:298 (March 1997), 

amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous 

Waste Division, LR 23:564, 567 (May 1997), LR 23:721 (June 

1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 

Division, LR 23:952 (August 1997), LR 23:1511 (November 

1997), LR 24:298 (February 1998), LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 

24:1093 (June 1998), LR 24:1687, 1759 (September 1998), LR 

25:431 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:268 

(February 2000), LR 26:2464 (November 2000), LR 27:291 

(March 2001), LR 27:706 (May 2001), LR 29:317 (March 2003), 

LR 30:1680 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2463 (November 2004), 

amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 

31:2451 (October 2005), LR 32:605 (April 2006), LR 32:821 (May 

2006), LR 33:450 (March 2007), LR 33:2097 (October 2007), LR 

34:614 (April 2008), LR 34:1008 (June 2008), LR 34:1893 

(September 2008), LR 34:2395 (November 2008), LR 35:1878 

(September 2009), LR 36:2553 (November 2010), LR 38:791 

(March 2012), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 

Division. LR 40:1336 (July 2014), amended by the Office of 

Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 

§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms 

defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 

unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 

Accumulated Speculatively—a material is accumulated 

speculatively if it is accumulated before being recycled. A 

material is not accumulated speculatively, however, if the 

person accumulating it can show that the material is 

potentially recyclable and has a feasible means of being 

recycled; and that, during the calendar year (commencing on 

January 1), the amount of material that is recycled, or 

transferred to a different site for recycling, equals at least 75 

percent by weight or volume of the amount of that material 

accumulated at the beginning of the period. Materials must 

be placed in a storage unit with a label indicating the first 

date that the material began to be accumulated. If placing a 

label on the storage unit is not practicable, (such as where 

material is stored in batch tanks, continuous-flow tanks, 

waste piles, or containment buildings), the accumulation 

period must be documented through an inventory log or 

other appropriate method. In calculating the percentage of 

turnover, the 75 percent requirement is to be applied to each 

material of the same type (e.g., slags from a single smelting 

process) that is recycled in the same way (i.e., from which 

the same material is recovered or that is used in the same 

way). Materials accumulating in units that would be exempt 

from regulation under LAC 33:V.105.D.3 are not to be 

included in making the calculation. (Materials that are 

already defined as solid wastes also are not to be included in 

making the calculation.) Materials are no longer in this 

category once they are removed from accumulation for 

recycling, however. For example, the following materials are 

either excluded from the definition of solid waste, or are 

solid wastes, and therefore are not included in any 

speculative accumulation calculations:  
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1. scrap metal that is excluded under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.m; 

2. commercial chemical products that are not used in a 

manner constituting disposal (unless they are applied to the 

land and that is their ordinary use), and are not burned for 

energy recovery (unless they are themselves fuels) (LAC 

33:V.109, solid waste, 3); 

3. industrial ethyl alcohol that is reclaimed (LAC 

33:V.4105.A.1.a); 

4. fuels produced from the refining of oil-bearing 

hazardous waste ( LAC 33:V.4105.A.1.c);  

5. wastes from growing and harvesting of agricultural 

crops (LAC 33:V.105.D.2.b.i); 

6. wastes from raising of animals, including animal 

manures (LAC 33:V.105.D.2.b.ii); 

7. mining overburden returned to the mine site (LAC 

33:V.105.D.2.c); 

8. used chlorofluorocarbon refrigerants from totally 

enclosed heat transfer equipment (LAC 33:V.105.D.2.m); 

9. used oil re-refining distillation bottoms that are 

used as feedstock to manufacture asphalt products (LAC 

33:V.105.D.2.o); 

10. materials excluded under closed loop recycling 

with reclamation (LAC 33:V.105.D.1.h) or closed loop 

recycling without reclamation (LAC 33:V.109, solid waste, 

5.a.iii); 

11. solvent wipes excluded under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.w. 

* * * 

Analogous Product—a product made of raw materials or 

made by competing companies with similar specifications 

for which a hazardous secondary material substitutes. 

Analogous Raw Material—a material for which a 

hazardous secondary material substitutes and which serves 

the same function and has similar physical and chemical 

properties as the hazardous secondary material.  

* * * 

Contained—held in a unit (including land-based unit as 

defined LAC 33:V.109) that meets the following criteria: 

1. the unit is in good condition, with no leaks or other 

continuing or intermittent unpermitted releases of the 

hazardous secondary materials to the environment, and is 

designed, as appropriate for the hazardous secondary 

materials, to prevent releases of hazardous secondary 

materials to the environment. Unpermitted releases are 

releases that are not covered by a permit (such as a permit to 

discharge to water or air) and may include, but are not 

limited to, releases through surface transport by precipitation 

runoff, releases to soil and groundwater, wind-blown dust, 

fugitive air emissions, and catastrophic unit failures; 

2. the unit is properly labeled or otherwise has a 

system (such as a log) to immediately identify the hazardous 

secondary materials in the unit;  

3. the unit holds hazardous secondary materials that 

are compatible with other hazardous secondary materials 

placed in the unit and is compatible with the materials used 

to construct the unit and addresses any potential risks of fires 

or explosions; 

4. hazardous secondary materials in units that meet 

the applicable requirements of LAC 33:V.Subpart 1 are 

presumptively contained. 

* * * 

Facility— 

1. all contiguous land and structures, other 

appurtenances, and improvements on the land used for 

treating, storing, or disposing of hazardous waste, or for 

managing hazardous secondary materials prior to 

reclamation. A facility may consist of several treatment, 

storage, or disposal operational units (e.g., one or more 

landfills, surface impoundments or a combination of them); 

or 

2. for the purpose of implementing corrective action 

under LAC 33:V.3322, all the contiguous property under the 

control of the owner or operator seeking a permit under 

subtitle C of RCRA. This definition also applies to facilities 

implementing corrective actions under RCRA section 

3008(h); 

3. notwithstanding Paragraph 2 of this definition, a 

remediation waste management site is not a facility that is 

subject to LAC 33:V.3322, but is subject to corrective action 

requirements if the site is located within such a facility. 

* * * 

Hazardous Secondary Material—a secondary material 

(e.g., spent material, by-product, or sludge) that, when 

discarded, would be identified as hazardous waste under 

LAC 33:V.Subpart 1. 

Hazardous Secondary Material Generator—any person 

whose act or process produces hazardous secondary 

materials at the generating facility. For purposes of this LAC 

33:V.Subpart 1, “generating facility” means all contiguous 

property owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the 

hazardous secondary material generator. Under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x (“hazardous secondary materials reclaimed 

under the control of the generator”), a facility that collects 

hazardous secondary materials from other persons is not the 

hazardous secondary material generator. 

* * * 

Intermediate—(as used in LAC 33:V.105.R) a substance 

formed as a stage in the manufacture of a desired end-

product. 

Intermediate Facility—any facility that stores hazardous 

secondary materials for more than 10 days, other than a 

hazardous secondary material generator or reclaimer of such 

material. 

* * * 

Land-Based Unit—an area where hazardous secondary 

materials are placed in or on the land before recycling. This 

definition does not include land-based production units. 

* * * 

Pre-2008 Exclusions—the exclusions from the definition 

of solid waste and hazardous waste exemptions in effect 

prior to EPA’s 2008 promulgation of revisions to the 

definition of solid waste to exclude certain hazardous 

secondary materials from hazardous waste regulation in 73 

Federal Register 64668 et seq., October 30, 2008, effective 

December 29, 2008. 

* * * 

Reclaimed Material—a material is reclaimed if it is 

processed to recover a usable product, or if it is regenerated. 

Examples are recovery of lead values from spent batteries 

and regeneration of spent solvents. In addition, for purposes 

of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x and LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, smelting,
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melting, and refining furnaces are considered to be solely 

engaged in metals reclamation if the metal recovery from the 

hazardous secondary materials meets the same requirements 

as those specified for metals recovery from hazardous waste 

found in LAC 33:V.3001.D.1-3 of this Subpart, and if the 

residuals meet the requirements specified in LAC 33:V.3025 

(Regulation of Residues).  

* * * 

Remanufacturing—processing a higher-value hazardous 

secondary material in order to manufacture a product that 

serves a similar functional purpose as the original 

commercial-grade material. For the purpose of this 

definition, a hazardous secondary material is considered 

higher-value if it was generated from the use of a 

commercial-grade material in a manufacturing process and 

can be remanufactured into a similar commercial-grade 

material. 

* * * 

Sham Recycling—a hazardous secondary material found 

to be sham recycled is considered discarded and a solid 

waste. Sham recycling is recycling that is not legitimate 

recycling as defined in LAC 33:V.105.R. 

* * * 

Solid Waste 

1.a. any discarded material that is not excluded by LAC 

33:V.105.D.1 or that is not excluded by a variance or non-

waste determination granted under LAC 33:V.105.K or O; 

1.b. - 2.c. … 

d. sham recycled as defined under LAC 33:V.109, 

sham recycling  

3. - 3.b.ii. … 

c. reclaimed—materials noted with an “*” in 

column 3 of Table 1 in this Chapter are solid wastes when 

reclaimed, except as provided under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.p, or 

unless they meet the requirements of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, 

LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or 261.4(a)(27), as incorporated by 

reference at LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. Materials noted with a “---

” in column 3 of Table 1 are not solid wastes when 

reclaimed; 

3.d. - 6. … 

 

Table 1 

  

Use 

Constituting 

Disposal 

Energy 

Recovery/ 

Fuel 

Reclamation except 

as Provided in 

LAC 33:V. 105.D.1.p 

for Mineral 

Processing 

Secondary 

Materials, LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.y, or 

LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. 

Speculative 

Accumulation 

   (1) (2) (3) (4) 

Spent Materials * * * * 

Sludges (listed in 

LAC 33:V.4901) 
* * * * 

Sludges 
exhibiting a 

characteristic of 
hazardous waste 

* * .............. * 

By-products  

(listed in 

LAC 33:V.4901) 

* * * * 

Table 1 

  

Use 

Constituting 

Disposal 

Energy 

Recovery/ 

Fuel 

Reclamation except 

as Provided in 

LAC 33:V. 105.D.1.p 

for Mineral 

Processing 

Secondary 

Materials, LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.y, or 

LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. 

Speculative 

Accumulation 

   (1) (2) (3) (4) 

By-products 

exhibiting a 

characteristic of 
hazardous waste 

* * ............. * 

Commercial 

chemical products 

(listed in LAC 33: 
V.4901.E and F) 

* * ............. ........... 

Scrap metal that 

is not excluded 

under LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.m 

* * * * 

 

* * * 

Toll Manufacturer—(for purposes of LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x) a person who produces a product or 

intermediate made from specified unused materials pursuant 

to a written contract with a tolling contractor. 

Tolling Contractor—(for purposes of LAC 

33:V.105.D.1.x) a person who arranges for the production of 

a product or intermediate made from specified unused 

materials through a written contract with a toll manufacturer. 

* * * 

Transfer Facility—any transportation-related facility, 

including loading docks, parking areas, storage areas and 

other similar areas where shipments of hazardous waste or 

hazardous secondary materials are held during the normal 

course of transportation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 

10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 

(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 

LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 

LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218, 

220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), 

LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:478 

(May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 

1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 1993), amended LR 

20:1000 (September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 

(March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:814 

(September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 1997), amended by the Office 

of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:655 (April 

1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 24:1688 (September 1998), LR 

25:433 (March 1999), repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 1999), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:269 (February 2000), LR 

26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 (March 2001), LR 27:708 

(May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 28:1191 (June 2002), LR 

29:318 (March 2003); amended by the Office of the Secretary, 

Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2452 (October 2005), LR 31:3116 

(December 2005), LR 32:606 (April 2006), LR 32:822 (May 2006),
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LR 33:1625 (August 2007), LR 33:2098 (October 2007), LR 34:71 

(January 2008), LR 34:615 (April 2008), LR 34:1009 (June 2008), 

LR 34:1894 (September 2008), LR 34:2396 (November 2008), LR 

36:1235 (June 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1535 (July 2010), 

amended LR 36:2554 (November 2010), LR 38:774, 781 (March 

2012), repromulgated LR 38:1009 (April 2012), amended by the 

Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, LR 40:1338 (July 2014), 

LR 41:2600 (December 2015), LR 42:565 (April 2016), LR 43: 

Chapter 3. General Conditions for Treatment, 

Storage, and Disposal Facility Permits 

§322. Classification of Permit Modifications 

A. The following is a listing of classifications of permit 

modifications made at the request of the permittee. 

 

Modifications Class 

 A.1. - A.7. … 

8. Changes to remove permit conditions applicable to a 

unit excluded under the provisions of LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, 
LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or LAC 33:V.105.D.1.z. 

11 

9. Changes in the expiration date of a permit issued to a 

facility at which all units are excluded under the provisions of 

LAC 33:V.105.D.1.x, LAC 33:V.105.D.1.y, or LAC 
33:V.105.D.1.z. 

11 

B. - O.4. … 

* * * 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 

13:433 (August 1987), LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 

1991), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 

22:815 (September 1996), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 

LR 24:2245 (December 1998), amended by the Office of Waste 

Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 25:436 (March 1999), 

amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 

Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:270 (February 2000), LR 

27:292 (March 2001), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 

Legal Affairs Division, LR 34:620 (April 2008), LR 34:992 (June 

2008), amended by the Office of Secretary, Legal Division, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972.  

Poverty Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on poverty as described in 

R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

This Rule has no known impact on providers as described 

in HCR 170 of 2014. 

Public Comments 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 

should reference this proposed regulation by HW118. Such 

comments must be received no later than May 3, 2017, at 

4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Deidra Johnson, Attorney 

Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Division, P.O. Box 

4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 219-

4068 or by e-mail to deidra.johnson@la.gov. Copies of these 

proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting the 

DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 

money order is required in advance for each copy of 

HW118. These proposed regulations are available on the 

internet at www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/ 

default.aspx.  

Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on April 26, 2017, at 1:30 

p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 

Room, 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 

Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 

comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 

with a disability need an accommodation in order to 

participate, contact Deidra Johnson at the address given 

below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 

allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 

ticket. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 

the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 

p.m.: 602 North Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 

Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 

Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 

1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 

Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 

Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 

New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 

Herman Robinson 

General Counsel 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Secondary Hazardous Materials 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be costs to Louisiana Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) due to the proposed rule change. 

However, the costs incurred will be absorbed with current staff 

and funds from the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) 

Performance Partnership Grant (PPG) awarded to the 

department.  

The costs are due to increased oversight of industries that 

recycle hazardous secondary materials (HSM), additional 

paperwork, additional inspections, a new category of 

registration for users of HSM, and increased notification forms 

from users of HSM (from facilities that recycle by using HSM).  

The Federal Government’s Environmental Protection 

Agency requires adoption of new regulations pertaining to the 

recycling and reclaiming of hazardous secondary materials 

(HSM). Recycling of HSM is a common practice, so most 

petrochemical, refineries, and other manufacturers categorized 

as NAICS Codes 32 and 33 will be affected. This includes 

wood product manufacturing, paper manufacturing, printing 

and related support activities, petroleum and coal products 

manufacturing, chemical manufacturing, plastics and rubber 

products manufacturing, nonmetallic mineral product 

manufacturing, primary metal manufacturing, fabricated metal 

product manufacturing, machinery manufacturing, computer 

and electronic product manufacturing, electrical equipment, 

appliance, and component manufacturing, transportation 

equipment manufacturing, furniture and related product 

manufacturing, and miscellaneous manufacturing. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated effects on revenue collections 

from the implementation of this rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 570 

The costs to those directly affected (petrochemical 

manufacturing industries and small manufacturing businesses) 

will include additional paperwork for increased notification, 

additional costs of increased recordkeeping for tracking the use 

of HSM, and increased cost for in-depth legitimacy 

determinations. The EPA estimates a maximum of 1% of 

annual sales approximately $2.4 million for affected industries 

nationwide, which includes labor, operations, and maintenance 

costs. However, EPA also estimates that after the first three 

years of implementation, industries will begin to benefit from 

the regulatory change by approximately $1-2 million per year. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

Competition should remain neutral as all applicable 

industries must comply with the same requirements. It is 

possible that increase employment in the private and public 

sectors may result from this rule, due to an increase in labor 

and regulatory expertise for complying with the new rule. 

 

Herman Robinson Evan Brasseaux 

General Counsel Staff Director 
1703#029 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Board of Pardons 

Clemency Consideration Eligibility and 

Application Filing (LAC 22:V.205 and 209) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Board of Pardons hereby 

gives notice of its intent to amend its Rules in LAC 22:V.205 

and 209. These proposed Rule changes revise application 

filing procedures. Section 205 provides the application form 

is available on the board's webpage and further sets out 

additional documentation that may be submitted with the 

application. Technical revisions to §209 provide that 

additional documentation relevant to the application may be 

submitted after the applicant has placed the required 

advertisement in the local journal. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part V.  Board of Pardons 

Chapter 2. Clemency 

§205. Application Filing Procedures 

A. All Applicants 

1. Every application must be submitted on the form 

approved by the Board of Pardons which is made available 

on the board's webpage at www.doc.la.gov.  

2. It is the applicant's responsibility to submit a 

complete application. The application shall not be processed 

until it is complete. If any required information does not 

apply, the response should be "NA". 

3. Each answer must be answered fully, truthfully, and 

accurately. The submission of any false information is 

grounds for immediate denial of the application. 

4. Additional documentation that is relevant to the 

application may be also be submitted, including letters of 

support on behalf of the applicant, military DD-214 if 

applicable, other attachments that the applicant would like to 

include that are relevant to the application. 

5. The application must be filled out completely, 

signed, dated, and notarized where required. 

B. In addition to the information submitted by 

application, the following required documents must be 

attached as they apply to each applicant. 

1. Incarcerated Applicants. Any applicant presently 

confined in any institution must attach a current master 

prison record and have the signature of a classification 

officer verifying the conduct of the applicant and a copy of 

conduct report. Applicants sentenced to death must attach 

proof of direct appeal denial. 

2. Parolees. Applicants who have completed parole 

supervision must attach a copy of their parole certificate, a 

certified judgment and sentence on each conviction for 

which they are applying for a pardon; a certified statement 

from the clerk of court that all fines, fees, and court costs 

(including restitution and probation fees) have been paid in 

full; a current credit report (current within 90 days of date of 

application), and proof of residence. 

3. Probationers. Applicants who have completed the 

probationary period must attach a certified copy of 

sentencing minutes or copy of automatic first offender 

pardon, a certified judgment and sentence on each 

conviction for which they are applying for a pardon; a 

certified statement from the clerk of court that all fines, fees, 

and court costs (including restitution and probation fees) 

have been paid in full; a current credit report (current within 

90 days of date of application), and proof of residence. 

4. First Offender Pardons [R.S. 15:572(B)]. 

Applicants who have received an automatic first offender 

pardon must attach a copy of the automatic first offender 

pardon. 

C. No additional information or documents may be 

submitted until applicant has been notified that he/she will 

be given a hearing. The Board of Pardons will not be 

responsible for items submitted prior to notification that a 

hearing will be granted. 

D. Reapplication upon Denial. Any applicant denied by 

the board shall be notified, in writing, of the reason(s) for the 

denial and thereafter may file a new application as indicated 

below. 

1. Applicants Sentenced to Life Imprisonment. Any 

applicant with a life sentence may reapply five years after 

the initial denial; and every five years thereafter. Applicant 

must also meet the criteria stated in §203.C.2.a-d. 

2. Other. Applicants without a life sentence may file a 

new application two years from date of the letter of denial.  

3. Fraudulent Documents or Information. Any 

fraudulent documents or information submitted by an 

applicant will result in an automatic denial by the board and 

no new application will be accepted until four years have 

elapsed from the date of letter of denial.  

4. Governor Granted Clemency. The Office of the 

Governor will notify an applicant if any clemency is granted. 

Any otherwise eligible person who has been granted any 

form of executive clemency by the governor may not 

reapply for further executive clemency for at least four years 

from the date that such action became final. 

5. Denial/No Action Taken by Governor after 

Favorable Recommendation. The board shall notify an 

applicant after its receipt of notification from the governor 
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that the board's favorable recommendation was denied or no 

action was taken. 

a. If the applicant is notified of denial by the 

governor, the applicant may not reapply for clemency for at 

least four years from the date of the denial. The application 

filing procedures in Subsections A-D.3 of this Section shall 

apply. 

b. If the applicant is notified that no action was 

taken by the governor, the applicant may request 

reconsideration of the board's favorable recommendation. 

Applicant must submit a re-application within one year from 

the date on the board's notification to the applicant of no 

action taken by the governor.  

 i. Upon receipt of the re-application in 

accordance with this section, the board shall set the matter 

for an administrative review. At least 30 days prior to the 

scheduled docket date for administrative review, the board 

shall give written notice of the date, time, and place to the 

following: 

(a). the district attorney and sheriff of the parish 

in which the applicant was convicted and, in Orleans Parish, 

the superintendent of police; 

(b). the applicant; 

(c). the victim who has been physically or 

psychologically injured by the applicant (if convicted of that 

offense), and the victim's spouse or next of kin, unless the 

injured victim 's spouse or next of kin advises the board, in 

writing, that such notification is not desired; 

(d). the spouse or next of kin of a deceased 

victim when the offender responsible for the death is the 

applicant (if convicted of that offense), unless the spouse or 

next of kin advises the board in writing that such notification 

is not desired; 

(e). the Crime Victim Services Bureau of the 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections; and 

(f). any other interested person who has notified 

the board of pardons, in writing, requesting such notice 

providing their name and return address. 

c. The board shall evaluate the record of the 

applicant. Action on the re-application may include setting 

the matter for a clemency hearing, affirming the board's 

previous favorable recommendation, or denying the re-

application. 

d. If the applicant does not apply for 

reconsideration within the one-year period, the application 

filing procedures in Subsections A-D.3 of this Section shall 

apply. 

E. Notice of Action Taken on Application. After review 

of application for clemency by the board, applicants shall be 

notified, in writing, of action taken by the board. Action can 

include granting a hearing before the board or denial of a 

hearing. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:573.1, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2255 (August 2013), amended 

by the Office of the Governor, Board of Pardons, Committee on 

Parole, LR 41:42 (January 2015), amended by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 42:1087 (July 2016), LR 43: 

§209. Hearing Granted 

A. After notice to an applicant that a hearing has been 

granted the applicant must provide the Board of Pardons 

office with proof of advertisement within 90 days from the 

date of notice to grant a hearing. Advertisement must be 

published in the official journal of the parish where the 

offense occurred. This ad must state: 
“I (applicant's name), (DOC number), have applied for 

clemency for my conviction of (crime). If you have any 

comments, contact the Board of Pardons (225) 342-5421.” 

B. At this stage of the process, along with the proof of 

advertisement published in the local journal, the applicant 

may submit additional information, (e.g., letters of 

recommendation and copies of certificates of achievement 

and employment/residence agreement). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:572.4, 15:574.12 and 44:1 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Pardons, LR 39:2256 (August 2013), amended 

LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

Amendment to the rules has no known impact on family 

formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 

proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 

proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 

family poverty in relations to individual or family poverty in 

relations to individual or community asset development as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

the 2012 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

Written comments may be addressed to Mona Wagner, 

Executive Management Officer, Board of Pardons and 

Parole, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 4:30 

p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 

Sheryl M. Ranatza 

Board Chair 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Clemency Consideration  

Eligibility and Application Filing 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not expected to result in costs 

or savings to state or local government units. The proposed rule 

changes to Section 205 provides that the clemency application 

form is available on the board's webpage and further sets out 

additional documentation that may be submitted with the 

application. Technical revisions to Section 209 provides that 

additional documentation relevant to the application may be 

submitted after the applicant has placed the required 

advertisement in the local journal. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 

change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 
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There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 

directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 

employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 

Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 

Undersecretary Staff Director 
1703#035 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Division of Administration 

Office of Facility Planning And Control 

Capital Improvement Projects 

Procedure Manual (LAC 34:III.131) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the provisions of 

R.S. 39:121, the Division of Administration, Office of 

Facility Planning and Control hereby gives notice of its 

intent to amend LAC Title 34, Government Contracts, 

Procurement and Property Control, Part III, Facility 

Planning and Control, Chapter 1, Capital Improvement 

Projects, Section 131, Louisiana Building Code for state-

owned buildings. These rule changes are the result of a 

review by Facility Planning and Control of the editions of 

the codes specified in R.S. 40:1722 and the most recent 

editions of these codes. This review has led to the 

determination that new editions of these codes will provide a 

higher standard than the currently referenced editions. 

Facility Planning and Control is, therefore, establishing the 

appropriate editions of these codes as the standards. 

Title 34 

GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 

Part III.  Facility Planning and Control 

Chapter 1. Capital Improvement Projects 

Subchapter A. Procedure Manual 

§131. Louisiana Building Code 

A. R.S. 40:1722 establishes the Louisiana building code 

and directs that the following codes be established as the 

standards as minimum standards for this code. These codes 

shall be established as constituting the code in the editions 

indicated: 

1. the Life Safety Code, standard 101, 2015 edition as 

published by the National Fire Protection Association; 

2. the International Plumbing Code, 2015 edition as 

published by the International Code Council and amended 

by R.S. 40:1730.28.1; 

3. the International Building Code, 2015 edition as 

published by the International Code Council, not including 

chapter 1, administration, chapter 11, accessibility, and 

chapter 27, electrical; 

4. the International Mechanical Code, 2015 edition as 

published by the International Code Council; 

5. the National Electric Code (NFPA no. 70), 2014 

edition as published by the National Fire Protection 

Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Department of Facility Planning and Control, LR 8:473 

(September 1982), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Facility Planning and Control, LR 

11:849 (September 1985), amended by the Office of the Governor, 

Division of Administration, Office of Facility Planning and 

Control, LR 33:2649 (December 2007), LR 37:3260 (November 

2011), LR 39:86 (January 2013), LR 39:2493 (September 2013), 

effective on January 1, 2014, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the 

Family? This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the 

family. 

2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights 

of Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 

Children? This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 

their children. 

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 

Family? This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 

the family. 

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 

Family Budget? This Rule will have no effect on family 

earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and 

Personal Responsibility of Children? This Rule will have no 

effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children. 

6. The Effect of this Rule on the Ability of the Family 

or Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained 

in the Proposed Rule? This Rule will have no effect on the 

ability of the family or local government to perform the 

function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973 

Small Business Analysis 

The Office of Facility Planning and Control has 

considered all methods of reducing the impact of the 

proposed Rule on small business as noted in R.S. 49:965.6. 

The intent of the proposed Rule is to upgrade the current 

edition of the Life Safety Code, International Building Code, 

the International Plumbing Code, the International 

Mechanical Code and the National Electric Code established 

as standards for the Louisiana building code. These codes 

are the basis of safety and mobility of the general public in 

the design of state-owned buildings. It would not be feasible 

to consider a partial or modified compliance of these 

building codes specifically for small businesses. Any 

alternative code standards or exemption of small businesses 

from these revised building codes would jeopardize the well 

being of the general public. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR 

107) of the 2014 Regular Session of the Legislature, the 

provider impact of this proposed Rule has been considered. 

It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will have a positive 

impact on providers. However, the particular proposed Rule 

does not impact or affect the staffing level requirements 

required to provide the same level of service. 
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Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit comments to Mark Bell, 

Facility Planning and Control, P.O. Box 94095, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70804-9095. Written comments will be accepted 

through April 10, 2017. 

 

Mark A. Moses 

Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Capital Improvement Projects 

Procedure Manual 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed administrative rule will likely result in a net 

increase per building construction costs for state-owned 

buildings. The proposed administrative rule will not result in 

any implementation costs or savings to local governmental 

units. The proposed administrative rule updates the Louisiana 

Building Code for state-owned buildings as per RS 40:1722 by 

updating the current editions of the Life Safety Code, the 

International Building Code, the International Plumbing Code, 

the International Mechanical Code and the National Electric 

Code established as standards for the Louisiana Building Code. 

Any increases will be small relative to the total construction 

cost and can be covered by project contingency until capital 

funding can be adjusted if necessary. The size of the project 

and the design solutions determined by the architect or engineer 

will determine cost impacts and may be expected to range from 

$1,000 to $100,000 per project. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on 

governmental revenues as a result of this measure. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

To the extent that the net cost per construction project for 

state-owned buildings may increase due to updates to the 

Louisiana Building Code to reflect current construction and 

safety codes, designers and contractors may realize a marginal 

but unknown economic benefit, which will vary depending on 

the size and complexity of individual projects. The LFO 

assumes any training necessary for contractors to comply with 

updated construction and safety codes are a normal part of 

operating within this industry and do not create extraordinary 

economic costs. The Office of Facility Planning and Control 

does not anticipate a material impact to directly affected 

persons or nongovernmental groups as a result of the proposed 

rule change. Any project cost increase as a  result of the 

proposed rule will likely be passed down to the state through 

the public bid process. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on competition 

and employment as a result of the proposed administrative 

rules. There will likely be the same number of jobs though 

some tasks may be slightly different as a result of the proposed 

administrative rule. 

 

Mark A. Moses Evan Brasseaux 

Director Staff Director 
1703#019 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 

Real Estate Commission 

Disbursement of Escrow Deposits ( LAC 46:LXVII.2901) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate 

License Law, R.S. 37:1430 et seq., and in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 

49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given that the Real Estate 

Commission has initiated procedures to amend LAC 

46:LXVII.Chapter 29. The proposed Rule change 

provides real estate brokers who have been unable to 

reach parties of a failed sale to return the escrow deposit 

monies, the additional option of transferring the funds to 

the treasurer as unclaimed funds in accordance with the 

Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 1997. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 

Part LXVII. Real Estate 

Subpart 1.  Real Estate 

Chapter 29. Disbursement of Escrow Deposits 

§2901. Escrow Disputes 

A. - A.4. … 

5. disburse the funds in accordance with the Uniform 

Unclaimed Property Act of 1997 as set forth in R.S. 9:151 et 

seq. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1431 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Real Estate Commission, LR 26:44 

(January 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, Real 

Estate Commission, LR 32:1454 (August 2006), LR 34:2422 

(November 2007), LR 37:3007 (October 2011), LR 42:53 (January 

2016), LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

In accordance with R.S. 49:953(A)(1)(a)(viii) and 972, the 

following Family Impact Statement is submitted with the 

Notice of Intent for publication in the March 20, 2017 

Louisiana Register: The proposed Rule has no known impact 

on family, formation, stability, or autonomy. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on poverty as 

described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on providers of 

services for individuals with developmental disabilities. 

Public Comments 

Interested parties may submit written comments on the 

proposed regulations to Ryan Shaw, Louisiana Real Estate 

Commission, P.O. Box 14785, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-

4785 or 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809 or 

rshaw@lrec.state.la.us, through April 10, 2017 at 4:30 p.m. 

Public Hearing 

If it becomes a necessary to convene a public hearing to 

receive comments, in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedures Act, a hearing will be held on April 25, 2017 at 

9:00 a.m. at the office of the Louisiana Real Estate 

Appraisers Board, 9071 Interline Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 

70809. 

Bruce Unangst 

Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Disbursement of Escrow Deposits 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no implementation costs or savings to the 

Louisiana Real Estate Commission due to the proposed rule 

change. The current rule provides guidelines to real estate 

brokers for the disbursement of unclaimed monies in an escrow 

account. The proposed rule change provides real estate brokers 

who have been unable to reach parties of a failed sale to return 

the escrow deposit monies, the additional option of transferring 

the funds to the Treasurer as unclaimed funds in accordance 

with the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 1997.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may lead to funds being 

transferred to the control of the State Treasurer’s Office as 

unclaimed property. At the end of each fiscal year, all monies 

remaining in the Unclaimed Property Fund will revert to the 

State General Fund to be used for state operations. In 

accordance with the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act of 1997, 

any individual with money in the fund has the ability to claim 

their money at any point, which will be paid out of the current 

year’s Unclaimed Property fund. An exact estimate of revenue 

to the state general fund is indeterminable.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs associated with the proposed 

rule change.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 

competition and employment. 

 

Bruce Unangst Evan Brasseaux 

Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Ethical Code of Conduct of Psychologists  

(LAC 46:LXIII.Chapter 13) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to amend LAC 

46:LXIII.1301; and adopt §§1302 through 1311. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

§1301. Preamble 

A. Psychologists work to develop a valid and reliable 

body of scientific knowledge based on research. They may 

apply that knowledge to human behavior in a variety of 

contexts. In doing so, they perform many roles, such as 

researcher, educator, diagnostician, therapist, supervisor, 

consultant, administration, social interventionists, court 

mediator, and expert witness. Their goal is to broaden 

knowledge of behavior and, where appropriate, to apply it 

pragmatically to improve the condition of both the 

individual and society. Psychologists respect the central 

importance of freedom of inquiry and expression in research, 

teaching, and publication. Psychologists respect and protect 

human and civil rights, and do not knowingly participate in 

or condone unfair discriminatory practices. They also strive 

to help the public in developing informed judgments and 

choices concerning human behavior. These rules set 

standards and guidelines are established for the welfare and 

protection of the individuals and groups with whom 

psychologists work. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 

Psychologists, LR 6:66 (February 1980), amended LR 10:791 

(October 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 29:703 (May 

2003), LR 41:2620 (December 2015), amended by the Department 

of Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1302. Resolving Ethical Issues 

A. Misuse of Psychologists' Work. If psychologists learn 

of misuse or misrepresentation of their work, they take 

reasonable steps to correct or minimize the misuse or 

misrepresentation. 

B. Conflicts between Ethics and Law, Regulations, or 

Other Governing Legal Authority. If psychologists’ ethical 

responsibilities conflict with law, regulations or other 

governing legal authority, psychologists clarify the nature of 

the conflict, and take reasonable steps to resolve the conflict 

consistent with this Chapter. Under no circumstances may 

this standard be used to justify or defend violating human 

rights. 

C. Conflicts between Ethics and Organizational 

Demands. If the demands of an organization with which 

psychologists are affiliated or for whom they are working 

are in conflict with this Chapter, psychologists clarify the 

nature of the conflict, make known their commitment to this 

Chapter and take reasonable steps to resolve the conflict 

consistent with this Chapter. Under no circumstances may 

this standard be used to justify or defend violating human 

rights. 

D. Informal Resolution of Ethical Violations. When 

psychologists believe that there may have been an ethical 

violation by another psychologist, they attempt to resolve the 

issue by bringing it to the attention of that individual, if an 

informal resolution appears appropriate and the intervention 

does not violate any confidentiality rights that may be 

involved. 

E. Reporting Ethical Violations. If an apparent ethical 

violation has substantially harmed or is likely to 

substantially harm a person or organization and is not 

appropriate for informal resolution under §1302.D, or is not 

resolved properly in that fashion, psychologists take further 

action appropriate to the situation. Such action might include 

referral to state or national committees on professional 

ethics, to state licensing boards or to the appropriate 

institutional authorities. This standard does not apply when 

an intervention would violate confidentiality rights or when 

psychologists have been retained to review the work of 

another psychologist whose professional conduct is in 

question.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 575 

F. Improper Complaints. Psychologists do not file or 

encourage the filing of ethics complaints that are made with 

reckless disregard for or willful ignorance of facts that 

would disprove the allegation. 

G. Unfair Discrimination against Complainants and 

Respondents. Psychologists do not deny any person 

employment, advancement, admissions to academic or other 

programs, tenure, or promotion, based solely upon their 

having made or their being the subject of an ethics 

complaint. This does not preclude taking action based upon 

the outcome of such proceedings or considering other 

appropriate information. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1303. Competence 

A. Boundaries of Competence  

1. Psychologists provide services, teach and conduct 

research with populations and in areas only within the 

boundaries of their competence, based on their education, 

training, supervised experience, consultation, study or 

professional experience. 

2. Where scientific or professional knowledge in the 

discipline of psychology establishes that an understanding of 

factors associated with age, gender, gender identity, race, 

ethnicity, culture, national origin, religion, sexual 

orientation, disability, language or socioeconomic status is 

essential for effective implementation of their services or 

research, psychologists have or obtain the training, 

experience, consultation or supervision necessary to ensure 

the competence of their services, or they make appropriate 

referrals, except in emergencies.  

3. Psychologists planning to provide services, teach or 

conduct research involving populations, areas, techniques or 

technologies new to them undertake relevant education, 

training, supervised experience, consultation or study. 

4. When psychologists are asked to provide services 

to individuals for whom appropriate mental health services 

are not available and for which psychologists have not 

obtained the competence necessary, psychologists with 

closely related prior training or experience may provide such 

services in order to ensure that services are not denied if they 

make a reasonable effort to obtain the competence required 

by using relevant research, training, consultation or study. 

5. In those emerging areas in which generally 

recognized standards for preparatory training do not yet 

exist, psychologists nevertheless take reasonable steps to 

ensure the competence of their work and to protect 

clients/patients, students, supervisees, research participants, 

organizational clients and others from harm. 

6. When assuming forensic roles, psychologists are or 

become reasonably familiar with the judicial or 

administrative rules governing their roles. 

B. Providing Services in Emergencies. In emergencies, 

when psychologists provide services to individuals for 

whom other mental health services are not available and for 

which psychologists have not obtained the necessary 

training, psychologists may provide such services in order to 

ensure that services are not denied. The services are 

discontinued as soon as the emergency has ended or 

appropriate services are available. 

C. Maintaining Competence. Psychologists undertake 

ongoing efforts to develop and maintain their competence. 

D. Bases for Scientific and Professional Judgments. 

Psychologists' work is based upon established scientific and 

professional knowledge of the discipline. 

E. Delegation of Work to Others. Psychologists who 

delegate work to employees, supervisees or research or 

teaching assistants or who use the services of others, such as 

interpreters, take reasonable steps to: 

1. avoid delegating such work to persons who have a 

multiple relationship with those being served that would 

likely lead to exploitation or loss of objectivity; 

2. authorize only those responsibilities that such 

persons can be expected to perform competently on the basis 

of their education, training or experience, either 

independently or with the level of supervision being 

provided; and 

3. see that such persons perform these services 

competently. 

F. Personal Problems and Conflicts 

1. Psychologists refrain from initiating an activity 

when they know or should know that there is a substantial 

likelihood that their personal problems will prevent them 

from performing their work-related activities in a competent 

manner. 

2. When psychologists become aware of personal 

problems that may interfere with their performing work-

related duties adequately, they take appropriate measures, 

such as obtaining professional consultation or assistance and 

determine whether they should limit, suspend or terminate 

their work-related duties.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1304. Human Relations 

A. Unfair Discrimination. In their work-related activities, 

psychologists do not engage in unfair discrimination based 

on age, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, culture, 

national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, 

socioeconomic status or any basis proscribed by law.  

B. Sexual Harassment. Psychologists do not engage in 

sexual harassment. Sexual harassment is sexual solicitation, 

physical advances or verbal or nonverbal conduct that is 

sexual in nature, that occurs in connection with the 

psychologist's activities or roles as a psychologist and that 

either: 

1. is unwelcome, is offensive or creates a hostile 

workplace or educational environment, and the psychologist 

knows or is told this; or 

2. is sufficiently severe or intense to be abusive to a 

reasonable person in the context. Sexual harassment can 

consist of a single intense or severe act or of multiple 

persistent or pervasive acts. 

C. Other Harassment. Psychologists do not knowingly 

engage in behavior that is harassing or demeaning to persons 

with whom they interact in their work based on factors such 

as those persons' age, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, 

culture, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, 

disability, language or socioeconomic status. 

D. Avoiding Harm. Psychologists take reasonable steps 

to avoid harming their clients/patients, students, supervisees, 

research participants, organizational clients and others with 
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whom they work, and to minimize harm where it is 

foreseeable and unavoidable. 

E. Multiple Relationships 

1. A multiple relationship occurs when a psychologist 

is in a professional role with a person, and  

a. at the same time is in another role with the same 

person; 

b. at the same time is in a relationship with a person 

closely associated with or related to the person with whom 

the psychologist has the professional relationship; or 

c. promises to enter into another relationship in the 

future with the person or a person closely associated with or 

related to the person. 

2. A psychologist shall not enter into a multiple 

relationship if the multiple relationship could reasonably be 

expected to impair the psychologist's objectivity, 

competence or effectiveness in performing his or her 

functions as a psychologist, or otherwise risks exploitation 

or harm to the person with whom the professional 

relationship exists. 

3. Multiple relationships that would not reasonably be 

expected to cause impairment or risk exploitation or harm 

are not unethical. 

4. If a psychologist finds that, due to unforeseen 

factors, a potentially harmful multiple relationship has 

arisen, the psychologist takes reasonable steps to resolve it 

with due regard for the best interests of the affected person 

and maximal compliance with this Chapter. 

5. When psychologists are required by law, 

institutional policy, or extraordinary circumstances to serve 

in more than one role in judicial or administrative 

proceedings, at the outset they: 

a. obtain written informed consent from all parties 

and/or court order; and 

b. clarify role expectations; and  

c. clarify the extent of confidentiality with regard to 

current roles, and thereafter as changes occur.  

F. Conflict of Interest. Psychologists refrain from taking 

on a professional role when personal, scientific, 

professional, legal, financial or other interests or 

relationships could reasonably be expected to: 

1. impair their objectivity, competence or 

effectiveness in performing their functions as psychologists, 

or  

2. expose the person or organization with whom the 

professional relationship exists to harm or exploitation. 

G. Third-Party Requests for Services. When 

psychologists agree to provide services to a person or entity 

at the request of a third party, psychologists attempt to 

clarify at the outset of the service the nature of the 

relationship with all individuals or organizations involved. 

This clarification includes the role of the psychologist (e.g., 

therapist, consultant, diagnostician, or expert witness), an 

identification of who is the client, the probable uses of the 

services provided or the information obtained, and the fact 

that there may be limits to confidentiality.  

H. Exploitative Relationships. Psychologists do not 

exploit persons over whom they have supervisory, evaluative 

or other authority such as clients/patients, students, 

supervisees, research participants and employees.  

I. Cooperation with Other Professionals. When 

indicated and professionally appropriate, psychologists 

cooperate with other professionals in order to serve their 

clients/patients effectively and appropriately.  

J. Informed Consent 

1. When psychologists conduct research or provide 

assessment, therapy, counseling or consulting services in 

person or via electronic transmission or other forms of 

communication, they obtain the informed consent of the 

individual or individuals using language that is reasonably 

understandable to that person or persons except when 

conducting such activities without consent is mandated by 

law or governmental regulation or as otherwise provided in 

this Chapter.  

2. For persons who are legally incapable of giving 

informed consent, psychologists nevertheless: 

a. provide an appropriate explanation; 

b. seek the individual's assent; 

c. consider such persons' preferences and best 

interests; and 

d. obtain appropriate permission from a legally 

authorized person, if such substitute consent is permitted or 

required by law. 

3. When consent by a legally authorized person is not 

permitted or required by law, psychologists take reasonable 

steps to protect the individual's rights and welfare. 

4. When psychological services are court ordered or 

otherwise mandated, psychologists inform the individual of 

the nature of the anticipated services, including whether the 

services are court ordered or mandated and any limits of 

confidentiality, before proceeding. 

5. Psychologists appropriately document written or 

oral consent, permission, and assent.  

K. Psychologists Delivering Services to or through 

Organizations 

1. Psychologists delivering services to or through 

organizations provide information beforehand to clients and 

when appropriate those directly affected by the services 

about: 

a. the nature and objectives of the services; 

b. the intended recipients; 

c. which of the individuals are clients; 

d. the relationship the psychologist will have with 

each person and the organization; 

e. the probable uses of services provided and 

information obtained; 

f. who will have access to the information; and, 

g. limits of confidentiality.  

2. As soon as feasible, psychologists provide 

information about the results and conclusions of such 

services to appropriate persons. If psychologists will be 

precluded by law or by organizational roles from providing 

such information to particular individuals or groups, they so 

inform those individuals or groups at the outset of the 

service. 

L. Interruption of Psychological Services. Unless 

otherwise covered by contract, psychologists make 

reasonable efforts to plan for facilitating services in the 

event that psychological services are interrupted by factors 

such as the psychologist's illness, death, unavailability, 

relocation or retirement or by the client's/patient's relocation 

or financial limitations.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1305. Privacy and Confidentiality 

A. Maintaining Confidentiality. Psychologists have a 

primary obligation and take reasonable precautions to 

protect confidential information obtained through or stored 

in any medium, recognizing that the extent and limits of 

confidentiality may be regulated by law or established by 

institutional rules or professional or scientific relationship.  

B. Discussing the Limits of Confidentiality 

1. Psychologists discuss with persons (including, to 

the extent feasible, persons who are legally incapable of 

giving informed consent and their legal representatives) and 

organizations with whom they establish a scientific or 

professional relationship:  

a. the relevant limits of confidentiality; and  

b. the foreseeable uses of the information generated 

through their psychological activities.  

2. Unless it is not feasible or is contraindicated, the 

discussion of confidentiality occurs at the outset of the 

relationship and thereafter as new circumstances may 

warrant. 

3. Psychologists who offer services, products, or 

information via electronic transmission inform 

clients/patients of the risks to privacy and limits of 

confidentiality. 

C. Recording 

1. Before recording the voices or images of 

individuals to whom they provide services, psychologists 

obtain permission from all such persons or their legal 

representative.  

D. Minimizing Intrusions on Privacy 

1. Psychologists include in written and oral reports 

and consultations only information germane to the purpose 

for which the communication is made. 

2. Psychologists discuss confidential information 

obtained in their work only for appropriate scientific or 

professional purposes and only with persons who have a 

legal or legitimate right to such information. 

E. Disclosures 

1. Psychologists may disclose confidential 

information with the appropriate consent of the 

organizational client, the individual client/patient or another 

legally authorized person on behalf of the client/patient 

unless prohibited by law. 

2. Psychologists disclose confidential information 

without the consent of the individual only as mandated by 

law, or where permitted by law for a valid purpose such as 

to:  

a. provide needed professional services;  

b. obtain appropriate professional consultations;  

c. protect the client/patient, psychologist, or others 

from harm; or  

d. obtain payment for services from a client/patient, 

in which instance disclosure is limited to the minimum that 

is necessary to achieve the purpose.  

F. Consultations 

1. When consulting with colleagues psychologists do 

not disclose confidential information that reasonably could 

lead to the identification of a client/patient, research 

participant or other person or organization with whom they 

have a confidential relationship unless they have obtained 

the prior consent of the person or organization or the 

disclosure cannot be avoided. 

2. When consulting with colleagues psychologists 

disclose information only to the extent necessary to achieve 

the purposes of the consultation.  

G. Use of Confidential Information for Didactic or Other 

Purposes 

1. Psychologists do not disclose in their writings, 

lectures or other public media, confidential, personally 

identifiable information concerning their clients/patients, 

students, research participants, organizational clients or other 

recipients of their services that they obtained during the 

course of their work, unless they take reasonable steps to 

disguise the person or organization, obtain written consent 

from the person or organization, or there is documented legal 

authorization for doing so. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1306. Advertising and Other Public Statements 

A. Avoidance of False or Deceptive Statements  

1. Public statements include but are not limited to paid 

or unpaid advertising, product endorsements, grant 

applications, licensing applications, other credentialing 

applications, brochures, printed matter, directory listings, 

personal resumes or curricula vitae or comments for use in 

media such as print or electronic transmission, statements in 

legal proceedings, lectures and public oral presentations and 

published materials. 

2. Psychologists do not knowingly make public 

statements that are false, deceptive or fraudulent concerning 

their research, practice or other work activities or those of 

persons or organizations with which they are affiliated. 

3. Psychologists do not make false, deceptive or 

fraudulent statements concerning: 

a. their training, experience or competence; 

b. their academic degrees; 

c. their credentials; 

d. their institutional or association affiliations;  

e. their services; 

f. the scientific or clinical basis for or results or 

degree of success of, their services; 

g. their fees; or  

h. their publications or research findings. 

4. Psychologists claim degrees as credentials for their 

health services only if those degrees were earned from a 

regionally accredited educational institution, or were the 

basis for psychology licensure by the state in which they 

practice. 

B. Statements by Others  

1. Psychologists who engage others to create or place 

public statements that promote their professional practice, 

products, or activities retain professional responsibility for 

such statements. 

2. Psychologists do not compensate employees of 

press, radio, television or other communication media in 

return for publicity in a news item.  

3. A paid advertisement relating to psychologists' 

activities must be identified or clearly recognizable as such. 

C. Descriptions of Workshops and Non-Degree-Granting 

Educational Programs. To the degree to which they exercise
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control, psychologists responsible for announcements, 

catalogs, brochures or advertisements describing workshops, 

seminars or other non-degree-granting educational programs 

ensure that they accurately describe the audience for which 

the program is intended, the educational objectives, the 

presenters and the fees involved. 

D. Media Presentations. When psychologists provide 

public advice or comment via print, Internet or other 

electronic transmission, they take precautions to ensure that 

statements: 

1. are based on their professional knowledge, training 

or experience in accord with appropriate psychological 

literature and practice; 

2. are otherwise consistent with this Chapter; and  

3. do not indicate that a professional relationship has 

been established with the recipient. 

E. Testimonials. Psychologists do not solicit testimonials 

from current therapy clients/patients or other persons who 

because of their particular circumstances are vulnerable to 

undue influence. 

F. In-Person Solicitation. Psychologists do not engage, 

directly or through agents, in uninvited in person solicitation 

of business from actual or potential therapy clients/patients 

or other persons who because of their particular 

circumstances are vulnerable to undue influence. However, 

this prohibition does not preclude: 

1. attempting to implement appropriate collateral 

contacts for the purpose of benefiting an already engaged 

therapy client/patient; or  

2. providing disaster or community outreach services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1307. Record Keeping and Fees 

A. Documentation of Professional and Scientific Work 

and Maintenance of Records. Psychologists create, and to 

the extent the records are under their control, maintain, 

disseminate, store, retain and dispose of records and data 

relating to their professional and scientific work in order to:  

1. facilitate provision of services later by them or by 

other professionals; 

2. allow for replication of research design and 

analyses; 

3. meet institutional requirements; 

4. ensure accuracy of billing and payments; and 

5. ensure compliance with law. 

B. Maintenance, Dissemination, and Disposal of 

Confidential Records of Professional and Scientific Work  

1. Psychologists maintain confidentiality in creating, 

storing, accessing, transferring and disposing of records 

under their control, whether these are written, automated or 

in any other medium.  

2. If confidential information concerning recipients of 

psychological services is entered into databases or systems 

of records available to persons whose access has not been 

consented to by the recipient, psychologists use coding or 

other techniques to avoid the inclusion of personal 

identifiers. 

3. Psychologists make plans in advance to facilitate 

the appropriate transfer and to protect the confidentiality of 

records and data in the event of psychologists' withdrawal 

from positions or practice.  

C. Withholding Records for Nonpayment. Psychologists 

may not withhold records under their control that are 

requested and needed for a client's/patient's emergency 

treatment solely because payment has not been received. 

D. Fees and Financial Arrangements  

1. As early as is feasible in a professional or scientific 

relationship, psychologists and recipients of psychological 

services reach an agreement specifying compensation and 

billing arrangements. 

2. Psychologists' fee practices are consistent with law. 

3. Psychologists do not misrepresent their fees. 

4. If limitations to services can be anticipated because 

of limitations in financing, this is discussed with the 

recipient of services as early as is feasible.  

5. If the recipient of services does not pay for services 

as agreed, and if psychologists intend to use collection 

agencies or legal measures to collect the fees, psychologists 

first inform the person that such measures will be taken and 

provide that person an opportunity to make prompt payment.  

E. Barter with Clients/Patients. Barter is the acceptance 

of goods, services, or other nonmonetary remuneration from 

clients/patients in return for psychological services. 

Psychologists ordinarily refrain from accepting goods, 

services, or other non-monetary remuneration from patients 

or clients in return for psychological services because such 

arrangements create inherent potential for conflicts, 

exploitation, and distortion of the professional relationship. 

A psychologist may participate in bartering only if:  

1. it is not clinically contraindicated; and  

2. the resulting arrangement is not exploitative 

F. Accuracy in Reports to Payors and Funding Sources. 

In their reports to payors for services or sources of research 

funding, psychologists take reasonable steps to ensure the 

accurate reporting of the nature of the service provided or 

research conducted, the fees, charges or payments, and 

where applicable, the identity of the provider, the findings 

and the diagnosis.  

G. Referrals and Fees. When psychologists pay, receive 

payment from or divide fees with another professional, other 

than in an employer-employee relationship, the payment to 

each is based on the services provided (clinical, consultative, 

administrative or other) and is not based on the referral 

itself.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1308. Education and Training 

A. Design of Education and Training Programs. 

Psychologists responsible for education and training 

programs take reasonable steps to ensure that the programs 

are designed to provide the appropriate knowledge and 

proper experiences, and to meet the requirements for 

licensure, certification or other goals for which claims are 

made by the program.  

B. Descriptions of Education and Training Programs. 

Psychologists responsible for education and training 

programs take reasonable steps to ensure that there is a 

current and accurate description of the program content 

(including participation in required course- or program-

related counseling, psychotherapy, experiential groups, 

consulting projects or community service), training goals 

and objectives, stipends and benefits and requirements that 
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must be met for satisfactory completion of the program. This 

information must be made readily available to all interested 

parties. 

C. Accuracy in Teaching  

1. Psychologists take reasonable steps to ensure that 

course syllabi are accurate regarding the subject matter to be 

covered, bases for evaluating progress and the nature of 

course experiences. This standard does not preclude an 

instructor from modifying course content or requirements 

when the instructor considers it pedagogically necessary or 

desirable, so long as students are made aware of these 

modifications in a manner that enables them to fulfill course 

requirements.  

2. When engaged in teaching or training, 

psychologists present psychological information accurately.  

D. Student Disclosure of Personal Information. 

Psychologists do not require students or supervisees to 

disclose personal information in course- or program-related 

activities, either orally or in writing, regarding sexual 

history, history of abuse and neglect, psychological 

treatment and relationships with parents, peers and spouses 

or significant others except if: 

1. the program or training facility has clearly 

identified this requirement in its admissions and program 

materials; or 

2. the information is necessary to evaluate or obtain 

assistance for students whose personal problems could 

reasonably be judged to be preventing them from performing 

their training- or professionally related activities in a 

competent manner or posing a threat to the students or 

others. 

E. Mandatory Individual or Group Therapy  

1. When individual or group therapy is a program or 

course requirement, psychologists responsible for that 

program allow students in undergraduate and graduate 

programs the option of selecting such therapy from 

practitioners unaffiliated with the program.  

2. Faculty who are or are likely to be responsible for 

evaluating students' academic performance do not 

themselves provide that therapy.  

F. Assessing Student and Supervisee Performance  

1. In academic and supervisory relationships, 

psychologists establish a timely and specific process for 

providing feedback to students and supervisees. Information 

regarding the process is provided to the student at the 

beginning of supervision. 

2. Psychologists evaluate students and supervisees on 

the basis of their actual performance on relevant and 

established program requirements. 

G. Sexual Relationships with Students and Supervisees. 

Psychologists do not engage in sexual relationships with 

students or supervisees who are in their department, agency, 

or training center or over whom psychologists have or are 

likely to have evaluative authority.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1309. Research and Publication 

A. Institutional Approval. When institutional approval is 

required, psychologists provide accurate information about 

their research proposals and obtain approval prior to 

conducting the research. They conduct the research in 

accordance with the approved research protocol. 

B. Informed Consent to Research  

1. When obtaining informed consent psychologists 

inform participants about: 

a. the purpose of the research, expected duration 

and procedures; 

b. their right to decline to participate and to 

withdraw from the research once participation has begun; 

c. the foreseeable consequences of declining or 

withdrawing; 

d. reasonably foreseeable factors that may be 

expected to influence their willingness to participate such as 

potential risks, discomfort or adverse effects; 

e. any prospective research benefits; 

f. limits of confidentiality; 

g. incentives for participation; 

h. whom to contact for questions about the research 

and research participants' rights; and 

g. they provide opportunity for the prospective 

participants to ask questions and receive answers.  

2. Psychologists conducting intervention research 

involving the use of experimental treatments clarify to 

participants at the outset of the research: 

a. the experimental nature of the treatment; 

b. the services that will or will not be available to 

the control group(s) if appropriate; 

c. the means by which assignment to treatment and 

control groups will be made; 

d. available treatment alternatives if an individual 

does not wish to participate in the research or wishes to 

withdraw once a study has begun; and 

e. compensation for or monetary costs of 

participating including, if appropriate, whether 

reimbursement from the participant or a third-party payor 

will be sought.  

C. Informed Consent for Recording Voices and Images 

in Research. Psychologists obtain informed consent from 

research participants prior to recording their voices or 

images for data collection unless: 

1. the research consists solely of naturalistic 

observations in public places, and it is not anticipated that 

the recording will be used in a manner that could cause 

personal identification or harm; or 

2. the research design includes deception, and consent 

for the use of the recording is obtained during debriefing.  

D. Client/Patient, Student, and Subordinate Research 

Participants  

1. When psychologists conduct research with 

clients/patients, students or subordinates as participants, 

psychologists take steps to protect the prospective 

participants from adverse consequences of declining or 

withdrawing from participation. 
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2. When research participation is a course requirement 

or an opportunity for extra credit, the prospective participant 

is given the choice of equitable alternative activities. 

E. Dispensing with Informed Consent for Research. 

Psychologists may dispense with informed consent only 

where research would not reasonably be assumed to create 

distress or harm and involves: 

1. the study of normal educational practices, curricula, 

or classroom management methods conducted in educational 

settings; 

2. only anonymous questionnaires, naturalistic 

observations or archival research for which disclosure of 

responses would not place participants at risk of criminal or 

civil liability or damage their financial standing, 

employability or reputation, and confidentiality is protected; 

or 

3. the study of factors related to job or organization 

effectiveness conducted in organizational settings for which 

there is no risk to participants' employability, and 

confidentiality is protected; or  

4. where otherwise permitted by law or federal or 

institutional regulations. 

F. Offering Inducements for Research Participation  

1. Psychologists make reasonable efforts to avoid 

offering excessive or inappropriate financial or other 

inducements for research participation when such 

inducements are likely to coerce participation. 

2. When offering professional services as an 

inducement for research participation, psychologists clarify 

the nature of the services, as well as the risks, obligations 

and limitations.  

G. Deception in Research  

1. Psychologists do not conduct a study involving 

deception unless they have determined that the use of 

deceptive techniques is justified by the study's significant 

prospective scientific, educational or applied value and that 

effective nondeceptive alternative procedures are not 

feasible. 

2. Psychologists do not deceive prospective 

participants about research that is reasonably expected to 

cause physical pain or severe emotional distress. 

3. Psychologists explain any deception that is an 

integral feature of the design and conduct of an experiment 

to participants as early as is feasible, preferably at the 

conclusion of their participation, but no later than at the 

conclusion of the data collection, and permit participants to 

withdraw their data.  

H. Debriefing  

1. Psychologists provide a prompt opportunity for 

participants to obtain appropriate information about the 

nature, results, and conclusions of the research, and they 

take reasonable steps to correct any misconceptions that 

participants may have of which the psychologists are aware. 

2. If scientific or humane values justify delaying or 

withholding this information, psychologists take reasonable 

measures to reduce the risk of harm. 

3. When psychologists become aware that research 

procedures have harmed a participant, they take reasonable 

steps to minimize the harm. 

I. Humane Care and Use of Animals in Research  

1. Psychologists acquire, care for, use, and dispose of 

animals in compliance with current federal, state and local 

laws and regulations, and with professional standards. 

2. Psychologists trained in research methods and 

experienced in the care of laboratory animals supervise all 

procedures involving animals and are responsible for 

ensuring appropriate consideration of their comfort, health 

and humane treatment. 

3. Psychologists ensure that all individuals under their 

supervision who are using animals have received instruction 

in research methods and in the care, maintenance and 

handling of the species being used, to the extent appropriate 

to their role.  

4. Psychologists make reasonable efforts to minimize 

the discomfort, infection, illness and pain of animal subjects. 

5. Psychologists use a procedure subjecting animals to 

pain, stress or privation only when an alternative procedure 

is unavailable and the goal is justified by its prospective 

scientific, educational or applied value. 

6. Psychologists perform surgical procedures under 

appropriate anesthesia and follow techniques to avoid 

infection and minimize pain during and after surgery. 

7. When it is appropriate that an animal's life be 

terminated, psychologists proceed rapidly, with an effort to 

minimize pain and in accordance with accepted procedures. 

J. Reporting Research Results 

1. Psychologists do not fabricate data.  

2. If psychologists discover significant errors in their 

published data, they take reasonable steps to correct such 

errors in a correction, retraction, erratum or other 

appropriate publication means. 

K. Plagiarism. Psychologists do not present portions of 

another's work or data as their own, even if the other work or 

data source is cited occasionally. 

L. Publication Credit  

1. Psychologists take responsibility and credit, 

including authorship credit, only for work they have actually 

performed or to which they have substantially contributed.  

2. Principal authorship and other publication credits 

accurately reflect the relative scientific or professional 

contributions of the individuals involved, regardless of their 

relative status. Mere possession of an institutional position, 

such as department chair, does not justify authorship credit. 

Minor contributions to the research or to the writing for 

publications are acknowledged appropriately, such as in 

footnotes or in an introductory statement. 

3. Except under exceptional circumstances, a student 

is listed as principal author on any multiple-authored article 

that is substantially based on the student's doctoral 

dissertation. Faculty advisors discuss publication credit with 

students as early as feasible and throughout the research and 

publication process as appropriate.  

M. Duplicate Publication of Data. Psychologists do not 

publish, as original data, data that have been previously 

published. This does not preclude republishing data when 

they are accompanied by proper acknowledgment. 

N. Sharing Research Data for Verification 

1. After research results are published, psychologists 

do not withhold the data on which their conclusions are
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based from other competent professionals who seek to verify 

the substantive claims through reanalysis and who intend to 

use such data only for that purpose, provided that the 

confidentiality of the participants can be protected and 

unless legal rights concerning proprietary data preclude their 

release. This does not preclude psychologists from requiring 

that such individuals or groups be responsible for costs 

associated with the provision of such information. 

2. Psychologists who request data from other 

psychologists to verify the substantive claims through 

reanalysis may use shared data only for the declared 

purpose. Requesting psychologists obtain prior written 

agreement for all other uses of the data. 

O. Reviewers. Psychologists who review material 

submitted for presentation, publication, grant or research 

proposal review respect the confidentiality of and the 

proprietary rights in such information of those who 

submitted it. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1311. Assessment 

A. Bases for Assessments  

1. Psychologists base the opinions contained in their 

recommendations, reports and diagnostic or evaluative 

statements, including forensic testimony, on information and 

techniques sufficient to substantiate their findings.  

2. Except as noted in this section, psychologists 

provide opinions of the psychological characteristics of 

individuals only after they have conducted an examination 

of the individuals adequate to support their statements or 

conclusions. When, despite reasonable efforts, such an 

examination is not practical, psychologists document the 

efforts they made and the result of those efforts, clarify the 

probable impact of their limited information on the 

reliability and validity of their opinions and appropriately 

limit the nature and extent of their conclusions or 

recommendations.  

3. When psychologists conduct a record review or 

provide consultation or supervision and an individual 

examination is not warranted or necessary for the opinion, 

psychologists explain this and the sources of information on 

which they based their conclusions and recommendations. 

B. Use of Assessments  

1. Psychologists administer, adapt, score, interpret or 

use assessment techniques, interviews, tests or instruments 

in a manner and for purposes that are appropriate in light of 

the research on or evidence of the usefulness and proper 

application of the techniques. 

2. Psychologists use assessment instruments whose 

validity and reliability have been established for use with 

members of the population tested. When such validity or 

reliability has not been established, psychologists describe 

the strengths and limitations of test results and interpretation. 

3. Psychologists use assessment methods that are 

appropriate to an individual's language preference and 

competence, unless the use of an alternative language is 

relevant to the assessment issues. 

C. Informed Consent in Assessments  

1. Psychologists obtain informed consent for 

assessments, evaluations or diagnostic services, except 

when: 

a. testing is mandated by law or governmental 

regulations; 

b. informed consent is implied because testing is 

conducted as a routine educational, institutional or 

organizational activity (e.g., when participants voluntarily 

agree to assessment when applying for a job); or  

c. one purpose of the testing is to evaluate 

decisional capacity. Informed consent includes an 

explanation of the nature and purpose of the assessment, 

fees, involvement of third parties and limits of 

confidentiality and sufficient opportunity for the 

client/patient to ask questions and receive answers. 

2. Psychologists inform persons with questionable 

capacity to consent or for whom testing is mandated by law 

or governmental regulations about the nature and purpose of 

the proposed assessment services, using language that is 

reasonably understandable to the person being assessed. 

3. Psychologists using the services of an interpreter 

obtain informed consent from the client/patient to use that 

interpreter, ensure that confidentiality of test results and test 

security are maintained, and include in their 

recommendations, reports and diagnostic or evaluative 

statements, including forensic testimony, discussion of any 

limitations on the data obtained.  

D. Release of Test Data  

1. The term test data refers to raw and scaled scores, 

client/patient responses to test questions or stimuli and 

psychologists' notes and recordings concerning client/patient 

statements and behavior during an examination. Those 

portions of test materials that include client/patient responses 

are included in the definition of test data. Pursuant to a 

client/patient release, psychologists provide test data to the 

client/patient or other persons identified in the release. 

Psychologists may refrain from releasing test data to protect 

a client/patient or others from substantial harm or misuse or 

misrepresentation of the data or the test, recognizing that in 

many instances release of confidential information under 

these circumstances is regulated by law.  

2. In the absence of a client/patient release, 

psychologists provide test data only as required by law or 

court order. 

E. Test Construction. Psychologists who develop tests 

and other assessment techniques use appropriate 

psychometric procedures and current scientific or 

professional knowledge for test design, standardization, 

validation, reduction or elimination of bias and 

recommendations for use. 

F. Interpreting Assessment Results. When interpreting 

assessment results, including automated interpretations, 

psychologists take into account the purpose of the 

assessment as well as the various test factors, test-taking 

abilities and other characteristics of the person being 

assessed, such as situational, personal, linguistic and cultural 

differences that might affect psychologists' judgments or 

reduce the accuracy of their interpretations. They indicate 

any significant limitations of their interpretations.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 582 

G. Assessment by Unqualified Persons. Psychologists do 

not promote the use of psychological assessment techniques 

by unqualified persons, except when such use is conducted 

for training purposes with appropriate supervision.  

H. Obsolete Tests and Outdated Test Results 

1. Psychologists do not base their assessment or 

intervention decisions or recommendations on data or test 

results that are outdated for the current purpose. 

2. Psychologists do not base such decisions or 

recommendations on tests and measures that are obsolete 

and not useful for the current purpose. 

I. Test Scoring and Interpretation Services  

1. Psychologists who offer assessment or scoring 

services to other professionals accurately describe the 

purpose, norms, validity, reliability and applications of the 

procedures and any special qualifications applicable to their 

use. 

2. Psychologists select scoring and interpretation 

services (including automated services) on the basis of 

evidence of the validity of the program and procedures as 

well as on other appropriate considerations.  

3. Psychologists retain responsibility for the 

appropriate application, interpretation and use of assessment 

instruments, whether they score and interpret such tests 

themselves or use automated or other services. 

J. Explaining Assessment Results. Regardless of 

whether the scoring and interpretation are done by 

psychologists, by employees or assistants or by automated or 

other outside services, psychologists take reasonable steps to 

ensure that explanations of results are given to the individual 

or designated representative unless the nature of the 

relationship precludes provision of an explanation of results 

(such as in some organizational consulting, pre-employment 

or security screenings, and forensic evaluations), and this 

fact has been clearly explained to the person being assessed 

in advance. 

K. Maintaining Test Security. The term test materials 

refers to manuals, instruments, protocols and test questions 

or stimuli and does not include test data as defined in 

§1311.D. Release of Test Data. Psychologists make 

reasonable efforts to maintain the integrity and security of 

test materials and other assessment techniques consistent 

with law and contractual obligations, and in a manner that 

permits adherence to this Chapter. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§1312. Therapy 

A. Informed Consent to Therapy 

1. When obtaining informed consent to therapy as 

required in §1304.J of this Chapter, psychologists inform 

clients/patients as early as is feasible in the therapeutic 

relationship about the nature and anticipated course of 

therapy, fees, involvement of third parties and limits of 

confidentiality and provide sufficient opportunity for the 

client/patient to ask questions and receive answers.  

2. When obtaining informed consent for treatment for 

which generally recognized techniques and procedures have 

not been established, psychologists inform their 

clients/patients of the developing nature of the treatment, the 

potential risks involved, alternative treatments that may be 

available and the voluntary nature of their participation.  

3. When the therapist is a trainee and the legal 

responsibility for the treatment provided resides with the 

supervisor, the client/patient, as part of the informed consent 

procedure, is informed that the therapist is in training and is 

being supervised and is given the name of the supervisor. 

B. Therapy Involving Couples or Families 

1. When psychologists agree to provide services to 

several persons who have a relationship (such as spouses, 

significant others, or parents and children), they take 

reasonable steps to clarify at the outset:  

a. which of the individuals are clients/patients; and  

b. the relationship the psychologist will have with 

each person. This clarification includes the psychologist's 

role and the probable uses of the services provided or the 

information obtained.  

2. If it becomes apparent that psychologists may be 

called on to perform potentially conflicting roles (such as 

family therapist and then witness for one party in divorce 

proceedings), psychologists take reasonable steps to clarify 

and modify, or withdraw from, roles appropriately.  

C. Group Therapy. When psychologists provide services 

to several persons in a group setting, they describe at the 

outset the roles and responsibilities of all parties and the 

limits of confidentiality. 

D. Providing Therapy to Those Served by Others. In 

deciding whether to offer or provide services to those 

already receiving mental health services elsewhere, 

psychologists carefully consider the treatment issues and the 

potential client's/patient's welfare. Psychologists discuss 

these issues with the client/patient or another legally 

authorized person on behalf of the client/patient in order to 

minimize the risk of confusion and conflict, consult with the 

other service providers when appropriate, and proceed with 

caution and sensitivity to the therapeutic issues. 

E. Sexual Intimacies with Current Therapy 

Clients/Patients. Psychologists do not engage in sexual 

intimacies with current therapy clients/patients. 

F. Sexual Intimacies with Relatives or Significant Others 

of Current Therapy Clients/Patients. Psychologists do not 

engage in sexual intimacies with individuals they know to be 

close relatives, guardians, or significant others of current 

clients/patients. Psychologists do not terminate therapy to 

circumvent this standard. 

G. Therapy with Former Sexual Partners. Psychologists 

do not accept as therapy clients/patients persons with whom 

they have engaged in sexual intimacies. 

H. Sexual Intimacies with Former Therapy 

Clients/Patients 

1. Psychologists do not engage in sexual intimacies 

with former clients/patients for at least two years after 

cessation or termination of therapy. 

2. Psychologists do not engage in sexual intimacies 

with former clients/patients even after a two-year interval 

except in the most unusual circumstances. Psychologists 

who engage in such activity after the two years following 

cessation or termination of therapy and of having no sexual 

contact with the former client/patient bear the burden of 

demonstrating that there has been no exploitation, in light of 

all relevant factors, including:  

a. the amount of time that has passed since therapy 

terminated;  

b. the nature, duration, and intensity of the therapy; 
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c. the circumstances of termination; 

d. the client's/patient's personal history; 

e. the client's/patient's current mental status; 

f. the likelihood of adverse impact on the 

client/patient; and 

g. any statements or actions made by the therapist 

during the course of therapy suggesting or inviting the 

possibility of a post-termination sexual or romantic 

relationship with the client/patient.  

I. Interruption of Therapy. When entering into 

employment or contractual relationships, psychologists 

make reasonable efforts to provide for orderly and 

appropriate resolution of responsibility for client/patient care 

in the event that the employment or contractual relationship 

ends, with paramount consideration given to the welfare of 

the client/patient.  

J. Terminating Therapy 

1. Psychologists terminate therapy when it becomes 

reasonably clear that the client/patient no longer needs the 

service, is not likely to benefit, or is being harmed by 

continued service. 

2. Psychologists may terminate therapy when 

threatened or otherwise endangered by the client/patient or 

another person with whom the client/patient has a 

relationship. 

3. Except where precluded by the actions of 

clients/patients or third-party payors, prior to termination 

psychologists provide pre-termination counseling and 

suggest alternative service providers as appropriate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

The Board of Examiners of Psychologists hereby issues 

this Family Impact Statement as set forth in R.S. 49:972. 

The proposed Rule related to the continuing education 

requirements of psychologists will have no known or 

foreseeable impact on the stability of the family; authority 

and rights of parents regarding the education and supervision 

of their children; functioning of the family; family earnings 

and family budget; behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or, the ability of the family or a local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed modifications regulate licensed 

psychologists in the interest of health, safety and the welfare 

of the public. The Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any child, individual or family as 

defined by R.S. 49:973.B. Specifically, there is no known or 

foreseeable effect on: household income, assets, and 

financial security; early childhood development and 

preschool through postsecondary education development; 

employment and workforce development; taxes and tax 

credits; or, child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

2014 Regular Legislative Session. Specifically, there is no 

known or foreseeable effect on the staffing level

requirements or qualifications required to provide the same 

level of service; the total direct or indirect cost to the 

providers to provide the same level of service; or the overall 

ability of the provider to provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jaime 

T. Monic, Executive Director, 8706 Jefferson Highway, 

Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 

submitted by 12 noon on April 10, 2017. 

 

Jaime T. Monic 

Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Ethical Code of Conduct of Psychologists 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA Board of 

Examiners of Psychologists $1,000 in FY 17, it is not 

anticipated that state or local governmental units will incur any 

other costs or savings as a result of promulgation of the 

proposed rule. The proposed rule codifies the psychologist’s 

code of ethics into the LAC 46:LXIII, Psychologists. The 

standards are derived from the American Psychological 

Association’s model ethics code, which is currently being 

practiced. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 

governmental revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change is not anticipated to result in 

costs and/or economic benefits to any person or non-

governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 

and/or employment. 

 

Jaime T. Monic Evan Brasseaux 

Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#022 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Fees (LAC 46:LXIII.601 and 603) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 

that the Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to 

amend §§601 and 603 to define fees charged by the board in 

accordance with the Louisiana licensing law for 

psychologist, 37:2354 and the Administrative Procedure Act, 

R.S. 49:968 and 971. 
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Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Chapter 6. Fees 

§601. Licensing Fees 

A. Licensing Fees 

 

Licensing Fees Amount 

Application for Licensure $200 

Application for Provisional Licensure 200 

Application for Temporary Registration 125 

Jurisprudence Examination Fee 75 

Oral Examination (Licensure, specialty change or 

additional specialty) 250 

License Renewal 350 

License Renewal Fee for Psychologists Qualifying under 
R.S. 37:2354(E) for a reduced rate 175 

Provisional License Renewal 100 

Reinstatement of Lapsed License 

(Application plus renewal fee) 550 

Processing Fees for Paper Renewals 15 

License Renewal Extension Request 25 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2354. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 

33:648 (April 2007), amended LR 39:311 (February 2013), LR 

41:2618 (December 2015), amended the Department of Health, 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

§603. Administrative/Other Fees 

A. Administrative/Other Fees 

 

Administrative/Other Fees Amount 

Address List/Labels $100 

License Verification 15 

Disciplinary Action Report 25 

Replacement Renewal Certificate 15 

Replacement License Certificate 25 

Miscellaneous Copy Fee (other records) $1 page one, 

$0.25 each page 

thereafter 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2354. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 

33:648 (April 2007), amended LR 39:311 (February 2013), LR 

41:2618 (December 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43:  

Family Impact Statement 

The Board of Examiners of Psychologists hereby issues 

this Family Impact Statement as set forth in R.S. 49:972.The 

proposed Rule related to the supervision requirements of 

psychologists and specialists in school psychology for 

licensure is anticipated to have a positive impact on the 

stability of the family; authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children; 

functioning of the family; behavior and personal 

responsibility of children as it relates to promptly facilitating 

the licensure of qualified professionals who may work with 

families and families of school aged children to promote 

their health, education and well-being. This proposed Rule is 

not anticipated to have an impact on family earnings and 

family budget or the ability of the family or a local 

government to perform the function as contained in the 

proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed modifications regulate the licensing 

requirements of the psychologists and specialist in school 

psychology in the interest of health, safety and the welfare of 

the public. The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable negative impact on any child, individual or 

family as defined by R.S. 49:973(B). Specifically, there is no 

known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. household income, assets, and financial security; 

2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 

3. employment and workforce development; 

4. taxes and tax credits; or 

5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

2014 Regular Legislative Session. Specifically, there is no 

known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct or indirect cost to the providers to 

provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall ability of the provider to provide the 

same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jaime 

T. Monic, Executive Director, 8706 Jefferson Highway, 

Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 

submitted by 12 p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 

Jaime T. Monic 

Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Fees 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA Board of 

Examiners of Psychologists $500 in FY17, it is not anticipated 

that state or local governmental units will incur any other costs 

or savings as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will increase the revenue collections of 

the Board by approximately $20,801 in FY 17, $22,954 in FY 

18 and $25,322 in FY 19. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This amendment reinstates fees that were inadvertently 

dropped, adds a new fee for copies, increases annual renewal 

and reinstatement fees, and removes the photo ID card fees.  

The fees that were inadvertently dropped in an amendment 

published in December 20, 2015 include: the Replacement 

Renewal Certificate fee of $10 each, The Processing Fee for 

Paper Renewals at $15 each, and the Renewal Extension 

Request fee at $25 each.  
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This amendment proposes to add a reasonable copy charge 

for other records requested to be provided by the Board in the 

amount of $1 for the first page and $.25 for each page 

thereafter.  

This proposed amendment increases the annual licensing 

renewal fee for psychologists from $320 to $350, or for 

qualifying psychologists 65 years of age or older from $160 to 

$175. In accordance with RS 37:2354.C, the reinstatement fee 

must equal the application fee plus the renewal fee. As a result, 

the reinstatement fee will increase by $30 which is applicable 

only if a psychologist allows their license to lapse for failure to 

pay the required renewal fee or submit continuing education as 

required by the laws and rules that govern this Board.  

This proposed amendment increases the application fee for 

a provisional license by $50. This proposed amendment also 

aims to eliminate obsolete fees, including the Photo ID Card, 

which is no longer available for purchase.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

No effect on competition and employment is anticipated as 

a result of this rule change. 

 

Jaime T. Monic Evan Brasseaux 

Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#020 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists 

Supervision of Psychologists and Licensed Specialists in 

School Psychology (LAC 46:LXIII.703 and 3301) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 

of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists intends to amend LAC 

46:LXIII.703 and 3301. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LXIII.  Psychologists 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 7. Supervised Practice Leading toward 

Licensure 

§703. Duration and Setting of Supervised Practice 

A. ... 

1. Postdoctoral supervised practice hours can begin 

accruing after the date on which all requirements for the 

doctoral degree are met, with no outstanding points of 

evaluation, and verified by the degree-granting institution. 

Verification must occur via submission of a form and 

process as delineated by the board. Credit shall not be 

granted for practice that is in connection with the course 

work practicum experience for which predoctoral graduate 

credits are granted. 

2. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2353. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of 

Psychologists, LR 5:249 (August 1979), amended LR 7:187 (April 

1981), LR 13:180 (March 1987), amended by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 

29:2075 (October 2003), LR 36:1007 (May 2010), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 

43: 

Subpart 2.  Licensed Specialists in School Psychology 

Chapter 33. Definition of Applicant for Licensure as a 

Specialist in School Psychology 

§3301. Definition 

A. - A.4. ... 

5. has completed an internship of at least 1200 hours 

and nine months in duration, conducted under the 

supervision of a certified school psychologist in a school 

setting or by a licensed psychologist in a community setting. 

Of the 1200 hundred hours, 600 hours shall be completed in 

a school setting; 

6. has completed three years of supervised experience 

as a certified school psychologist within the public school 

system. One year of full-time employment or experience, 

obtained as part of an acceptable internship as defined by the 

board under §3403 of this Title, may be applied toward the 

three years of required supervision. Such experience must be 

obtained within one academic year, in a public school 

system. Such “academic year” shall be defined by the school 

calendar in the district of practice; 

A.7. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2357. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 

41:2621 (December 2015), amended by the Department of Health, 

Board of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

The Board of Examiners of Psychologists hereby issues 

this Family Impact Statement as set forth in R.S. 49:972. 

The proposed Rule related to the supervision requirements 

of psychologists and specialists in school psychology for 

licensure is anticipated to have a positive impact on the 

stability of the family; authority and rights of parents 

regarding the education and supervision of their children; 

functioning of the family; behavior and personal 

responsibility of children as it relates to promptly facilitating 

the licensure of qualified professionals who may work with 

families and families of school aged children to promote 

their health, education and well-being. This proposed Rule is 

not anticipated to have an impact on family earnings and 

family budget or the ability of the family or a local 

government to perform the function as contained in the 

proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed modifications regulate the licensing 

requirements of the psychologists and specialist in school 

psychology in the interest of health, safety and the welfare of 

the public. The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable negative impact on any child, individual or 

family as defined by R.S. 49:973(B). Specifically, there is no 

known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. household income, assets, and financial security; 

2. early childhood development and preschool through 

postsecondary education development; 

3. employment and workforce development; 

4. taxes and tax credits; or 

5. child and dependent care, housing, health care, 

nutrition, transportation, and utilities assistance. 
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Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

2014 Regular Legislative Session. Specifically, there is no 

known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the staffing level requirements or qualifications 

required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct or indirect cost to the providers to 

provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall ability of the provider to provide the 

same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jaime 

T. Monic, Executive Director, 8706 Jefferson Highway, 

Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All comments must be 

submitted by 12 p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 

Jaime T. Monic 

Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Supervision of Psychologists and 

Licensed Specialists in School Psychology 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA Board of 

Examiners of Psychologists $500 in FY 17, it is not anticipated 

that state or local governmental units will incur any other costs 

or savings as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule. The 

proposed rule clarifies that, for individuals applying for a 

license as a Licensed Psychologist, postdoctoral supervision 

hours can accrue after all doctoral degree requirements are met. 

The proposed rule also clarifies that the supervision obtained in 

an internship may be applied toward the required three years of 

supervised experience needed to obtain a Licensed Specialists 

in School Psychology license. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 

governmental revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This rule benefits those applying for a license as a Licensed 

Psychologist in that it allows postdoctoral supervision hours to 

accrue after doctoral degree requirements are met, but before 

the doctoral degree is conferred. This rule also benefits those 

applying for a license as a Licensed Specialist in School 

Psychology in that it allows for experience gained under a 

supervised internship to be applied toward the experience 

needed to obtain the license.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 

and/or employment. 

 

Jaime T. Monic Evan Brasseaux 

Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#021 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 

 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Board of Medical Examiners 

Athletic Trainers General, Licensure and Practice; 

(LAC 46:XLV.Chapters 1, 31 and 57) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 

and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State 

Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 

Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270, and the Louisiana 

Athletic Trainers Law, R.S. 37:3303, the board proposes to 

amend its rules on athletic trainers (ATs) to accommodate 

changes to the law resulting from Act 418 of the 2014 

Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and to update 

the rules generally as made necessary by the passage of time 

and current practices. Among other items, the proposed 

amendments: convert the authority to practice from 

certification to a license (Chapters 1, 31 and 57); revise 

various definitions (§§3103, 5703, 5705); update the 

educational requirements for licensure eligibility for 

consistency with the law (§3107); reduce to a simple 

majority e.g., 4 of the 7 members of its advisory committee 

necessary for a quorum (§3104.E); provide for licensure by 

reciprocity for those possessing the requirements prescribed 

for Louisiana applicants (§3109); repeal various provisions 

that are no longer applicable (§§3111-3125); update 

designation of the examination entity from the National 

Athletic Trainers Association to the BOC (§§3133, 3147); 

simplify seldom-used provisions on temporary permits 

(§3162) and remove the associated fee (§161.B); streamline 

provisions relative to continuing education and provide for 

BOC approved continuing education (CE) programs 

(§§3163-3179). Currently, athletic trainers must earn and 

report 24 credit hours of CE every two years. The proposed 

amendments would require athletic trainers to earn and 

report 12 hours of CE annually (§§3159, 3165). The 

proposed changes also: update the provisions dealing with 

exemptions from licensure to provide for assistant coaches 

administering and supervising their normal sports activities 

and students enrolled in an accredited training program 

(§5111); provide for compliance with the code of ethics of 

the BOC (§5717); and incorporate the causes prescribed by 

law upon which the board may refuse to issue, or take action 

against, a license (§5719). 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 

Subchapter F. Athletic Trainers Fees 

§159. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the fees and 

costs applicable to the licensure of athletic trainers. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:234 (February 

2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§161. Licenses  

A. For processing applications for licensure as an athletic 

trainer, a fee of $125 shall be payable to the board.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:234 (February 

2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§163. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing an application for annual renewal of 

an athletic trainer's license, a fee of $100 shall be payable to 

the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

10:907 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:235 (February 

2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 

Chapter 31. Athletic Trainers 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§3101. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the licensure of 

athletic trainers in the state of Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:522 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3103. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms and 

phrases shall have the meanings specified. 

Advisory Committee―the Athletic Training Advisory 

Committee to the Board, constituted under and pursuant to 

§3104. 

Applicant―a person who has applied to the board for 

licensure as an athletic trainer. 

Application―a request received by the board, in a 

manner prescribed by the board, for licensure as an athletic 

trainer in the state of Louisiana. 

Athlete―an individual designated as such by the board, 

an educational institution, a professional athletic 

organization, or other board-approved organization who 

participates in an athletic activity sponsored by such 

institution or organization. 

Athletic Trainer―an individual licensed by the board as 

an athletic trainer with the specific qualifications set forth in 

R.S. 37:3306.1 who, under the general supervision of a 

physician, carries out the practice of prevention, emergency 

management, and physical rehabilitation of injuries and 

sports-related conditions incurred by athletes. In carrying out 

these functions, the athletic trainer shall use whatever 

physical modalities are prescribed by a team physician or 

consulting physician, or both.  

* * * 

Board-Approved Organization―one of the following: 

a. Approved organization, including but not limited 

to the Amateur Athletic Union, the International Olympic 

Committee and its affiliates including but not limited to the 

U.S. Olympic Committee, the Pan American Sports 

Organization, the National Collegiate Athletic Association, 

the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics, college 

and university intramural sports, and sports events of the 

National Federation of State High School Associations; 

b. An organization, whose athletic activity meets 

one or more of the following: 

 i. has an officially-designated coach or individual 

who has the responsibility for athletic activities of the 

organization; 

 ii. has a regular schedule of practices or workouts 

that are supervised by an officially-designated coach or 

individual; 

 iii. is an activity generally recognized as having an 

established schedule of competitive events or exhibitions; 

 iv. has a policy that requires documentation of 

having a signed medical clearance by a licensed physician or 

other board authorized health care provider as a condition 

for participation for the athletic activities of the organization.  

BOC―Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer or 

its successor. 

CAATE―the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic 

Training Education or its successor. 

Educational institution―a university, college, junior 

college, high school, junior high school, or grammar school, 

whether public or private. 

LATA―the Louisiana Athletic Trainer’s Association. 

Licensure or License―the board's official recognition of 

a person's lawful authority to act and serve as an athletic 

trainer as such term is defined by the law, R.S. 37:3302. 

Louisiana Athletic Trainers Law or the Law―Acts 

1985, number 288, as amended, R.S. 37:3301-3313. 

* * * 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313 and 37:1270(B)(6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:522 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 24:937 (May 1998), amended by the Department of 

Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3104. Athletic Training Advisory Committee 

A. ... 

B. Composition and Qualifications. The advisory 

committee shall comprise seven members, including five 

athletic trainers and two physicians, each of whom shall, to 

be eligible for and prior to appointment to the committee, be 

licensed as an athletic trainer or licensed as a physician by 

and in good standing with the board, have maintained 

residency and practice in the state of Louisiana for not less 

than one year and have not less than three years of 

experience in their respective fields. In addition to such 

general qualifications, the athletic trainer and physician 

members of the advisory committee shall satisfy the 

following qualifications. 

1. Athletic Trainer Members. The athletic trainer 

members of the committee shall be appointed and 

apportioned as follows: 
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a. - b. ... 

c. insofar as practical or possible, in its appointment 

of members to the advisory committee, the board shall 

maintain geographic diversity so as to provide membership 

on the advisory committee by licensed athletic trainers 

residing and practicing throughout Louisiana, with at least 

one member from the Alexandria, Louisiana area or north, 

and at least one member from south of such area. 

2. - 2.b. ... 

C. Appointment; Term of Service. Each member of the 

advisory committee shall be appointed by the board. Each 

member of the advisory committee shall serve on the 

committee for a term of three years, or until his or her 

successor is appointed, and shall be eligible for 

reappointment. 

D. Functions and Responsibilities of the Committee. The 

advisory committee is responsible and authorized by the 

board to: 

1. assist the board in examining the qualifications and 

credentials of applicants for athletic trainer licensure and 

make recommendations thereon to the board; 

2. advise and assist the board, as the board may 

request, with respect to investigative and disciplinary 

proceedings affecting licensed athletic trainers; 

3. provide advice and recommendations to the board 

respecting the modification, amendment, and 

supplementation of rules and regulations, standards, policies, 

and procedures respecting athletic trainer licensure and 

practice; and 

4. establish and appoint a continuing education 

subcommittee, comprising no fewer than three athletic 

trainer members of the advisory committee, to discharge the 

responsibilities prescribed by §3169.  

E. Committee Meetings, Officers. The advisory 

committee shall meet at least once each calendar year, or 

more frequently as may be deemed necessary by a quorum 

of the committee or as requested by the board. The presence 

of four members including at least one physician member, 

shall constitute a quorum of the advisory committee. The 

advisory committee shall elect, from among its members, a 

chairman, a vice-chair, and a secretary. The chairman, or in 

his absence or unavailability, the vice-chair, shall call, 

designate the date, time, and place of, and preside at all 

meetings of the committee. The secretary shall record, or 

cause to be recorded, accurate and complete written minutes 

of all meetings of the advisory committee and shall cause 

copies of the same to be provided to the board. 

F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313 and 37:1270(B)(6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:937 

(May 1998), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter B. Requirements and Qualifications for 

Licensure 

§3105. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern and prescribe the 

requirements, qualifications, and conditions requisite to 

eligibility for licensure as an athletic trainer in the state of 

Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:522 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

§3107. Requirements for Licensure 

A. To be eligible and qualified for licensure, an applicant 

shall: 

1. ... 

2. be a citizen of the United States or possess valid 

and current legal authority to reside and work in the United 

States duly issued by the United States Citizenship and 

Immigration Services (USCIS) of the United States, 

Department of Homeland Security, under and pursuant to the 

Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat. 163) and the 

commissioner's regulations thereunder (8 CFR); 

3. possess a degree in athletic training from a CAATE 

accredited program, or a comparable degree accepted by the 

BOC and approved by the board: 

a. an athletic training program accredited by 

CAATE on the date the applicant’s degree was awarded or 

the program or curriculum was completed shall be 

considered a CAATE accredited program; 

b. a degree that is accepted by the BOC as a 

comparable degree to a CAATE accredited athletic training 

program, shall be concurrently considered approved by the 

board for purposes of this Section; 

4. possess BOC certification evidencing the successful 

passage of the certification examination administered by the 

BOC or its successor; 

5. - 6. ... 

7. not be otherwise disqualified for licensure by virtue 

of the existence of any grounds for denial of licensure as 

provided by the law or in these rules. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 

qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for licensure 

shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 

deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 

demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 

manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

12:522 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:235 (February 

2004), LR 35:1886 (September 2009), amended by the Department 

of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3109. License by Reciprocity 

A. An individual who possesses a current, unrestricted 

license to practice as an athletic trainer issued by the medical 

licensing authority of another state, the District of Columbia, 

or a territory of the United States, shall be eligible for 

licensure in this state if the applicant meets all of the 

qualifications for licensure specified in §3107 of this 

Subchapter, and satisfies the procedural and other 

requirements specified in this Chapter. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6) and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter C. Board Approval 

§3111. Scope of Subchapter 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3113. Applicability of Approval  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986) , amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 35:1887 (September 2009), repealed by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3115. Approval of Schools and Colleges 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3117. Approval of Physical Therapy Schools 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3119. Approval of Athletic Trainers 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3121. Approval of Athletic Organization 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3123. Withdrawal of Approval 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:523 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3125. List of Approved Schools, Colleges, and 

Universities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), repealed 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter D. Application 

§3127. Purpose and Scope 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the procedures 

and requirements applicable to application to the board for 

licensure as an athletic trainer in the state of Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3129. Application Procedure 

A. Application for licensure shall be made in a manner 

prescribed by the board. 

B. Application and instructions may be obtained from 

the board’s website. 

C. An application for licensure under this Chapter shall 

include: 

1. proof, documented in a form satisfactory to the 

board, that the applicant possesses the qualifications for 

licensure set forth in this Chapter; and 

2. such other information and documentation as are 

referred to or specified in this Chapter, or as the board may 

require, to evidence qualification for licensure. 

D. The board may refuse to consider any application 

which is not complete in every detail, including submission 

of every document required by the application. The board 

may, in its discretion, require a more detailed or complete 

response to any request for information set forth in the 

application form as a condition to consideration of an 

application. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

12:524 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:938 (May 1998), 

LR 30:235 (February 2004), LR 35:1887 (September 2009), 

amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§3131. Effect of Application 

A. The submission of an application for licensure to the 

board shall constitute and operate as an authorization by the 

applicant to each educational institution at which the 

applicant has matriculated, each governmental agency to 

which the applicant has applied for any license, permit, 

certificate, or registration, each person, firm, corporation, 

organization, or association by whom or with whom the 

applicant has been employed as an athletic trainer, each 

physician whom the applicant has consulted or seen for 

diagnosis or treatment, and each professional or trade 

organization to which the applicant has applied for 

membership, to disclose and release to the board any and all 

information and documentation concerning the applicant 

which the board deems material to consideration of the 

application. With respect to any such information or 

documentation, the submission of an application for 

licensure to the board shall equally constitute and operate as 

a consent by the applicant to disclosure and release of such 

information and documentation as a waiver by the applicant 

of any privileges or right of confidentiality which the 

applicant would otherwise possess with respect thereto. 

B. By submission of an application for licensure to the 

board, an applicant shall be deemed to have given his 

consent to submit to physical or mental examinations if, 

when, and in the manner so directed by the board if the 

board has reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant's 

capability to act as an athletic trainer with reasonable skill or 

safety to athletes may be compromised by physical or mental 

condition, disease or infirmity, and the applicant shall be 

deemed to have waived all objections as to the admissibility 

or disclosure of findings, reports, or recommendations 
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pertaining thereto on the grounds of privileges provided by 

law. 

C. The submission of an application for licensure to the 

board shall constitute and operate as an authorization and 

consent by the applicant to the board to disclose any 

information or documentation, set forth in or submitted with 

the applicant's application or obtained by the board from 

other persons, firms, corporations, associations, or 

governmental entities pursuant to §3131, to any person, firm, 

corporation, association, or governmental entity having a 

lawful, legitimate, and reasonable need therefor, including, 

without limitation, the athletic trainer licensure or licensing 

authority of any state, the National Athletic Trainer’s 

Association, the Louisiana Athletic Trainer’s Association, 

the Board of Certification, the Louisiana Department of 

Health and Hospitals, state, county or parish, and municipal 

health and law enforcement agencies and the armed services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313 and 37:1270(B)(6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 24:938 (May 1998), amended by the Department of 

Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter F. Examination 

§3133. Designation of Examination 

A. The examination administered and accepted by the 

board pursuant to R.S. 37:3306.1.A is the Board of 

Certification or its successor. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:524 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 35:1887 (September 2009), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3147. Passing Score 

A. An applicant will be deemed to have successfully 

passed the examination if he attains a score equivalent to 

that required by the BOC as a passing score.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:525 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 35:1887 (September 2009), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3149. Reexamination 

A. An applicant having failed to attain a passing score 

upon taking the licensure examination may take a 

subsequent examination.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:525 (August 1986), amended 

by House Concurrent Resolution 69 of the 2012 Regular 

Legislative Session, LR 38:1460 (June 2012), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter G. License Issuance, Expiration, Renewal, 

Reinstatement, Temporary Permit 

§3153. Issuance of License 

A. If the qualifications, requirements, and procedures 

prescribed or incorporated by §3107 and §3129 are met to 

the satisfaction of the board, the board shall issue to the 

applicant a license to practice athletic training in the state of 

Louisiana.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 35:1888 (September 2009), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3155. Expiration of Licenses 

A. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 

shall expire, and thereby become null, void, and to no effect, 

on the 30th day of June next following the date on which 

license was issued. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

§3157. Renewal of License 

A. Every license issued by the board under this 

Subchapter shall be renewed annually on or before its date 

of expiration by submitting to the board an application for 

renewal, in a format prescribed by the board, together with 

the applicable renewal fee prescribed in Chapter 1 of these 

rules. 

B. A notice for renewal of license shall be sent by the 

board to each person holding a license issued under this 

Chapter on or before the first day of June of each year. Such 

notice shall be sent to the most recent address of each 

licensed athletic trainer as reflected in the official records of 

the board.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281 and 37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

12:526 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 30:235 (February 

2004), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§3159. Qualifications for Renewal; Continuing 

Education 

A. To be eligible for annual renewal, a licensed athletic 

trainer shall successfully complete 12 credits/hours of 

continuing education recognized by the BOC and shall 

evidence such continuing education as prescribed by the 

board.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3161. Reinstatement of License 

A. A license which has expired without renewal may be 

reinstated by the board if application for reinstatement is 

made not more than two years from the date of expiration 

and subject to the conditions and procedures hereinafter 

provided. 

B. An application for reinstatement shall be made in a 

manner prescribed by the board, together with the applicable 

renewal fee plus a penalty equal to twice the renewal fee. 

C. With respect to an application for reinstatement made 

more than one year from the date on which the license 

expired, as a condition of reinstatement the board may
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require that the applicant complete a statistical affidavit in a 

manner prescribed by the board, and/or possess current, 

unrestricted certification or licensure issued by another state. 

D. A licensed issued by the board pursuant to R.S. 

37:3306.1.B is subject to reinstatement provided the 

application is made within the two year time limit specified 

in §3161.A of these rules and in accordance with all other 

requirements specified by this Section.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3162. Temporary Permit 

A. General. The board may, in its discretion, issue such 

temporary licenses as are in its judgment necessary or 

appropriate to its responsibilities under law. A temporary 

license shall be designated and known as a permit. 

B. Effect of Permit. A permit entitles the holder to 

engage in the practice of athletic training in the state of 

Louisiana only for the period of time specified by such 

permit and creates no right or entitlement to licensure or 

renewal of the permit after its expiration. 

C. Permit Pending Application. The board may issue a 

permit to practice athletic training, effective for a period of 

30 days, to an applicant who has made application to the 

board for licensure as an athletic trainer, who provides 

satisfactory evidence of current BOC certification and who 

is not otherwise demonstrably ineligible for certification 

under R.S. 37:3307.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1261-1292, 37:1270, 37:3301-3313 and 37:3303.A(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 28:830 

(April 2002), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1888 (September 2009), 

amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter H. Continuing Education 

§3163. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter provide standards for the 

continuing education requisite to renewal of licensure as an 

athletic trainer.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:510 

(June 1990), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3165. Continuing Education Requirement 

A. To be eligible for annual renewal an athletic trainer 

shall evidence, in a manner prescribed by the board, the 

successful completion of not less than 12 hours of BOC 

approved continuing education. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:510 

(June 1990), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3167. Qualifying Programs and Activities 

A. ... 

B. Upon application to the board pursuant to §3171 of 

these rules, the board may approve additional programs and 

activities as qualifying for continuing education and specify 

the hours which shall be recognized with respect to such 

program or activity. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:510 

(June 1990), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3169. Continuing Education Subcommittee 

A. The continuing education subcommittee of the 

advisory committee ("the CE subcommittee"), constituted 

under authority of §3104, shall have the authority and 

responsibility to: 

1. ... 

2. review documentation of continuing education by 

licensed athletic trainers, verify the accuracy of such 

information, and evaluate and make recommendations to the 

board with respect to whether programs and activities 

evidenced by applicants for renewal of licensure comply 

with and satisfy the standards for such programs and 

activities prescribed by these rules; 

3. request and obtain from applicants for renewal of 

licensure such additional information as the committee may 

deem necessary or appropriate to enable it to make the 

evaluations and provide the recommendations for which the 

CE subcommittee is responsible. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:511 

(June 1990), amended LR 24:938 (May 1998), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3171. Approval of Program Sponsors 

A. Any program, course, seminar, workshop, or other 

activity meeting the standards prescribed by §3167.A 

sponsored or offered by the BOC or LATA shall 

presumptively be deemed approved by the board for 

purposes of qualifying as an approved continuing education 

activity.  

B. Upon the recommendation of the CE subcommittee, 

the board may designate additional organizations and entities 

whose programs, courses, seminars, workshops, or other 

activities shall be deemed approved by the board for 

purposes of qualifying as an approved continuing education 

activity.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:511 

(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3173. Approval of Activities  

A. A continuing education activity of any type defined 

by §3167 sponsored by an organization or entity not deemed 

approved by the board pursuant to §3171 or an activity of a 

type specified by §3167 may be pre-approved by the board 

prior to participation in such activity or application for 

renewal of licensure upon written request to the board 

therefor accompanied by a complete description of the 

nature, location, date, content, and purpose of such activity 

and such other information as the board may request to 

establish compliance of such activity with the standards 

prescribed by §3167.A.  

B. ... 
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C. Prior approval of a continuing education activity by 

the board is not necessary for recognition of such activity by 

the board for purposes of meeting the continuing education 

requirements requisite to renewal of licensure. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:512 

(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3175. Documentation Procedure 

A. Licensed athletic trainers shall maintain a record or 

certificate of attendance for at least four years from the date 

of completion of the acceptable continuing education 

activity. 

B. Any certification of continuing education activities 

not presumptively approved or preapproved in writing by the 

board pursuant to these rules shall be referred to the CE 

subcommittee for its evaluation and recommendations 

pursuant to §3169.A.2. If the CE subcommittee determines 

that an activity certified by an applicant for renewal in 

satisfaction of continuing education requirements does not 

qualify for recognition by the board or does not qualify for 

the number of continuing education hours claimed by the 

applicant, the board shall give notice of such determination 

to the applicant for renewal and the applicant may appeal the 

CE subcommittee's recommendation to the board by written 

request delivered to the board within 10 days of such notice. 

The board's decision with respect to approval and 

recognition of any such activity shall be final. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:512 

(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3177. Failure to Satisfy Continuing Education 

Requirements 

A. An applicant for renewal of licensure who fails to 

evidence satisfaction of the continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the rules shall be given written 

notice of such failure by the board. The license of the 

applicant shall remain in full force and effect for a period of 

60 days following the mailing of such notice, following 

which it shall be deemed expired, un-renewed, and subject to 

revocation without further notice, unless the applicant shall 

have, within such 60 days, furnished the board satisfactory 

evidence, by affidavit, that: 

1. ... 

2. applicant's failure to satisfy the continuing 

education requirements was occasioned by disability, illness, 

acts of God, fire, or other good cause as may be determined 

by the board. 

B. The license of an athletic trainer which has expired by 

nonrenewal or been revoked for failure to satisfy the 

continuing education requirements of these rules may be 

reinstated by the board upon application to the board filed 

within two years of the effective date of expiration, 

nonrenewal, or revocation accompanied by satisfactory 

documentation of the completion of not less than 30 

continuing education hours within the prior two years and

payment of a reinstatement fee, in addition to all other 

applicable fees and costs, of $50. Any continuing education 

activities recognized for purposes of reinstatement shall not 

be recognized for purposes of any subsequent renewal of 

licensure.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:512 

(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§3179. Waiver of Requirements 

A. The board may, in its discretion and upon the 

recommendation of the CE subcommittee, waive all or part 

of the continuing education required by these rules in favor 

of an athletic trainer who makes written request for such 

waiver to the board and evidences to the satisfaction of the 

board a permanent physical disability, illness, financial 

hardship, or other similar extenuating circumstances 

precluding the athletic trainer's satisfaction of the continuing 

education requirements. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B) and 37:3303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:513 

(June 1990), amended LR 24:939 (May 1998), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subpart 3.  Practice 

Chapter 57. Athletic Trainers 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§5701. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the employment and 

practice of licensed athletic trainers in the state of Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5703. General Definitions 

A. The definitions set forth in Chapter 31 of these rules 

shall equally apply to this Chapter, unless the context clearly 

states otherwise. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5705. Special Definitions 

A. The Activities of an Athletic Trainer—the practice of 

prevention, emergency management, and physical 

rehabilitation of injuries and sports-related conditions 

incurred by athletes. In carrying out these functions, the 

athletic trainer shall use whatever physical modalities are 

prescribed by a team physician or consulting physician, or 

both. The results of these activities should be recorded. 

B. Practice of Prevention shall include but is not limited 

to the following:  

1. working cooperatively with supervisors and 

coaches in establishing and implementing a program of 

physical conditioning for athletes; 

2. applying protective or injury-preventive devices 

such as taping, padding, bandaging, strapping, wrapping, or 

bracing; 
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3. working cooperatively with supervisors, coaches, 

and a team physician or consulting physician in the selection 

and fitting of protective athletic equipment for each athlete 

and constantly monitoring that equipment for safety; and  

4. ... 

C. Emergency Management—the care given to an 

injured athlete under the general supervision of the team or 

consulting physician. To accomplish this care, an athletic 

trainer may use such methods as accepted first aid 

procedures approved by the American Red Cross, the 

American Heart Association, or protocols previously 

established by the athletic trainer and the team or consulting 

physicians. 

D. Physical Rehabilitation—the care given to athletes 

following injury and recovery. These treatments and 

rehabilitation programs may consist of pre-established 

methods of physical modality use and exercise as prescribed 

by a team physician, consulting physician, or both. Physical 

rehabilitation also includes working cooperatively with and 

under the general supervision of a physician with respect to 

the following: 

1. reconditioning procedures; 

2. operation of therapeutic devices and equipment; 

3. fitting of braces, guards, and other protective 

devices; 

4. referrals to other physicians, auxiliary health 

services, and institutions. Referrals will be made with the 

agreement of the athlete or, in the case of a minor, with 

agreement of a parent or guardian except when 

circumstances require emergency transfer and the parent or 

guardian is unavailable. 

E. General Supervision—the service is furnished under a 

physician's overall direction and control, but the physician's 

presence shall not be required during the provision of 

service. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:526 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter B. Prohibitions 

§5709. Unauthorized Practices 

A. No person shall hold himself out to the public, any 

public educational institution, any athletic organization, or 

any individual student, amateur, or professional athlete as an 

“athletic trainer” or licensed athletic trainer in the state of 

Louisiana, nor identify or designate himself as such, nor use 

in connection with his name the letters, "AT," "CLAT" or 

"ATC," or any other words, letters, abbreviations, insignia, 

or signs tending to indicate or imply that the person is a 

licensed athletic trainer, unless he is currently licensed by 

the board as a licensed athletic trainer. 

B. No person shall undertake to perform or actually 

perform, for compensation or other remuneration, the 

activities of an athletic trainer, as defined in this Chapter 

(§5705) unless he is currently licensed by the board as an 

athletic trainer. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5711. Exemptions  

A. The prohibitions of Subsection 5709.B of this Chapter 

shall not apply to: 

1. an assigned athletic coach administering and 

supervising his normal sports activities; 

2. a person who undertakes to perform or actually 

performs the activities of an athletic trainer in the 

employment of an educational institution or athletic 

organization domiciled in another state, while accompanying 

and attending athletes of an educational institution or athletic 

organization domiciled in another state during or in 

connection with an athletic contest conducted in Louisiana;  

3. a person acting under and within the scope of 

professional licensure issued by another licensing agency of 

the state of Louisiana; or 

4. any person enrolled in a CAATE accredited athletic 

training education program and who is designated by a title 

which clearly indicates his status as a student. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5713. Prohibitions: Licensed Athletic Trainers 

A. A licensed athletic trainer shall not: 

1. undertake to perform or actually perform any 

activities, preventive measures, emergency management, 

physical rehabilitation of injury, or any other functions, 

treatments, modalities, procedures, or regimes, except under 

the direction and general supervision of a physician, 

employed or engaged as a team or consulting physician by 

the educational institution or athletic organization by which 

the licensed athletic trainer is employed or engaged; 

2. prescribe, dispense, or administer any controlled 

substances; or 

3. dispense or administer any medications for 

ingestion, subcutaneous, transdermal, intramuscular, or 

intravenous injection or topical application, except upon the 

prescription and direction, or pursuant to the written protocol 

of a physician. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter C. Ethical Guidelines and Standards of 

Practice 

§5715. Ethical Guidelines 

A. A licensed athletic trainer shall, in performance of the 

activities of an athletic trainer, observe and abide by the code 

of ethics of the Board of Certification. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5717. Standards of Practice 

A. A licensed athletic trainer shall, in performance of the 

activities of an athletic trainer, observe and abide by the 

standards of practice announced and promulgated from time 

to time by the board pursuant to rules and regulations, 

advisory opinions, and interpretations and statements of 

position. 
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B. It shall be deemed a violation of minimum standards 

of practice applicable to licensed athletic trainers for a 

licensed athletic trainer to violate of the code of ethics of the 

Board of Certification. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subchapter D. Grounds for Administrative Action 

§5719. Causes for Administrative Action 

A. The board may refuse to issue a license to, or 

suspend, revoke, or impose probationary conditions and 

restrictions on the license of an applicant for licensure or a 

licensed athletic trainer for any of the causes provided by 

R.S. 37:3308.1 of the Louisiana Athletic Trainers Law (R.S. 

37:3301-3313) if the licensee or applicant: 

1. has been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or 

nolo contendere to a criminal charge constituting a felony 

under the laws of Louisiana, of the United States, or of the 

state in which such conviction or plea was entered; 

2. has been convicted of or entered a plea of guilty or 

nolo contendere to any criminal charge arising out of or in 

connection with the practice of an athletic trainer; 

3. commits perjury, fraud, deceit, misrepresentation, 

or concealment of material facts in obtaining a license to 

practice as an athletic trainer; 

4. provides false testimony before the board or 

provides false sworn information to the board; 

5. engages in habitual or recurring abuse of drugs, 

including alcohol, which affect the central nervous system 

and which are capable of inducing physiological or 

psychological dependence; 

6. solicits patients or self-promotion through 

advertising or communication, public or private, which is 

fraudulent, false, deceptive, or misleading; 

7. makes or submits false, deceptive, or unfounded 

claims, reports, or opinions to any patient, insurance 

company, indemnity association, company, individual, or 

governmental authority for the purpose of obtaining 

anything of economic value; 

8. demonstrates cognitive or clinical incompetency; 

9. engages in unprofessional conduct; 

10. engages in continuing or recurring practice which 

fails to satisfy the prevailing and usually accepted standards 

of practice as an athletic trainer in this state; 

11. knowingly performs any act which in any way 

assists an unlicensed person to practice as an athletic trainer, 

or having professional connection with or lending one's 

name to an illegal practitioner; 

12. pays or gives anything of economic value to 

another person, firm, or corporation to induce the referral of 

injured athletes to an athletic trainer; 

13. has been interdicted by due process of law; 

14. is unable to practice as an athletic trainer with 

reasonable competence, skill, or safety to patients because of 

mental or physical illness, condition, or deficiency, including 

but not limited to deterioration through the aging process or 

excessive use or abuse of drugs, including alcohol; 

15. refuses to submit to an examination and inquiry by 

an examining committee of physicians appointed by the 

board to inquire into the applicant's or licensee's physical or 

mental fitness and ability to practice as an athletic trainer 

with reasonable skill or safety; 

16. practices or otherwise engages in any conduct or 

functions beyond the scope of practice of an athletic trainer 

as defined by this Chapter or the board's rules; 

17. has been subjected to the refusal of the licensing 

authority or another state to issue or renew a license, permit, 

or certificate to practice as an athletic trainer in that state, or 

the revocation, suspension, or other restriction imposed on a 

license, permit, or certificate issued by such licensing 

authority which prevents, restricts, or conditions practice, or 

the surrender of a license, permit, or certificate issued by 

another state when criminal or administrative charges are 

pending or threatened against the holder of such license, 

permit, or certificate; 

18. has been subjected to denial, revocation, 

suspension, probation, or other disciplinary sanction from 

the BOC or its successor for violation of the standards of 

professional practice; 

19. has violated any rules and regulations of the board, 

or any provisions of this Chapter. 

B. The board may reinstate any license suspended or 

revoked hereunder, or restore to unrestricted status any 

license subjected to probationary conditions or restrictions 

by the board upon payment of the reinstatement fee and 

satisfaction of such terms and conditions as may be 

prescribed by the board; provided, however, that an 

application for reinstatement of a license revoked by the 

board shall not be made or considered by the board prior to 

the expiration of one year following the date on which the 

board's order of revocation became final. 

C. The board may, as part of a decision, consent order, or 

other agreed order, require the applicant or license holder to 

pay all costs of the board's proceedings and a fine not to 

exceed $1,000. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§5723. Causes for Action; Definitions  

A. As used in R.S. 37:3308.1 of the law, a person who 

has "secured a license by fraud or deceit" means and 

includes a person who: 

1. makes any representation to the board, knowingly 

or unknowingly, which is in fact false or misleading as to a 

material fact or omits to state any fact or matter that is 

material to an application for licensure under Chapter 31 of 

these rules; or 

2. makes any representation, or fails to make a 

representation, or engages in any act or omission which is 

false, deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading in achieving or 

obtaining any of the questions for licensure required by 

Chapter 31 of these rules. 

B. As used in §5719.A of this Chapter, the term 

convicted, as applied to a licensed athletic trainer or 

applicant for licensure as an athletic trainer, means that a
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judgment has been entered against such person by a court of 

competent jurisdiction on the basis of a finding or verdict of 

guilt or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere. Such a judgment 

provides cause for administrative action by the board so long 

as it has not been reversed by an appellate court of 

competent jurisdiction and notwithstanding the fact that an 

appeal or other application for relief from such judgment is 

pending. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3301-3313. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 12:527 (August 1986), amended 

by the Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 

anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 

impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 

described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on those that may be living at or below one 

hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 

considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 

amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 

family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 

development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on organizations that provide services for 

individuals with developmental disabilities has been 

considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 

amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 

overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 

level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 

amendment to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive 

Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 

Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130, (504) 568-

6820, Ex. 242. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. 

Written comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., April 21, 

2017.  

Public Hearing 

A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 

within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 

is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 

or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 

Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 

Monday, April 24, 2017 at 10:30 a.m. at the office of the 

Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp 

Street, New Orleans, Louisiana 70130. Any person wishing 

to attend should call to confirm that a hearing is being held.  

 

Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. 

Interim Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Athletic Trainers General,  

Licensure and Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA State Board of 

Medical Examiners $2,804, it is not anticipated that state or 

local governmental units will incur any other costs or savings 

as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule. The proposed 

rule change amends the Louisiana State Board of Medical 

Examiners athletic training rules to conform to Act 418 of the 

2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and to 

update the rules to conform to current practices. The proposed 

amendments implement the following: convert the authority to 

practice from a certification to a license; revise various 

definitions; update the educational requirements for licensure 

eligibility for consistency with the law; reduce to a simple 

majority e.g., 4 of the 7 members of its advisory committee 

necessary for a quorum; provide for licensure by reciprocity for 

those possessing the requirements prescribed for Louisiana 

applicants; repeal various provisions that are no longer 

applicable; update the designation of the examination entity 

from the National Athletic Trainers Association to the Board of 

Certification (BOC); simplify the seldom used provisions on 

temporary permits and remove the associated fee; streamline 

provisions relative to continuing education, and provide for 

BOC approved continuing education (CE) programs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This amendment removes fees associated with the issuance 

of temporary permits.  However, it is not anticipated that 

removal of this fee will have an impact on revenue collections 

of the board, given that in recent years, no temporary permits 

have been issued. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule changes the CE requirement for athletic 

trainers from 24 hours in a 2-year period to 12 hours per year.    

The aggregate license cost to trainers over a 2-year period 

remains the same.  Therefore, the proposed rule change is not 

anticipated to result in costs and/or economic benefits to any 

person or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

The proposed rule change does not affect competition 

and/or employment. 

 

Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. Evan Brasseaux 

Interim Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Board of Medical Examiners 

Physician Assistants, Licensure  

and Certification; Practice 

(LAC 46:XLV Chapters 15 and 45) 

Notice is hereby given that in accordance with the 

Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 

and pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State



Louisiana Register   Vol. 43, No. 03   March 20, 2017 596 

Board of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana 

Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270 and the Louisiana 

Physician Assistant Practice Act, R.S. 37:1360.21-1360.38, 

the board, working with its Physician Assistant (PA) 

Advisory Committee, intends to amend its rules governing 

PAs, LAC 46:XLV Chapters 15 and 45, to conform them to 

Act 453 of the 2016 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature and to update the rules generally as made 

necessary by the passage of time. Among other items, the 

proposed amendments: revise various definitions; e.g., 

“controlled substance” to include schedule II drugs, and 

“supervision” to clarify that the level and method of PA 

supervision shall be at the physician and PA level (§1503.A); 

clarify exemptions (§1505); update licensure requirements 

(§1507); remove the requirement that a physician hold an 

unrestricted license to serve as a supervising physician (SP) 

(§1508); make various technical changes (§§1510, 1513, 

1517, 1527, 1529) and repeal a section that is no longer 

applicable (§1519); reduce the period of clinical practice 

after graduation from a PA program from one year to six 

months for registration of controlled dangerous substance 

(CDS) authority with the board and remove certain 

impediments to PA CDS registration; e.g., prior action 

against hospital privileges and prior exam failure (§1521); 

remove a prohibition against a SP in a medical residency or 

post-graduate training from delegating prescriptive authority 

to a PA (§1523); and clarify that continuing education 

requirements are the same as needed for maintenance of 

certification by the National Commission on Certificate of 

Physician Assistants (§1529). The amendments also conform 

the rules to Act 453 with respect to: the services performed 

by PAs (§4505), the prescription, ordering and 

administration of CDS (§4505); and the number of PAs for 

whom a physician may serve as primary SP (§4507). The 

changes also update the mutual obligations of the SP and PA 

(§4511) and provide that performance plan requirements 

shall be considered satisfied if the PA’s practice site requires 

chart review as part of its joint commission ongoing 

professional practice evaluation process for PAs (§4512). 

The proposed amendments are set forth below.  

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 

Chapter 15. Physician Assistants 

§1503. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall 

have the meanings specified. 

* * * 

Controlled Substance―for purposes of this definition, 

any substance designated or that may hereafter be designated 

as a Scheduled II, III, IV, or V controlled substance in R.S. 

40:964. 

* * * 

Physician Assistant (PA)―a health care professional 

qualified by academic and clinical education and licensed by 

the board to provide health care services at the direction and 

under the supervision of a physician or a group of physicians 

approved by the board as a supervising physician(s). 

* * * 

Protocol or Clinical Practice Guidelines or Clinical 

Practice Guidelines or Protocols―a written set of directives 

or instructions regarding routine medical conditions, to be 

followed by a physician assistant in patient care activities. If 

prescriptive authority has been delegated to the physician 

assistant by the supervising physician the clinical practice 

guidelines or protocols shall contain each of the components 

specified by §1521.A.5. The Advisory Committee shall 

periodically publish and disseminate to supervising 

physicians and all physician assistants, model forms and 

examples of clinical practice guidelines and protocols. The 

supervising physician and physician assistant shall maintain 

a written copy of such clinical practice guidelines and 

protocols, which shall be made immediately available for 

inspection by authorized representatives of the board. 

* * * 

Supervision—responsible direction and control, with the 

supervising physician assuming responsibility for the 

services rendered by a physician assistant in the course and 

scope of the physician assistant's employment, with respect 

to patients for whose care, or aspect of care, the physician is 

responsible. Supervision shall not be construed in every case 

to require the physical presence of the supervising physician. 

However, the supervising physician and physician assistant 

must have the capability to be in contact with each other by 

either telephone or other telecommunications device. 

Supervision shall exist when the supervising physician 

responsible for the care, or aspect of care of the patient, 

gives informed concurrence of the actions of the physician 

assistant, whether given prior to or after the action, and 

when a medical treatment plan or action is made in 

accordance with written clinical practice guidelines or 

protocols set forth by the supervising physician. Such 

guidelines or protocols shall require that the physician 

assistant contact the supervising physician when there is a 

question or uncertainty as to what should be done in a given 

case or when an approved protocol does not address the 

clinical situation presented. The level and method of 

supervision shall be at the physician and physician assistant 

level, shall be documented and reviewed annually, and shall 

reflect the acuity of the patient care and nature of the 

procedure. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:109 

(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1102 (November 1991), LR 

22:201 (March 1996), LR 25:27 (January 1999), LR 31:73 (January 

2005), LR 34:244 (February 2008), amended by the Department of 

Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43:  

§1505. Necessity for License; Registration of 

Prescriptive Authority 

A.1. - A.2. ... 

B. Any person who acts or undertakes to perform the 

functions of a physician assistant without a current physician 

assistant license issued under this Chapter, or prescribes 

medication or medical devices without or beyond 

registration of such authority approved by the board, shall be 

deemed to be engaging in the practice of medicine; 

provided, however, that none of the provisions of this 

Chapter shall apply to: 
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1. any physician assistant employed by the federal 

government while performing duties incidental to that 

employment; 

2. ... 

3. any physician assistant student enrolled in a 

physician assistant educational program accredited by the 

Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the 

Physician Assistant, its predecessors or successor; provided, 

however, that a physician assistant student shall not 

prescribe legend drugs or medical devices or be eligible for 

registration of prescriptive authority; and 

4. a physician assistant administering medical services 

in cases of emergency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:109 

(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1102 (November 1991), LR 

22:201 (March 1996), LR 25:28 (January 1999), LR 31:74 (January 

2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§1507. Qualifications for Licensure 

A. To be eligible for licensure under this Chapter, an 

applicant shall: 

1. - 2. ... 

3. demonstrate his competence to provide patient 

services under the supervision and direction of a supervising 

physician by: 

a. being a graduate of a physician assistant training 

program accredited by the Committee on Allied Health 

Education and Accreditation (CAHEA), or its predecessors 

or successors, including but not limited to the Accreditation 

Review Commission on Education for the Physician 

Assistant, and by presenting or causing to be presented to the 

board satisfactory evidence that the applicant has 

successfully passed the national certification examination 

administered by the National Commission on Certificate of 

Physician Assistants (NCCPA) or its successors, together 

with satisfactory documentation of current certification; or 

A.3.b. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:109 

(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1102 (November 1991), LR 

22:201 (March 1996), LR 25:28 (January 1999), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43:  

§1508. Qualifications for Registration as Supervising 

Physician 

A. To be eligible for approval and registration under this 

Chapter, a proposed primary supervising physician or locum 

tenens physician shall, as of the date of the application: 

1. be licensed to practice medicine in the state of 

Louisiana; and 

A.2. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(b)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:202 

(March 1996), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 25:29 (January 1999), 

LR 34:244 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health, 

Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1510. Application for Registration as Supervising 

Physician; Procedure 

A. - A.6. ... 

B. A physician seeking to supervise a physician assistant 

may be required to appear before the board upon his 

notification to the board of his intention to supervise a 

physician assistant: 

1. upon a first notification to the board of the 

physician's intention to supervise a physician assistant if the 

board finds discrepancies in the physician's application; or 

B.2. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:202 

(March 1996), amended LR 25:29 (January 1999), LR 34:245 

(February 2008), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1513. Issuance of License; Registration of Prescriptive 

Authority; Working Permit; Updating 

Information 

A.1. - A.2. ... 

B. The board may grant a working permit (temporary 

license), valid and effective for one year but renewable for 

one additional year, to an applicant who otherwise meets the 

qualifications, requirements and procedures for licensure, 

except that the applicant has not yet taken or is awaiting the 

results of the national certification examination. 

C. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D)and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:110 

(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 

Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1103 (November 1991), LR 

22:203 (March 1996), LR 25:30 (January 1999), LR 31:74 (January 

2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§1517. Expiration of Licensure; Renewals; 

Modification; Notification of Intent to Practice 

A. ... 

B. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter 

shall be renewed annually on or before the last day of the 

month in which the licensee was born, by submitting to the 

board an application for renewal in a format approved by the 

board, together with: 

1. satisfactory verification of current certification by 

the National Commission on Certificate of Physician 

Assistants or its successors; and 

2. the applicable fee as provided in Chapter 1 of these 

rules. 

C. A physician assistant licensed in this state, prior to 

initiating practice, shall submit in a format approved by the 

board notification of such intent to practice. Such 

notification may be deemed effective as of the date received 

by the board, subject to final approval by the board. 

D. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1281, 37:1360.23, 37:1360.24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1104 (November 

1991), LR 22:203 (March 1996), LR 24:1498 (August 1998), LR 
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25:31 (January 1999), LR 30:238 (February 2004), LR 34:245 

(February 2008), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1519. Transfer of Certification 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1104 (November 

1991), LR 31:75 (January 2005), LR 34:245 (February 2008); 

repealed, by the Department of Health, Board of Medical 

Examiners, LR 43: 

§1521. Qualifications for Physician Assistant 

Registration of Prescriptive Authority 

A. Legend Drugs/Medical Devices. To be eligible for 

registration of prescriptive authority for legend drugs or 

medical devices, or both, a physician assistant shall: 

1. ... 

2. possess a current license to practice as a physician 

assistant duly issued by the board; 

3. ... 

4. - 4.b. Repealed. 

5. practice under supervision as specified in clinical 

practice guidelines or protocols developed by the 

supervising physician that shall, include a performance plan, 

as specified in §4512 of these rules. 

B. Controlled Substances. To be eligible for prescriptive 

authority for controlled substances, a physician assistant 

shall: 

1. ... 

2. possess a current, unrestricted permit or license to 

prescribe controlled substances in Louisiana duly issued by 

the Board of Pharmacy or its successor, and be currently 

registered to prescribe controlled substances without 

restriction as to the schedules delegated by the supervising 

physician with the Drug Enforcement Administration, 

United States Department of Justice (DEA); 

3. not be deemed ineligible for registration for any of 

the causes set forth in §1521.C; 

4. have completed six months of practice under a 

supervising physician after graduation from an accredited PA 

education program satisfying the requirements of this 

Chapter; and 

5. successfully complete an educational activity 

developed or approved by the board, respecting controlled 

dangerous substances. 

C. - C.4. ... 

C.5. - C.7. Repealed. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 1360.23(D) and (F), and 1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:75 

(January 2005), amended LR 38:3174 (December 2012), LR 

41:925 (May 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board 

of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1523. Qualifications of Supervising Physician for 

Registration of Delegation of Prescriptive 

Authority 

A. Legend Drugs and Medical Devices. To be eligible for 

approval of registration to delegate authority to prescribe 

legend drugs or medical devices, or both, to a physician 

assistant a supervising physician shall: 

1. ... 

2. Repealed. 

3. - 4. ... 

B. Controlled Substances. To be eligible for approval of 

registration to delegate authority to prescribe controlled 

substances to a physician assistant a supervising physician 

shall: 

1. satisfy the requirements of §1523.A; and 

2. possess a current, unrestricted permit or license to 

prescribe controlled substances duly issued by the Office of 

Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, Department of Health and 

Hospitals, State of Louisiana, and be currently registered to 

prescribe controlled substances, without restriction, with the 

Drug Enforcement Administration, United States 

Department of Justice (DEA); 

C. A physician shall be deemed ineligible for registration 

to delegate authority to prescribe controlled substances to a 

physician assistant for any of the causes enumerated by R.S. 

37:1285(A), or violation of any other provision of the 

Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261 et seq., or the 

board's rules. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D)and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:76 

(January 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§1527. Supervising Physician Application for 

Registration of Delegation of Prescriptive 

Authority; Procedure 

A. Physician application for approval and registration of 

delegation of prescriptive authority to a physician assistant 

shall be made upon forms supplied by the board and shall 

include: 

1. ... 

2. confirmation that the physician has delegated 

prescriptive authority to the physician assistant and the 

nature, extent, and limits thereof as documented in clinical 

practice guidelines; 

3. a description of the manner and circumstances in 

which the physician assistant has been authorized to utilize 

prescriptive authority and the geographical location(s) where 

such activities will be carried out as documented in clinical 

practice guidelines; 

A.4. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:77 

(January 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 
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§1529. Expiration of Registration of Prescriptive 

Authority; Renewal; Continuing Education 

A. - B. ... 

C. The PA, together with the SP, shall annually verify the 

accuracy of registration information on file with the board, 

and confirm compliance with the continuing education 

requirements prescribed by this Section. 

D. Continuing Education. Every physician assistant 

seeking renewal of registration of prescriptive authority shall 

obtain such continuing education as is required to maintain 

current NCCPA certification. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:77 

(January 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Subpart 3.  Practice 

Chapter 45. Physician Assistants 

§4505. Services Performed by Physician Assistants 

A. The practice of a physician assistant shall include the 

performance of medical services that are delegated by the 

supervising physician and are within the scope of the 

physician assistant's education, training, and licensure. A 

physician assistant is considered to be and is deemed the 

agent of his supervising physician in the performance of all 

practice-related activities, including but not limited to 

assisting in surgery and ordering and interpretation of 

diagnostic and other medical services with appropriate 

supervision provided. The level and method of supervision 

shall be at the supervising physician and physician assistant 

level, shall be documented in clinical practice guidelines, 

reviewed annually and shall reflect the acuity of patient care 

and the nature of a procedure.  

B. In accordance with a written clinical practice 

guideline or protocol medical services rendered by a 

physician assistant may include: screening patients to 

determine need for medical attention; eliciting patient 

histories; reviewing patient records to determine health 

status; performing physical examinations; recording 

pertinent patient data; performing developmental screening 

examinations on children; making preliminary decisions 

regarding data gathering and appropriate management and 

treatment of patients being seen for initial evaluation of a 

problem or follow-up evaluation of a previously diagnosed 

and stabilized condition; making appropriate referrals; 

preparing patient summaries; requesting initial laboratory 

studies; collecting specimens for blood, urine and stool 

analyses; performing urine analyses, blood counts and other 

laboratory procedures; identifying normal and abnormal 

findings on history, physical examinations and laboratory 

studies; initiating appropriate evaluation and emergency 

management for emergency situations such as cardiac arrest, 

respiratory distress, burns and hemorrhage; performing 

clinical procedures such as venipuncture, intradermal 

testing, electrocardiography, care and suturing of wounds 

and lacerations, casting and splinting, control of external 

hemorrhage, application of dressings and bandages, 

administration of medications, intravenous fluids, and 

transfusion of blood or blood components, removal of 

superficial foreign bodies, cardio-pulmonary resuscitation, 

audiometry screening, visual screening, aseptic and isolation 

techniques; providing counseling and instruction regarding 

common patient problems; monitoring the effectiveness of 

therapeutic intervention; assisting in surgery; signing for 

receipt of medical supplies or devices that are delivered to 

the supervising physician or supervising physician group; 

and, to the extent delegated by the supervising physician, 

prescribing legend drugs and controlled substances listed in 

R.S. 40:964 as schedule II, III, IV and V substances and 

prescribing medical devices. A physician assistant may inject 

local anesthetic agents subcutaneously, including digital 

blocks or apply topical anesthetic agents when delegated to 

so by a supervising physician. This list is illustrative only, 

and does not constitute the limits or parameters of the 

physician assistant's practice. 

C. A physician assistant may prescribe, order and 

administer drugs to the extent delegated by the SP, except as 

provided pursuant to R.S. 37:930 relative to anesthetics. 

Drugs which may be prescribed, ordered, and administered 

by a PA are those listed in schedules II, III, IV and V of R.S. 

40:964 and legend drugs. 

D. The activities listed in this Section may be performed 

in any setting authorized by the supervising physician 

including but not limited to clinics, hospitals, ambulatory 

surgical centers, patient homes, nursing homes, other 

institutional settings, and health manpower shortage areas. 

E. A physician assistant shall not: 

1. - 2 ... 

3. except to the extent delegated by a supervising 

physician, issue prescriptions for any medication; 

4. - 4.b. ... 

5. act as or engage in the functions of a physician 

assistant when the supervising physician and the physician 

assistant do not have the capability to be in contact with each 

other by telephone or other telecommunication device;  

6. identify himself, hold himself out to the public, or 

permit any other person to identify him, as "doctor," 

"medical doctor," "doctor of medicine" or "physician" or 

render any service to a patient unless the physician assistant 

has clearly identified himself as a physician assistant by any 

method reasonably calculated to advise the patient that the 

physician assistant is not a physician licensed to practice 

medicine; or  

7. administer local anesthetics perineurally, 

pericurally, epidurally, intrathecally, or intravenously unless 

such physician assistant is a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist and meets the requirements in R.S 37:930. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), and 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

4:111 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1105 (November 

1991), LR 22:204 (March 1996), LR 25:32 (January 1999), LR 

31:78 (January 2005), LR 41:925 (May 2015), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§4506. Services Performed by Physician Assistants 

Registered to Prescribe Medication or Medical 

Devices; Prescription Forms; Prohibitions 

A.1. A physician assistant who is registered with the 

board pursuant to §§1521 and 1525 of these rules to 

prescribe medication and/or medical devices may, to the 

extent delegated by a supervising physician: 

A.1.a. - B.5. ... 
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C. A physician assistant who has been delegated 

prescriptive authority shall not: 

1. - 4. ... 

5. issue a prescription or order for any Schedule I 

controlled substance contained or hereinafter included in 

R.S. 40:964; or 

6. ... 

D. A PA who has been delegated controlled substance 

prescriptive authority shall enroll in and periodically 

accesses the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) 

established by R.S. 40:1001 et seq. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), and 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 31:79 

(January 2005), amended LR 41:925 (May 2015), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§4507. Authority and Limitations of Supervising 

Physician 

A. The supervising physician (SP) is responsible for the 

supervision, control, and direction of the physician assistant 

(PA) and retains responsibility to the patient for the 

competence and performance of the PA.  

B. An SP may delegate medical services identified as 

core competencies by the National Commission on 

Certification of Physician Assistants or its successors ("core 

competencies"), under general supervision as defined in 

§1503.A of this Part. 

C. - C.5.b. ... 

D. An SP may not serve as a PSP for more than four PAs.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), R.S. 37:1360.23(D) and (F), R.S. 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:112 

(April 1978), amended LR 17:1106 (November 1991), LR 22:205 

(March 1996), LR 25:32 (January 1999), LR 34:246 (February 

2008), LR 38:1233 (May 2012), amended by the Department of 

Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§4511. Mutual Obligations and Responsibilities 

A. The physician assistant and supervising physician 

shall: 

1. - 3. ... 

4. insure that with respect to patient encounters, all 

activities, functions, services, treatment measures, medical 

devices or medication prescribed or delivered to the patient 

by the physician assistant are properly documented in 

written form in the patient's record by the physician assistant 

as evidenced by compliance with the clinical practice 

guidelines established by the supervising physician and 

physician assistant; 

5. - 5.c.  ... 

6. maintains a written agreement in compliance with 

R.S. 37:1360.22(8), that includes a statement that the 

physician shall exercise supervision over the physician 

assistant in accordance with R.S. 37:1360.21 et seq.  

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23(D) and (F), and 37:1360.31(B)(8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 

4:112 (April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1106 (November 

1991), LR 22:206 (March 1996), LR 25:33 (January 1999), LR 

31:79 (January 2005), LR 41:925 (May 2015), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

§4512. Performance Plan 

A. - C. ... 

D. For joint commission-accredited practice sites, the 

performance plan requirements of §4512.A.2 and 4512.B.-C. 

of these rules shall be considered satisfied if the practice site 

requires chart review as part of its joint commission ongoing 

professional practice evaluation (OPPE) process for PAs. For 

a hospital practice site that is joint commission-accredited, 

but does not require chart review as part of its OPPE 

process, or that not is joint commission accredited, the PA 

and his or her SP shall be responsible for meeting the 

requirements of §4512.A-C of these rules. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(B)(6), 37:1360.23, and 37:1360.28. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 41:925 

(May 2015), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Medical Examiners, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 

anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 

impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 

described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on those that may be living at or below one 

hundred percent of the federal poverty line has been 

considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 

amendments will have any impact on child, individual or 

family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 

development, as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with HCR 170 of the 2014 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 

amendments on organizations that provide services for 

individuals with developmental disabilities has been 

considered. It is not anticipated that the proposed 

amendments will have any impact on the staffing, costs or 

overall ability of such organizations to provide the same 

level of services, as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed 

amendments to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive 

Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 

Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130, (504) 568-6820, Ex. 

242. She is responsible for responding to inquiries. Written 

comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., April 21, 2017.  

Public Hearing 

A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board 

within 20 days of the date of this notice. If a public hearing 

is requested to provide data, views, arguments, information 

or comments orally in accordance with the Louisiana 

Administrative Procedure Act, the hearing will be held on 

Monday, April 24, 2017 at 11:30 a.m. at the office of the 

Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp 
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Street, New Orleans, LA 70130. Any person wishing to 

attend should call to confirm that a hearing is being held. 

 

Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. 

Interim Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Physician Assistants,  

Licensure and Certification; Practice 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the publication fee associated with the proposed 

rule changes, which are estimated to cost the LA State Board of 

Medical Examiners $1,473, it is not anticipated that state or 

local governmental units will incur any other costs or savings 

as a result of promulgation of the proposed rule.  

The proposed rule change amends the Louisiana State 

Board of Medical Examiners physician assistant’s rules to 

conform to Act 453 of the 2016 Regular Session of the 

Louisiana Legislature and other technical updates. Among the 

changes, the proposed amendments: revise various definitions 

e.g., “Controlled Substance” to include Schedule II drugs, and 

“Supervision” to clarify that the level and method of Physician 

Assistants (PA) supervision shall be at the physician and PA 

level; clarify exemptions; update licensure requirements; 

remove the requirement that a physician hold an unrestricted 

license to serve as a supervising physician (SP); make various 

technical changes and repeal a section that is no longer 

applicable; reduce the period of clinical practice after 

graduation from a PA program from one year to six months for 

registration of controlled dangerous substance (CDS) authority 

with the Board and remove certain impediments to PA CDS 

registration e.g., prior action against hospital privileges and 

prior exam failure; remove a prohibition against a SP in a 

medical residency or post-graduate training from delegating 

prescriptive authority to a PA; and clarify that continuing 

education requirements are the same as needed for maintenance 

of certification by the National Commission on Certificate of 

Physician Assistants. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will not affect state or local 

governmental revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed amendments remove certain impediments to 

PA registration of CDS authority with the Board and reduce the 

period of clinical practice after graduation for such registration. 

The proposed amendments also remove the requirement that a 

physician hold an unrestricted license to serve as a SP and 

remove the prohibition from registering to delegate prescriptive 

authority while in a medical residency or post-graduate 

training. These changes may, in turn, increase the income of 

PAs and SPs impacted by these changes by an indeterminable 

amount. Otherwise, it is not anticipated that the proposed 

amendments will have any material effect on income, costs, 

paperwork or workload of PAs or SPs licensed to practice in 

this state or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

Because of the decreased restrictions, the proposed 

amendments may increase the number of PAs eligible for 

prescriptive authority; physicians eligible to serve as SPs; and 

SPs eligible to delegate prescriptive authority to PAs. These 

changes may, to an extent not quantifiable, enhance 

employment opportunities for PAs and physicians serving as 

SPs.  

 

Keith C. Ferdinand, M.D. Evan Brasseaux 

Interim Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 

Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Nursing Facilities 

Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 

(LAC 50:II.Chapter 5) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services 

propose to amend LAC 50:II.Chapter 5 in the Medical 

Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 

pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 

proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 

et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 

Services repealed the provisions governing admission 

reviews, preadmission screening and medical eligibility 

determination requirements and adopted revised provisions 

governing nursing facility admissions (Louisiana Register, 

Volume 36, Number 05). The department now proposes to 

amend the provisions governing admissions for nursing 

facilities by revising the procedures for the preadmission 

screening and resident review process in order to: 1) remove 

the requirement that the level I preadmission screening and 

resident review (PASRR) form be completed by a physician; 

2) extend the number of days that the level II authority may 

make an advance group determination for individuals who 

require convalescent care in a nursing facility; 3) require 

nursing facilities to notify the level II authority if a PASRR 

was not completed or was completed incorrectly; and 4) 

clarify existing provisions. 

Title 50 

PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Nursing Facilities 

Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 5. Admissions 

§503. Medical Certification 

A. ... 

1. The following documents are required for all 

nursing facility admissions:  

a. a preadmission screening and resident review 

(level I PASRR) form completed by a qualified health care 

professional as defined by OAAS. The level I PASRR form 

addresses the specific identifiers of MI or ID that indicate 

that a more in-depth evaluation is needed to determine the 

need for specialized services. The need for this in-depth 

assessment does not necessarily mean that the individual 

cannot be admitted to a nursing facility, only that the need 

for other services must be determined prior to admission; 

and  
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b. a level of care eligibility tool (LOCET) 

assessment.  
NOTE: These documents must not be dated more than 30 days 
prior to the date of admission. The level 1 PASRR form must 

be signed and dated on the date that it is completed. 

2. - 3. ...  

B. If the information on the level I PASRR does not 

indicate that the individual may have a diagnosis of MI 

and/or ID and he/she meets the criteria for nursing facility 

level of care, OAAS may approve the individual for 

admission to the nursing facility.  

1. Once approval has been obtained, the individual 

must be admitted to the facility within 30 days of the date of 

the approval notice. The nursing facility shall submit a 

completed BHSF Form 148 to the parish Medicaid office 

and OAAS indicating the anticipated payment source for the 

nursing facility services. 

C. If the information on the level I PASRR indicates that 

the individual may have a diagnosis of MI and/or ID, and the 

individual meets the criteria for nursing facility level of care, 

the individual shall be referred to the Office of Behavioral 

Health or the Office for Citizens with Developmental 

Disabilities (the state’s mental health and intellectual 

disability level II authorities) for a level II screening to 

determine level of services provided by a nursing facility 

and whether specialized services are needed.  

1. - 2. ... 

D. Vendor Payment. Medicaid vendor payment shall not 

begin prior to the date that medical and financial eligibility 

is established, and shall only begin once the individual is 

actually admitted to the facility.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 

Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36:1011 (May 2010), 

amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 

§505. Categorical Advance Group Determinations  

A. In order to assure timely and appropriate care for 

applicants, the level II authority may make an advance group 

determination by category that takes into account that certain 

diagnoses, levels of severity of illness or need for a 

particular service clearly indicates the need for nursing 

facility admission or that the provision of specialized 

services is not normally needed. The applicable level II 

authority may make an advance group determination that 

nursing facility care is needed for persons in the following 

categories.  

1. Convalescent Care. If an applicant appears to be in 

need of level II assessment but is hospitalized for a serious 

illness and needs time to convalesce before a valid level II 

assessment can be performed, provisions may be made for 

temporary medical certification for nursing facility care. The 

maximum period of time that a level II assessment may be 

delayed is 100 days. The period of convalescence allowed 

will be consistent with the diagnosis and medical condition 

of the individual. 

2. - 3.c. ... 

d. advanced chronic obstructive pulmonary disease;  

A.3.e. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 

Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36:1011 (May 2010), 

amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 

§509. Changes in Level of Care and Status  

A. The nursing facility shall notify the parish Medicaid 

office via the BHSF Form 148 of the following changes in a 

resident’s circumstances: 

1. change in the level of care; 

2. transfer to another nursing facility; 

3. change in payer source; 

4. ... 

5. discharge home, death or any other breaks in 

facility care. 

B. The nursing facility must inform the appropriate level 

II authority if an individual with a diagnosis of MI and/or ID 

is subject to readmission or interfacility transfer and there 

has been a substantial change in the individual’s condition, 

or if a level I screen was not completed or was completed 

incorrectly. 

1. - 2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and 

Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36:1012 (May 2010), 

amended by the Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 

Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 43: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 

submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 

Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 

this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 

functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 

49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

In compliance with Act 854 of the 2012 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the poverty impact of this 

proposed Rule has been considered. It is anticipated that this 

proposed Rule will have no impact on child, individual, or 

family poverty in relation to individual or community asset 

development as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

In compliance with House Concurrent Resolution (HCR) 

170 of the 2014 Regular Session of the Louisiana 

Legislature, the provider impact of this proposed Rule has 

been considered. It is anticipated that this proposed Rule will 

have no impact on the staffing level requirements or 

qualifications required to provide the same level of service 

and no direct or indirect cost to the provider to provide the 

same level of service. These provisions will have no impact 

on the provider’s ability to provide the same level of service 

as described in HCR 170. 

Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jen 

Steele, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 

91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 or by email to 
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MedicaidPolicy@la.gov. Ms. Steele is responsible for 

responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule.  

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

Thursday, April 27, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 

Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 

LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 

opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 

or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 

comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 

the public hearing. 

 

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facilities 

Preadmission Screening and Resident Review 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 

will have no programmatic fiscal impact to the state other than 

the cost of promulgation for FY 16-17.  It is anticipated that 

$756 ($378 SGF and $378 FED) will be expended in FY 16-17 

for the state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 

proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will have no effect on revenue collections other than the 

federal share of the promulgation costs for FY 16-17. It is 

anticipated that $378 will be collected in FY 16-17 for the 

federal share of the expense for promulgation of this proposed 

rule and the final rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed Rule amends the provisions governing 

admissions for nursing facilities by revising the procedures for 

the preadmission screening and resident review process in 

order to: 1) remove the requirement that the level I 

Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) form 

be completed by a physician; 2) extend the number of days that 

the level II authority may make an advance group 

determination for individuals who require convalescent care in 

a nursing facility; 3) require nursing facilities to notify the level 

II authority if a PASRR was not completed or was completed 

incorrectly; and 4) clarify existing provisions.  It is anticipated 

that implementation of this proposed rule will have no costs, 

but is beneficial to nursing facilities in FY 16-17, FY 17-18 and 

FY 18-19 by easing the administrative burden on staff by 

allowing more flexibility in the PASRR process. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

This rule has no known effect on competition and 

employment. 

 

Jen Steele Evan Brasseaux 

Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1703#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 

 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 

Corrections Services 

Offender Mail and Publications (LAC 22:I.313) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 

Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, hereby gives 

notice of its intent to amend the contents of §313, Offender 

Mail and Publications. 

Title 22 

CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 

Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 

§313. Offender Mail and Publications 

A. - E. … 

* * * 

Nuditypictorial depiction of genitalia or female 

breasts (with the nipple or areola exposed). 

* * * 

F.- H. … 

1. Offenders shall not be allowed to receive or possess 

photographs or digital or other images that interfere with 

legitimate penological objectives (including but not limited 

to deterrence of crime, rehabilitation of offenders, 

maintenance of internal/external security of an institution, or 

maintenance of an environment free of sexual harassment), 

or to prevent the commission of a crime or to protect the 

interests of crime victims. This includes photographs, digital 

or other images which expose the genitals, genital area 

(including pubic hair), anal area or female breasts (or breasts 

which are designed to imitate female breasts). These areas 

must be covered with garments which cannot be seen 

through. 

H.2. - I.1.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:833(A), Guajardo v. Esteile, 580 F.2d 748 (5th Cir.1978). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 5:4 (January 1979), 

amended LR 10:803 (October 1984), LR 11:360 (April 1985), 

amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 

Corrections Services, LR 33:851 (May 2007), LR 38:830 (March 

2012), LR 39:2281 (August 2013), LR 41:2665 (December 2015), 

LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

Amendment to the current Rule should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on family formation, stability 

or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on poverty as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

the 2014 Regular Legislative Session. 

Public Comments 

Written comments may be addressed to Natalie LaBorde, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and
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Corrections, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 

4:30 p.m. on April 10, 2017. 

 

James M. Le Blanc 

Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Offender Mail and Publications 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on State or 

Local Governmental Unit expenditures. The proposed rule 

change is a technical adjustment that amends the current 

regulation to clarify, further define and expand upon the proper 

procedures and rules governing Offender Mail and 

Publications. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 

change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 

directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 

result of the proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 

employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 

Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 

Undersecretary Staff Director 
1703#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of the Treasury 

Board of Trustees of the 

School Employees’ Retirement System 

Limitation on Benefits (LAC 58:VII.401) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 

granted in R.S. 11:2225(B), the Board of Trustees of the 

School Employees’ Retirement System has approved for 

advertisement the adoption of Subparagraph h to the 

definition of 415 safe-harbor compensation under §401.F of 

Chapter 4 of Part VII, included in Title 58, Retirement, of 

the Louisiana Administrative Code. The proposed Rule is 

being adopted to clarify that the definition of 415 safe-

harbor compensation includes differential wage payments. A 

preamble to this proposed action has not been prepared. 

Title 58 

RETIREMENT 

Part VII.  School Employees’ Retirement System 

Chapter 4. Internal Revenue Code Provisions 

§401. Limitation on Benefits 

A. - F. … 

* * * 

415 Safe-Harbor Compensation— 

a. - g. … 

h. For limitation years beginning after December 

31, 2008, compensation shall also include any differential 

wage payments as defined in code section 3401(h) which: 

 i. is made by the employer to an individual with 

respect to any period during which an individual is 

performing service in the uniformed services (as defined in 

chapter 43 of title 38, United States Code) while on active 

duty for a period of more than 30 days; and 

 ii. represents all or a portion of the remuneration 

such individual would have received from the employer if he 

or she was performing services for the employer.  

* * * 

G. - G.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

11:2225(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 

of the Louisiana School Employees’ Retirement System, LR 

38:3241 (December 2012), amended by the Department of the 

Treasury, Board of Trustees of the School Employees’ Retirement 

System, LR 43: 

Family Impact Statement 

The proposed adoption of LAC 58:VII.401.F, 

Subparagraph h to the definition of 415 Safe-Harbor 

Compensation, should not have any known or foreseeable 

impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972(D) or on 

family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically, there 

should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 

2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 

3. the functioning of the family; 

4. family earnings and family budget; 

5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 

6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Poverty Impact Statement 

The proposed rulemaking will have no impact on poverty 

as described in R.S. 49:973. 

Provider Impact Statement 

The proposed Rule does not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on providers as defined by HCR 170 of 

2014 Regular Legislative Session. In particular, there should 

be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the effect on the staffing level requirements or 

qualifications required to provide the same level of service; 

2. the total direct and indirect effect on the cost to the 

providers to provide the same level of service; or 

3. the overall effect on the ability of the provider to 

provide the same level of service. 

Public Comments 

Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding this proposed Rule to Charles P. Bujol, Executive 

Director, School Employees’ Retirement System, by mail to 

8660 United Plaza Blvd., Baton Rouge, LA 70809. All 

comments must be received no later than 4:30 p.m., April 9, 

2017. 

 

Charles P. Bujol 

Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Limitation on Benefits 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated direct material effect on state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 

change.  The proposed rule codifies federal law that defines 

differential wage payments for those performing uniformed 

service while on active duty. The Internal Revenue Code 

requires inclusion of this definition.  Members of the School 

Employee’s Retirement System do not receive differential pay 

when performing uniformed service while on active duty; 

therefore, there is no fiscal impact. However, to remain an IRS 

qualified plan, the system must include the IRS definition. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on revenue collections of 

state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule 

change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 

GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs and/or economic benefits to 

directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 

result of the proposed rule change.  In the event employers 

choose to provide differential pay in the future, the plan will 

need to be amended and there will likely be a cost to the 

employer and the retirement system. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 

(Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on competition and 

employment as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 

Charles P. Bujol Evan Brasseaux 

Executive Director Staff Director 
1703#018 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Potpourri 
 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Louisiana’s 2017 Annual Progress and Services Report 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 

announces opportunities for public review of the state’s 2017 

Annual Progress and Services Report (APSR). The APSR is 

a report on the achievement of goals and objectives and/or 

outcomes for year three of the 2015-2019 Child and Family 

Services Plan (CFSP). This plan addresses the use of Title 

IV-B, Subpart 1 and Subpart 2, Title IV-E Chafee Foster 

Care Independence Program (CFCIP), Educational and 

Training Vouchers (ETV), and Child Abuse Prevention and 

Treatment Act (CAPTA) funds and serves as the applications 

for additional funds from these federal sources.  

Louisiana, through the DCFS, provides services that 

include child abuse prevention, child protective services, 

family services-prevention and intervention services, foster 

care, adoption and the youth transition services. The 

Department will use its allotted funds provided under the 

Social Security Act, Title IV-B, Subpart 1, entitled the 

Stephanie Tubbs Jones Child Welfare Services Program, to 

provide child welfare services to prevent child abuse and 

neglect, to prevent foster care placement, to reunite families, 

to arrange adoptions, and to ensure adequate foster care. 

Title IV-B, Subpart 2, entitled Promoting Safe and Stable 

Families, funds services to support families and prevent the 

need for foster care. The CFCIP funds services to assist 

foster children 15 years of age and older who are likely to 

remain in foster care until 18 years of age. Former foster 

care recipients who are 18 years of age who have aged out of 

foster care, and those who were adopted or entered 

guardianship at age 16 years of age or older, are also eligible 

for services. The services include basic living skills training 

and education and employment opportunities. The CAPTA 

funding is used to complement and support the overall 

mission of child welfare with emphasis on developing, 

strengthening, and carrying out child abuse and neglect 

prevention and treatment programs and to support Citizen 

Review Panels statewide. 

The DCFS is encouraging public participation in the 

planning of services and the writing of this document. The 

report can be found for review on the internet under 

http://www.dss.state.la.us/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=

home&pid=132 then the 2016 APSR link. Inquiries and 

comments on the plan may be submitted in writing to the 

DCFS, Attention: Child Welfare Administrator, P O Box 

3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. The deadline for receipt of 

written comments is May 3, 2017 at 4:00 p.m. 

All interested persons will have the opportunity to provide 

comments and/or recommendations on the plan, orally or in

writing, at a public hearing scheduled for May 3, 2017 at 

10:00 a.m. in Room 1-129 of the Iberville Building located 

at 627 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge.  

Individuals with disabilities who require special services 

should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven working 

days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call (225) 

342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 

Marketa Garner Walters  

Secretary 
1703#013 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Children and Family Services 

Social Services Block Grant Intended Use Report 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 

announces opportunities for public review of the state’s pre-

expenditure report on intended uses of Social Services Block 

Grant (SSBG) funds for the state fiscal year (SFY) 

beginning July 1, 2017, and ending June 30, 2018. The 

proposed SFY 2017-2018 SSBG intended use report has 

been developed in compliance with the requirements of 

section 2004 of the Social Security Act (SSA), as amended 

and includes information on the types of activities to be 

supported and the categories or characteristics of individuals 

to be served through use of the state’s allocation of SSBG 

funds. Section 2004 of the SSA further requires that the 

SSBG pre-expenditure report shall be “made public within 

the state in such manner as to facilitate comment by any 

person.” The DCFS, as the designated state department, will 

continue to administer programs funded under the SSBG in 

accordance with applicable statutory requirements and 

federal regulations. The DCFS, Child Welfare Section 

(CWS) will be responsible for provision of social services, 

by direct delivery and vendor purchase, through use of SFY 

2017-2018 SSBG expenditures for adoption, child 

protection, family services, and foster care/residential care 

services. 

Louisiana, through DCFS/CWS, will utilize its allotted 

funds to provide comprehensive social services on behalf of 

children and families in fulfillment of legislative mandates 

for child protection and child welfare programs. These 

mandated services, and certain other essential social 

services, are provided without regard to income (WRI) to 

individuals in need. Individuals to be served also include 

low-income persons as defined in the intended use report 

who meet eligibility criteria for services provided through 

SSBG funding. 

Services designated for provision through SSBG funding 

for SFY 2017-2018 are: 
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A. adoption (pre-placement to termination of parental 

rights); 

B. child protective services including assessment, 

evaluation, social work intervention, shelter care, counseling 

and referrals for child abuse/neglect reports; 

C. family services (social work intervention 

subsequent to validation of a report of child abuse/neglect, 

counseling to high risk groups); 

D. foster care/residential care services (foster, 

residential care, and treatment on a 24-hour basis). 

Definitions for the proposed services are set forth in the 

intended use report. 

Persons eligible for SSBG funded services include: 

A. persons WRI, who are in need of adoption services, 

child protection, family services, and foster care/residential 

services; 

B. individuals WRI who are recipients of Title IV-E 

adoption assistance; 

C. recipients of supplemental security income (SSI) 

and recipients of Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF) and those persons whose needs were taken into 

account in determining the needs of TANF recipients; 

D. low-income persons (income eligible) whose gross 

monthly income is not more than 125 percent of the poverty 

level. A family of four with gross monthly income of not 

more than $2050 would qualify as income eligible for 

services; 

E. persons receiving title XIX (Medicaid) benefits and 

certain Medicaid applicants identified in the proposed plan 

as eligible groups. 

The post expenditure report for the SSBG program for 

SFY 2016 is included in the SSBG intended use report for 

SFY 2017-2018. Free copies are available by telephone 

request to (225) 342-341-7319 or by writing to the 

Administrator, Child Welfare Section, P.O. Box 3318, Baton 

Rouge, LA 70821. 

The report is available for public review online at: 

http://www.dss.state.la.us/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=

home&pid=131, then select the 2016-2017 SSBG link. 

Inquiries and comments on the plan may be submitted in 

writing to the DCFS, Attention Administrator, P.O. Box 

3318, Baton Rouge, LA 70821. The deadline for receipt of 

written comments is May 3, 2017 at 4 p.m. 

All interested persons will have the opportunity to 

provide comments and/or recommendations on the plan, 

orally or in writing, at a public hearing scheduled for May 3, 

2017 at 11 a.m. in Room 1-129 of the Iberville Building 

located at 627 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge. Individuals 

with disabilities who require special services should contact 

the Bureau of Appeals at least seven working days in 

advance of the hearing. For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 

(voice and TDD). 

 
Marketa Garner Walters 

Secretary 
1703#012 

 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Economic Development 

Office of Business Development 

Notice of Public HearingSubstantive Changes to Proposed 

Rule: Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption Program 

(LAC 13:I.Chapter 5) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the secretary gives notice 

that the department is seeking to incorporate substantive 

changes to LAC 13:I.501, 502, 503, and 505, which were 

originally noticed in the November 20, 2016, issue of the 

Louisiana Register. The department is not making any 

changes to the Notice of Intent as published in the 

November 20, 2016 issue of the Louisiana Register for LAC 

13:I.507-537. 

The department has made the following substantive 

changes to address comments received. These changes 

clarify that: 

 both Executive Orders JBE 16-26 and 16-73 are 

applicable to these rules changes; 

 only those applications with advance notifications 

filed after June 24, 2016 are subject to the rule changes; 

 the definition of manufacturing is to include mass 

production as well as custom production that utilizes 

manual labor; 

 the parish governing authority and municipality by 

resolution speak on behalf of themselves as well as 

other bodies in their jurisdiction that receive millages;  

 failure of a local governing entity to issue a 

resolution or letter within 120 day of a business’ written 

request will result in the business receiving an 

exemption from the silent entity equal to the 

mathematical average of the other parish entities that 

did respond and issue a resolution or letter;  

LED shall receive a copy of the business’ written request 

from the local governing entity to issue a resolution or letter 

and LED shall post those requests on its website; and  

Renewal of miscellaneous capital addition contracts 

granted in compliance with the governor’s executive orders 

shall be treated in accordance with prior rules. 

In the interest of clarity and transparency, the department 

is providing public notice and opportunity to comment on 

the proposed changes to the amendments of the regulations. 

The following changes are to be incorporated into the 

Notice of Intent. 

Title 13 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 

Chapter 5. Industrial Ad Valorem Tax Exemption 

Program 

§501. Statement of Purpose 

A. New Rules 

1. These rules amend and restate prior rules and upon 

adoption are to implement two important policies for the 

industrial tax exemption property tax exemption. The first is
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as a competitive incentive for job creation and under 

compelling circumstances, job retention. The second is to 

provide for input from local parish and municipal 

governments, school boards and sheriffs as to the extent of, 

and other terms and conditions for the industrial tax 

exemption. 

2. On all projects, applicant manufacturers are to 

demonstrate a genuine commitment to investing in the 

communities in which they operate, and a genuine 

commitment to creating and retaining jobs in those 

communities. These are the expectations for the program’s 

future, and the board will continue to operate it in a way that 

makes Louisiana competitive with other states in securing 

good jobs for our citizens while giving local governments a 

voice in their taxation. These rules are to be interpreted in a 

manner so as to promote these goals. 

B. Applicability of Prior Rules. Just as the board is 

promoting job growth and economic development and 

extending fairness to communities, the board is promoting 

fairness to manufacturers who have acted in accordance with 

prior rules. Contracts for the industrial property tax 

exemption and the renewal of the exemption and projects 

found to be pending as defined by Executive Orders JBE 16-

26 and JBE 16-73 are to be treated fairly under the rules that 

were in place at the time of the contracts and prior to the 

new rules. Louisiana honors its commitments and the rules 

governing existing contracts and applications not subject to 

the new rules are to be interpreted in order to promote 

fairness and commitment. Therefore, only those applications 

with an advance notification form filed after June 24, 2016, 

are subject to the 2017 rules changes.  

C. Going Forward 

1. Louisiana values its manufacturers and their 

contributions to its economy. The board’s policies going 

forward are to provide all a seat at the table to determine the 

best investment outcome for our industries and our 

communities. 

2. All rules in this chapter are intended to align with 

the above purpose while providing a process that balances 

accountability with reasonable administrative burden for 

state and local government and applicants. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 43: 

§502. Definitions 

Addition to a Manufacturing Establishment— 

1.a. a capital expenditure for property that would 

meet the standard of a new manufacturing establishment if 

the addition were treated as a stand-alone establishment;  

b. a capital expenditure for property that is directly 

related to the manufacturing operations of an existing 

manufacturing establishment; or  

c. an installation or physical change made to a 

manufacturing establishment that increases its value, utility 

or competitiveness.  

2. Maintenance capital, environmentally required 

capital upgrades, and replacement parts, except those 

replacements required in the rehabilitation or restoration of 

an establishment, to conserve as nearly, and as long as 

possible, original condition, shall not qualify as an addition 

to a manufacturing establishment. 

3. Expenses associated with the rehabilitation or 

restoration of an establishment as provided for in Section 

511 shall be included as an addition to a manufacturing 

establishment. 

Beginning of Construction—the first day on which 

foundations are started or, where foundations are 

unnecessary, the first day on which installations of the 

manufacturing establishment begins. 

Board—Board of Commerce and Industry. 

Capital Expenditure—the cost associated with a new 

manufacturing establishment or an addition to an existing 

manufacturing establishment, including the purchasing or 

improving real property and tangible personal property, 

whose useful life exceeds one year and which is used in the 

conduct of business. 

Environmentally Required Capital Upgrades—upgrades 

required by any state or federal governmental agency in 

order to avoid fines, closures or other penalty. 

Establishmentan economic unit at a single physical 

location. 

Integral—required to make whole the product being 

produced. 

Job—positions of employment that are: 

1. new (not previously existing in the state) or 

retained; 

2. permanent (without specific term); 

3. full-time (working 30 or more hours per week); 

4. employed directly, by an affiliate or through 

contract labor; 

5. based at the manufacturing establishment; 

6. filled by a United States citizen who is domiciled in 

Louisiana or who becomes domiciled in Louisiana within 60 

days of employment; and 

7. any others terms of employment as negotiated in 

the Exhibit A or Exhibit B.  

LED—Louisiana Economic Development. 

Local Governmental Entity—parish governing authority, 

school board, sheriff, and any municipality in which the 

manufacturing establishment is or will be located. 

Maintenance Capital—costs incurred to conserve as 

nearly as possible the original condition. 

Manufacturer—a person or business who engages in 

manufacturing at a manufacturing establishment. 

Manufacturingworking raw materials by means of mass 

or custom production, including fabrication, applying 

manual labor or machinery into wares suitable for use or 

which gives new shapes, qualities or combinations to matter 

which already has gone through some artificial process. The 

resulting products must be “suitable for use” as 

manufactured products that are placed into commerce for 

sale or sold for use as a component of another product to be 

placed, and placed into commerce for sale.  

Obsolescence—the inadequacy, disuse, outdated or non-

functionality of facilities, infrastructure, equipment or 

product technologies due to the effects of time, decay, 

changing market conditions, invention and adoption of new 

product technologies or changing consumer demands.  

Qualified Disaster— 

1. a disaster which results from: 

a. an act of terror directed against the United States 

of any of its allies; or  
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b. any military action involving the Armed Forces 

of the United States and resulting from violence or 

aggression against the United States or any of its allies (or 

threat thereof), but not including training exercises 

2. any disaster which, with respect to the area in 

which the property is located, resulted in a subsequent 

determination by the president of the United States that such 

area warrants assistance by the federal government under the 

Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance 

Act; 

3. a disaster which is determined by an applicable 

federal, state, or local authority (as determined by the 

secretary) to warrant assistance from the federal state or 

local government or agency of instrumentality thereof; or  

4. any other extraordinary event that destroys or 

renders all or a portion of the manufacturing establishment 

inoperable 

Rehabilitation—the extensive renovation of a building or 

project that is intended to cure obsolescence or to repurpose 

a facility. 

Restoration—repairs to bring a building or structure to at 

least its original form or an improved condition. 

Secretary—Secretary of Louisiana Economic 

Development. 

Site—One or more contiguous parcels of land which are 

under the control of the manufacturing establishment or 

which contains certain assets of the manufacturing 

establishment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 43: 

§503. Advance Notification; Application 

A. An advance notification of intent to apply for tax 

exemption shall be filed with the LED Office of Business 

Development (OBD) on the prescribed form prior to the 

beginning of construction or installation of facilities on all 

projects for tax exemption except as provided in §505.A and 

B of these rules. An advance notification fee of $250 shall be 

submitted with the form. The advance notification will 

expire and become void if no application is filed within 12 

months of the estimated project ending date stated in the 

advance notification. The estimated project ending date as 

stated on the advance notification may be amended by the 

applicant if the amendment is made prior to the estimated 

project ending date. 

B. All financial incentive programs for a given project 

shall be filed at the same time and on the same advance 

notification. The applicable advance notification fee for each 

program for which the applicant anticipates applying shall 

be submitted with the advance notification. 

C. An application for tax exemption may be filed with 

OBD on the prescribed form: 

1. either concurrent with or after filing the advance 

notification, but no later than 90 days after the beginning of 

operations or end of construction, whichever occurs first; 

2. the deadline for filing the application may be 

extended pursuant to §523; 

3. an applicant filing an application prior to the 

beginning of operations or end of construction of the project 

shall file an annual status report with OBD on the prescribed 

form by December 31, until the project completion report

and affidavit of final cost are filed. If the applicant fails to 

timely file a status report the board may, after notice to the 

applicant, terminate the contract. 

D. In order to receive the board’s approval, applications 

with advance notifications filed after June 24, 2016, shall 

contain both of the following: 

1. an exhibit “A” consisting of a fully executed 

cooperative endeavor agreement between the state, 

Louisiana Economic Development and the applicant 

specifying the terms and conditions of the granting of the 

exemption contract; 

a. the terms and conditions of the exhibit “A” shall 

include the following: 

 i. either number of jobs and payroll to be created 

at the project site or the number of jobs and payroll to be 

retained at the project site where applicable; 

 ii. the term of the exemption contract which shall 

be for up to, but no more than five years and may provide 

for an ad valorem exemption of up to 100 percent and terms 

for renewal may be included provided that the renewal of the 

contract shall be for a period up to, but no more than three 

years and may provide for an ad valorem tax exemption of 

up to, but no more than 80 percent;  

 iii. the percentage of property eligible for the 

exemption;  

 iv. any penalty provisions for failure to create the 

requisite number of jobs or payroll at the project site, 

including but not limited to, a reduction in term, reduction in 

percentage of exemption, or termination of the exemption; 

and  

 v. a statement of return on investment (ROI) as 

determined by the secretary; 

2. an exhibit “B” consisting of resolutions adopted by 

the parish governing authority (speaking on behalf of the 

parish and all parish bodies who are located outside the 

boundary of the affected municipality, where applicable, 

who receive a millage), the school board, and any 

municipality (speaking on behalf of the municipality and all 

municipal bodies who receive a millage) and a letter from 

the sheriff approving the project in which the manufacturing 

establishment is or will be located signifying whether each 

of these authorities is in favor of the project; 

a. exhibit “B” shall include provisions addressing 

the following: 

 i. the number of jobs and payroll to be created at 

the project site required by the local governmental entity for 

approval of the exemption; 

 ii. the term of the exemption contract approved by 

the local governmental entity; and 

 iii. the percentage of property eligible for the 

exemption approved by the local governmental entity; 

b. failure of the parish governing authority, the 

school board, or the municipality to issue a resolution or 

failure of the Sheriff to issue a letter within 120 days of a 

business’ written request for such resolution shall result in an 

exemption equal to the mathematical average of the term and 

percentage exemption granted by the other local governing 

bodies who have issued a resolution or letter; 

 i. the business shall copy LED on its written 

request to the parish governing authority, school board and 

municipality for the required resolutions and its written 

request to the sheriff for the required letter; 
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 ii. LED shall post a copy of the business’ written 

request to the parish governing authority, school board and 

municipality for the required resolutions and the business’ 

written request to the sheriff for the required letter no later 

than three business days after receipt of the request; 

c. LED will provide guidance to local governmental 

entities as to suggested alternatives as it relates parameters 

for job creation, payroll, percentage of exemption and length 

of contract; 

3. the board shall consider the information collected 

and the provisions of exhibits “A” and “B” in determining 

whether to approve the contract for exemption and the 

renewal thereof; 

4. if the terms of exhibit “A” and exhibit “B” as it 

relates to the term of the exemption, and the percentage of 

property tax eligible for exemption are not the same, the 

provisions of exhibit “B” shall prevail.  

E.1. Applications which provide for a new manufacturing 

establishment or which provide for an addition to a 

manufacturing establishment with the creation of new jobs 

or a compelling reason for the retention of existing jobs shall 

be favored by the board. 

2. In determining whether a company has presented a 

compelling reason for the retention of existing jobs, the 

following situations may be considered: 

a. to prevent relocation to another state or country; 

b. to provide an advantage for investment from a 

company with multi-state operations with an established 

competitive capital project program; 

c. to employ best practice or innovative, state of the 

art technology for the establishment’s industry;  

d. to increase maximum capacity or efficiency; or 

e. to provide the state a competitive advantage as 

determined by the secretary or by the board.  

F. An application fee shall be submitted with the 

application in the amount equal to 0.5 percent of the 

estimated total amount of taxes to be exempted. In no case 

shall an application fee be smaller than $500 and in no case 

shall a fee exceed $15,000 per project. 

G. OBD reserves the right to return the advance 

notification, application, or affidavit of final cost to the 

applicant if the form is incomplete or incorrect, or the 

correct fee is not submitted. The document may be 

resubmitted with the correct information and fee.  

H. If the application is submitted after the filing 

deadline, the term of exemption available under an initial 

contract and renewal thereof shall be reduced by one year 

for each year or portion thereof that the application is late, 

up to a maximum reduction up to the maximum remaining 

term. The board may impose any other penalty for late filing 

that it deems appropriate. 

I. The department will provide a copy of the application 

and all relative information to the Louisiana Department of 

Revenue (LDR) for review. LDR may require additional 

information from the applicant. The department must receive 

a letter-of-no-objection or a letter-of-approval from the 

LDR, prior to submitting the application to the board for 

action. 

J. Eligibility of the applicant and the property for the 

exemption, including whether the activities at the site meet

the definition of manufacturing, will be reviewed by the 

board based upon the facts and circumstances existing at the 

time the application is considered by the Board of 

Commerce and Industry. The property exempted may be 

increased or decreased based upon review of the application, 

project completion report or affidavit of final cost. An 

application filed prior to completion of construction may be 

considered by the board and a contract may be executed 

based upon the best available estimates, subject to review 

and approval of the project completion report and affidavit 

of final cost. If the applicant fails to timely file the project 

completion report or affidavit of final cost the board may, 

after notice to the applicant, terminate the contract. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the State Board of 

Commerce and Industry, December 9, 1946, amended and 

promulgated by Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce 

and Industry, LR 11:97 (February 1985), LR 12:662 (October 

1986), amended by the Department of Economic Development, 

Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 20:864 (August 1994), 

amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 

Business Development, LR 37:2376 (August 2011), LR 41:2318 

(November 2015), LR 43: 

§505. Miscellaneous Capital Additions 

A. The renewal of miscellaneous capital addition 

contracts approved in accordance with JBE 16-26 and 16-73 

shall be treated in accordance with prior rules. 

B. Miscellaneous capital additions which had pending 

contractual applications on June 24, 2016, and which 

provide for new jobs at the completed manufacturing 

establishment shall be considered by the board. 

C. Miscellaneous capital additions which did not have a 

pending contractual application as of June 24, 2016 or those 

with pending applications as of June 24, 2016, but do not 

provide for new jobs, are not eligible for the property tax 

exemption.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 

VII, Part 2, Section 21(F) of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 11:97 (February 

1985), amended LR 12:662 (October 1986), amended by the 

Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 

Industry, LR 20:865 (August 1994), amended by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 

37:2377 (August 2011), LR 41:2318 (November 2015), LR 43: 

No fiscal or economic impact will result from the 

amendments proposed in this notice. 

The changes are available for viewing on the Louisiana 

Department of Economic Development website, at 

www.opportunitylouisiana.com. 

Public Hearing 

A public hearing on the substantive changes to the Notice 

of Intent only will be held on April 20, 2017, at 10 a.m. in 

the LaSalle Building, Griffon Room, 617 N. Third Street, 

Baton Rouge, LA 70802. All persons submitting written 

comments should reference the March 2017 ITEP Potpourri. 

Such comments must be received no later than April 20, 

2017, at 12 p.m., and should be sent to Danielle Clapinski, 

Staff Attorney, Louisiana Economic Development, P.O. Box 

94185, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9185, or e-mail at 

danielle.clapinski@la.gov. The comment period for the
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substantive changes to the November 2016 Notice of Intent 

ends on April 20, 2017. 

 

Anne G. Villa 

Undersecretary 
1703#031 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 

Office of Management and Finance 

Fees—Office of the Secretary, Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid 

Waste, Water Quality, Underground Storage Tank, and 

Radiation Protection—Risk/Cost Benefit Statement 

Introduction 

The Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 

(LDEQ) is proposing amendments to the Office of the 

Secretary, Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste, Water Quality, 

Underground Storage Tank, and Radiation Protection 

regulations that would increase the fees collected in these 

programs. The department collects these fees from members 

of the regulated community covered by these programs. The 

majority of increases are designated for the Environmental 

Trust Fund, while there are minor increases to the Motor 

Fuel Trust Fund, the Waste Tire Trust Fund and the Lead 

Hazard Reduction Fund. Act 451 of the 2016 Regular 

Session of the Louisiana Legislature authorized the increase 

in fees. (1703Pot1) 

This statement is prepared to satisfy the requirements of 

R.S. 30:2019(D) and R.S. 49:953(G) (Acts 600 and 642 of 

the 1995 Louisiana Legislature, respectively). However, this 

document is not a quantitative analysis of cost, risk, or 

economic benefit, although costs of implementation were 

identified to the extent practical. The statutes allow a 

qualitative analysis of economic and environmental benefit 

where a more quantitative analysis is not practical. The 

department asserts that the benefits of a Rule designed to 

retain personnel in departmental programs justify the costs 

associated with the fee increases passed by the Louisiana 

Legislature during the 2016 Regular Session. 

Fiscal analysis of the department indicates a need for 

increased revenue to properly perform the necessary 

functions of the department. Currently, the only source of 

funding for the department is through fees charged for 

services provided. An increase in fees is necessary to 

properly fund the department. 

An analysis was made of the department’s historical 

expenditures necessary to operate the programs and to 

enforce the regulations required by state and federal law. 

These expenditures include the costs associated with the 

issuance of permits, licenses, and registrations; enforcement; 

surveillance; and all other program costs including 

equipment, training, and other related expenses. These 

expenditures were compared to the revenue generated for 

each program (e.g., air, water, hazardous waste, solid waste, 

etc.) with the fee structure in place prior to this legislation. 

The percentage increases proposed for the fees for each 

program were aligned with the existing funding deficiency 

and intended to generate sufficient revenues to support all 

program operations. 

Therefore, the qualitative approach is taken with the 

risk/cost benefit statement. As discussed further in this 

document, these amendments to the Office of the Secretary, 

Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste, Water Quality, 

Underground Storage Tank, and Radiation Protection 

regulations provide environmental and economic benefits. 

Assessing dollar benefits of avoided environmental risk or 

the economic benefits of this rule is not practicable. In 

addition, the department asserts that the indirect and direct 

environmental and economic benefits to be derived from this 

Rule will, in the judgment of reasonable persons, outweigh 

the costs associated with the implementation of the Rule and 

that the Rule is the most cost-effective alternative to achieve 

these benefits. 

Risks Addressed by the Rule 

The Rule addresses the risks associated with the 

potential pollution or toxic releases caused or exacerbated by 

inadequate or lack of department-sponsored surveillance, 

enforcement, and emergency response. The Rule does this 

by providing the funds necessary to allow the department to 

maintain current staffing levels and ensure federal, state, and 

local environmental regulations are properly applied and 

monitored. Without a revenue increase, the department 

would no longer be able to operate at current staffing levels 

in the next several years. If staffing was further reduced, the 

department would be unable to meet its obligations to the 

public, industry, oversight entities, and other stakeholders. 

Environmental and Health Benefits of this Rule 

The additional funds collected through this Rule will 

provide the revenue necessary to carry out the legal 

mandates of the department. This will result in multimedia 

inspections of waste-producing facilities around the state as 

required by local, state, and federal mandates. The fees will 

allow the monitoring of facilities that is necessary for 

curbing or preventing releases into the environment. The fee 

increases will also contribute to the discovery and 

remediation of unauthorized waste sites around the state. 

Overall, the increases will allow LDEQ to continue 

monitoring and maintaining the state’s air, water, and land 

resources, further preventing any incidents or occurrences 

that may jeopardize the safety or health of Louisiana’s 

citizens. 

Social and Economic Costs 

This Rule is an amendment to raise fees that are already 

assessed or assess fees for work already being performed, 

and as such, there are no significant costs to implement the 

Rule. Representatives of the regulated community are in 

favor of the proposed increase to fund the department at a 

level necessary to carry out its mandates. 

Persons currently regulated by the Office of the 

Secretary, Air, Hazardous Waste, Solid Waste, Water Quality, 

Underground Storage Tank, and/or Radiation Protection 

regulations would pay additional fees beginning in fiscal 

year 2018. These new fees would generate an estimated $9.4 

million annually in statutory-dedicated fees. 

Persons directly affected will pay additional fees; 

however, these fees will provide benefits in excess of the 

fees. The adequate monitoring of regulated facilities would 

reduce or prevent unauthorized releases into the 

environment. In addition, health hazards will be removed in 

the form of unauthorized waste sites, and sites that may
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endanger the health of Louisiana citizens can be properly 

remediated. These functions will not only protect human 

health and the environment, but will aesthetically enhance 

the state for the benefit of its citizens. 

Conclusion 

The department believes that the benefits of maintaining 

the environmental and public health protection outweigh the 

costs of implementation of the rule. Therefore, the 

department concludes that the Rule is the most cost-effective 

alternative to achieve these benefits. 

 

Karyn Andrews 

Undersecretary 
1703#027 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health 

Office of Public Health 

Bureau of Family Health 

Public Notice of Title V MCH Block Grant 

The Louisiana Department of Health (LDH) intends to 

apply for Title V Maternal and Child (MCH) Block Grant 

Federal Funding for FY 2017-2018 in accordance with 

Public Law 97-35 and the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation 

Act of 1981. The Office of Public Health, Bureau of Family 

Health is responsible for program administration of the 

grant. 

The block grant application describes in detail the goals 

and planned activities to advance maternal and child health 

and the health and systems of care for children and youth 

with special health care needs. Grant priorities are based on 

the results of a statewide needs assessment conducted in 

2015, which is updated annually based on relevant data 

collection. 

Interested persons may view a summary of the application 

at: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/935  

Additional information may be gathered by contacting 

Gloria Grady at (504) 568-3521. 

 

M. Beth Scalco 

Interim Assistant Secretary 
1703#025 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 

Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 

Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 

set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 

such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 
 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Middle 

M Angelina 003 150243 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Dobbs Bay M Ellis B swd 001 165625 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Dobbs Bay M Ellis B 003 171232 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Dobbs Bay M Ellis B 006 177918 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Northwest 

M Quinn E 001 191757 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Northwest 

M Quinn E 

swd 

002 193247 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Southeast 

M Angelina 001 212405 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Mississippi 

Bayou 

M Madison Mb 001 241202 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Mississippi 

Bayou 

M Madison Mb 

swd 

002 241368 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Middle 

M Angelina A 001 242084 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Charenton L May S 

Veeder et al  

001 245586 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Charenton L Henry Ecuer 001 245588 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Northwest 

M Quinn E 002 248177 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Prichard M Clovelly Oil 

Co LLC et 

al 

001 248711 

Big River Oil 

Field Services, 

LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Middle 

M Angelina 

RC swd 

001 974844 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L W M Elliott 001 40658 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Gill-

Dempsey 

Unit 

001 42513 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Glenmora 

swd 

006 42862 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L WX 1 B ra 

sua;W M 

Elliott 

001-D 127451 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L 10850 sua;J 

J Gill 

001 130961 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Elliott sua;J 

J Gill 

001D 131858 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Audrey G 

Andrus 

001 134909 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L 10850 

suc;W M 

Elliott 

002 136228 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L W M Elliott 002D 136817 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L James P Gill 

et al 

001 197272 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Vua;Willow 

Branch 

001 220941 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Vua;Morris 

Jones 

001 229715 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Vua;Morris 

Jones 

002 231257 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Vud;Mcgilv

ary 

001 233878 

Onyxx Energy 

LLC 

Glenmora L Vue;Mcgilv

ary 

002 234024 

T.O. Greer 

Productions 

San Miguel 

Creek 

S Benton 

Johnson 

001 233799 

East Texas 

Refining Co 

Rodessa S U S 

Government 

01-UNIT 22492 

Windsor Oil 

Company 

Red River-

Bull Bayou 

S Jenkins 001 

 

17309 

Aviara Energy 

Corporation 

Le Blanc L J M Leblanc 

et ux 

001 214028(30

) 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Bradford 001 52609 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Bradford 003 52900 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford 

001 89992 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford A 

001 90492 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 010 150673 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford A 

002 156761 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 001 156869 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 003 156871 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 004 157305 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 005 157306 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 006 157307 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 007 157308 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 009 158728 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Ducote B 

001 159300 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Mcdade 

002 159426 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Ducote B 

009 159430 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Gamm A 003 159513 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford 

002 159592 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA Su; 

Gamm 

001 159833 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA Su; 

Gamm A 

004 159874 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA 

Su;Mcdade 

003 159899 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA 

Su;Gayle 

002 159943 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford 

003 159998 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford 

004 160282 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Rhoda 

Bradford 

005 160283 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA 

su;Ducote B 

013 160533 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA 

su;Gamm 

002 160607 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Gamm Wsw 

003 170657 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA 

su;Ducote A 

001 172265 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Bradford 

004 174141 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 011 188993 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Trenton S Deason 001 190779 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Lake End S Joe D 

Simpson 

001 195498 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Lake End S Ada Perkins 001 197357 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 012 204041 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Redoak Lake S M B Dupree 013 204042 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Bradford 

005 217363 
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Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Gamm A 

005 218499 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Red River-

Bull Bayou 

S Blount 001 227129 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Red River-

Bull Bayou 

S Blount 002 229017 

High-Hope Oil 

And Gas, Inc 

Caddo Pine 

Island 

S Capi Pxy 

RA su; 

Gamm 

005 972520 

Array 

Operating, LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Northeast 

M Angelina 

CH 

001 171936 

Operator Field District Well Name Well 

Number 

Serial 

Number 

Array 

Operating, LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Northeast 

M Angelina 

CH 

002 171937 

Array 

Operating, LLC 

Bayou 

Cocodrie, 

Northeast 

M Magee  

Heirs swd 

001 972270 

Array 

Operating, LLC 

Bougere, 

North 

M Campbell 

suk;Ashland 

008 112800 

 

Richard P. Ieyoub 

Commissioner 
1703#024 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 

(Volume 43, Number 3) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 

Cumulative 

January 2016-December 2016, 214QU 

 

 

 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 

Apiaries, 510R 

Fire ants, 510R 

Honey bees, 510R 

Horticulture and quarantine programs 

Diseases, citrus  

Greening and canker, 498ER 

Emerald ash borer, 245R 

Rice seed certification, 499ER 

Sweet potato yield adjustments, 500ER 

Advisory Commission on Pesticides 

Certification, commercial applicators, 9ER 

Agricultural Chemistry and Seed Commission 

Rice seed certification, 499ER 

Animal Health and Food Safety, Office of 

Animal Health, Board of  

Equine, 553N 

Commissioner, Office of the 

Advertising or sponsorship signs on department assets, 

placement, 515R 
Forestry, Office of 

Severance tax values, 2017, 217P 
Structural Pest Control Commission 

Duties, licensee and registered employee with respect 

to registration, 9ER 

Obligations, licensee\permittee, 9ER 

Registration, employees, 9ER 

 

 

 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 

Annual progress and services report, 2017, 606P 

Block grant intended use report, social services, 606P 

Economic Stability Section 

Temporary assistance for needy families caseload 

reduction, 217P 

Licensing Section 

Residential home, 245R 

 

 

 

CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 

Cultural Development, Office of 

Archeology, Division of 

Fees, 46R 

State Parks, Office of 

State parks, 290R 

 

 

 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Business Development, Office of 

Board meetings, 519R 

Industrial ad valorem tax exemption program 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed rule, 

607P 

Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 

Tax credit program 

Motion picture investor, 300R 

 

 

 

EDUCATION 

Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and 

State Accountability System, 301R 

Bulletin 112Louisiana Connectors for English 

Language Learners, 345N 

Bulletin 113—Louisiana's Reading and Language 

Competencies for New Teachers, 302R 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 

Practices 

Test security, 94N 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools, 96N, 306R 

Bulletin 127―LEAP Connect Assessment, Louisiana 

Connectors for Students with Significant Cognitive 

Disabilities, 358N 

Bulletin 137―Louisiana Early Learning Center 

Licensing Regulations, 99N 

Bulletin 1922—Compliance Monitoring Procedures, 

516R 

2017 

Pages    Issue 

1-222 ..................................................... January 

223-497 ................................................. February 

498-619 ................................................. March 

 

 

EO―Executive Order 

PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 

ER―Emergency Rule 

R―Rule 

N―Notice of Intent 

CR―Committee Report 

GR―Governor's Report 

L―Legislation 

P―Potpourri 

QU―Administrative Code Quarterly Update 

 

 



Louisiana  Register  Vol. 43,  No. 03  March 20, 2017  616  

EDUCATION (continued) 

Regents, Board of 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 

Scholarship/grant programs, 518R 

TOPS core curriculum equivalents 

Human anatomy and physiology, 10ER, 101N 

Pre-calculus, 10ER, 101N 

 

 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Management and Finance, Office of 

Fees 

Risk/cost benefit statement 

Office of the secretary, air, hazardous waste, solid 

waste, water quality, underground storage tank, 

and radiation protection, 611P 

Secretary, Office of the 

Legal Division 

Air permits 

Actions, electronic notice, 393N 

Recordkeeping, exempt sources, 520R 

Emissions 

Reduction credits (ERC), mobile sources 

Public hearing, substantive changes to proposed 

rule AQ365, 486P 

Fee increase, 104N 

Hazardous materials, secondary, 558N 

Hazardous waste 

Authorization, resource conservation and recovery 

act (RCRA), 396N 

Delisting, Denka Performance Elastomer LLC, 

407N 

Work practice standards, start-up and shutdown, 521R 

 

 

 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 

JBE 16-74 Executive Branch Expenditure Reduction, 

1EO 

JBE 16-75 Rules and Policies on Leave for 

Unclassified Services—Amended December 19, 

2016, 2EO 

JBE 17-01 Mortgage Credit Certificate Certification, 

223EO 

JBE 17-02 Qualified Energy Conservation Bond 

AllocationLouisiana Stadium and Exposition 

District, 223EO 

JBE 17-03 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2016, 

224EO 

JBE 17-04 Emergency Suspension of Certain 

Insurance Code ProvisionsAmended, 225EO 

 

 

 

GOVERNOR 

Administration, Division of 

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 

Capital improvement projects 

Procedure manual, 572N 

Contract limit adjustment, 219P 

Racing Commission 

License, training tracks, 316R 

State Lands, Office of 

Rights-of-way, granting 

Corporations, 47R 

Individuals, 47R 

Tax Commission 

Ad valorem taxation, 409N 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Deepwater horizon oil spill 

Final restoration plan #1, Louisiana trustee 

implementation group, 217P 

Birds, 217P 

Habitat projects, federally managed lands, 217P 

Wetlands, coastal and nearshore habitats restoration, 

217P 

Natural resource damage restoration banking, 128N 

Home Inspectors, Board of 

Education, training and testing, 311R 

Testing, 311R 

Training, 311R 

Law Enforcement, Commission on 

Peace officer training, 316R 

Pardons, Board of 

Clemency consideration 

Application filing, 570N 

Eligibility, 570N 

Hearings, board, 46R 

Victims, notification, requirements, 46R 

Parole, Committee on 

Hearings, board, 46R 

Victims, notification, requirements, 46R 

Real Estate Commission 

Broker responsibilities, 136N 

Escrow deposits, disbursement, 573N 

Veterans Affairs, Department of 

Military Family Assistance Board 

Military family assistance program, 501ER 

 

 

 

HEALTH 

Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Home and community-based services waivers 

Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 

Transportation costs, 324R 

Community choices waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 505ER 

Nursing facilities 

Preadmission screening and resident review, 601N 

Personal care services, long-term 

Standards for participation, electronic visit 

verification, 508ER 

Behavioral Health, Office of 

Behavioral health services 

Healthy Louisiana and coordinated system of care 

waiver, 321R 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office for 

Individual and family support program, 172N 
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HEALTH (continued) 

Dentistry, Board of 

Anesthesia/analgesia administration, 426N 

Certificate, display, 424N 

Continuing education requirements, 426N 

Dentists 

Advertising, 48R 

Complaints, 48R 

Investigations, 48R 

Soliciting, 48R 

Fees and costs 426N 

Certification confirmation, 424N 

Reconfirmation, 424N 

Drug and Device Distributors, Board of 

Distributors, wholesale, 48R 

General Provisions, 48R 

Fees, 48R 

Logistics providers, third-party, 48R 

Recordkeeping, 48R 

Requirements, 48R 

Qualifications, 48R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

Abortion facilities, licensing standards, 502ER 

Ambulatory surgical centers, licensing standards, 429N 

Behavioral health services 

Healthy Louisiana and coordinated system of care 

waiver, 321R 

Disproportionate share hospital payments 

Inpatient psychiatric services, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 322R 

Louisiana low-income academic hospitals, 13ER, 

522R 

Payment methodology, 455N 

Major medical centers, 226ER 

Qualifying criteria, 457N 

Family planning waiver, program termination, 458N 

Forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 

facilities 

Licensing standards, 50R 

Healthcare services provider fees 

Nursing facility services providers, 73R, 323R 

Home and community-based behavioral health services 

waiver, 323R 

Home and community-based services waivers 

Adult day health care waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 74R 

Transportation costs, 324R 

Community choices waiver 

Electronic visit verification, 505ER 

Hospital licensing standards, 74R 

Newborn services, 75R 

Obstetrical services, 75R 

Inpatient hospital services 

Children’s specialty hospitals 

Supplemental payments, New Orleans area hospitals, 

15ER 

Graduate medical education, supplemental payments 

pool elimination, 505ER, 506ER 

High Medicaid hospitals, supplemental payments pool 

reduction, 507ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Public hospitals supplemental payments, 16ER, 

325R 

Reimbursement rate increase, 459N 

Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 

hospitals, 16ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 

17ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 

developmental disabilities 

Licensing standards, 524R 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual 

disabilities 

Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 18ER, 

325R 

Public facilities, reimbursement rate increase, 21ER 

Supplemental payments, 160N, 507ER 

Managed care for physical and behavioral health 

Louisiana health insurance premium payment 

program, 161N 

Medicaid eligibility 

Louisiana health insurance premium payment 

program, 162N 

Nursing facilities 

Evacuation and temporary sheltering costs, 22ER, 

328R 

Preadmission screening and resident review, 601N 

Reimbursement methodology, 525R 

Pass-through rate increase, 82R 

Resident review, 601N 

Outpatient hospital services 

Children’s specialty hospitals 

Reimbursement rate increase, 462N 

Supplemental payments for New Orleans area 

hospitals, 23ER 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Reimbursement rate increase, 462N 

Supplemental payments for Baton Rouge area 

hospitals, 24ER 

Supplemental payments for Monroe area hospitals, 

25ER 

Pediatric day health care facilities 

Licensing standards, 82R 

Pediatric day health care program, 82R 

Personal care services, long-term 

Standards for participation, electronic visit 

verification, 508ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program, 164N 

Methods of payment, 26ER 

State supplemental rebate agreement program, 26ER, 

464N 

Professional services program 

Reimbursement methodology, supplemental 

payments, 227ER 

Psychiatric residential treatment facilities 

Licensing standards, 329R 

Recovery audit contractor program, 229ER 

Medical Examiners, Board of 

Athletic trainers 

Licensure, 586N 

Practice, 586N 

Licensure, telemedicine, 317R 

Physician assistants 

Certification, 595N 

Licensure and certification, 595N 



Louisiana  Register  Vol. 43,  No. 03  March 20, 2017  618  

HEALTH (continued) 

Physician practice, 317R, 318R 

Marijuana, therapeutic use, 318R 

Telemedicine, 317R 

Nursing, Board of 

Viral infections, prevention, 428N 

Pharmacy, Board of 

CDS license, reinstatement, 156N 

Naloxone, distribution of, standing orders, 158N 

Pharmacy 

Marijuana, 138N 

Nonresident, pharmacist-in-charge, 50R 

Technicians, 153N 

Psychologists, Board of Examiners of 

Fees, 583N 

Psychologists 

Ethical code of conduct, 574N 

Supervision, 585N 

School psychology, licensed specialists, 585N 

Public Health, Office of 

Controlled dangerous substances, added, 27ER 

Ground water, 83R 

Sewerage outfall paths, 465N 

Special supplemental, nutrition program for women, 

infants and children (WIC), 27ER, 330R 

Total coliform, revised, 83R 

Family Health, Bureau of 

Title V MCH block grant, public notice, 612P 

Social Work Examiners, Board of 

Public hearing 

Substantive changes to proposed rule, practice 

requirements, social work relationships, client 

confidentiality, definitions, continuing education 

requirements, and supervision, 487P 

Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Fee schedule, 492P 

 

 

 

INSURANCE 

Commissioner, Office of the 

Emergency Rule 32 

Suspension of right to cancel or nonrenew residential, 

commercial residential, or commercial property 

insurance due to historic flooding, 231ER 

Insurance policy disclosure forms 

Homeowner and fire/commercial, 530R 

Regulation 76, privacy of consumer, 534R 

 

 

 

NATURAL RESOURCES 

Conservation, Office of 

E and P waste transfer pipeline systems, offsite, 536R 

Oil and gas wells 

Financial security, 535R 

Future utility determinations, 535R 

Plug and abandonment, 535R 

Orphaned oilfield sites, 219P, 493P, 612P 

Transferable plugging credits in lieu of bond with 

security 

Advanced notice of rulemaking and solicitation of 

comments, 492P 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 

Correction Services 

Offenders 

Mail, 603N 

Publications, 603N 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Broker permits, 39ER, 179N 

State Fire Marshal, Office of the 

Building safety, fire protection, 467N 

Code enforcement, 467N 

State Police, Office of 

Transportation and Environmental Safety Section 

Inspections, motor vehicles, 537R 

Motor carrier safety and hazardous materials, 537R 

Uniform Construction Code Council 

Uniform construction code, 180N 

Public hearing, 493P 

 

 

 

REVENUE 

Alcohol and Tobacco Control, Office of 

Alcohol beverage container label restrictions, 471N 

Policy Services Division 

Motion picture investor tax credit brokers, public 

registry, 342R 

 

 

 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 

Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Advanced engineering degrees, 343R 

Military-trained individuals, military spouses, 538R 

Seals, use, 538R 

Work disclaimers, preliminary, 343R 

 

 

 

TREASURY 

Deferred Compensation Commission 

Administration, distributions, 41ER 

District Attorneys’ Retirement System, Board of 

Trustees of the 

Retirement system, 201N 

Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement System, Board 

of Trustees of the 

Provisions, 88R 

School Employees’ Retirement System, Board of 

Trustees of the 

Benefits, limitations, 604N 

 

 

 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Fisheries, Office of 

Reef fish 

Harvest regulations, 89R 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Alligator egg collections, 90R 

Cervid carcass importation, 344R 

Fishing 

Poverty Point reservoir 

Commercial, 90R 
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WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 

Freshwater sport, 90R 

Netting prohibition, 90R 

Hunting regulations and seasons, 2017-18, 205N 

King mackerel 

Season 

Commercial harvest, 2017-18, 42ER 

Commercial season closure, 2016-17, 233ER 

Menhaden 

Commercial bait season, 2017, 509ER 

Oysters 

Harvest  

Calcasieu Lake, closure, 234ER, 235ER 

Opening, public oyster area, 234ER 

Closure, east of the Mississippi River, 43ER 

Recreational reef sites, establishment and 

restrictions, 91R 

Red snapper 

Recreational season 

Closure, private and charter, 43ER 

Harvest regulations, 2017, 44ER 

Reef fish 

Harvest regulations, 89R 

2017 recreational red snapper season, 44ER 

Sawfishes 

Harvest regulations, 204N 

Shark 

Harvest regulations, 204N 

Possession limit, commercial non-sandbar large 

coastal, 44ER 

Shrimp 

Season 

Closures, 44ER 

Inshore, fall, 43ER, 235ER 

 

 

 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 

Plumbing Board 

Plumbers 

Administration proceedings; revocation, 235ER, 

484N, 541R 

Education programs, continuing professional, 235ER, 

484N, 541R 

Introductory information, 235ER, 484N, 541R 

Licenses, 235ER, 484N, 541R 

Workforce Commission 

Workers’ Compensation Administration, Office of 

Hearings, claim, commencement, 473N 

Medical treatment guidelines 

Upper and lower extremities, 474N 

Utilization review, 474N 

 

 

 


