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Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners 

Physical Address: 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 30250, New Orleans, LA 70190-0250

                                               Phone: (504) 568-6820; Fax: (504) 599-0503 
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Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
Physical & Application Processing Address: 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130

General Correspondence Mailing & Criminal Background Check Address: P.O. Box 30250, New Orleans, LA 70190-0250

DISPENSING

QUALIFICATIONS / INSTRUCTIONS

(Feb. 1, 2015)
Physicians (MDs and DOs) are permitted to apply to obtain a dispensing permit if they meet eligibility requirements and provide the Board with all requested information. The Board may refuse to consider any application which is not complete in every detail and may, in its discretion, require a more detailed or complete response to any request for information set forth in this application as a condition to consideration of an application.  Please see detailed requirements and instructions below.
Dispensing Permit Categories:  
Legend Drugs Dispensing Permit - Physicians who wish to dispense only legend drugs.  Allowable with fewer than 3 years in practice. 
Legend Drugs & Controlled Substances Dispensing Permit – Allowable with 3 or more years in practice. This permit allows physicians to dispense legend drugs and a maximum 48 hour supply of controlled substances, with the exception of a 7-day sample of Lyrica.
Before applying for a Dispensing Permit, you are required to read The Board’s dispensing rules. The rules are set forth in their entirety in LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 3, Chapters 65 and can be found at the following web address: http://www.lsbme.la.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Rules/Individual%20Rules/Physicians.pdf  (starts on page 37).
Eligibility for Registration as a Dispensing Physician

To obtain a dispensing permit an applicant must possess the following three credentials with current and unrestricted status. Expired credentials are not acceptable. 
1. License to practice medicine duly issued by the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners;

Applicants for a Legend & CDS Dispensing Permit are required to have been in the active practice of 
medicine for not less than three years following the date on which the physician was awarded an MD or 
DO degree. Physicians with fewer than three years in practice are eligible for a Legend Drugs Dispensing 
Permit only;

2. Controlled Dangerous Substances License duly issued by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy;
3. DEA Controlled Substance Registration with Drug Enforcement Administration United States Department of Justice.
Causes for Being Deemed Ineligible for Registration as a Dispensing Physician

The Board will refuse a dispensing permit to a physician who:

· Has currently or at any time in the past, had his medical license placed on probation or restricted in any manner, suspended or revoked, or who has agreed to not seek re-licensure, voluntarily surrendered, or entered into an agreement with the Board or with any licensing authority in lieu of the institution of disciplinary charges or actions against such license; 
· Has been convicted, whether upon verdict, judgment, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, of any crime constituting a felony under the laws of the United States or of any state. 
· Has been convicted, whether upon verdict, judgment, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, of any crime and element of which is the manufacture, production, possession, use, distribution, sale, or exchange of any controlled substance; or
· Has within the five years preceding application for registration, abused or excessively used any medication, alcohol, or other substance which can produce physiological or psychological dependence or tolerance or which acts as a central nervous system stimulant or depressant.

APPLICANT CHECKLIST
Applicants must submit the following documents to be considered for issuance of a dispensing permit:
1. Completed Application 
· Provide full name, home address, and the municipal addresses of all locations at which the applicant practices medicine in the State of Louisiana;

· List the municipal addresses and telephone number of each location at which the applicant dispenses or proposes to dispense medications and other physician associates practicing at these locations. Attach additional pages as needed.
· List the brand or generic name, CDS schedule, dosage and quantity of the medication which the applicant proposes to dispense. Attach additional pages as needed. 
2. Copy, Scan or Printed Online Verification of Applicant’s Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substance License
3. Copy, Scan or Printed Online Verification of Applicant’s United States Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) Controlled Substance Registration  

4. Criminal Background Check  - Required only if applicant obtained medical license prior to July 1, 1999
Applicants are required to use LSBME-issued criminal background check materials (fingerprint cards etc.) Materials can be obtained by calling (540) 568-6820 or emailing lsbmecbc@lsbme.la.gov.  Provide your name, mailing address and identification number (i.e. social security number and issuing state OR national identification number and issuing country) with your inquiry for materials. Additional instructions pertaining to this requirement can be obtained thru our website at this link: http://www.lsbme.la.gov/content/criminal-background-check.  
5. Online Dispensing Rules Course, Quiz, and Certificate of Completion 
All applicants are required to take the online Dispensing Rules course, successfully complete the associated quiz, and submit a printed copy of their Certificate of Completion to the Board with this application. 

1. Register in the LSBME online eLearning System by visiting, http://lsbme.mrooms.net/login.  
2. Click on “Create New Account.” Create a username and password for your account. 
3. Check the email account you provided and click on the embedded link in the email message to confirm your new account. You are now registered on the LSBME’s eLearning Site. 
4. Click on “Dispensing Course.” Enter the ENROLLMENT KEY that was provided to you in the registration confirmation email (step 3). You are now enrolled in the Dispensing Rules course.

5. Read the course instructions. Complete the course and quiz. 

6. Print the course Certificate of Completion. Include this Certificate with your Dispensing Permit application. 
7. Contact eLearningSupport@lsbme.la.gov  with any enrollment or technical support issues. 
6. Check for non-refundable fee of $75.00. Check or Money Order ONLY. This fee is non-refundable. 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A DISPENSING PHYSICIAN
The Board may refuse to consider any application which is not complete in every detail and may, in its discretion, require a more detailed or complete response to any request for information set forth in this application as a condition to consideration of an application.  The application shall be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of Seventy-Five Dollars ($75.00)
FILL IN ONLINE PRIOR TO PRINTING
	Name: Last

     
	First

     
	Middle

     
	Suffix (Sr., Jr.)

     
	Suffix (MD/DO)

     

	DEA Number:

     
	CDS Narcotics No.
     

	Social Security Number

     
	Date of Birth
     

	Email Address

     
	Fax Number

     
	Cell Phone Number

     

	Addresses
	Home Address
	Street & Number

     
	City

     
	State

     

	
	
	Zip + 4
     
	County/Parish

     
	Telephone (Area code, number).
     


	
	Preferred Mailing Address
	Street & Number or Post Office Box

     
	City

     
	State

     

	
	
	Zip + 4

     
	County/Parish

     
	Telephone (Area code, #, Ext.)

     
	Pager Number

     

	
	Professional Addresses: (DO NOT USE P.O. BOX NUMBERS) give number, street, suite number, city, state, Zip Code, and area code and telephone number for each location where you propose to dispense drugs, chemicals and medications.  If a medical firm, state name of firm. (Attach additional pages as needed)
1.      
2.      
3.      

	List all other physician associates who practice in the locations at which you are applying to dispense medication.

Attach additional pages as needed.
	     

	 Education and Training
	MD/DO graduation date:      
Residency Training Dates ( year  only)    From:         To:          
Primary Specialty:                   Board Certified:  FORMCHECKBOX 
Yes   FORMCHECKBOX 
No        

	Indicate the type of dispensing permit you are applying for :
(check one)
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Legend Drugs Dispensing permit               

                       OR
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Legend and CDS  Dispensing permit   

	List all medications proposed to be dispensed. Include brand or generic name, CDS schedule, dosage, quantity. 

Attached additional pages as needed.
	      


	ADVANCE \d 2ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:

IF ANSWER IS YES,  ATTACH A DETAILED EXPLANATION

	1. Have you ever been convicted, whether upon verdict, judgment, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, of any crime constituting a felony under the laws of the United States or of any state
	YES
	NO

	2. 
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	3. Have you ever been convicted, whether upon verdict, judgment, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere, of any crime and element of which is the manufacture, production, possession, use, distribution, sale, or exchange of any controlled substance
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	4. Have you ever within the five years preceding application for registration, abused or excessively used any medication, alcohol, or other substance which can produce physiological or psychological dependence or tolerance or which acts as a central nervous system stimulant or depressant.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 



	ADVANCE \d 2
ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS


	1. I have read and understand the rules on the Dispensing of Medication.
	YES
	NO

	5. 
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	2.  I acknowledge I personally completed the online Dispensing Rules Course and Quiz.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	3.  I acknowledge a physician is prohibited from delegating the dispensation and or labeling of medication to any medical personnel, including a 
    nurse/employee.  
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 

	4.   I acknowledge that a Legend and CDS permit limits me to dispensing a single 48 hour supply of a CDS except as noted  in the    

     rules, a seven day sample of  Lyrica

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 



OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF APPLICANT


I HEREBY swear or affirm that all statements made and information provided in or with this application are true, correct and complete; that I am the person named in the credentials herewith presented and that I am the original and lawful possessor of such documents; that the photograph submitted to LSBME is a true likeness of me and that it was taken within the last 60 days; that in consideration of the issuance to me of a license/certificate to practice in Louisiana, I swear that I shall observe and abide by the rules and regulations of dispensation of medications and I hereby agree that the violation of this oath shall constitute cause sufficient for the revocation of said license/certificate and surrender of the rights and privileges accorded me thereunder.

I HEREBY authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state or federal) to release to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners any information, files or records requested by the Board.  I further authorize Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners to release to any such organization, individual or group having reasonable need therefore any information supplied to or obtained by the Board connection with my application or relative to the status of any license or certificate issued to me as a result of such application.

I CERTIFY under oath my acknowledgment and understanding that I am solely responsible for the proper and legitimate use of my DEA number for all controlled substance transactions.  I will be present at any time that medication is dispensed from a registered dispensing location, and solely responsible for dispensing all medication and maintaining all invoices, orders, inventories, dispensing and other required records in the manner prescribed by the Board’s dispensing rules.   By my subscription hereto, I acknowledge that I fully understand that failure to adhere to the Board’s dispensing rules may constitute violation of State and Federal law, subjecting me to criminal investigation and prosecution by State and Federal authorities, as well as action against my medical license by the Board.
Signed _______________________________________________________

                                                                                                                       Full Name       
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________day

of__________________________________YEAR________

________________________________________________                                                     (Notary Seal)
                                NOTARY PUBLIC

My commission expires_____________________________[image: image1.png]
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