LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS

Renewals: 504/568-6820 (Auto Attendant) + 1

Main Number: 504/568-6820
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Allied Health other than CLAB 

Application/Renewal Packet

(Rev 4 30 2019)
Visit the LSBME Website at

www.lsbme.la.gov
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
Physical & Application Processing Address: LSBME, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130


Renewal Fees

*Foreign checks will NOT be accepted. 
	All disciplines below due on or before last day of licensee’s birth month.

	Discipline
	Scheduled Renewal Fee
	After Due Date

	PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS
	$175.00
	N/A
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LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS  

LSBME, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 568-6820 (Auto Attendant) + 1

ALLIED HEALTH APPLICATION FOR LICENSE/CERTIFICATE RENEWAL

(Please allow 30 days for processing.)

Complete this form PRIOR to printing. 
It contains form fields to make it user friendly.
Amount Due:      *Foreign checks will NOT be accepted..      Due Date:      
	Name and Mailing Address:                                                                                    

     
	License #:

     
Credential Type:
     
Credential Status:
     


INSTRUCTIONS:

RENEWAL IS REQUIRED BY LAW ON OR BEFORE THE DUE DATE ABOVE.

FAILURE TO RENEW TIMELY MAY RESULT IN SUSPENSION FOR NON-RENEWAL.  SEE SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR FORMS AND FEES.

ADDRESSES:  Must provide at least 1 physical address.  Check to specify one Public and one Mailing address.

	*Public Address: Address that is posted on the LSBME Website.    *Mailing Address: Mailings from the LSBME will go to this address. 

	BUSINESS ADDRESS        FORMCHECKBOX 
Public Address     FORMCHECKBOX 
Mailing Address

     
	PHONE:        

FAX:        

E-MAIL:      

	HOME ADDRESS       FORMCHECKBOX 
Public Address     FORMCHECKBOX 
Mailing Address

     
	PHONE:        

FAX:        

E-MAIL:      

	OTHER ADDRESS   FORMCHECKBOX 
Public Address     FORMCHECKBOX 
Mailing Address

(i.e., P.O. Boxes, Alt. Business Address, etc)       

                     
	PHONE:        

FAX:        

E-MAIL:      


	ANSWER THE FOLLOWING:

	US Citizen: 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes  FORMCHECKBOX 
 No   Visa Naturalization Certificate #       Date        (YOU MUST INCLUDE A CURRENT COPY OF YOUR PAPERWORK)


	Controlled Substances Permit #’s
DEA #:          Exp. Date:            

Louisiana State CDS #:      


	IF PHYSICIAN’S ASSISTANT, OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY ASSISTANT, MIDWIFE APPRENTICE, ACUPUNCTURIST ASSISTANT, OR PRIVATE RADIOLOGICAL TECHNOLOGIST, HAVE YOUR SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN, OCCUPATIONAL THERAPIST, MIDWIFE, POLYSOMNOGRAPHY TRAINEE OR ACUPUNCTURIST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING:  

DATE        LICENSE NO.        SUPERVISOR’S SIGNATURE _________________________________________


Controlled Dangerous Substance - Continuing Medical Education

As per legislation passed in 2017, all practitioners with a Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS) license in Louisiana are now required to complete at least 3 hours of Board approved continuing medical education (CME) that includes ALL 4 of the below topics. This course is a once in a lifetime requirement under current law.  This 3 hour requirement will be considered a part of, and not in addition to, the prescriber’s annual CME requirement.

By checking the boxes below I certify that I have completed at least 3 hours of Board Approved CME covering the topics below. The course(s) MUST be on the approved course list or it will  not be accepted. To see the list of approved courses go to www.lsbme.la.gov. Click on Orientations & Education, then click on *NEW Board Approved CME Courses for CDS Requirements.
Best Practices

Chronic Pain


Diversion

Addiction Tx  

*You must attach copies of your certificates of completion to this renewal.

If you have already submitted your certificate(s) of completion and they were approved, check the box below:

Certificate(s) of completion previously submitted & approved
*Exemption Requests*

An authorized prescriber renewing his/her license for the first time may be excused from the CME requirement upon submission of a certification attesting that he/she has not prescribed, administered or dispensed any CDS in Louisiana during the entire year covered by the prescriber’s expiring license. The Board will verify the certification through the Louisiana Prescription Monitoring Program. An exempted licensee, who subsequently prescribes, administers or dispenses a CDS shall satisfy the CME requirement as a condition to license renewal for the year immediately following that in which the CDS was prescribed, administered or dispensed. 

www.lsbme.la.govApply for an exemption – Go to , click on Orientations & Education, then click on *NEW Board Approved CME Courses for CDS Requirements to download the exemption form (at the bottom of the page). You must attach the exemption request to this renewal.

If you have already submitted your exemption request and it was approved, check the below box:

Exemption Request previously submitted & approved
Name (Printed or typed):             SS#:      
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Telephone: (504) 568-6820

Oath or Affirmation: RENEWAL LICENSURE for PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS

Answer the following questions (Yes answers must be explained in an affidavit - AFFIDAVIT MUST BE TYPED & NOTARIZED!) 

	
	
	Yes
	No

	1
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Have you had any physical injury or disease or mental illness or impairment, which could reasonably be expected to affect your ability to practice medicine or other health profession? You may answer no to this question if you are currently in the Physicians' Health Foundation of Louisiana and in good standing.
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	2
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Have you been referred to or obtained treatment for a substance abuse disorder including alcohol abuse? You may answer no to this question if you are currently in the Physicians' Health Foundation of Louisiana and in good standing..
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	3
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Have you been cited, arrested, charged with, convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a violation of any municipal, state or federal statute including any that have been expunged or judicially removed for any reason with the exception of misdemeanor traffic offenses or traffic ordinance violations that do NOT involve the use of drugs or alcohol? 
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	4
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Has your application for any professional license, certificate, or registration been denied by any state licensing board or federal authority?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	5
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Has your professional license, certificate, or registration been the subject of investigation or revoked, suspended, probated, restricted, reprimanded, limited, or subjected to any other disciplinary action by any state licensing board or federal authority?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	6
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Have you voluntarily surrendered any professional license, or agree with any licensing authority not to seek re-licensure in order to avoid disciplinary action, investigation or inquiry?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	7
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Were you the subject of an inquiry or investigation by any hospital, clinic, or other health care institutions
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	8
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Did you surrender or fail to renew staff or clinical privileges at any hospital, clinic, or other health care entity in lieu of investigation, while under investigation or while you were the subject of disciplinary proceedings? 
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	9
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Has your membership in a professional society been revoked, suspended, or disciplined or have you resigned membership while under investigation 
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	10
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Were any malpractice claims settled by you or on your behalf?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	11
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Have you surrendered your state or federal controlled substances permit or registration?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 


	12
	SINCE YOUR LAST RENEWAL - Has any court determined you are currently in violation of a court’s judgment or order for the support of dependent children?

	 FORMCHECKBOX 

	 FORMCHECKBOX 



I hereby certify that to the best of my knowledge, all statements I have made in this application for renewal are true and correct. 

Signed (no stamps) ____________________________________   Date________________________________
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� Fees are not prorated (i.e. License received mid year fee payable in full, next annual renewal payable in full)
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