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LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
 

630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 

 Phone: (504) 568-6820 

Website: http://www.lsbme.la.gov 

 

 

 

Plain Language Guidance Regarding Board Changes  
During the COVID-19 Crisis 

 
 
In response to the needs of the state, and proclamations by the Governor, the Board has chosen to not 
enforce parts or clauses of certain rules given the unprecedented emergency of the COVID-19 
pandemic. Please see details below: 
 
 
1.  Fingerprinting 
During this public health emergency: 

 Applicants for licensure will not be required to submit fingerprints for the complete criminal 
background check as is usually required by the Board before issuance of a temporary provisional 
permit 

 All other requirements for issuance of a temporary provisional permit will be upheld 

 The usual 90 day limit on a temporary provisional permit will be suspended until the end of the 
declared public health emergency 

 
This recognizes the Louisiana State Police’s overall suspension of its “in person fingerprinting” program, 
and the Board’s compliance with the Governor’s Proclamation (1) that the Board is “authorized and 
directed to cooperate in actions the State may take” and (2) that the State of Louisiana intends to 
encourage social distancing and unnecessary personal interactions. 
 
 
2.  Residency training permits  

 Given the suspension of the USMLE testing, permits will be extended or renewed for all PGY 1 
through PGY-3 and GETP for the time period up to and including 120 days after the Governor 
ends the Public Health Emergency 
 

This complies with the Governor’s proclamation that the Board is “authorized and directed to cooperate 
in actions the State may take” including the State’s efforts to increase the number of health care 
providers licensed and practicing in the State of Louisiana during this unprecedented and unique public 
health emergency (29 JBE 2020). 
 
 
3.  Continuing medical education (CME) 

 General CME requirements and CME audits will be temporarily suspended for 2020 

http://www.lsbme.la.gov/
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 However, this does not apply to the 3 hour required CME on controlled dangerous substances 
(CDS) for first time license renewal of authorized prescribers of CDS.  There are many online 
options provided for this educational requirement 

 
 
4. Telehealth  

 The following categories of licensees fall under the Telehealth Access Act:  physician assistants, 
licensed midwives, podiatrists, occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, medical 
psychologists, licensed perfusionists, licensed respiratory therapists and clinical laboratory 
personnel 

 These licensees may perform patient visits and interactions via telecommunications devices if 
the usual standards of care are being met 

 As per the Telehealth Access Act, the scope of practice of each group of licensees does not 
change 

 
This complies with the, Governor’s proclamation that the Board is “authorized and directed to 
cooperate in actions the State may take” including the State’s efforts to increase the number of health 
care providers licensed and practicing in the State of Louisiana during this unprecedented and unique 
Public Health Emergency (29 JBE 2020).  
 
 
5. Physician Assistants (with and without prescriptive authority) working with a new supervising 
physician (SP) 

 For the duration of the COVID-19 public health emergency, to notify the Board of a new locum 
tenens or Supervising Physician and/or a new location, the new locum tenens or Supervising 
Physician (SP)  must send an email to the Board via Covid19-pa@lsbme.la.gov with their name, 
license number, the new practice location, and the name and license number of the physician 
assistant (PA) 

 The PA may work under the same practice guidelines as before the public health emergency or 
at the direction of the new locum tenens/SP 

 
During the COVID-19 public health emergency, physician assistants need flexibility with regard to their 
practice site and supervision.   
 
 
6. Administrative proceedings and actions against licensees 
Currently, pursuant to 27 JBE 2020 all legal deadlines in Louisiana are currently suspended until April 13, 
2020.  While it is likely the Governor will act again to suspend these deadlines, the Board provides as 
follows, in order to facilitate the orderly administration and continuity of investigations and cases: 
 

 All preliminary review and formal investigation deadlines, and all deadlines pertaining to 
summary suspension hearings and administrative hearings, are extended until 90 days after the 
end of the COVID-19 public health emergency 

 Administrative hearing dates currently set are postponed until 90 days after the end of the 
COVID-19 public health emergency, to be reset thereafter 

 
 

mailto:Covid19-pa@lsbme.la.gov
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7.  Enforcement standard during COVID-19 Emergency 

 To ensure Board licensees are not disciplined, troubled or rendered ineffective by their inability 
to comply with the letter of their practice act rules as a result of the COVID-19 emergency, in its 
discretion, the Board chooses not to enforce the violation provisions of each licensee’s practice 
act for healthcare services arising out of the COVID-19 public health emergency where:  

(i) the Board’s licensee or permit holder acts in good faith and in accordance with 
patients’ immediate health needs;  

(ii) his/her actions do not constitute gross negligence, willful or intentional 
misconduct; and  

(iii) his/her actions are in response to, as a result of, or arise out of, the lack of 
personnel, equipment and/or resources arising from the COVID-19 pandemic. 

 
 
8. Dispensing of non-controlled medications 

 The Board will not enforce requirements of dispensing rules, (Chapter 65), as they pertain to the 
dispensing of non-controlled medications during the public health emergency 

 When dispensing non-controlled medications, the practitioner shall document the amount, 
dosage and instructions for any dispensed medication in the patient’s record 

 This exception does not apply to controlled substances and expires upon termination of the 
public health emergency or as otherwise as determined by the Board 

 

The Board has been notified by the Governor’s office and/or LDH that practitioners need to be able to 
dispense non-controlled medications such as albuterol and other drugs from practice locations, where 
there is no pharmacy, for the patients’ home use, isolation use and/or quarantine use during the 
COVID-19 emergency   

 
 

9.  Telemedicine treatment of chronic pain and special recommendations for medical marijuana 
during the COVID-19 emergency    

 The Board will not require an in-person initial visit to recommend medical marijuana. 
 The Board will not require chronic pain patients, including chronic pain patients for whom 

medical marijuana is recommended, to be seen in person initially prior to prescribing controlled 
substances or in person every 90 days afterward 

 The Board’s statement regarding medical marijuana does not impact any federal laws presently 
in effect 

These temporary exceptions are in place due to the Governor’s proclamations, the known 
characteristics of COVID-19 transmission, and the Board’s authority under the law and its rules, R.S. 
37:1271(B)(3) and LAC 46XLV.7515A.1, to exempt the need for an in-person examination prior to 
prescribing a controlled substance to a patient. 
 
 
10.  Monetary compensation for services rendered by student respiratory therapists (SRTs) during the 
COVID-19 emergency 

 The Board will not enforce its prohibitions against monetary compensation for services rendered 
by student respiratory therapists as part of their education processes during the public health 
emergency.  
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11.  During COVID, the scope of practice for Board licensed mid-wives has not changed with regard to 
the types of unapproved midwifery practice.  

 There are no waivers and/or suspensions of any midwifery “scope of practice” rules.  Thus, the 
Board refers midwives to the Board’s rules on “Unapproved Practice” detailing several situations 
and conditions that preclude midwife care.  See the Board’s website, www.lsbme.la.gov, click on 
“Rules”, then “Licensed Midwives”, and scroll to LAC 46 XLV.5315 titled “Unapproved Practice.” 

 
 
The Board has temporarily suspended enforcement of LAC 46XLV.2573.A.3, based on the Governor’s 
proclamation 25 JBE 2020, Section 11, authorizing and directing all state agencies to cooperate in 
actions the State takes to respond to the public health emergency, and the Governor’s Proclamation 38 
JBE 2020, Section 2, (P) permitting the temporary suspension, waiver or amendment of board rules or 
regulations that would prohibit, limit or interfere with the licensing of healthcare professionals that are 
necessary to address the declared public health emergency.     
 
 
All of these temporary changes in the Board’s enforcement practices are pursuant to Governor 
Proclamations, including but not limited to 25 JBE 2020, 27 JBE 2020, 29 JBE 2020, 30 JBE 2020, 32 JBE 
2020, 33 JBE 2020, 37 JBE 2020 and 38 JBE 2020; and a result of the Governor’s Public Health 
Emergency Declaration under La. R.S. 29:760 et seq.  In this entirely unique and unprecedented 
emergency situation, the Governor has instructed that “all departments, commissions, Boards, agencies 
and officers of the State, or any political subdivision thereof, are authorized and directed to cooperate 
in actions the State may take in response to the effects of this event.”  25 JBE 2020 (Section 11). 
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